Skip to content

Magic Shell

January 20, 2011

Hello, hello!

I’m so glad you guys liked the Dark Chocolate Almond Butter recipe yesterday!

My body has been so sore for the last few days. We worked with a trainer on Monday and he really worked us hard! I can barely move my arms around without them hurting! Haha.

Today, after a morning walk with Chipper and some Turbo Jam cardio, I whipped up this delicious smoothie.

Blueberry Smoothie

– 1/2 cup plain greek yogurt

– 1/2 cup almond milk

– 1/2 cup frozen blueberries

– 1/3 cup frozen pineapple, mango + peach chunks

– 1/2 Tbsp. chia seeds

If you top a cold smoothie with melted coconut butter, it will harden up and turn into Magic Shell!! So awesome right?!

Ahh…the little things.

Also I topped my smoothie with an Earnest Eats granola plank.

Have you noticed I’ve been loving on Earnest Eats lately? Well, that’s because they sent me their products to sample, review coming soon!

I was so excited to try the Pomegranate Walnut Crisp plank. I broke it in half, microwaved it for 8 seconds, and crumbled 1/2 on my smoothie.

I died of deliciousness. Seriously, Earnest has got granola making down. Nobody does it better than them, as far as I’m concerned! I mean, look at all the delicious chunks of almonds, peanuts, crispies, oats, and dried fruit!

Chipper wanted some.

He didn’t get any.

Look how beautiful the sky is today?

Today’s going to be a great day!

40 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2011 12:28 pm

    That’s so cool!!! I bet your Magic Shell’s ingredients were much more friendly than Magic Shell typically bought in stores. 🙂

  2. January 20, 2011 12:38 pm

    I love granola! My favorite is Best Dang Granola from Massachusetts. Their best is the Figs ‘n Nuts. It’s fig’n good! 🙂

  3. January 20, 2011 12:57 pm

    Chipper is so cute!!

  4. January 20, 2011 1:08 pm

    Oh my goodness, I love your magic shell stuff! That’s so cool.

    And Chipper is adorable!

  5. January 20, 2011 1:26 pm

    Great healthy version of Magic Shell 🙂 I don’t even want to know what’s in the original!

  6. January 20, 2011 1:27 pm

    AHHH i love when things like that harden!!! best part!

  7. January 20, 2011 1:29 pm

    Natural magic shell is a great idea! I am definitely going to recreate this for my breakfast tomorrow 🙂

  8. January 20, 2011 2:04 pm

    Your dog is ADORABLE. He made me squeal. So cute. Oh my gah. Can’t deal.

    The smoothie looks delicious too… ah the days of the bottle magic shell topping… I can imagine that coconut butter is probably so much better though!

    • January 20, 2011 2:23 pm

      Thank you! Haha, I love taking photos of him!

      When I was little Magic Shell was the COOLEST and I always topped my icecream with it! Those days are long gone, though!

  9. January 20, 2011 2:16 pm

    Yes I love when coconut butter hardens, it is like magic shell!!! Ahhh coconut butter is so good!

    I love your attitude, you are always a ray of sunshine and I enjoy reading your blog more because of that ; )

  10. January 20, 2011 2:22 pm

    Ahhh, magic shell… such fond memories with that stuff! Your version looks much yummier and healthier though 🙂

    Hope today was as great for you as the sky promised!

  11. January 20, 2011 3:30 pm

    Umm that magic shell is AWESOME. Def trying this out asap!
    Glad you are so sore, that means you got a good workout in! 🙂

  12. January 20, 2011 3:47 pm

    I love your positivity! 🙂 That smoothie looks delish!

  13. January 20, 2011 5:28 pm

    PUPPERS!! Hes so adorable 🙂 I am getting some coconut tomorrow and am totally making coconut butter. I cant wait to try it out!

  14. January 20, 2011 6:28 pm

    wow that smoothie is really good!
    I love your dog♥… and I’m jealous of your sky, here It’s rainy!

