Skip to content

New Grain In Town

May 20, 2011

I tried a new grain for breakfast today! Nowhere on the front does it say “farina”, but that’s what it is!

I loved it! The texture was that of oat bran and it got so thick!

I’m lazy, so yes, I did cook it in the microwave. After it was cooked nice and thick I stirred in a ton of frozen blueberries, (which cooled it off nicely!) and topped it with a few roasted almonds. Tasted like a Blueberry Muffin!

I forgot who it was, but someone left a comment a while ago saying I could use my waffle maker as a panini press!

Brilliant idea right thurr.

Isn’t it the cutest little sandwich you ever did see?

But what really counts is in the inside.

Peanut butter, banana and, I was feeling crazy, so some unsweetened carob chips!

Need I say more?

35 Comments leave one →
  1. applesnoats permalink
    May 20, 2011 3:48 pm

    oh my goodness that is brilliant! i love your sense of adventure:)

  2. May 20, 2011 3:51 pm

    I love farina! The meal of my childhood, sprinkled with come cocoa 🙂 Delicious.
    Waffle makers are great for making paninis!

  3. May 20, 2011 3:57 pm

    That waffle sammie is hilarious! What a great idea!

    And I’ve never had farina before. Does it take long to cook?

    • May 20, 2011 4:03 pm

      The farina is actually quicker than regular rolled oats!

  4. May 20, 2011 3:59 pm

    I’ve never had farina, but I think I would love it. And the sandwich looks tasty – reminds me of my Nana-Dilla. The melted chocolate in the middle is soooo good 🙂

  5. May 20, 2011 4:07 pm

    Ohh that looks good. I want to try it!
    Have a lovely weekend girl!

    Whitney

  6. May 20, 2011 4:10 pm

    Oh wow! That totally is the cutest (and most delicious) sandwich! I’ve never thought of using a waffle maker as a panini press, thanks for the idea!

    And thanks for reminding me that I actually love farina! There are so many good grains out there, that I tend to forget about a lot of them.

  7. Molly @ Mollyrunsfresh permalink
    May 20, 2011 4:29 pm

    That is so creative that you used your waffle maker as a panini press! I can’t wait to try this, it would probably save me money from buying yet another kitchen appliance.

  8. May 20, 2011 4:51 pm

    ive heard so much about farina!!! AHAH I LOVE ur creativity with the waffle maker! genius!

  9. Mandi permalink
    May 20, 2011 5:23 pm

    I absolutely love the idea of using a waffle maker as a panini press! I definitely have to try that out. 🙂 You’ve also given me major cravings for a pb & banana sandwich. I haven’t had one in so long and it sounds really good right now.

  10. May 20, 2011 5:35 pm

    Love how you used your waffle iron as a panini press! lol Too clever 😀
    I’ve never had farini before but it looks yummy 🙂

  11. May 20, 2011 5:54 pm

    I’ve always been interested in that stuff! I used to love grits and all that so Malt-o-meal seems like it’d be a good alternative.

  12. May 20, 2011 7:26 pm

    All of your food looks good!!! Especially that sandwich!!!! Cute and tasty! hahaha

  13. May 20, 2011 9:21 pm

    I used to do that before I got my panini press. I’ve used the waffle iron to make french toast and grill veggies too! It’s actually quite versatile!
    The farina actually looks really good, it kind of looks like oat bran. Does it taste similar?

  14. May 20, 2011 9:37 pm

    Malt o meal is farina?! Who would have thought . Good to know its a winner!

  15. May 20, 2011 9:43 pm

    Looks so good!

  16. May 20, 2011 10:50 pm

    Your Farina looks fabulous! Yummy! And I never thought about using my waffle maker as a panini maker! Totally going to try that. 🙂

  17. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! permalink
    May 20, 2011 10:58 pm

    I love cream of wheat!! You’re right…it is SO creamy and thick! That sandwich looks just how I like ’em….CRISPY!!!!

  18. May 20, 2011 11:20 pm

    mmm….im just learning to love carob. that panini looks amazing! I just found your blog and i am lovin it so far! i just started a blog and suddenly all these blogs i wasnt reading before are now popping up everywhere!! 😀

  19. May 20, 2011 11:56 pm

    I love Malt-o-Meal!!! It’s such a delicious hot cereal!

  20. May 21, 2011 1:01 am

    I think all sandwiches taste the best when they are wedged between two pressed pieces of bread. 🙂

  21. May 21, 2011 11:03 am

    My waffle maker can be used for other things? Wow that is single handely made my life ha. To think I could use it for every meal.

    I had faina in Puerto Rico and loved it so much I hoarded about ten cases of it in my suitcase. What can I say…I’m obsessesive.

  22. May 21, 2011 12:44 pm

    Brilliant idea with the waffle press for sandwiches. I seriously need to buy a waffle press. And a Garmin. And a KitchenAid, lol.

  23. May 21, 2011 12:58 pm

    that is THE cutest sandwich!!! love it!

  24. May 21, 2011 7:35 pm

    That is an adorable sandwich!!

  25. May 21, 2011 11:39 pm

    How cool. I love being creative with new foods 😀

  26. May 22, 2011 8:03 am

    Ahhh ive seen that before in the US, we cant get it in the UK i dont think 😦 i really want to try it too, it looks so yummy snif.

  27. May 22, 2011 10:30 am

    Oh and by the way – I’m not sure when you changed your header, but I really really like it!! 🙂

  28. littlehealthjunkie permalink
    May 22, 2011 10:52 am

    Oh myyy GAWWDD!! That is so so genius! I am totally making myself a waffled panini for lunch today! AH so excited!! And that farina bowl looks great, I’ve never seen it in a box like that!

  29. Catt @ Fueled by Nature permalink
    May 22, 2011 10:24 pm

    that farina looks yummy! i love how the blueberries melted into it heh

  30. May 23, 2011 8:40 am

    I’ve never heard of farina, but it looks delish! And I am literally loling over your “panini,” it’s so cute!

  31. runyogarepeat permalink
    May 23, 2011 10:40 pm

    That is a brilliant idea – what a cute panini!

  32. May 24, 2011 12:55 pm

    oh my lord. GIMME THAT PANINI. ASORIGHPARTUGAH

Leave a Reply

