Skip to content

Oatmeal Wheat Carrot Raisin Muffins

May 17, 2011

Remember I said I’d eat no sugar this month?

That idea is… down the drain. Yeah.

I think it lasted 2 days. At most.

Instead of never eating sugar again, I am just going to practice moderation.

I like using as less sweetener as possible, while still having a baked good that tastes delicious.

We had a big bag of carrots in the fridge and raisins in the pantry. I knew what needed to be done.

In the muffin world, carrots and raisins just belong together. It’s common sense. And there are lots of carrot raisin muffin recipes out there…but you need to make this one.

This is what I look for in muffins. The benefits of whole grain goodness, yet a soft, moist taste. A dense, yet fluffy texture. Chunky raisins and carrots throughout. The sweet smell of cinnamon.

Yep, these are it.

I was hesitant to use oat flour, thinking they wouldn’t rise as well, but the result was PERFECT!

Oatmeal Wheat Carrot Raisin Muffins

3 eggs

3/4 cup skim milk

3/4 cup agave nectar

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup oat flour

2 1/4 tsp. baking soda

1 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon

3/4 tsp. ground nutmeg

1/4 tsp. sea salt

2 cups grated/shredded carrots, packed (I used my Vitamix to shred the carrots)

1 cup raisins

Preheat oven to 350ΒΊF. Line 12 muffin tins with paper liners and spray them with nonstick spray. You need to spray them really well or they will stick! (Trust me, I know.)

Whisk together eggss, milk and agave in mixing bowl. In another mixing bowl combine flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt. Add the dry ingredients gradually to the wet, stirring gently, careful not to over mix.

Fold in shredded carrots and raisins. Don’t over mix, or muffins will be dry and stiff! Stir just until moistened.

Spoon batter into the 12 well-greased muffin paper liners.

Bake for 15-20 minutes or until toothpick comes out with no wet batter clinging. Let cool for 5 minutes then transfer to wire cooling rack. Serve warm.

My family gobbled these right up! And I practiced moderation! I only ateΒ oneΒ muffin (plus licking the bowl, but that don’t count). *so proud*

I thought we’d at least have some leftovers, so I could have one for breakfast, but they were all gone by night time! That’s how you know they’re delicious.

I’m trying to dilute my sweet tooth, so I only used 3/4 cup of agave nectar to sweeten these. Feel free to use more!

The raisins throughout bring a nice tart, sweetness.

You will love these. For breakfast with eggs. Or gobbled up straight from the oven.

38 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2011 1:11 pm

    those look awesome girlie! I agree that moderation is the best approach. Cut something out completely and thats ALL i want, lol!

  2. May 17, 2011 1:16 pm

    NEED to try these out!!!! πŸ˜€ Thanks for sharing the recipe!

  3. May 17, 2011 1:30 pm

    Love the muffins, they look so tasty. Carrots + raisin must be amazing! And I wouldn’t be able to stay off sugar for too long either. All things in moderation πŸ™‚

  4. May 17, 2011 1:35 pm

    AHH BLISS! I love carrot cake anything and i love raisins!

  5. May 17, 2011 1:43 pm

    Don’t even worry about the no-sugar thing, girl! I definitely agree that pretty much anything in moderation is fine! And your muffins look so yummy!!

  6. May 17, 2011 1:45 pm

    Um those look DELICIOUS. and yes to moderation, that is always the best policy πŸ™‚ I thinK i want to try a sugar-free week once just to see if it makes any difference, but a month would be pushing it πŸ˜‰

    take care of yourself girl
    ❀
    n

  7. May 17, 2011 1:51 pm

    These look really good! I’ll have to remember this recipe the next time I have extra carrots laying around! Thanks for sharing.

  8. May 17, 2011 1:53 pm

    I am totally going to make these for my family!! My daddy LOVES carrot cake, so I know for a fact hed love these!! Love that you kept the sweetener down, ill try it that way too πŸ™‚

  9. May 17, 2011 2:17 pm

    Those are so pretty and they look so tasty!

  10. May 17, 2011 2:44 pm

    Ha I’m really trying to work on my sweet tooth as well. MAJOR FAIL. Those look seriously delicious though. I don’t know if I could handle not having the entire batch.

  11. May 17, 2011 2:53 pm

    mmm those look great! I made carrot spice muffins last month and they were a hit! Maybe I will try this recipe too!

