Skip to content

Questions And Answers

February 3, 2011

You guys took my question request very seriously!! Love it!

I got lots of questions and well, here are the answers!

I had a bit too much fun answering these…

Q. What’s your dream job? –Kat and Carrie

A. My dream job is to open a little breakfast cafe! Serve oatmeal, muffins, pancakes, eggs, omelets and smoothies; have a oatmeal topping bar; serve specialty oatmeal and make homemade nut butters in-house. That would be amazing and fun, it’s what I do all day anyway! Haha, the sad thing is, it will probably never happen. 😦

Q. If you could have one super power, what would it be? –Sophia

A. I’m going to keep it real here, I wish I could turn invisible. Oh yeahh.

Q. What country do you wish you could visit? –Gill

A. I have always had a special place in my heart for England. I am actually (distantly) related to Princess Diana and some of my ancestors were the ones that came on the Mayflower to America from England.

I’ve never been out of the U.S, so really I’d love to visit any country! I love traveling.

Q. Have you ever been/wanted to go to public school? What do you think you’ll want to study in college? –Alexandra

A. I went to public school from 1st-8th grade. A few months into 8th grade, I became homeschooled, along with my two brothers. Florida offers free online high school courses, so I signed up for some of those and have been doing them ever since!

I really like being homeschooled. I have a ton of freedom, I can go at my own pace and I can take as long as I need to learn math, which is my worst subject!

In college, I really want to study Nutrition. But I’m thinking that career-wise, I’m going to be a Physician Assistant, so I’ll probably end up taking Β Nutrition classes for fun!

Q. How is your mom loving the working out and eating plan? –Katie

A. Good question! I think she likes it so far, mostly I thinks she just likes how I’m cooking all her meals for her! πŸ˜‰

Q. Do you like horses? –Alexandra

A. Yes! I love all animals. But I bet you’re wondering if I have ever done any riding. Not really. Although, my friend had horses and I got to ride them a few times, it was fun!

Q. What’s your favorite workout? –Sami

A. I like doing workout videos! Haha, I’ve been doing TurboJam and once I master all those workouts I want to get TurboFire! But to be more specific, I love doing squats. Oh, and I did Jillian Michael’s Yoga Meltdown today, it was so fun, I loved it!

Q. All-time favorite movie? –Rach

A. There are too many! I really love all Disney movies, the most recent one being Tangled! I also just watched Titanic and It’s A Wonderful Life and LOVED both of them – I love the classics!

Q. What is your earliest memory? –Christin

A. Interesting question. Hmm…when I was little (like 3) my mom was a teacher aid at a special education school. A lot of the kids had Down syndrome and other disabilities. I remember my mom took me with her to her class one day and let all the kids hold me and play with me. I remember one girl in particular, she was in a wheelchair, she loved playing with me!

Q. Where did you get the cutest pumpkin bowl in the world? –Morgan and Kate

A. Haha, good question! πŸ˜‰ Is this the one you’re referring to?

We’ve had it for a while, I don’t know where we got it! We usually only use it at Thanksgiving but I thought it would be perfect for the pumpkin oatmeal.

Q. What are your 5 desert island essentials? You pick 5 things that you can have when you are stranded on a desert island. What are they? Β –Emma

A. I don’t like this question because I can’t think of anything all that exciting! But here ya go! πŸ™‚

1) My laptop, 2) some books/cookbooks to entertain myself, 3) my dog, 4) our Vitamix, and 5) a journal

Q. How are you liking Sugar Free Week so far? I’m thinking of doing a month! –Alyssa

A. I’m really liking it! It’s a LOT easier to eliminate sugar than you would think! My face is really clearing up and no more food baby! (I’ve never used the term “food baby” but I’m guessing it’s that bulge in your stomach that you get after eating too much, am I right?) You should definitely try doing a month, but I’ll stick to a week πŸ˜‰

Q. What is your favorite nut? Fruit? Veggie? –Kathleen

A. I love all nuts, but my favorites to eat by themselves are roasted almonds, peanuts and cashews. I am the person who always picks the cashews out of the trail mix!

Favorite fruit is bananas or grapefruit! Favorite veggie is sweet potato (is that a veggie?) or broccoli.

Q. What do you do to make yourself happy when you are sad? –Kat

A. I was (still am…) a person who gets depressed easily. Over the last few months I can’t even count how many times I’ve cried myself to sleep and felt bad about myself.

But the last few days I’ve been feeling a TON better. I think about the things I can control to make myself happier. And the things I CAN’T control, well I just try to forget about them. We have one life here, and I don’t want to waste it being sad about something I can’t control, so I think about all the happy things and all my blessings to help me feel better.

Q. Where do you hope to see yourself in 5 years? –Alaina

A. In five years I will be 20 years old (young!). That’s a crazy thought. I hope to be done with college, working as a Physician Assistant and maybe getting ready to go on a mission for my church.

