Skip to content

Dark Chocolate Almond Butter

January 19, 2011

Thanks for all the Overnight Oats tips! I’m going to use yogurt instead of milk and see how it goes!

Also, you guys loved the doughy bread!! I do too, it is so good!

***

Today I really wanted to make almond butter.

Dark chocolate almond butter.

dark chocolate almond butter on doughy bread....heaven

Oh yes.

Dark Chocolate Almond Butter

– 2 cups almonds

– 2 batches of Katie’s Chocolate Butter

1. Roast the almonds on a cookie sheet in a 300°F for 30 minutes. Take them out and let them cool completely.

2. Meanwhile, make the chocolate butter. I didn’t have coconut oil, so I used canola and used honey to sweeten it.

3. Place the cooled almonds in your food processor and process them on high until they’re nice and smooth. Gradually scoop in the chocolate butter. Keep processing and then voila!

The main reason I wanted to make dark chocolate almond butter was so I could make Heather’s Everything-But-Sugar Oatmeal Cookies !

They are delicious! They’re surprisingly pretty sweet, even though there’s really no added sugar!

When I was making them, I almost didn’t add the dried cranberries, but I’m so glad I did! They really add a great flavor!

The only things I did differently was I didn’t have applesauce, so I used pumpkin and I didn’t have coconut oil, so I used canola instead!

Thanks Heather, they are so delicious and super healthy! I love them!

These have the potential of being the next Super-Charge-Me Cookie if you ask me!

34 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2011 1:10 pm

    Dark Chocolate Almond Butter!!!! THAT IS AWESOMENESS!!!!! That looks so good!! Kayla, you always have the best recipes! Thank you for all of your time and effort you put into them! 🙂

    • January 19, 2011 1:27 pm

      Oh thank you so much, you totally just made my day!

  2. January 19, 2011 1:37 pm

    MM. I have been eating dark chocolate peanut butter. It is amazing.

    Those cookies look fabulous. Nom nom nom.

  3. January 19, 2011 1:39 pm

    Thank you! I am so so glad you liked them! The cranberries do really takes these cookies over the top!

  4. January 19, 2011 1:44 pm

    This is wonderful, Kayla! I love how prompt you are with updating your recipes page. I need to be better about that. Question: when you make Katie’s chocolate butter, is it liquid-y, or is it thicker and spreadable like in her pictures? I’ve made it a couple times and both times it just looks like a drizzle-y chocolate sauce. Any ideas?

    I want to make Heather’s cookies!

    • January 19, 2011 2:18 pm

      It’s pretty thick when I make it! I don’t know why it’s so runny for you. When I make it, I just be sure to do do the oil first then stir in the cocoa powder. If it’s too thin, add more cocoa. Then last I add the sweetener.

  5. January 19, 2011 1:50 pm

    another wonderful recipe from the beautiful and talented kayla! 🙂 awesomeness! now i won’t have to spend $7/jar on justin’s! haha.

  6. movesnmunchies permalink
    January 19, 2011 2:10 pm

    oo those cookie sound GREAT!! and YAY for almond butter- looks so amazing!

  7. January 19, 2011 2:12 pm

    That almond butter looks like pure bliss!! 🙂

  8. January 19, 2011 2:19 pm

    This looks amazing =) I’m so lazy I usually put chocolate chips on/in my almond/peanut butter. haha! This looks 10xbetter!

  9. January 19, 2011 2:27 pm

    All I can say is… YES!

  10. January 19, 2011 2:45 pm

    mmm your almond butter looks good and your cookies even better!!

  11. January 19, 2011 2:53 pm

    oh gosh, I buy that dark chocolate almond butter all the time. Melt in on top of frozen banana and its awesome. I’ll have to try those cookies too!

  12. January 19, 2011 3:33 pm

    If dark chocolate almond butter is anything like nutella, sign me uppp!!! Yuuum 🙂 Your cookies look pretty stinkin awesome too!

  13. January 19, 2011 3:43 pm

    What a perfect oatmeal recipe for me I don’t like using fake sugar I would rather use natural sweeteners from fruit in my cookies that sugar so I am lovin this recipe. Also the Chocolate almond better looks like HEAVEN!

  14. January 19, 2011 4:00 pm

    Thanks for the almond butter recipe; love that it is dark chocolate! Looks amazing. 🙂

  15. January 19, 2011 4:04 pm

    Oh my goodness! You are the epitome of genius! I want to eat that sauce from your finger… but I will refrain, since you’d probably find that gross ;).

    Also, I must tell you that your blog is addictive! I just clicked this post, but then I saw more and more and kept on reading. And now I’m off to read some more! 🙂

  16. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    January 19, 2011 5:19 pm

    Omg, how did I miss that cookie recipe?? It says sugar-free, so naturally, I must make it!!

  17. This Italian Family permalink
    January 19, 2011 5:27 pm

    Saw this on Heather’s blog and they look just as tasty here! Yum! 🙂

  18. January 19, 2011 5:47 pm

    Yum!! I love dark chocolate anything, but dark chocolate almond butter is even BETTER! Those cookies look excellent too! I need to go find the recipe!

  19. January 19, 2011 5:52 pm

    Oooh looks delish!! Love this recipe! Bookmarking! 😀

  20. January 19, 2011 6:33 pm

    awwwwww *drool* I LOVE flavored nut butters!

  21. January 19, 2011 6:49 pm

    Fabulous idea!! Great pictures too! Can’t wait to see what you make with it!

  22. January 19, 2011 8:06 pm

    My stomach is growling just looking at those pictures!

  23. January 19, 2011 8:29 pm

    Another great recipe for my food processor! 🙂

    Thanks for checking out my blog! I’m enjoying reading yours!

  24. January 19, 2011 10:08 pm

    Thank you for the great, healthy recipes

  25. January 19, 2011 10:15 pm

    I love anything that has to do with nut butter and chocolate… Also those cookies look AMAZING! I’ve really been trying to cut back on my sugar intake. I’m going to make some of these this weekend 🙂

  26. January 20, 2011 8:18 am

    Read the title and said yes please outloud…oatmeal cookies with no sugar? And they still taste and look delish-sign me up!

  27. January 20, 2011 6:30 pm

    wow, we’re like twins! Haha just a couple days ago I was thinking about making dark chocolate almond butter…I’ll definitely use this recipe. Thanks!!

  28. January 20, 2011 6:32 pm

    when I finish the jar of almond butter a try this recipe for sure!

  29. January 21, 2011 7:23 pm

    That recipe could rival Justin’s Chocolate Almond Butter, which in my opinion is like heaven on earth!

Trackbacks

  1. Recipes! « Little Miss Healthify

Leave a comment