Skip to content

Flip-Flopped

May 26, 2011

Life has been just crazy lately! My mom now works full-time and my dad is unemployed, it’s flip-flopped! So crazy. My dad still hasn’t found a job. He’s been looking and searching, and he has a few leads so we are all just hoping one of them works out!

We ran out of batteries for my camera and I keep forgetting to get more at the store! But here are some pictures I got before the batteries died!

I’ve been making lots of bread the last few days! Let’s face it: homemade bread is just better!

I found a new recipe! And it’s even better than my LAST favorite recipe! It’s so soft and light!

100% Whole Wheat Bread (Bread Machine)

from Food.com

1 1/2 cups water + 2 TBSP powdered milk OR 1 1/2 cups milk

2 TBSP canola oil

2 TBSP honey

2 TBSP molasses (I just did more honey)

1 1/2 tsp. salt

3 1/3 cups whole wheat flour

1 1/2 tsp. yeast

Add all ingredients to bread machine pan in order listed. Set bread machine to Whole Wheat cycle, 2 LB. loaf and press START.

Easy peasy.

Seriously, give it a go if you have a bread machine! I make two at a time since we have two bread machines!

Weird things I eat on a daily basis:

huge, crazy salads with a random assortment of veggies and toppings

cream of wheat (farina) with tahini, carob chips and cinnamon

homemade coconut milk ice cream!! made by blending one can of full-fat coconut milk, 1 1/2 frozen bananas, cocoa powder and a little honey, then freezing it in an ice cube tray until solid then blending again! so delicious.

southwestern omelet. with black beans, onions, salsa and guac and chili powder. after the photo I poured EVEN MORE black beans on top. a delicious massive heap of beans = OBSESSED

Amazing Grass (that Lindsay sent me!) smoothie in a jar. delish.

carrot cake oats with raisins and cinnamon! oh and that’s coconut butter crumbles on top! I hate to call these “carrot cake oats” because, come on, a bowl of oats just DOES NOT taste the same as a freshly baked slice of carrot cake, are you with me?!

Speaking of carrots…

I made my carrot-raisin MUFFINS again! Only this time they were a MILLION times better!! I subbed half of the whole wheat flour for oat flour, used the whole egg (not just whites) and used 3/4 cup agave and even more shredded carrots and raisins! These were SO much better than the last batch I made, so I’ll update the recipe page with these modifications. Seriously GO MAKE THESE.

Hope you all are having a fabulous week! It’s almost SUMMER!

How many days of school left for you?

– I don’t get a summer break from school. I like taking 2-3 classes online year round instead of 5 during the school year like traditional school!

Have you ever made homemade ice cream?

– It’s definitely going to become a regular occurrence here for me! I love how the Vitamix can blend frozen ice cubes into ice cream!

53 Comments leave one →
  1. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    May 26, 2011 5:17 pm

    ohgosh….I tried to make the ice cube ice cream yesterday by freezing coffee mixed with almond milk….it failed…..my magic bullet isn’t tough enough 😦

    • May 27, 2011 1:08 pm

      Oh yeah, the Vitamix was having a hard time, so I can imagine!

  2. May 26, 2011 5:32 pm

    I have never made homemade ice cream – but I really need to give your homemade coconut milk iced cream a shot! That sounds so delicious!! 🙂

  3. May 26, 2011 5:36 pm

    Ive always wanted to make homemade bread!! What kind of bread machine do you have? Any you recommend?

  4. May 26, 2011 6:04 pm

    IHomemade bread.. YUM! Well.. I am not in school.. but teachers count down the days too. 11 full days and 3 half days left! 🙂

  5. May 26, 2011 6:13 pm

    I loooove homemade bread!!!!!!!!!!! 😀 The best!

  6. May 26, 2011 6:27 pm

    that coconut milk ice cream looks DEVINE! Also, that omelet looks amazing… I’m a texan girl so I love those flavors (:
    Okay, to be honest EVERYTHING in this blog post looks to die for!
    And I’m happy you perfected your muffins! I didn’t make your original version, but you’ve convinced me to make the perfected version…do they rise well? That’s the only problem I get with carrot cake muffins…they turn out like dense hockey pucks ):

  7. May 26, 2011 6:29 pm

    I’m totally into huge piles of veggies with some protein, too!! It’s my go-to dinner.

  8. May 26, 2011 6:29 pm

    Loving the homemade bread and the carrot muffins. You should send it in for Tara’s food friday!

  9. May 26, 2011 6:46 pm

    I got out of Spring semester only to go straight back into Summer semester. Blech to summer classes.

