Skip to content

Just Do It

May 3, 2011

I don’t know what was wrong with me today. But I did NOT want to do strength training. I haven’t done it for a few days, it’s hard to get back into it!

So I procrastinated all morning. Went on a walk with Chipper. Made Branden toast. Ate 1/2 a banana. Read my scriptures. Read some blogs.

Finally I decided I needed to JUST DO IT.

Every single rep, every set seemed like such a chore. Time went by so slow.

But I felt amazing when I was done. And that’s what matters. Plus, I’m starting to see definition in my arms, nothing excites me more! I used to have stupid little chicken arms.

Last night I cooked up some millet. I bought the millet a long time ago, on my Whole Foods trip. I decided to pull it out of the cupboard and cook it up, no time like the present right?

I cooked the millet in water with cinnamon and nutmeg. It really was a pain to cook, I had to keep adding more water and I was never sure if it was done. I kept tasting it, and it kept tasting worse and worse. I wasn’t a fan of the texture either.

Well, this morning I warmed it back up in the microwave and topped it with frozen blueberries and peanut butter for a nice little breakfast.

While I don’t love the taste or texture of millet, the blueberries and peanut butter made up for it. I don’t think I’ll ever buy millet again, oatmeal is just so much tastier and easier, but it was fun trying out a new grain!

I won a giveaway on The Healthy Apron blog for a Camelbak Groove water bottle. I got it yesterday and I LOVE it.

At first I thought a filtered watter bottle was unnecessary, but the water does taste so much better with the filter!

And even though the filter is a nice touch to this water bottle, my favorite feature is the bite valve.

Water only comes out when you are biting on the valve. When you bite on it…

It opens up. Haha, I feel like a little kid again drinking from a bottle! Makes drinking water much more fun!

Yesterday I stayed hydrated because of this miraculous water bottle. Trips to the bathroom were more frequent than usual, but that’s how it should be! This water bottle is helping me drink more water!

Have you ever cooked with “new” grains? – Barley and now millet.

How do you find motivation to work out when you really don’t want to? – I just remind myself how great I will feel after and I JUST DO IT.

How do you stay hydrated? -I am loving the Camelbak Groove water bottle!

32 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2011 11:13 am

    Congrats on the win! Man, I need to get on winning one of those haha! Looks like an awesome bottle and I would totally love the bite down thing, too!!

    I haven’t tried either barley or millet, and totally should get on that. As long as they taste good, I’m always up for new foods!

    I try to convince myself to workout by thinking about how I feel afterwards. And if that doesn’t work, think about if I don’t workout now, when is the next time I get to workout. If it feels like far away, then that motivates me to get moving now!

  2. May 3, 2011 11:22 am

    Neat water jug!!! I want one of those 🙂

    I’ve never tried millet plain before….but I love millet puffs!

  3. May 3, 2011 11:27 am

    I have millet that I bought a trip to whole foods a while back – and still haven’t cooked it. Now, I am not even sure if it will be worth cooking!

    • May 3, 2011 11:44 am

      I have leftovers I think I will use in a veggie burger or something today, we’ll see if millet can impress me as a savory dish!

  4. May 3, 2011 11:32 am

    Chipper is super cute!

  5. May 3, 2011 12:34 pm

    oh i wna try millet!!! love those biting valves! i got one too!

  6. May 3, 2011 1:22 pm

    haha i totally feel like a kid when it comes to that type of things, I get so intrigued haha

  7. May 3, 2011 1:35 pm

    I tell myself that it is just 1 hour of my life that I would be sitting on my booty otherwise. It normally works out well for myself but sometimes I just take the day off.

  8. May 3, 2011 1:44 pm

    It is so true! No matter how bad you don’t want to work, you always leave the gym glad you went – it’s just getting there that is the problem. I have been off the track from working out since starting my new job and I need to take your advice and just do it! I need to find a time that works for me and get my booty to the gym, once I start it will be easy to keep a routine. But the second you stop, it’s near impossible to start back up again….at least that has been my experience

  9. May 3, 2011 1:58 pm

    I have the same water bottle without the filter and I love it! I totally feel like I’m walking around with a bottle too, haha.

  10. May 3, 2011 2:09 pm

    I am in love with that water bottle, filtered is the best! I just use my Brita right now, but your bottle is so handy.

  11. May 3, 2011 2:59 pm

    Congrats on winning!! I have a contigo water bottle that I love! I find it pretty difficult to get pumped (haha!) for strength training too. But once I’ve done it, I feel great!

