Skip to content

Bread Machine Love

January 5, 2011

Hey guys! I realized that I hardly ever share my workouts with you, so thought I would today!

I woke up feeling a little sore from my heavy-weight lifting yesterday. So I took it a little easy on the work out front this morning.

  • 10 pushups
  • feet apart squats; 3 sets, 16 reps
  • feet together squats; 3 sets, 16 reps
  • ab crunches
  • planks; 3 times, 45 seconds

My heart was really pumping after those planks, those are so hard for me! Also, the squats, I try to do them pretty fast to get my heart rate up.

 

Then, I took Chipper on a nice loong walk. It was really warm out today, surprisingly!

When we got home I had wonderfully cold oats waiting for me in the fridge that I had prepared before we left for the walk!

Today I really wanted to make bread…again. You see, there’s no bread in our house that is sugar-free. So I’ve been in bread denial.

I searched online and tried to decide between about 20 different 100% whole wheat bread recipes. I finally settled on two.

We have two bread machines, so I made one loaf in each!

I love my bread machines! Look at them, hard at work. Knead that bread!

They take all the hard work out of baking bread, I highly HIGHLY recommend them!

The bread machine on the left is kneading the dough for this recipe from Cooking For Seven and the machine on the right is kneading and baking the bread for this recipe from AllRecipes.

For the Cooking For Seven loaf (above), I let the bread machine knead it and let it rise. Then I punched down the dough, put it in a greased bread pan and let it rise again in a 170°F oven for 40 minutes.

It rose soooo beautifully and baked wonderfully, I just took it out of the oven and it smells glorious!! I won’t be able to taste it though, it has sugar! Haha, I don’t know why I made it if I’m not going to eat it yet. I’m just weird.

Doesn’t it just look so soft and fluffy! The secret: vital wheat gluten! Whole wheat flour is different from all-purpose in that it doesn’t have a lot of gluten, so when baking 100% whole wheat bread you NEED to add it in! The gluten keeps the loaf soft, pliable and not crumbly!

As for the AllRecipes loaf, it did not rise very much at all. I actually omitted the sugar on this one so I can eat it.

Don’t mind how irregularly misshapen it is.  This bread machine’s  pan is tall, not like a “regular shaped” loaf.  It looks weird, doesn’t it. Haha.

I was reading reviews on AllRecipes, and a lot of suggestions were saying to add a 1/4 cup vital wheat gluten. So I did.

Look how fluffy and soft it came out!! You’d never know it was 100% whole wheat!

I bet you’re wondering….how did it taste? Well,I’m surprised by the taste. I left out the 1 1/2 Tbsp. sugar that it called for and it actually doesn’t taste too horrible! It’s pretty good plain…

but it’s even better smothered with Polaner Strawberry Fruit Spread! Ahh, heaven.

I’m FINALLY getting the hang of making my own bread. This makes me SOOO happy. I’m so excited! My goal of eating only homemade bread this year might not be so hard after all!!

I really REALLY encourage you to make your own 100% whole wheat bread sometime. The two recipes I use here would be a good place to start since they are not hard at all. Good luck!

Sugar-Free Week:

Check out Nicky’s sugar-free pudding recipe!

Also, I listen to this podcast called The Nutrition Diva and she has done a few very informative articles on sugar that I really liked! There’s two: Why Is Sugar Bad? and Is Natural Sugar Better For You?

We’re on the final stretch of Sugar-Free week, only 3.5 more days! Have you caved yet? I haven’t!

24 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2011 5:00 pm

    Oh bread makers are so cool! I never owned one but my godmother did and I remember her making some fresh cinnamon raisin bread and it was AMAZING!

    SO glad your bread turned out delish!!!

    Yay for your sugar free week going good!! xoxo

  2. January 5, 2011 5:06 pm

    Those breads look heavenly! ❤
    I've owned a bread machine for years now and never used it – I might have to break it out soon though! Bread machine bread is always so soft! 🙂

    • January 5, 2011 5:40 pm

      Aww, Erika you MUST get out that bread machine!

  3. January 5, 2011 5:15 pm

    Ooh la la!!! Homemade bread!!! SO GOOD!!

