Skip to content

Is It Supposed To Be Gritty?

January 18, 2011

Well, hello guys!

I have been tagged quite a few times to do this little survey, so here it goes!

Four TV Shows I Watch

I don’t really watch TV, we don’t have cable! This is the only show I watch.

1. The Biggest Loser

Four Things I’m Passionate About

1. Creating recipes!
2. Health, Nutrition, Exercise
3. Church
4. My family 

Four Words/Phrases I Use Too Much
1. “That’s so cute!”
2. “Oh my goodness!”
3. “Are you fo’ real?”
4. “Hey hey!”

Four Places I’d Like To Go

1. Washington D.C. (I only went once, for a day, I’d like to go see all the museums!)

2. Europe. Travel around. See the cultures, history, artifacts, and, of course, eat the food!

3. Universal Studios Harry Potter Wizarding World
4. Whole Foods (there’s one 45 minutes away from me and I still haven’t gone!)

Four Things I Did Yesterday

1. Made a beautiful parfait for breakfast.

plain Chobani, frozen blueberries and the other 1/2 Earnest Eats Blueberry Vanilla Crackle plank

2. Made coconut butter in our Vitamix!! It was a piece of work, but so worth it! It wouldn’t get very smooth, it’s very gritty? Is all coconut butter that way?

from this....

....to this! Is all coconut butter this gritty?

3. Finally shelled out the moo-lah for some chia!


4. Used chia seeds for the first time in overnight oats!

Brownie Overnight Oats:

– 1/3 cup oats

– 1 cup almond milk

– 1 scoop chocolate protein powder

– 1/2 Tbsp. cocoa powder

– 1/2 t. vanilla extract

– 1 Tbsp. chia seeds

Mix in bowl, cover and refrigerate overnight! Although, it tasted delicious, just like brownie batter, I was actually a bit disappointed. It was very very drippy, not like oatmeal should be at all! Any tips for making thick and voluminous overnight oats with chia seeds?

Four Things I’m Craving
1. Omelet!
2. Banana soft serve
3. Doughy bread!

I made a loaf of bread on Sunday using my favorite recipe, as per usual. I accidentally let it rise waaaay too long and so it collapsed! I didn’t want to let it rise again (it was at about 9pm) so I baked the collapsed loaf anyway. The result?

Thick, doughy, cake-like bread. I almost like it better this way, I might just start collapsing all my loaves!

4. Sauteed vegetables

Four Things I’ve Learned From The Past
1.Don’t compare yourself to others.
2. You’re beautiful just the way you are.
3. Sweet potatoes and coconut butter are BOMB!
4. Never go rollerskating down a steep hill with a skirt on….I still have the scars.

Four Things I’m Looking Forward To
1. Summer!
2. Having a family of my own!
3. College
4. Being DONE with school!

Four Things I Love About Winter
1. Spending it in Florida where it’s not FREEZING cold
2. baking!
3. Christmas Lights
4. Fuzzy warm purple socks

I’m supposed to pass it on to 4 people, but I think everyone has done it! Haha, I bet I’m the last one! If you haven’t done it and want to, please do so!

***

Did anybody else go to a Martin Luther King Jr. Parade yesterday? Our city does one every year and we had never been.

It wasn’t anything all too special, just your average hometown parade. Lots of schools and churches had floats with MLK’s face on them.

I got to see my friend playing in her school’s marching band. Even though I was screaming her name:

“EMILYYYYY!!! HEY EMILYYY!! OVER HERE!”

She still couldn’t hear me. And I didn’t even manage to get a photo of her. She’s right behind the guy with the big trumpet-thing. Euphonium?

I also made homemade sandwich thins! Just like Carlee did, I used this recipe.

Except I made them 100% Whole Wheat. I hate using AP flour, but I was a little worried that using only Whole Wheat would affect the outcome, it didn’t!

I also used oat flour for the wheat bran and canola oil for the olive oil. Olive oil in breads just is not good for me, I like canola since it’s milder in taste.

First off, the hardest part about making them is shaping them into the disks, but really, it wasn’t too hard at all!

Will I make them again? Maybe. The taste was a little iffy, I like my doughy homemade whole wheat bread lots better! But these are definitely very tasty and perfect for sandwiches!

Have you made homemade coconut butter, was it gritty?

How do you use your chia seeds, I need ideas!

43 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2011 1:27 pm

    i love all your things you’ve learned from the past- good messages there! and I LITERALLY JUST jumped out of my seat-… Kayla.. that bread is SO HEAVENLY looking -i LOVE DOUGHYNESS!