  12. May 17, 2011 3:16 pm

    Carrots and raisins, what a yummy and interesting combo! I’ve never tried them together in a baked good, but it sounds super good. I’ve had dates + carrots and that was delish so I’m sure I’d love these as well. Thanks for sharing the recipe Kayla. πŸ™‚

  13. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! permalink
    May 17, 2011 3:18 pm

    I agree carrots and raisins are a match made in heaven! They are fabulous together and these muffins looks FABULOUS too! πŸ™‚

  14. May 17, 2011 5:05 pm

    I haven’t had carrot cake/muffins in so long!! I miss that yummy taste πŸ™‚

  15. May 17, 2011 5:16 pm

    Oh my, those look good. Saving this recipe for later because this is totally something I’d love to try πŸ˜€ And I haven’t have the carrot, raisin and cinnamon combo for so long!

  16. May 17, 2011 5:47 pm

    Mmm, you muffin looks so good!! I cant use this recipe due to the eggs and milk, but I really like that you use agave in them:)
    Have a great Tuesday:)

  17. Tara permalink
    May 17, 2011 5:55 pm

    Yum! I love this combo. I like to grate carrots and add them to Greek yogurt with cinnamon and raisins too. It’s so yummy! These muffins are so healthy and probably taste delicious.

  18. May 17, 2011 6:19 pm

    I’m not a big fan of cutting things out completely, either. I think moderation is definitely the way to go πŸ™‚ And these muffins? Oh they sound fantastic. I love the combination of carrots and raisins.

  19. May 17, 2011 6:30 pm

    mmm i love the combo of carrots and raisins! and these are so healthy too!!

  20. May 17, 2011 7:14 pm

    Carrots and raisins – ahh the pair so well together. πŸ™‚
    Moderation is the way to go!

  21. The Teenage Taste permalink
    May 17, 2011 7:36 pm

    These muffins look fabulous! Carrot cake is one of my favorite flavors so I love that you made a healthier version of it!
    As for the sugar thang, I definitely think your current plan is wayyy more doable and realistic. Sugar is okay in moderation. C’mon life is too short to not enjoy a sugary treat every once in a while! πŸ˜€

  22. May 17, 2011 8:52 pm

    These sound SO good!! I love carrot and raisin combined πŸ˜€

  23. May 17, 2011 9:31 pm

    Yummy this muffin sounds so good. I wish I could bake it right now.

  24. May 17, 2011 9:59 pm

    I agree! Carrots and raisins were just meant to be together!

    I think moderation is the best way to go. I’ll admit that the week I went sugar free wasn’t easy. I’m not sure I could do a whole month! I’d probably just end up eating myself into a sugar coma after a few days! I hate the thought of restricting something from my diet entirely…it’s just not for me!

    • May 17, 2011 10:21 pm

      Yeah, I definitely went a little sugar crazy! I am never going to deprive myself again!

  25. theflourishingfoodie permalink
    May 17, 2011 10:58 pm

    These look so good! I agree about the sugar free thing, if you completely eliminate sweetener things just don’t taste as good, but moderation is great!

  26. applesnoats permalink
    May 17, 2011 11:15 pm

    moderation is key you would have been unhappy without your sugaa…or atleast I would have! I love how this recipe doesnt have a crazy long or complicated ingredient list…that means I WILL be making these

  27. Mandi permalink
    May 17, 2011 11:22 pm

    Those sound amazing! I really need to try them out. And it just so happens we just bought a whole new big bag of raisins. It’s a sign. πŸ˜‰

  28. May 18, 2011 5:20 am

    so healthy!! how about adding spice pumpkin mash?

  29. May 18, 2011 10:20 am

    I love not too sweet muffins. πŸ™‚ Just like the apple flax muffins I made last week. These look so good!

  30. May 18, 2011 12:06 pm

    Kayla these sound excellent! I can’t wait to try them. πŸ™‚ I love carrot raisin muffins!

  31. May 22, 2011 9:01 pm

    YUM!!!!! I love your recipes Kayla!!! πŸ™‚ These sound absolutely delicious! πŸ™‚

  32. July 14, 2011 9:32 pm

    Alright, so I just made these and OMG they are the best! How did you do it? So cakey…so light…so orange! Perfect sweetness, too.
    I blogged about them-
    http://notthenormalteenagefare.blogspot.com/2011/07/three-recipes-you-need-to-make-now.html

  33. April 25, 2013 4:23 pm

    I don’t know if it’s just me or if perhaps everybody else encountering problems with
    your blog. It seems like some of the text on your posts are running off the screen.
    Can someone else please provide feedback and let me know if this
    is happening to them as well? This may be a issue with my browser because I’ve had this happen before. Appreciate it

Trackbacks

  1. Flip-Flopped « Little Miss Healthify
  2. Featured Food Friday: Carrots! « XC Foodie
  3. Weekly Meals and Workouts 48 | Hevil's Healthy Devil

Leave a Reply

