Skip to content

Banana Freak Out

February 5, 2011

I woke up this morning ready to make a green monster, but I got to the kitchen and all the bananas were gone! I hate it when that happens!!

After freaking out and formulating a plan to hide at least one banana in my room so nobody else can take it, I improvised and subbed frozen peaches and a few frozen blueberries for my nonexistent banana.

After blending up my green monster, I remembered Heather’s brilliant idea of cooking oatmeal in your Green Monster smoothie!

After microwaving 1/2 cup oatmeal and 1 Tbsp. chia seeds with the GM, I refrigerated it for an hour, because who wants to drink eat a warm Green Monster? Not me!

During that hour, I took Chipper on a 30 minute walk then did Level 2 of Jillian Michael’s Yoga Meltdown.

I love Jillian’s yoga DVD, it’s the first time I’ve really tried yoga! My mom tried it with me but gave up halfway through. I can’t blame her, it is not the easiest thing I’ve ever done, but I love a challenge!

Then I chowed down on heaven this swamp.

Yum-a-dee-do. New favorite breakfast!

Do you freak out like I do when someone eats the last banana?

Do you like yoga?

P.S My blog has been disappearing the last 2 days, it was a WordPress glitch! But now I think everything is fixed up and good! It’s nice to be back, I was a little worried there for a while!

39 Comments leave one →
  1. February 5, 2011 11:57 am

    I so freak when my hubby takes the last naner!! He knowa the rules now though, he must sacrifice himself and give me the last peice of ANY remaning fruit. If its the last apple, naner, orange, WHATEVER it is, I have full rights to it! lol
    Btw, jills level 2 of yoga is crazy intense!! Those bridge pushup things are no joke!

  2. February 5, 2011 12:01 pm

    I love yoga! I am trying to do it at least once a week to balance my workouts 🙂

  3. This Italian Family permalink
    February 5, 2011 12:16 pm

    Yeah, I couldn’t find your blog for a couple of days. It was weird. Anyway, love the oatmeal in the smoothie idea!

  4. February 5, 2011 12:31 pm

    I freak out when someone eats the last piece of fruit! My brother’s ex-girlfriend literally used to eat a few apples every time she came over and would take a bunch home with her! Uh, hell no. Considering that I paid for them and that I kind of hated her, I started leaving huge signs on the apple bowl that said ‘NO’ but she would still take them… so I put them in my room 🙂 I know it sounds extreme, but isn’t that just rude?!

    • February 6, 2011 4:47 pm

      Wow. How rude of her. I would so hide them too!! Gah, I feeel ya!

      I am the apple thief. NO one else in my house can be 😉

  5. February 5, 2011 12:33 pm

    I’m always devastated when someone takes the last banana. Especially when I’m planning on using it. I really like yoga, I just wish I made more time for it! More often than not cardio takes over (which isn’t all too much of a problem because I love that too).

    • February 5, 2011 1:44 pm

      That’s why I freaked, because I had plans to use it! 🙂 Haha

  6. February 5, 2011 12:37 pm

    I don’t freak out too much; I just run across the street to buy some more. 😉

    I haven’t really tried yoga yet but it’s on my list of goals for 2011!

  7. movesnmunchies permalink
    February 5, 2011 1:31 pm

    so glad the blog is back!! YES i always have those freakouts.. thats why i tweeted how to ripen bananas cuz i had to go to the store and they were green!! BUT the trick worked and now they are more ripe 😀

  8. February 5, 2011 1:52 pm

    *I* was worried you’d disappeared! 😦 which would make me very sad!

    and i hate when bananas all go missing… I’ve been known to hide my food within the kitchen when I’m at home 😉 My brother and dad eat a lot of bananas and I love to make stuff with overripe ones so I have to hide ’em somewhere…

  9. February 5, 2011 2:31 pm

    I was wondering about your blog! I’m glad to see it’s back. I like to keep black bananas on hand for banana pancakes-so no one eats those ever.

  10. February 5, 2011 3:14 pm

    I’m the same when random things I buy just suddenly go missing! Or when I wanna make some delicious oats and there are no nanners 😦 I had leftover pumpkin the other day and was going to make pumpkin oats until I realized my dad threw it out! Gahhh 😦

  11. February 5, 2011 4:33 pm

    I hate not having bananas too! I used to never eat them, but now I got through at least 3 a day (containing myself). Luckily, frozen fruit helps a little whenever running out.

  12. February 5, 2011 5:24 pm

    I freak out when I run out of pb!

  13. February 5, 2011 5:48 pm

    Yum, love bananas! Yes, I would def. freak if I saw they were all gone too!

  14. February 5, 2011 5:49 pm

    I definitely freak out when someone eats the last banana (or apple or raisins……)
    I LOVE yoga! I haven’t done it in a while, but I really want to get back to it! It’s so relaxing and has made me so much more flexible 🙂
    Those green oats look DELICIOUS!!!!

