Skip to content

Yummiest Lentils Ever

May 6, 2011

I made lentils! They’ve been sitting in the cupboard for days months.  I remembered reading somewhere that lentils soak up any flavors that you cook them in, so I picked some of my favorite spices and flavors and went with it!

Tomato, Garlic & Herb Lentils

vegan, sugar-free

Ingredients (serves 3-4)

1 cup uncooked lentils

1 15 oz. can of natural tomato sauce (Hunt’s)

2 cups of water

garlic and herb seasoning, to taste

Mrs. Dash Salt-Free Original Blend, to taste

Instructions

Add lentils, tomato sauce and water to a pot over medium-high heat, covered. When it comes to a boil add seasonings. Don’t skimp on the seasonings, do a lot!

Decrease heat to a low setting and let simmer, stirring occasionally, for 33 minutes or until tender.

Lentils are an amazing source of fiber and protein.

The lentils were my favorite part of lunch today! I had a big ole salad with:

romaine

tomato

sauteed mushroom + onion

a little feta

roasted Brussels sprouts

The Brussels were delicious! I cut them in half, rinsed them, tossed them olive oil, lemon juice, nutritional yeast and sea salt. I spread them on a foil lined baking sheet (easier clean up!) and roasted them at 425ºF for 25 minutes. I roasted them too long, they were kind of burned, but I liked them that way! Crunchy!

Today I woke up bright and early at 6:25am (it’s early for me, OKAY?) and did Couch To 5k. Today’s run was 25 minutes of jogging with no resting walking breaks. It was hard. Running is hard. It hurts sometimes. But I love the feeling I get after. My stamina and strength are improving immensely.

Here’s some tough news. I didn’t want to tell you guys, but I just want to be open about it. Here it goes:

My dad is the best dad ever. Ever since I can remember he has been a hard worker, always going to work, liked by his employers. He is a very smart man.

On Wednesday night my dad came home with terrible news. He sat the whole family down and told us that his boss brought him into his office and told him his job was being eliminated. My dad didn’t do anything wrong, they just don’t need him, can’t afford him anymore.

My heart sunk. Tears came. I cried. My mom cried. Even my tough brothers cried.

My dad is unemployed.

Even he cried. I have never, in all my 15 years, seen my dad look so heart broken, so ashamed, so sad.

The last two days he’s been at home with me. Searching online, emailing, looking for a job.

I know he will find one. He has a Master’s and he is really smart. But it will probably be a major pay cut. His new job. Will it be in a different state? Will it be here? Will we be able to afford our house payments? Will we have to move to a smaller house?

So, things are pretty tight and stiff. We don’t know what the future holds for us in the next few months and coming year. My dad might have to take on two more jobs, to make what he was making at his old job.  We just don’t know. Please pray for us. We are praying. We know that this is just one of those trials that God gives his people to test them, to see if they stay true to the faith.

Thank you.

39 Comments leave one →
  1. May 6, 2011 4:05 pm

    I’m so sorry to hear about your dads job Kayla. Seriously that is so tough. I wish I could offer you more solace than just that but just know that I’d be happy to do anything for you/your family during this tough time. I know the ways of helping are limited considering that we live thousands of miles away from each other.. haha but still, if there’s anything I can do just let me know.

  2. May 6, 2011 4:11 pm

    That’s tough. I know jobs are tough to find but I have faith that God will provide for your family. God won’t let you suffer for long, he gives you only what you can handle. I wish your dad the best of luck. I’ve had many friends’ parents lose jobs over the years and I’ve seen what it can do. Don’t be afraid to ask for help from friends if you’re going out for coffee. When I found out about my friends’ parents’ situations I took the opportunity to help by chipping in while shopping or picking up the tab at lunch. I hope that your friends will be supportive and do the same. Also, those lentils look scrumptious!

  3. delaney permalink
    May 6, 2011 4:23 pm

    your lentils look super yummy, as well as the salad!

    I will definitely keep your dad and your entire family in my prayers. I can only imagine how your family is feeling and just know that I’m praying. Praying that God will comfort you through this difficult time and believing that He will provide, because I know He will.

    “We rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.” Romans 5:3-5

    “Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer.” Romans 12:12

    praying ❤
    delaney

  4. May 6, 2011 4:26 pm

    Awe, so sorry to hear that your family is going through this, Kayla. It’s happening more and more these days and I can just only imagine how difficult and scary it must feel. I hope his job searches are successful and he finds a new job soon! Your family will be just fine – it’s apparent from your posts that you are a close family and support each other. That’s so important when things like this happen. You’ll be okay.

