Skip to content

Super Easy Pancakes!

January 3, 2011

Welcome to Sugar-Free Week: Day One!

As I was about to prepare breakfast today I realized that the bread I made yesterday has sugar in it, darn it!!

So instead of having an egg sandwich as planned, I had pancakes!

4 Ingredient Sugar-Free Whole Wheat Pancakes

Most pancakes call for oil, eggs or sugar, not these! They are perfectly fluffy and I can assure you that this will be your go-to pancake recipe from now on! The cinnamon adds just enough flavor and sweetness. This recipe makes 3 pancakes, but you can always double or triple the recipe!

Serves 1

1/3 cup whole wheat flour

a bit more than 1/2 a teaspoon baking powder

1/8 – 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

1/3 cup milk

Preheat a skillet to medium heat.Β Combine dry ingredients in a small mixing bowl. Add milk and stir until combined.

The batter will be thick, not runny. Drop by large spoonfuls onto skillet, flatten the batter with a spoon into large rounds or your pancakes will be doughy in the middle. Flip when the edges start to slightly brown. Makes 3.

I topped my pancakes with strawberry jam, peanut butter and 1/2 sliced banana. And I had an egg on the side with salsa.

I had to check my jam and peanut butter to be sure there was no added sugar!

It was all good, no added sugar!

Please keep in mind, I’m looking at the Ingredients list for added sugar. The sugars in the fruit spread are not from added sugar, but from the fruit and fruit juice used to make the spread.

I would recommend checking your peanut butter for added sugar. I know a lot of you like Skippy Natural but it has added sugar. I really like Smucker’s Natural, the only ingredients are peanuts and a little salt!

Looks like Sugar-Free Week is off to a good start! I’m trying to think of a sugar-free lunch to have…

41 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2011 1:12 pm

    The little bit of sugar that is in Skippy Natural doesn’t bother me. It’s only 3 grams per serving which is alright in my book. I try to keep it under 4 grams a serving, except for Mighty Maple which is the most delicious peanut butter on the planet and worth the 6 grams, lol! πŸ™‚

    • January 3, 2011 1:38 pm

      Yeah, the sugar in Skippy Natural isn’t anything to obsess over, but if you’re going Sugar-Free it is! πŸ˜‰

  2. January 3, 2011 1:36 pm

    Those look delicious — I guess I know what I’ll be having for breakfast tomorrow! πŸ™‚

  3. January 3, 2011 2:41 pm

    Mmmm pancakes πŸ™‚
    Those look yummy!

  4. January 3, 2011 2:50 pm

    Mmmmm pancakes. I prefer having oatmeal for breakfast but might try these for dinner later this week, lol πŸ˜€

  5. January 3, 2011 3:43 pm

    YES i just made some of these today but with water- they are so moist and plump! i added bloobs too! delicious!

  6. January 3, 2011 4:02 pm

    I heart pancakes! They make me happy! I make mine with coconut flour! Its a really good low carb high fiber flour!

    Yay for sugar free starting off great!

    • January 3, 2011 6:26 pm

      Wow, that’s awesome. I’ve never used coconut flour before!

  7. January 3, 2011 4:44 pm

    Those pancakes look delish! Eggs+salsa is the with out a doubt the best combo, ever.

  8. January 3, 2011 4:48 pm

    Good luck with your sugar free goal! That takes some major commitment, I would be having withdrawals!

  9. January 3, 2011 5:16 pm

    Yum! Breakfasts like this make me think I could give up sugar… for a little while, at least πŸ™‚

  10. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    January 3, 2011 5:37 pm

    Pancakes are the best, quick bread-substitute!!! Love making pb&j’s with them…

    Smuckers Natural is a bit too salty for me. I get an organic creamy pb from costco-it is the best i have found yet!!! And the cheapest!!!

  11. January 3, 2011 6:05 pm

    Is that a sunny side up egg?

    • January 3, 2011 6:28 pm

      Maybe? Haha, I don’t know what a sunny side up egg is! I just crack it on a skillet, let it cook then cover it, and flip it over for just a second and then eat!

  12. January 3, 2011 6:09 pm

    Awesome!! I hate that so many things have hidden sugar in them!! It is so frustrating! I love that peanut butter btw!

  13. January 3, 2011 6:09 pm

    Wow, thats one easy pancake recipe πŸ˜€ I really want to try it now! And a sugar free lunch shouldn’t be hard!

  14. January 3, 2011 6:27 pm

    YUM!! PB,B&J pancakes- perfect! πŸ™‚

  15. January 3, 2011 6:41 pm

    Those look marvelous! And I really like your blog and blog title!

  16. January 3, 2011 6:46 pm

    WOW! These look delicious, and I bet they taste great! Good luck with Sugar-Free Week! πŸ™‚

    • January 3, 2011 8:10 pm

      What, you don’t want to join me? Haha, just kidding πŸ˜‰

  17. January 3, 2011 7:59 pm

    I loove jam on my pancakes! Best pancake topping ever.

  18. January 3, 2011 8:34 pm

    Great job with the sugar-free pancakes! One day down πŸ™‚ I’m going to go check my peanut butter tonight. You’ve got me curious now..

  19. theflourishingfoodie permalink
    January 3, 2011 9:16 pm

    Yum those pancakes look great and so healthy and easy! What more can you ask for in a recipe? I love the idea of sugar free week, by the way.

  20. January 3, 2011 9:18 pm

    Kayla, these look so amazing!! Maybe I will make them for breakfast tomorrow. πŸ™‚ I love that they are sugar-free and dairy/egg-free.

  21. January 3, 2011 11:26 pm

    WOW! Good luck on that girl.
    Your gonna let your yummy bread that your worked sooo hard for go to waste??
    You could always start it another time, after the loaf is gone! Not to take away your motivation at all lol

    • January 4, 2011 1:46 pm

      Yeah, pretty much! I feel bad about it, I was going to eat it but then I’d have to do sugar-free week another time, and well, I don’t know if I’ll ever want to do it again!!

  22. January 3, 2011 11:40 pm

    You go, girl! I am so impressed with your determination to go sugar-free for a week. I had this amazing peanut butter at a local store where my sister lives (out in rural Wisconsin) and, once I got beyond the consistency (unlike my regular ‘ol pb that’s creamy, this was not really spreadable…basically because it didn’t have much oil), I loved it. It had dried cranberries and honey in it. Ummm YUM!

  23. Kate permalink
    January 4, 2011 7:57 am

    i love how easy pancakes are! why don’t i make them more often?!?!

  24. January 4, 2011 2:08 pm

    Eggs and salsa…we would get along very well πŸ™‚

  25. January 5, 2011 8:03 am

    Wow! These look so super simple! Great sugar-free meal! Ever since I started using less and less added sugar in my diet, I’ve found that a little bit of the natural stuff goes a long way. You just have to get rid of that processed sugar sweet tooth!

  26. January 7, 2011 8:11 am

    I love the simplicity of this recipe-i’m always looking for new pancake ideas:)

  27. January 17, 2011 5:03 pm

    This morning I made pancakes with your recipe… very very good!!!! =)

Trackbacks

  1. Recipes! « Little Miss Healthify
  2. Link Love | Raven Waves
  3. Flapjack Frenzy | FoodFitnessFun
  4. Link Love | Raven Waves

Leave a Reply

