Skip to content

Bad and Good

January 2, 2011

The Bad News

Turns out my little sickness only got worse. My throat is really killing me now and I also have a runny nose, diarrhea and headaches. Ugh…I hate being sick. I stayed home from church today šŸ˜¦

I wasn’t sick enough to not want to do a little baking though!

The Good News

I finally made a 100% Whole Wheat loaf of bread that tastes good!!

You would not believe how happy I am about this. I have tried probably 5 different 100% Whole Wheat bread recipes, all of them with little or no luck.

What recipe did I use this time?

The one on the back of the King Arthur Whole Wheat Flour!

Why didn’t I think to use that recipe before?!

It came out so beautifully and it tastes AH-MAZING! I don’t think I ever want to go back to store bought! In fact, I’m making it a new goal for 2011. My goal for this year is to…

Only eat homemade 100% Whole Wheat Ā bread, no more store bought!

I asked my mom if she thought that was anĀ achievableĀ goal and she said to just go for it!

Why not?!

I know this is a HUGE undertaking, but I really want to do it and I know I’ll learn a TON along the way!

***

If my mom’s taught me anything about being sick, it’s that you need to load yourself up on tons of Vitamin C to get better.

So for breakfast I made a Green Monster full of vitamins!

Spinach = Vitamins C and A

Carrots = Vitamin A

Strawberries = Vitamin C

Banana = Vitamin C and B6

Clementine = Vitamin C

Yum, yum!

And then for lunch I had an old favorite, Spinach And Chickpea Delight. (It’s one of the photos featured in my header!)

It was delicious, as usual! I love this recipe, and guess what?! It had more spinach!! Haha, I think I eat enough spinach that I don’t need to worry about eating it as a salad, I have plenty other ways to enjoy it!

***

It’s the first official week of the year starting tomorrow and I’ve decided that I want to go the whole week (1/3 – 1/9) eating absolutely sugar-free!

NO

sugar, maple syrup, honey, brown rice syrup, evaporated cane juice, sucanat, brown sugar, molasses, corn syrup etc.

The only sugars I’ll be eating this week appear naturally, like the sugars found in fruit, vegetables, whole grains and milk.

Soo…? Do you want to join me? Go ahead! We can have a little Sugar-Free Week Support Group!

I was going to wait and give those of you who want to do this with me a little heads up, but I figured why wait?! Let’s just start now!

I’d love to know:

Have you ever made homemade bread?

Do you want to join me in eating sugar-free this week?

32 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2011 5:06 pm

    I want to do a sugar free week… eventually šŸ™‚

  2. January 2, 2011 5:10 pm

    I stayed home from church sick as well šŸ˜¦ I have had a horrid headache and the chills all day!
    I’ve made bread once. It tasted great but it didn’t rise, but that bread looks gorgeous!! I made whole wheat tortillas today, and I don’t think ill ever buy storebought ones again!!

    • January 2, 2011 8:00 pm

      Oh really? I need your recipe, I once tried homemade tortillas and they did NOT turn out!

  3. January 2, 2011 5:12 pm

    I’ll do it with you for sure! STart me in today, since I’ve been such a good girl šŸ˜‰

    I hope you start to feeling better!
    Good job on the bread!: Looks like perserverance paid off! šŸ™‚

  4. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    January 2, 2011 5:59 pm

    Oh I hope you feel better šŸ˜¦

    It sounds like a lot of people in the blogging world are giving up sugar! I’ll just sit back and support everyone! Since I have been sugar-free for 4 yrs already…

  5. January 2, 2011 6:27 pm

    your bread looks awesome!! I have never attempting making my own but now I kind of want to..it doesn’t sound too hard!

    Hope you feel better asap girlie!

    • January 2, 2011 7:56 pm

      It definitely wasn’t too hard at all! And all I used to mix it together was a electric hand mixer, simple!

  6. January 2, 2011 6:28 pm

    I’m so with you on the sugar free thing! In fact, when I went grocery shopping this morning, I didn’t buy a single thing that contained sugar aside from fruits. This is going to be fun šŸ™‚

  7. January 2, 2011 7:14 pm

    I’ve made homemade bread before, but it sure didn’t turn out looking like that! I think I’ll try it soon because I’m trying to ween myself of store-bought things as well šŸ˜€

    Feel better ASAP please!

  8. January 2, 2011 7:16 pm

    Sugar free for a week is a great start! I gave it up a year ago and only give myself a sugary treat once or twice a month. It still surprises me how easy it was to give it up. Good luck!

  9. January 2, 2011 7:29 pm

    Get better soon!!!

    Yes, my family makes homemade whole wheat bread all of the time — in fact, I’ll be having to make some more soon… šŸ˜‰ Homemade is certainly the best; I love how you know exactly what is in it, and it sure tastes better. šŸ™‚

    • January 2, 2011 7:54 pm

      Exactly, and it didn’t have to be baked and then shipped and then sitting in a store for days! And no preservatives!