  5. May 6, 2011 4:35 pm

    Aw Kayla – that is definitely a tough situation. Your Dad sounds like a very strong, smart and I’m certain your family will be able to handle any curve balls that come your way! Much love! ❤

  6. May 6, 2011 4:42 pm

    im so sorry Kayla- that sonds like a difficult situation, but just remember that change is exciting and opens up completely new doors for your future!!!!! you will be fine! I know it!

  7. May 6, 2011 4:49 pm

    1st of all – I want to bathe in those lentils.

    Now on a more serious note… I am so sorry to hear about your dad but I have nothing but faith that this will prove to be a positive transition for your family. Although I know it’s difficult to see the silver lining now, NEVER forget that EVERYTHING happens for a reason. It sounds like your family is filled with love and strength and THAT will get you all through this. Sending all the positivity I have and more ❤ love to you and your family! xo

  8. The Teenage Taste permalink
    May 6, 2011 5:07 pm

    Kayla, I am SO sorry to hear about your Dad. This will undoubtably be a tough time for you and your family, but remember things WILL get better! Just stay postive and patient. Remember, everything happens for a reason!

  9. May 6, 2011 5:08 pm

    I’m definitely praying for you and your family!

  10. runyogarepeat permalink
    May 6, 2011 5:28 pm

    I’ll keep your family in my prayers! I am so happy that you’re running is improving. Isn’t it such a great feeling?

  11. pawsitivelife permalink
    May 6, 2011 5:36 pm

    My first time on your blog and I read these sad news :(. As a recent graduate I think its is sooo hard to find work because everyone want ‘experience’ which people like do not have, but people like your dad do. and tons of it. Who wouldnt want to hire that? I will definitly keep you in my thoughts. good luck

  12. May 6, 2011 5:45 pm

    Carrie is so right! Changes bring fun and new exciting things!

    I will definitely be praying! I totally need to retry brussel sprouts! Good thing I bought them yesterday! Now I have a recipe to base them with! Last time I had them I gagged! Hopefully this time I’ll like them! 🙂

  13. May 6, 2011 5:49 pm

    Your whole family is in my prayers. I know that my family has been going through some family issues since before Easter, and I have really been leaning on my faith in god for guidance. Stay strong 🙂

  14. May 6, 2011 5:59 pm

    Positive energy and wonderful thoughts your and your family’s way! Hang in there! Things happen for a reason. Only great things to come!

    Sounds weird to write it but YUMMY lentil recipe. 🙂

  15. oatsandspice permalink
    May 6, 2011 7:34 pm

    Your lentils looks awesome! I am so sorry to hear about your dad – you know, something are meant to be – I am sure only good things will come!

  16. May 6, 2011 8:21 pm

    Those lentils look beyond fantastic!!

    Praying that your dad finds a job!!

  17. May 6, 2011 8:41 pm

    hey girl, im so sorry to hear about your dad and his job. thats so tough, but stay strong – we’re all supporting you here. sometimes life spirals out of control, but things WILL get better and i think we just have to have faith in that!! thanks for sharing though!

    and those lentils….. mmm yummm… i hope those cheered you up!

  18. May 6, 2011 10:31 pm

    Yum, I could eat lentils everyday! These look very good.

    Whitney

  19. May 6, 2011 11:12 pm

    Girl I am so sorry. I know exactly what you are going through.
    It’s a hard thing to go through, but also it has helped me become closer to my family then I ever have before.
    Your family is my thoughts. Things WILL get better. New opportunities are on there way.

  20. squigglefloey permalink
    May 7, 2011 1:40 am

    Hi girl, definitely praying for you and your family — especially your dad. My dad lost his job 2yrs ago as well, but luckily he had planned out finances in case he was let go, so he’s been okay. I know you and your family will be strong, just as long as you have each other.
    Hang in there dear.

  21. May 7, 2011 1:45 am

    I’m so sorry, Kayla. That is such sad news, but your dad sounds like a highly educated and caring person and I’m sure he will have no trouble finding another job.

  22. May 7, 2011 2:48 am

    I’m sorry to hear about your Dad – I’m sure everything will turn out well in the end though! I wish you and your family a lot of strength.

    And lentils are my favorite things lately!

  23. May 7, 2011 8:28 am

    Wow girl, you are in my prayers 100%. I pray for you and your family and hope everything turns out well.

