Skip to content

Fool For Cookies

May 24, 2011

Somehow I convinced myself that baking cookies today would be a really good idea.

Despite the fact that I have about a million school-related things to do, I dove right into the cookbook cupboard and immersed myself in Ye Olde Better Homes And Gardens (not-so) New Cook Book.

Circa 1989. Why does that feel like such an eternity ago?

I flipped to my favorite section. Obviously.

Peanut Butter Cookies it is!

Immediately I realized that I just finished off the whole wheat flour for bread, but we had a little bit of all purpose left.

I always group foods into “healthy” or “bad”. But I’m realizing that it’s a nasty habit and needs to stop.

Instead of classifying all-purpose flour as “unhealthy” or “bad”, how about we just say that whole wheat flour would be a “better” choice. So I used the all-purpose, but there wasn’t enough! I still needed more flour.

Oats to the rescue. I blended oats into oat flour and the crisis was averted. I have used oat flour in a lot of things, but never cookies. It was worth a shot.

Peanut Butter Cookies

adapted from an old Better Homes And Gardens Cookbook

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened

1/2 cup peanut butter (I didn’t measure….it was probably more than 1/2 cup)

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 + 1/4 cup oat flour

3/4 cup agave nectar

1 egg

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. vanilla (plus more, because who doesn’t love more vanilla?)

Oven, put it at 375ΒΊ.

With an electric mixer, beat butter and peanut butter until smooth. Add all-purpose flour, agave, egg, baking soda, baking powder and vanilla. Beat till thoroughly combined. Beat in oat flour.

With spoon, place dallops of dough onto silpat cooking sheet. Bake for 10 minutes, or until edges are just starting to brown.

Um these were surprisingly delicious. I devoured 9.

Clearly, I have issues.

The most important thing to me in a cookie is the texture. They should NOT be cake like, but a little chewy and kind of dense.

Did they pass the texture test?

With flying stars.

To say I am impressed with how these came out would be an understatement. Are they the healthiest cookies? Uh, no. But they sure are delicious! Plus they’re made with oat flour! How many cookies can say that?

What do you look for in a cookie? What’s most important? Texture and taste (obvi) for me!

28 Comments leave one →
  1. May 24, 2011 2:52 pm

    texture is key for me. I either like it gooey out of the oven or a little crispy! πŸ˜‰

  2. May 24, 2011 2:59 pm

    I honestly never measure my peanut butter either. The more the better right? These sound delicious girl!

  3. May 24, 2011 3:13 pm

    Those cookies look amazing! Taste is definitely a big one and I love cookies that are chewy and soft yet don’t crumble πŸ˜€

  4. movesnmunchies permalink
    May 24, 2011 3:51 pm

    GOOEY ness is key! i like doughy centers!

  5. applesnoats permalink
    May 24, 2011 4:14 pm

    i’m with carrie!I’m all about the doughy texture

  6. May 24, 2011 4:46 pm

    That’s awesome!!! I love a good, chewy, huge cookie!!!

  7. May 24, 2011 5:01 pm

    Peanut Butter is one of my favorite but I think ym all time favorite will always be oatmeal. As as for taste vs. texture..they have to have both, really. Taste is important but can always be made better by toppings while texture has to be fun, you know? And it all depends on what I happen to be in the mood for at the moment!

  8. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    May 24, 2011 5:07 pm

    Know what is so funny? I was talking with my sister about 30 minutes ago-we were both in the baking mood. We decided we would bake peanut butter cookies tonight. I thought oat flour would taste fabulous with peanut butter cookies, so we decided to make pb oat cookies. This was 30 minutes ago, and then I just read this! Ha! We are so on the same wave πŸ™‚

  9. May 24, 2011 5:17 pm

    Healthy pb cookies sound perfect to me right now! I need my cookies to be super moist!

  10. May 24, 2011 5:18 pm

    I love cookies to be nice and sweet and soft. Hard crusty cookies are never okay. I have convinced myself all day that blogging is a better idea than school work. Twinnies!

  11. May 24, 2011 7:56 pm

    They have to be crispy on the edges and gooey in the middle! and best warm right out of the oven. Oh man, I got some mad cookie cravings now πŸ˜€

  12. May 24, 2011 8:47 pm

    Peanut Butter cookies are my weakness. I should not make these! πŸ˜€

    Whitney

  13. May 24, 2011 9:20 pm

    I loved how you said that labeling flours as good vs. bad wasn’t a good idea, and that simply calling one better is the way to go. You’re a smart cookie πŸ™‚

    As for cookie, cookies… the most important thing for me is the texture… it’s gotta be ooey-gooey and chewy πŸ˜€

  14. May 24, 2011 9:43 pm

    I’m not a huge fan of cookies… I’d much rather have a muffin or scone. But if I’m going to have a cookie I like them to be soft, but not crumbly. An abundance of chocolate chips or other fun mix-ins is always a plus!

  15. The Teenage Taste permalink
    May 24, 2011 10:02 pm

    These cookies look fabulous. I love how thin and chewy they are! And peanut butter cookies are the best, obviously! πŸ˜‰

  16. May 24, 2011 10:48 pm

    These pb cookies sound so good! Texture is the most important part of a cookie for me they have to be chewy and soft

  17. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! permalink
    May 24, 2011 10:49 pm

    I love using oat flour in baked goods! Gives them such a great texture!

    Anything peanutbutter is bound to be delicious and these cookies look extra yummy! πŸ™‚

  18. May 25, 2011 12:01 am

    I like moist cookies. I don’t like when they snap when you bite into them. I like them to be moist and not too crumbly. πŸ™‚

  19. May 25, 2011 8:28 am

    I’d say baking cookies was definitelyyyy a good idea! And the texture just looks amazing.

  20. May 25, 2011 2:42 pm

    Mmm….those sound great! Peanut butter anything is good, but peanut butter cookies with oat flour? Amazing!!

  21. May 25, 2011 8:16 pm

    these look seriously SO great!! I love using oat flour in my recipes!! so healthy and delicious too:) and i know what you mean on the “good” bad labels…definitely not a fun thing to be accustomed to!

  22. May 25, 2011 9:05 pm

    How are you girl?!! Been a while! Loving the pb cookies! Yum!! Your dog is too cute begging for one!!

  23. May 26, 2011 3:17 pm

    dude you can never go wrong with peanut butter cookies, mmmm i love the camera shot of the mid-eaten cookie. these look delectable ❀ xoxo

  24. May 26, 2011 4:05 pm

    Those look DELICIOUS!!

  25. May 26, 2011 4:16 pm

    Oh yum peanut butter cookies are always so good, i always like a nice chewy cookie. I hate it when cookies are crunchy.

  26. May 26, 2011 8:32 pm

    Yum! Peanut butter cookies are one of my favorites! I’m really big on texture…soft and chewy, yet still firm enough to keep from crumbling! And there the best when right out of the oven of course…burnt tongue and all! πŸ˜‰

  27. May 31, 2011 1:44 am

    Kayla, you really shouldn’t have posted these. I need them nowwwwww. πŸ˜› Just kidding, but they really do look amazing. I’m glad you posted them. πŸ™‚

    Btw, I LOVE your header! So cute. Did you make it on picnik?

    • May 31, 2011 12:48 pm

      Thanks, Kelsey! I made the header on Paint.net, actually!

Leave a comment