  2. January 18, 2011 2:03 pm

    That bread looks so good! Way better than normal bread 🙂

  3. January 18, 2011 2:20 pm

    Uhhhh, hello doughy bread! I’ll be right over! 🙂

    With the overnight oats, I would use a little less liquid and maybe use half liquid and half yogurt or kefir. When I make mine I use 1/2 cup oats, 1/2 cup almond milk, and 1/2 cup coconut milk kefir, along with a tablespoon of chia seeds. It is awesomely creamy! 🙂

  4. January 18, 2011 2:34 pm

    Ya I would suggest just taking the liquid down a bit. I made overnight oats before and had way too much milk added, so I just turned them into hot oats 🙂 Just as delicious!

  5. January 18, 2011 2:39 pm

    Mmm, that bread looks really yummy!I am fully with you on the four things looking forward to, especially college!

  6. January 18, 2011 2:53 pm

    I’ve never made homemade coconut butter before, but it sounds like such a great snack. I would love to go to the Universal Studios Harry Potter Wizarding World too!!! Really want to try the butter beer!

  7. January 18, 2011 3:00 pm

    maybe add yogurt to your brownie oats? I might make my own rendition of them tomorrow! They look delish! And you made your own coconut butter?!! yummm

  8. January 18, 2011 3:09 pm

    Oooh, I love doughy bread. Especially fresh from the oven! Yummy!

  9. January 18, 2011 3:29 pm

    omgosh, I crave doughy bread on the reg. I’ve never made my own bread other than my holiday banana nut bread!

    I must get on this. yours looks too, too delish. 🙂

    so glad you stumbled to my blog! 🙂 thank you for the sweet compliments!

  10. January 18, 2011 3:40 pm

    bahaha. I love doughy bread. I have more than once allowed mine to collapse in. i don’t see the problem.

    If you ever get down to DC let me know, we could have a blogger meetup. 🙂

  11. January 18, 2011 3:48 pm

    I thought I was the only one that liked doughy, slightly raw bread!! Dang that stuff looks soo good!

  12. January 18, 2011 4:00 pm

    Homemade coconut butter AND sandwich things? Absolutely fantastic! I definitely need to try coconut butter next… gritty or not it looks like it come out great!

    You just reminded me that The Biggest Loser is on tonight and I got really excited 😀

  13. January 18, 2011 4:10 pm

    I made coconut butter once and it was VERY gritty. I just read somewhere that you really need to let it blend for like 10 minutes, and add a little coconut oil. I didn’t do either one of those things!

    Parfait looks yummy 🙂

    You should definitely check out Whole Foods…but be prepared to have lots of willpower or spends lots of money!

  14. January 18, 2011 4:34 pm

    That bread looks AMAZING!

  15. runyogarepeat permalink
    January 18, 2011 5:00 pm

    I love your brownie batter in that glass! I tried making coconut butter but messed up somehow! It was gritty and not very smooth & creamy at all. Still yummy though.

  16. January 18, 2011 5:01 pm

    I’ve never made coconut butter but I did make Pumpkin butter the other day, I put it on everything! 🙂

  17. January 18, 2011 5:05 pm

    That bread looks SO good – dense bread is the best!
    To answer your questions:
    1 – Most coconut butter is gritty when not heated up enough. I usually heat my 6 oz. jar for 30 seconds in the microwave. If it’s still gritty you might not have blended it long enough.
    2 – I always make overnight oats with yogurt – once I made them with milk and they weren’t thick at all!

  18. January 18, 2011 5:23 pm

    I loved this post so much!! Soo many delicious eats girl!!! Your bro’s a cutie. Glad u had fun at the parade! 😀

  19. January 18, 2011 5:26 pm

    ah harry potter wizarding world! i forgot about that when i was doing my own survey:)

  20. January 18, 2011 5:26 pm

    You should run, not walk, to Whole Foods, it is sooo amazing! Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  21. January 18, 2011 5:31 pm

    I don’t even think I’ve ever heard of an MLK day parade..it’s fun that your town had one, though!

  22. January 18, 2011 6:15 pm

    I am totally with you on everything you’re passionate about. 🙂

  23. runnerbeangreen permalink
    January 18, 2011 6:19 pm

    hi sweetheart! i still haven’t done that survey so i’ll get on it now! chia seeds are so great! check out old posts on http://www.sweetlyraw.com for chia pdding recipes. so good! x

  24. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    January 18, 2011 8:17 pm

    For the coconut butter-you just have to process for a reeeeeeeally long time. Then it won’t be gritty! Unless it is your blender’s fault…

    For the overnight oats…put less liquid in! I love chia+oats, but just put in less liquid to make it reaaal thick 🙂 Or you can always just add more chia and oats! Either way….

    • January 19, 2011 10:40 am

      I blended the coconut butter for 20 minutes or more! I’m thinking it was just the Vitamix. It probably would have worked better in a regular food processor.

      Also, thanks for the tips on the oats!

