Skip to content

The Best Salad I Ever Had

December 30, 2010

Hello everybody!

I have learned that I am picky about my salads! For some reason, I can’t stand eating spinach unless it’s wilted or in a green monster! So instead I eat romaine lettuce. It’s so crunchy, crisp and delicious compared to spinach!

Recently, I made a salad that was the BEST ever! Seriously, I have made the same salad about 3 times in the last week. It’s just THAT good.

It was romaine lettuce topped with 1/2 a clementine (I forgot how much I love those!!), chickpea bites, roasted Brussels sprouts (my new fav!) and feta cheese. I’m picky about salad dressing and didn’t like any of the ones in the fridge so I thinned a tablespoon of hummus with some water as the dressing!

Have you ever made a recipe that was just so fantastic that it changed you? Well these Chickpea Bites were that for me!

I got the recipe from Never Home Maker’s Chickpea Burgers, only I made them little “bites” for a salad topper and not burgers.

Chickpea Bites

serves 2

adapted from Never Home Maker

1/2 a can (about a cup) chickpeas, drained

handful chopped white or red onion

1 yellow sweet mini pepper, chopped (optional)

1 teaspoon garlic powder

dash cumin

salt and pepper, to taste

1 tablespoon flax meal

1/4 cup rolled oats

1. Preheat oven to 375° F.

2. Add all ingredients to a food processor and process until incorporated but still chunky. Add a tiny dash of water to help it come together.

3. Divide into small, equal bite-sized pieces, dip in olive oil and transfer to cookie sheet. Bake for 15 minutes, until slightly browned.

4. Eat on top of salad or dipped in ketchup for chickpea nuggets!

***

I was so surprised that my mom actually liked these! I made her the same salad I made for me and she said it was the best salad she ever had!

Here’s what I did for the Brussels sprouts:

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Toss washed and dried Brussels sprouts in olive oil, salt and pepper. Transfer to 8×8 pan and roast at 400°F for 10 minutes. I like mine crispy, so I do longer. Just keep an eye on them until they’re to your liking!

Simple, right? And SOOOOO yummy! It was my first time having sprouts and I LOVE them now!

I’d love to know:

What is your ideal salad?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Ayla permalink
    December 30, 2010 7:48 pm

    My ideal salad? Spinach topped with strawberries, pecans and a raspberry-lime vinaigrette from Veganomicon. SO GOOD!!! I could easily eat it every single day.

    I’ve never roasted brussel sprouts yet (just steamed them) but I love them so I should probably try out the roasted method.

  2. December 30, 2010 8:36 pm

    I like simple! I like 1/2 cup cottage cheese dressing with 2 tbs honey mustard dressing! all over SPINACH <– haha
    its so simple but so so yummy to me!

  3. December 30, 2010 9:21 pm

    Mmmm…that salad does look pretty good! Those chickpea bites sound delicious! 😀

  4. December 30, 2010 9:59 pm

    I love spinach salads, lol! 🙂

  5. December 30, 2010 11:12 pm

    that DOES sound good! I also use thinned out hummus as a salad dressing, so tasty! My favourite salad is one I made with beets, arugala, spaghetti squash and tahini-lemon dressing. So random, but so good 🙂

  6. December 31, 2010 2:37 am

    this looks so good!!! i LOVE my brussel sprouts!!! aha i also love olives, and sundried tomatoes the best in my salads!

  7. December 31, 2010 6:11 am

    Oh my goodness. I absolutely love spinach salads. I have added chick peas to salads before and it’s one of my favorites as well.

    I like to add feta cheese and fruit to salads. I make salads normally with spinach (bah sorry), tomatoes, feta cheese, small cut pears and apples and then some chicken. So good.

  8. December 31, 2010 10:25 am

    Chickpeas — my favorite! xoxo!!

  9. January 1, 2011 7:15 am

    i swear im making these today

Trackbacks

  1. Recipes! « Little Miss Healthify
  2. Bad and Good « Little Miss Healthify

Leave a Reply