  10. May 26, 2011 6:46 pm

    Oh I NEED to try that method of making ice cream. I don’t have an ice cream maker and I always get super jealous when I see people pumping out homemade treats, so I’m definitely gonna try the freeze and blend method. Now if only I could stop being a wuss (working with yeast intimidates me) and make some homemade bread too…

    • May 27, 2011 1:06 pm

      It used to intimidate me, too! But when you just throw all the ingredients in the bread machine it’s easy!

  11. May 26, 2011 6:48 pm

    Hey love! Wishing your dad luck on the job search!!!

    Loving the bread, it looks really good!

    xoxo

  12. May 26, 2011 7:34 pm

    I put more black beans on top of my quesadillas too! Posted about it last week. I heart beans… Love that you do too!

  13. May 26, 2011 7:58 pm

    Mmm yes homemade bread is always a million times better than store bought bread. Your loaf looks delicious! 😀

    I actually just tried carrot cake oats for the first time yesterday and I loved them! I used Angela’s recipe from Oh She Glows.

  14. May 26, 2011 8:08 pm

    I was considering buying an ice cream maker solely for the sake of making homemade ice cream – but now it looks like I don’t have to. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU my dear. You just saved me a butt ton of money 🙂

  15. May 26, 2011 8:31 pm

    Hey! I just found your blog and great post! Though, I’m really sorry to hear about your dad’s job situation, I’m sure that he’ll find a perfect fit for him soon enough. Wish him my luck!

    And yum, that bread looks delicious, as does the rest of the daily assortment of goods. Hehe. Also, I’m a huge fan of black beans, those things are the best! 🙂

    Glad I found your blog and looking forward to more posts. 🙂

  16. May 26, 2011 8:37 pm

    I have yet to make homemade ice cream! But I think it’s about time I cracked open that new ice cream machine now that the weather is warming up!

    The carrot raisin muffins look absolutely mouth-watering!!

    Still keeping your dad in my thoughts/prayers! I hope he is able to find a new job soon!

  17. May 26, 2011 8:55 pm

    Woah, you go to school year round? That’s impressive. I think your bowl of carrot oats looks beautiful 🙂 As for me, I have been out of school since Monday the 16th and one time my mom and I made homemade vanilla ice cream in our ice cream maker. It was a lot of effort so now I just stick to banana soft serve!

  18. theflourishingfoodie permalink
    May 26, 2011 9:08 pm

    Today was my last day of school! I’ve made homemade coconut milk ice cream before and it is so good! I don’t have a vita, but I make it in an ice-cream maker. I really want to that bread, I love homemade bread! Two bread machines? That’s awesome!

  19. May 26, 2011 9:31 pm

    Carrot Raisin!
    Delicious
    xoxo
    bB
    please stop by and say hi
    http://www.itsybitsybrianna.wordpress.com

  20. May 26, 2011 9:43 pm

    Love the carrot muffins 🙂 They’ll be posted on my blog tomorrow!
    Taking classes year round actually sounds really nice. I feel like there would be a lot more balance in my life, and it would be more like having a job that is year round. Though the total break is nice!
    I hope your Dad finds a job soon! I’m praying for you guys.. it’s such a hard situation and you are staying positive, which is so admirable!

  21. May 26, 2011 10:25 pm

    What kind of yeast do you use? I’ve only used my bread machine once, and I used active dry. The results were frightening and I haven’t tried making bread since 😦

    • May 27, 2011 12:59 pm

      I use instant yeast! But I’ve read that the kind of yeast doesn’t matter TOO much, so you should try this recipe, it’s no-fail! 🙂

  22. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! permalink
    May 26, 2011 11:02 pm

    That bread looks yummy! If only I had a bread machine!!!

    I have about three weeks of school left sadly 😦

    And I have made homemade icecream….by hand!! It wasn’t as thick as normal icecream, but still delish!

  23. May 26, 2011 11:16 pm

    That’s really smart to do 2-3 classes all year round 🙂 I got off for summer break a few weeks ago, but with the amount of hours I’ve been working it doesn’t feel like I’m ever going to have an actual vacation *blah*

  24. May 26, 2011 11:23 pm

    YUM!!! How do you like the Tahini and Cream Wheat combo?

    I’m so sorry to hear that your Dad is unemployed right now. I remember when my dad was laid off. It was a really hard time for us. Now, we feel it is a blessing that my dad was laid off because if he hadn’t been, he wouldn’t have the job that he has now. Kayla, I know things will turn out soon. 🙂 Sometimes, answers to prayers just take a little while, but they always come. I know that to be true.

  25. May 26, 2011 11:31 pm

    OMG I’m deffinetly trying homemade coconut milk ice cream! I bet it would save me money – i have a coconut milk ice cream addiction 😛

  26. May 27, 2011 3:52 am

    i klove how u make ice cream! that sounds delicious!!! so does the bread! i wish i had a bread maker!! i get out the 15th of june!