  15. February 5, 2011 6:28 pm

    I wondered what had happened to your blog!! It told me you had violated the code of conduct or something…? Thank goodness it was just a glitch! 🙂

    Wooow GM oats?! That sounds AMAZING!!

  16. February 5, 2011 6:40 pm

    Happy to see you back up and running… I got nervous for you girl!! 🙂

  17. February 5, 2011 7:49 pm

    Yoga is awesome! I feel so stretched afterward! I also love those Jillian Shred tapes!

  18. February 5, 2011 8:51 pm

    I did Jillian’s Level 2 Yoga Meltdown this morning too! It was so much harder today then it was the last time though! I think it might have something to do with the fact that I ran/walked 2 miles on the treadmill before it;) Your oatmeal/smoothie concoction looks sickeningly good and super healthy to boot! BTW-I love your dog sneakin’ into the top picture! My pup always tries to work his way into the pics too! 🙂

  19. February 5, 2011 9:40 pm

    I definately hide bananas because I love them so much when they are yellow and spotty!
    I have plans to try hot yoga and can’t wait
    Glad you are back I got scared when your blog was down

  20. February 5, 2011 10:12 pm

    I have a similar problem, here goes: when I’m with my family and they actually bake sweets, I have to hide one because they go fast. If only my love for baked goods was a love bananas 🙂

  21. February 5, 2011 10:36 pm

    I always have frozen bananas in my freezer! Hm…it’s been there for months now. I always buy bananas and never really use them, that’s my opposite prob frm yours!

  22. February 5, 2011 10:57 pm

    Good to know the glitch is fixed! I just thought there was something wrong with my computer!

    Glad you liked the green monster oats! I just used the green monster to cook the oats, never thought of chilling it! I will have to try that! Maybe make it into an overnight oats bowl! I’m the only one here, but yes, I totally freak out when I eat the last banana! Like, I have to go to the store NOW!!

    I’ve only done yoga a handful of times and have attended one class. I really want to learn more though. I’ve been thinking of getting that Jillian DVD.

  23. theflourishingfoodie permalink
    February 5, 2011 11:09 pm

    I would have never though to mix a smoothie and and oatmeal, such a cool idea! No, I do not freak out because I actually do not like bananas. Crazy, huh? I wish I liked them but I just don’t.

  24. February 6, 2011 12:31 am

    Girl, I was SO worries about you!!! I’m glad that the problem is solved now! 🙂

    Yes, I ADORE yoga! I just got a yoga mat the other day, and I love it! 🙂

  25. February 6, 2011 12:29 pm

    Omg yes! I use bananas in so many things! I have a meltdown if some finishes my last one!

  26. February 6, 2011 1:15 pm

    I’ve been known to hide the last banana to make sure no one eats it, haha. 😉

    I’m a yoga addict I’d go everyday if I had the time!

    I’m also going to have to try that green monster oats! sounds yummay 🙂

  27. February 6, 2011 4:47 pm

    Glad your blog is back, I could not find it! Lol

  28. February 6, 2011 8:07 pm

    LOVE yoga!! hot yoga especially, but i can’t afford the $20 classes.(yeah, seriously.) glad to hear you enjoyed your video! hope you’re having a great weekend! 🙂

  29. February 6, 2011 9:50 pm

    oh man that is pretty swampy looking! haha.

    It’s always good to try new things out though. So i give u mad props. 🙂

  30. February 7, 2011 1:29 am

    I freak out when I have a plan to make something and I know it was there and then someone used the last bit… Drives me INSANE!

  31. February 7, 2011 2:16 pm

    thats an interesting concept! i’d imagine that cooking oatmeal in your green monster might play up the spinach though, since it’s heated, which i’m not sure i’d enjoy!

    could you taste it more?

    • February 7, 2011 6:37 pm

      I chilled it for an hour after I cooked it, which I think helped but it didn’t play up the spinach flavor at all, actually!

  32. February 7, 2011 4:08 pm

    Loved the idea!
    Sounds pretty neat, haha 😉

  33. February 7, 2011 6:37 pm

    I freeze banana slices for smoothies – it acts like ice without adding water to make them really creamy – that way there will always be some for smoothies and I can still eat the fresh ones!

  34. February 8, 2011 2:02 pm

    ahah.. this cracked me up. in college, I would ALWAYS grab fruit from the caf, and all my roommates would eat it all. I started getting fruit and hiding what I wanted in my room. a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do!

  35. Alyson permalink
    February 8, 2011 3:41 pm

    I admit, I’m a yogini! I do 50-minute warrior yoga sessions and love every joyous/challenging second of it! Yoga is definitely my favorite thing to do when it comes to exercise (next to rock climbing and running, of course… 😉. I also have that whole banana freak out thing too! Well, in a different case… I always have bananas with my oatmeal, so when somehow I don’t have a banana (or, if my boyfriend forgets to bring them with him from his apartment after I left some there… >:/) then there is definite trouble afoot! It’s a sad day when I don’t have then for green monster smoothies too! Yikes!
    🙂
    Aly

Leave a comment