  24. May 7, 2011 9:03 am

    I’m so sorry to hear about your dad, something like that is never easy to handle. You all just have to stay strong and keep the positivity alive (as hard as it may be to do that). I’ll be keeping your family in my thoughts. ❤

  25. May 7, 2011 4:29 pm

    I’m so sorry about your dad. It’s terrible that we live in a world that makes it so hard for people to LIVE. Good luck to him in finding a job!

  26. May 7, 2011 6:07 pm

    I’m so sorry to hear about your dad. Definitely praying for you and your family! We’re in a similar position too, my dad’s job got cut down to part time at the end of last summer, and it’s very difficult when trying to plan how to pay for college (lots of student loans…). Just keep in mind that this is only temporary, and that life will not always be like this (at least, that’s what I keep telling myself). Sending virtual hugs your way!

    On a happier note, those lentils look so yummy!

    Megan

  27. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! permalink
    May 7, 2011 9:10 pm

    I’m so sorry to hear about your dad. So much of that is happening right now and it’s really ashame! People like your dad, who are hardworking and educated should not be losing their jobs! It just doesn’t seem fair! I’ll keep your family in my thoughts 🙂

    One the other hand….your lentils look fabulous! They are my favorite source of vegetarian protein! And I love the idea of putting nutritional yeast on brussel sprouts! YUMMY!

  28. May 7, 2011 10:24 pm

    Ohmygosh Kayla, that is devastating. That’s a huge fear of mine. I really feel for you guys right now and I have a lot of friends and family that are struggling throught the same situation. I’m praying for you guys. It must be extremely difficult and I’m sure your Dad will find a job, especially with his qualifications.

    On the brightside, those lentils sound delicious. I have never made them, but I really want to and I have had a bag of them sitting in my cabinet for months. I should totally make these!

  29. May 8, 2011 1:27 am

    So sorry to hear about your dad’s job. Everything happens for a reason and hopefully there is an even better opportunity out there for him. Sending good vibes your way!

  30. May 8, 2011 10:53 am

    omg YUM! i love lentils and your meal looks seriously amazing. great job on the run btw! it’s okay if it was hard…running is HARD work and it honestly takes a full YEAR of running before it becomes easy enough that you can just “go for a 40 minute” run without being tired. is there a school that you could run with during the fall with their xc team? I know that’s how i got a LOT better and I bet it’d help you so much! hang in there girl; you’re tough!

    but in reply to your horrible news, just know that I have my entire family praying for your family and I genuinely hope that all turns out for you guys okay! hang in there and stay strong. I’m thinking of you and really wish there was something I could do to help! Keep a smile on your faces girlie:)

  31. Athena permalink
    May 8, 2011 1:52 pm

    The lentils look delicious!

    I am keeping you and your family in my thoughts! I’m sorry for the turn of events, but with strength, love and patience, you will make it.

  32. Ginger&Rice permalink
    May 8, 2011 3:43 pm

    I will be praying for you and your family!

  33. May 8, 2011 5:49 pm

    I’m so sorry to hear about your dad’s job 😦 I’ll definitely keep your family in my prayers!

  34. May 8, 2011 9:49 pm

    I’m so sorry to hear about your dad. Keep your head up and I wish the best of luck for your and your family.

  35. Mandi permalink
    May 8, 2011 11:12 pm

    First off, those lentils look amazing.
    However, on a more serious note, I’m so, so sorry to hear about your dad. Try to stay positive and know that things will end up okay. I’ll definitely keep you in my prayers.

  36. May 8, 2011 11:31 pm

    I’m so sorry to hear about your dad. I know you all will get through it though! Have faith, girl!

  37. Kelli Meeker permalink
    May 9, 2011 11:00 am

    Hi Kayla!

    I literally just found your blog two minutes ago and this was the first of your posts I read. My heart goes out to you. My family was in the same position a year ago, with my dad being forced to retire early. Luckily, he found a new (possibly better) position at a different company. Life has a way of working itself out.

    All the best,
    Kel

  38. May 9, 2011 7:10 pm

    Oh honey, I’m so sorry to hear this! I can only imagine what your father is feeling right now! It is an inherent need for a man to know that he can support his family. I will DEFINITELY be keeping you and your family in my prayers! *hugs*

  39. May 12, 2011 1:44 am

    Oh darling, I am so so sorry! I can’t even imagine what that would be like to go through. I have faith that you and your family will get through this; you are such a strong and beautiful girl!!!

    Thinking lots of good thoughts for you and your fam ❤

    n

Leave a Reply