  12. May 3, 2011 3:01 pm

    I just bought some millet too but I haven’t tried it yet. I’m curious if I’ll like it….we’ll see!

    I won that giveaway too! The groove is such a great water bottle….love it!

  13. The Teenage Taste permalink
    May 3, 2011 3:38 pm

    Believe it or not, quinoa is a “new” grain to me! I’ve only started cooking with it a few weeks ago and I love it. So much tastier than rice and healthier too! Speaking of grains, how did the millet taste? I’ve been wanting to try it for so long!

    Congrats on winning the giveaway, Kayla! That water bottle is so cool! 😀

    • May 3, 2011 4:20 pm

      I love quinoa! So versatile and delicious!

      The millet was just…okay. Not nutty or delicious like quinoa! I don’t think I’ll ever buy millet again.

  14. May 3, 2011 3:52 pm

    Congrats on winning the giveaway! I love weight training so it’s never been a chore for me to do. I love getting stronger arms instead of the chicken arms I had haha

  15. May 3, 2011 4:10 pm

    Very cool new water bottle! I haven’t cooked with millet in such a long time, but I do remember it cooking up like cream of wheat a bit. Peanut butter makes anything better 🙂

  16. May 3, 2011 4:18 pm

    I’ve had workout days like that where everything seems like a chore but usually feel great once I finished it. Glad you had the mind set to “just do it”..hopefully it’ll be easier the next time around!

  17. oatsandspice permalink
    May 3, 2011 4:25 pm

    I love my camelbak SO much – I drink so much more water ever since I got it a year ago! I would LOVEEE the one with the filter on it though

  18. May 3, 2011 5:21 pm

    I usually try to convince myself I’ll feel better when I’m done. It doesn’t always work, but it helps sometimes!

  19. May 3, 2011 5:29 pm

    I’m usually always up for cardio but find that I actually dread doing weight training. I tend to put it off for as long as possible, even though when I actually do it it’s not bad at all and I’m liking the definition I’m seeing because of it. That water bottle looks so neat! I didn’t even know you could get one with a filter. I’ve never tried millet before but I’m really intrigued. I want to start trying out new grains more often. 🙂

    • May 3, 2011 5:34 pm

      I’m always up for cardio too! I didn’t know there were water bottles with filters either, pretty cool!

  20. May 3, 2011 5:42 pm

    Congrats on your win darling!! 😀 I love my water bottle too!

    I want to go do some strength training right now! I find that if I stay away from it, it does get harder, but I feel SO GOOD after doing it that it ignites that desire to do it! 🙂

  21. May 3, 2011 9:27 pm

    I’ve never tried millet! I would love to expand my “grain horizon” though. I really like plain old brown rice though!
    I have that water bottle and I love it! Who doesn’t love straws!

  22. May 3, 2011 10:30 pm

    There are some times when I feel like I really don’t want to work out. But I feel so great the whole day afterwards so that really keeps me motivated

  23. May 3, 2011 10:48 pm

    I love millet, but I use it as a savory grain. I cook it just like I would quinoa (1 part grain to 2 parts water, bring to a boil, and then turn to simmer, cover, and cook for 15-20 minutes). Maybe you could give it a second try?

    I don’t have a Camelbak Groove (though it’d be awesome if I did), but I am in love with my regular one! The bite valve took a little getting used to at first, but now I would never own a different kind!

    Whenever I don’t feel like working out, I just don’t think about it, put on my workout clothes and jump in! The longer I piddle around making excuses, the more likely I am not to do it! And I always know I will feel 100 times better afterwards!

  24. littlehealthjunkie permalink
    May 4, 2011 9:06 pm

    omg those chest pushups are KILLER! oh but we’re the same way (i have wimpy chicken arms and I get sooo excited when my weight training starts to pay off!) And i’ve never had millet, but so many bloggers love it! maybe there’s a special trick to get it to taste right!?

  25. May 5, 2011 8:27 pm

    I’ve never tried millet before but I have bought it to use in whole grain yeast breads. That might be a good idea for you on how to use up the rest of it. It adds a great crunch to the inside of the bread, but you could also sprinkle some on top of the loaf as well!

  26. applesnoats permalink
    May 6, 2011 7:32 am

    hahah that was my exact reaction when I got my groove…..i seriously drank two bottles in 5 minutes just because i was intrigued by the valve

Leave a Reply