  27. The Teenage Taste permalink
    May 27, 2011 7:22 am

    I have 15 school days left until I am free! YAY! Now I guess I should start studying for finals, eh? I hate studying soooo much!
    PS – All of your eats look delicious! That omelet is making me droooool! 😀

  28. May 27, 2011 7:58 am

    *sigh* I’ve been out of school for 5 years now. I do miss having friends around a lot, but I like not having homework anymore. 🙂

    I made ice cream in my chemistry class in high school once. We got to roll large coffee cans down the hall to help mix everything. It was delicious.

  29. May 27, 2011 9:05 am

    Your bread looks amazing, I wish I had a bread machine. But in the meanwhile, I’m on the hunt for recipes I can make in my bread pan!

  30. applesnoats permalink
    May 27, 2011 9:42 am

    praying for your dad love!!!everything will work out!
    I have never made homeade ice cream ..I am too intimidated hahah

  31. May 27, 2011 11:30 am

    I’ve never made bread before, omg it looks so yummy! That coconut ice cream looks equally as yummy 😀

  32. May 27, 2011 11:49 am

    I’ve made homemade ice cream before but haven’t in a long time! Well besides banana soft serve! Your homemade bread looks really good. Making my own whole wheat bread has been on my too do list for SO long!

  33. May 27, 2011 11:50 am

    Kayla, you keep reminding me of how badly I need a bread machine.

  34. May 27, 2011 1:25 pm

    aw man that ice cream looks delish! does it taste like banana though ?

    • May 27, 2011 1:30 pm

      I added a lot of cocoa powder, so it tasted like chocolate!

  35. May 27, 2011 1:52 pm

    ur salads are fantastic! its really cool to see what types of things everyone puts into their own salads, i think they say a lot about a person. not sure exactly what yours says about you but id guess that it says you are adventurous, outgoing, creative, worldly, and out-of-the box- gotta love that combo!! ❤

    i miss making breads in the bread machine- i think its due time i bring that bad boy out from hiding!! hehe

    xoxo ❤

    • May 27, 2011 4:06 pm

      Haha, thanks Kelsey! That’s funny! I think what people eat does say a lot about them!

  36. May 27, 2011 2:15 pm

    I think it is so brave of you to share the situation with your father on you blog! Hope it works out soon!
    I love how that ice cream looks! I usually make mine by blending soaked raw cashews, maple/agave sirup, and cacao and vanilla or raspberries! Really delicious:)
    Wish you a good weekend!

  37. May 27, 2011 5:56 pm

    The ice cream looks delicious – perfect texture!! And i”m so happy you like the Amazing Grass – it’s good stuff! 🙂

  38. May 27, 2011 6:06 pm

    That bread AND ice cream look SO good!!

  39. May 27, 2011 11:25 pm

    Your ice cream sounds sooo good! And I LOVE cream of wheat too!

  40. May 27, 2011 11:46 pm

    I am dying to make my own ice cream! I totally have an ice cream maker, but I’ve never used it. I want to do it this weekend 🙂

  41. littlehealthjunkie permalink
    May 28, 2011 8:59 am

    I’m still 100% hoping that your daddy finds a job soon; stay tough girlie! oh but your bread sound fantastic btw, I wish I had a bread machine, and it’s so dang healthy too! maybe i just need to get one:) and I eat crazy weird foods everyday too! ALWAYS a huge crazy good salad with tons of randoms on there, and always oats or some grain with chocolate or carob chips and some kind of nut butta. (did i introduce you to that tahini on oats combo way back when!?!) and ice cream is always a necessity of course too. YUM! ps that omelet looks bomb!

  42. May 28, 2011 4:31 pm

    Hey Kayla!

    Wonderful post! — the food looks scrumptious.

    I think it was you who started following one of my blogs –that I deleted! Hee hee, I was having a bit of fun and started up a blog, but I deleted it because it was… err… the name: ‘grapefruits and oceans’. I mean, I was unsure with it. 🙂 Now I’ve got a ::real:: blog if you want to see it! It’s called ‘capture life’ (url :: p-o-n-d-e-r-i-n-g.blogspot.com )

    much love!

    acacia

  43. May 31, 2011 1:42 am

    Ummm I definitely approve of your daily eats!! Sooo good. The muffins look awesome; isn’t it fun when small little changes make a huge difference? Also, I love making coconut milk ice cream with my Vita-Mix. It is so fun. I think I’m going to try fresh mint coconut milk ice cream tomorrow. A woman in my ward gave me a bag of mint from her garden, so I’m excited. 🙂

    Also, that recipe is even better?! How is that possible?! Haha. I wonder what the directions are if you don’t have a bread-maker… because I don’t have one, but I want to make that. :/

  44. June 4, 2011 3:25 am

    mmmm black beans are so so so so good!

Leave a Reply