    When you do planks, do you do them on your hands, or do you go down onto your elbows (90 degree angle with the arms)? I like going down on my elbows (dolphin plank).

  4. January 5, 2011 5:19 pm

    JEALOUS!! I want a bread machine SO BADLY! We just dont have any room in our little kitchen right now. I have too many appliances already lol. As always, the puppers looks adorable!

  5. January 5, 2011 5:21 pm

    Awee, thanks for linking me 🙂
    By the way, I’m so jealous that you have a dog! I wish I had an excuse to go for walks all the time. When I do feel like walking, I have to beg my sister to come with me lol!
    And to be honest, yesterday I went out for pizza with my family and had a bit of cake.. I’m not too worried though, I hopped right back on the sugar-free wagon afterwards! Sometimes life just gets in the way 😛 Maybe I’ll have to extend my week an extra day to make up for it 🙂

    • January 5, 2011 5:39 pm

      Don’t worry about it AT ALL! 🙂 You’re awesome!

  6. January 5, 2011 5:33 pm

    OOH LA LA! Both of those loaves look AMAZING! I wish I could try some right now … 🙂

  7. January 5, 2011 5:34 pm

    Wow, both loaves look great! I have been thinking about making bread lately, so I appreciate the tip about the vital wheat gluten! 🙂

  8. January 5, 2011 6:22 pm

    I shoulddo an apple ffree week!LOL
    I love homemade bread!!

  9. January 5, 2011 6:56 pm

    Both of those loafs look delicious, but especially the first one! Planks kill me too! I just keep telling myself, your abs are strong, your abs are strong lol!

  10. January 5, 2011 7:01 pm

    Gosh darn, you’re making me want a bread machine so bad! Both those loaves look amazing. Good luck with the rest of SF week!

  11. January 5, 2011 7:16 pm

    I really need to jump on the bread machine bandwagon, I’ve made bread by hand and it is tough! I am horrible at kneading!

  12. January 5, 2011 8:13 pm

    Chipper is soooo cute!
    I need to purchase a bread maker instantly-your bread look so ridic good!

  13. January 5, 2011 8:33 pm

    I bet the AllRecipes one didn’t rise as much because yeast needs some sugar to eat in order to create carbon gas. The first loaf looks GLORIOUS! I just made a loaf today using the bread machine to knead. Its freeform, so I can’t use it for sandwiches, but it rose A LOT! I’m going to do a post on it soon 😀

  14. January 5, 2011 10:18 pm

    What beautiful bread!

  15. January 5, 2011 11:39 pm

    Ain’t homemade bread the best? I had a bread machine, but it was broken or something so it only produced rock-hard bread. 😦

  16. January 6, 2011 12:13 am

    That bread looks SO delicious! I just told my mom we should make homemade bread sometime while I’m still home. Although we don’t have bread machines…kinda wishin we did. 😛

  17. January 6, 2011 2:45 am

    i love planks! haha– well not love…. but theyre okay!
    your bread looks fab!! i am so jealouss you have TWO bread makers- i dont even have one! thanks for those articles- i will check them out!

  18. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    January 6, 2011 7:58 am

    I wanna make a gluten free bread!!! Ever since I’ve gone off gluten, I haven’t really craved it! But now I’m kinds craving a pb&j…

  19. January 6, 2011 10:33 am

    When I stayed with my aunt this past summer, she had a bread maker and sometimes made us the most delicious whole wheat bread ever. Now that I don’t have a breadmaker at home, I’m going through homemade bread withdrawals — that bread is seriously so much better than store-bought!

  20. January 6, 2011 11:38 am

    What is it about planks that are so dang tough? And making bread. I don’t think I’ll ever master that one!

  21. January 6, 2011 1:14 pm

    i use sugar free EVERYTHING. i just figure, i get enough natural sugar from the fruit and carbs that i eat on a daily basis. nothing wrong with it though! 🙂

    your bread looks great! awesome work, dear!

    xo.

  22. January 9, 2011 1:55 pm

    Hey 😀 I just found your blog from Jess’ (How Sweet Eats) comment section & I love your blog!! It’s so cute & your pup- O.M.G- ADORABLE!! I even had to show my fiance because he was just too cute 😉
    Oh, and your bread- holy yum!!

Leave a Reply