  10. haleyan permalink
    January 2, 2011 7:39 pm

    I always make home made bread in the bread machine. It is soooo good! Today I made a wheat berry bread. Great!

    • January 2, 2011 7:53 pm

      Hooray, another bread machine lover!! Wheat berry bread….that’s awesome!

  11. January 2, 2011 8:04 pm

    I’ve never made homemade bread before, but yours looks great! Awesome job and good luck with the sugar-free week. I wish I could join you, but I need some sugar during my long days at work.

  12. January 2, 2011 9:10 pm

    I’ll join ya on the sugar-free week! šŸ™‚

  13. January 2, 2011 10:06 pm

    Nice bread! I too want to make my own whole wheat bread… I’ve gotta get over my fear of working with yeast!

  14. January 2, 2011 10:27 pm

    I’m so sad you’re sick!!! šŸ˜¦ Being sick totally sucks, but that smoothie of yours and that LUNCH?! Oh my ā™„ And that bread looks delicious!!!

  15. January 2, 2011 11:16 pm

    Aw, I’m sorry you don’t feel well! I hate missing church. :/ But yay for whole wheat bread! That recipe sounds awesome. You should try the one I posted on my blog next time. It is seriously soooo good.

  16. January 3, 2011 12:09 am

    How hard was that bread to make? It looks delicious but I’m so intimidated when it comes to baking bread. My aunt makes an absolutely wonderful wheat bread but unfortunately she’s out in NJ and I’m in the Midwest šŸ˜¦ Guess I just have to make some for myself!

  17. movesnmunchies permalink
    January 3, 2011 2:14 am

    LOVE that bread!! congrats- im worried I would screw it up! love your recipes!

  18. January 3, 2011 12:14 pm

    Hi Kayla.
    I am sorry you are sick, that’s no fun.

    good for you on making healthy challenges for yourself!!

    I’ll go sugar free with you. I need to get back on the wagon myself.

    I am already doing a month of eating in challenge so this will make it even more entertaining! hehe

  19. January 3, 2011 1:03 pm

    Hello!
    I have read this post at the PERFECT TIME! I overdosed the sugar last night and have eaten a little too much over the festive period as is, but last night i suddenly had terrible flu liek symptoms with uncontrollable shivering fever of 39.8 (degrees celsius) and a TERRIBLE headache, now i have had a bad throat for a while but this was crazy and appeared so quickly. After eating a LOT of sugar. No coincidence there. Well anyway i woke up this morning feeling a lot better but with an illness ‘hangover’. It kind of woke me up to what my body was goign through etc, and i need to sort it out and get back to my healthy self.

    Starting by cutting out all the sugar and filling out my diet with nutritious and colourful foods. No more Quality Streets for this gal. I’m relieved i’m committing to this, if i say, ‘eh well, i’ll have a little’ i still feel there’s no cut-off point, I just need to leave them alone for a while, at least until i feel better about my mental and physical state.

    I’m with ya gal, no sugar, is there anywhere that everyone doing this can ‘check in’ with how we’re all doing / how much we’re all suffering? (haha jokes, i personally and truly looking forward to it!)

    Or just on the comments section of your blog?
    What i’ve done and what i think will help me is making a list of all the gorgeous foods that i will be enjoying that DON’T include sugar:

    hot soups w/ nuts and goats cheese
    big bright colourful salads
    oatmeal w/ almond butter and raspberries
    tofu stir fry w/ chilli and lots of ginger and lime
    quinoa salad w/ loads of herbs

    the lists are endless! thanks for the inspiration!! and GOOD LUCK TO EVERYONE!! x

    • January 3, 2011 1:33 pm

      Thanks for all the support! I was thinking that just for now, everyone who wants to could ‘check in’ in the comments and/or leave a link to their blog talking about their progress being sugar-free!

  20. January 4, 2011 4:22 pm

    hah, I think you’re bread loaves look a little more normal than mine :P.
    I LOVE the idea of a no sugar week! But I don’t think I could do it, I love my sweets just a little too much
    Ps-love your blog! (:

    • January 4, 2011 4:25 pm

      Haha, well this one wasn’t made in the bread maker! The ones that come out of the bread maker are the odd looking ones! šŸ™‚ Thanks for the comment!

  21. January 5, 2011 8:06 am

    Your bread looks beautiful! I’ve never made homemade bread before. I’ve seen homemade loaves all over the place lately and am determined to make my own very very soon!

    Love your rainbow GM!

  22. January 6, 2011 3:39 pm

    I just found your blog today and look forward to reading more of it. I’m all on board with the sugar-free week. In fact, I made a commitment to do a whole sugar-free month!

    Hope you feel better soon šŸ™‚

Trackbacks

  1. New Year’s Resolution-Cut Back on Sugar « Spoonful of Sugar Free
  2. Super Easy Pancakes! « Little Miss Healthify
  3. Bread Machine Love « Little Miss Healthify

Leave a comment