Q. When did you become so interested in healthy eating and who was your inspiration? –Heather

A. I took a Personal Fitness class online and learned a lot about calories and nutrition information.

I forget how, but I found Courtney and Whitney’s blog, Eat N Groove, and wanted to be just like them! I started writing down everything they ate and started making it myself. Haha, weird I know, but that’s what I did! Then I found more food blogs and kept learning about being healthy.

Q. What is your favorite thing to do on a day off? –Cait

A. Bake, read fantasy novels, photography.

Well, I had fun answering all your questions! Phew.

Oh, before I go, I’ve decided to do Morgan’s 7 Day As A Vegan Challenge. I know, I’m absolutely crazy. First Sugar-Free Week and now this.

What can I say? I love experimenting with different food lifestyles and I’ve always wondered if I could survive without greek yogurt, so this will be my perfect opportunity to do so with lots of other bloggers!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. theflourishingfoodie permalink
    February 4, 2011 11:42 am

    Great post! I love learning about you. I would totally come to your little breakfast cafe :). I’m oppisite of you, I was homeschooled through 8th grade then started school for highschool. I do miss the freedom of homeschooling though. I really want to try a sugar free week. Maybe next week? Have a good weekend Kayla!

  2. February 4, 2011 12:55 pm

    Great post!!

    Just a little thing…if you’re done college by 20, I salute you! I’m turning 21 next month, and still have a year left of university (plus an extra, possible, 8 months in Ottawa for Teacher’s College) πŸ™‚ Its tougher than you think, hun. But I do commend your ambition! I think you’ll be an amazing Physician’s Assistant!

    Broccoli is also my all-time favourite veggie!! That and carrots. Yummmmyyyy!

    I’m really interested in trying the Turbo-Jam DVD’s as well? Enlighten me, but are they a bit like Zumba?

    Adieu for now!

  3. February 4, 2011 1:26 pm

    it was really cool that we got to ask you questions πŸ™‚ i like workout videos too!! insanity is my choice! hehe.
    xo.

    • February 5, 2011 10:57 am

      I really want to try Insanity! But I bet it’s SOOO hard!!

  4. Gill (snaxandthecity) permalink
    February 4, 2011 2:08 pm

    Great post! It made me sad when you said that you often cry yourself to sleep though 😦 so I’m glad you’re feeling a bit brighter! I’ve also been thru periods where I’ve felt awful about myself and it’s not nice…
    WOW you’re related to Princess DI!? YOu’d be super famous over here everyone LOVES Di lol. that’s also very cool about the Mayflower!
    Gx

  5. February 4, 2011 5:40 pm

    I didn’t know you were homeschooled- that’s cool! I didn’t DISLIKE high school, but I really wanted to do it online. The freedom and ability to work at your own pace sound really nice!

  6. February 4, 2011 6:58 pm

    I love the Titanic!!! One of my favorite movies (that and Seabiscuit πŸ˜‰ ).
    I love trying different food lifestyles too! I eat vegan at least 80% of the time πŸ™‚
    And I love all animals too! πŸ™‚

  7. February 4, 2011 7:53 pm

    I just went gluten-free and feel so amazing! I would always feel so terrible after eating. It’s funny how eliminating one thing in your diet that doesn’t agree with your body can make you feel crazy good!

  8. February 4, 2011 8:39 pm

    Ahhh!! Girl, we are so alike! I obviously am super into nutrition too, but I’ve come to realize there’s no career there so I’m looking deeply into a physicians assistant too! I love your dream about owning a breakfast shop, mine is to have a totally organic, locally sourced restaurant with tons of homedone recipes. Pretty far fetched but maybe some day we’ll be eating at each other’s restaurants! πŸ™‚

  9. February 4, 2011 11:04 pm

    I really loved reading this post! It’s nice to learn a bit more about you. πŸ™‚ I like workout videos too, and actually did a Turbo Jam one this morning.

  10. February 5, 2011 12:52 am

    Its also my dream job to own a cafe. I would sell pastries, coffees, and teas!
    I went to a highschool that let me work at my own pace and also loved the freedom it gave me
    And I was inspired by Court and Whit’s blog too. I miss their posts
    Thanks for answering my question. We all get sad sometimes but I think its important to know how to deal with it. To make myself happy I like to have a cup a tea, a healthy sweet treat, and curl up with my cat.
    It was great getting to know you better. I wish you all the best.

  11. February 5, 2011 11:31 am

    yay! its back!:D

  12. runyogarepeat permalink
    February 5, 2011 11:40 pm

    I wanted to be a PA for a little while too! I think having a nutrition base as a PA would be great because a lot of doctors and other health professionals still don’t know too much about nutrition!

Leave a Reply