  15. January 20, 2011 6:34 pm

    Oh my gosh! coconut butter in magic shell form? Yummm-aaaye. 🙂

  16. January 20, 2011 6:52 pm

    I wish the weather was as nice here! A few days of soreness means you got a great workout in, so fabulous job!

  17. January 20, 2011 7:34 pm

    Your magic shell discovery is so cool! I also get excited about little things like that 🙂

  18. January 20, 2011 8:07 pm

    Blueberry smoothies are to DIE for thats my second favorite breakfast (first being yogurt with granola and honey!

  19. January 20, 2011 9:00 pm

    Yum! I love blueberries… I don’t have coconut butter but that is a great tip 🙂

    Chipper is adorable…

  20. January 20, 2011 9:00 pm

    Omgssh, I’m so jealous of the sky where you are!! You’d die laughing if you saw the weather we have here 😛 There are ICICLES hanging off of every building! Enjoy the sun 🙂

  21. January 20, 2011 9:20 pm

    Coconut butter Magic Shell? Yes, please! I need to try that on some ice cream!

    So jealous of your beautiful blue sky…haven’t seen one of those around here in WEEKS! 😦

  22. theflourishingfoodie permalink
    January 20, 2011 10:15 pm

    Your dog is so cute!! With a face like that I might have given him the granola bar 🙂

  23. Athena permalink
    January 20, 2011 11:30 pm

    My mum and I are most definitely trying the blueberry smoothie in the morning! I showed her the recipe, and she’s already looking forward to it. We’re both HUGE blueberry fans!

    Your puppy is soooooooo cute, by the way 🙂

    I’m really curious to try those Earnest Eats planks though. I’ve never seen them in our grocery stores, so I may just order some online.

  24. January 21, 2011 1:56 am

    I really want to try that coconut butter shell trick! Brilliant! Ahh I’m falling in love with Chipper. I want a Chipper.

  25. January 21, 2011 8:26 am

    That sky looks beautiful. I’m so jealous. It hasn’t been very sunny here this week.

  26. January 21, 2011 8:41 am

    I love coconut butter “Magic Shell.” I remember when I was little I was curious about what made the store-bought Magic Shell stay like that and guess what it was?! Coconut oil! Of course there was other stuff like sugar, corn syrup, and chocolate… 😉

  27. January 21, 2011 9:26 am

    That coconut butter magic shell looks so good!

    Ah I’m jealous of your blue sky. It’s all grey and snowy here.

  28. January 21, 2011 10:02 am

    Looks like a great smoothie. Blueberries are definitely one of my fave types of fruit. We have a bunch in our freezer right now. 🙂

  29. January 21, 2011 8:20 pm

    I used to LOVE Magic Shell!! But not so much now that I know what it’s actually made of…but if that coconut butter hardens like Magic Shell, it’s worth a try!

  30. January 21, 2011 11:42 pm

    I love it, “granola on the go.” Looks delicious too!

  31. January 22, 2011 5:39 pm

    That smoothie was so pretty! I love being really sore after a workout. It makes me feel like I accomplished something! Also… your doggie is super cute! 😛

  32. January 22, 2011 9:08 pm

    Mmmm that smoothie looks delicious :)) Love the granola bar!!!

  33. January 22, 2011 9:19 pm

    First off your dog is absolutely adorable! Second, magic shell with coconut buttter, omg trying this asap!

  34. January 23, 2011 12:35 pm

    I loved magic shell when I was little! I NEED to get some coconut butter, ASAP!

  35. January 23, 2011 9:06 pm

    I loooove when coconut butter acts as a magic shell! It’s seriously so fun to me, I don’t know why. Haha. What I love even more is putting on my granola, THEN the coconut butter. It makes a crunchy, coconutty, oaty little ball that I love breaking apart and eating with/at the end of my smoothie.

Trackbacks

  1. Recipes! « Little Miss Healthify

Leave a Reply