  25. elleeatsvegan permalink
    January 18, 2011 8:30 pm

    aww, this is so cute!
    totally agree with what you’re passionate about. 🙂 and i can’t wait for summer either! it’s waaaaay too cold here.
    i don’t have a food processor, so i’ve never tried making coconut butter. i totally want to though, it’s sooo good!

  26. January 18, 2011 10:09 pm

    I’ve never made coconut butter before. How do you make it? I must do some research!
    ps we should go to Harry Potter World together!

    • January 19, 2011 10:42 am

      Coconut butter is SUPER easy, you just dump a few cups of unsweetened shredded coconut in your food processor and process it for 15 minutes or so!

      And, Haha, YES! We totally should go to Wizarding World together!

  27. theflourishingfoodie permalink
    January 18, 2011 10:10 pm

    I don’t watch much TV either but I do really like the Biggest Loser too! That is awesome that you made your own sandwhich thins. As for coconut butter, I’ve never tried making it at home so I really don’t know how gritty it is. The store bought kind is pretty smooth though. I know that when people make it homemade they blend it forever and forever, do you think it might get smoother if you kept blending it?

    • January 19, 2011 10:43 am

      I blended it for a really long time, my parents were getting annoyed! Haha, and it wouldn’t get any smoother so I just stopped. I was wondering if store bought is smoother, so thanks for telling me!

  28. January 19, 2011 12:48 am

    Haha! Love your misshapened loaf! Check it out, the last picture of it totally looks like a frog!!

    My coconut butter is always a little gritty. The only way to get is super smooth is to heat it up.

    I’m with you on the oats, I like mine super thick. To get less drippage in your OO’s, I’d try halving the amount of milk, or use yogurt instead.

    • January 19, 2011 10:45 am

      Haha, okay! Thanks, I’m going to try that!

  29. January 19, 2011 1:08 am

    i LOVE doughy bread too!! it reminds me of dessert 🙂 You must make a trip to Whole Foods ASAP and let me know if you ever come to DC (I’m right around the corner!)

    I want a vitamix! I made overnight oats recently and wasn’t a fan so I can’t help you out there but let me know if you figure out something yummy!

  30. January 19, 2011 6:27 am

    I love sweet potatoes and coconut oil!!!! yum!!!!
    Usually leaving chia seads in anything will add some volume, when I make smoothies I blend them right in and they break up..i’ll leave my smoothie out for 30 min and it gets thicker-maybe grinding them will help???

  31. January 19, 2011 6:42 am

    hmmm collapsing loaves….sounds likea good plan to me…I love cakelike ANYTHING! Thanks for posting this!!

  32. Kate permalink
    January 19, 2011 7:22 am

    i made almond butter yesterday and tossed some coconut in the food processor too. i was left with the creamiest, smoothest almond butter ever! yum!

  33. January 19, 2011 12:49 pm

    Harry Potterland!!! I want to go there SOOOO bad!

  34. January 19, 2011 1:36 pm

    Your doughy loaf of bread literally has me SALIVATING. Hahaha. A while back I posted about baking a ton of bread, and we ALWAYS underbaked ours. It’s the absolute best way to eat bread, if you ask me. I love the recipe I usually use (this one) but I want to try yours now! Questions: what kind of oil do you use, what kind of sweetener do you use, and do you use regular wheat or white wheat? Oh, also, do you use the flax meal or not? I want mine to look just like yours!! hahaha. The doughyness… ahh.

    Homemade coconut butter is way grittier than store bought. I’ve made it in the Vita several times, so that probably wasn’t the issue. Sometimes you have to turn it off and let it rest for a little bit, then start again. It’s kind of a toss… I just prefer to buy mine. 🙂

    I know everyone has told you already, but your main problem was too much liquid. Using a ton of liquid works with stovetop oats, but overnight oats can only soak up so much milk/water. Try it again with about 2/3 cup milk, maybe a little more. I usually do a scant 2/3 for a plain bowl, but with the extra protein powder, cocoa powder and chia seeds, you might need the whole 2/3.

    Okay, this is really long. Hope I helped!

    • January 19, 2011 1:43 pm

      I’ve been thinking about the doughy bread and I thought it was doughy because it collapsed, but now I’m thinking I just under baked it, haha! The problem is I forgot to set the timer when I put it in the oven, so I don’t know exactly how to get it doughy again! Argh!

      Anyway, I loooove the recipe I’ve been using. I use regular whole wheat flour, canola oil, and honey. And yes, I use the flax meal and you HAVE to use the vital wheat gluten!

      Thanks for your help with the overnight oats, I’ll be trying the less liquid!

  35. January 19, 2011 1:39 pm

    Hm, I guess it would help if I actually linked to the recipe, huh?

    http://www.thenewhomemaker.com/wholewheatbread2

  36. January 19, 2011 9:17 pm

    That bread looks amazing! Have to try!

Trackbacks

  1. Funniest Search Terms « Little Miss Healthify

Leave a Reply

