Skip to content

Winners and Randomness!

April 30, 2011

Before I get into anything, I just want to say THANK YOU for all your entries into the giveaway! I can tell you all share my excitement over Rocco Dispirito and his new cookbook!

I’m happy to announce the TWO lovely winners!

First is….

The BEAUTIFUL and ever so creative Jenny from Peanut Butter And Jenny!!! Yeah, girl!! You are going to LOVE the recipe ideas in here, they are amazing!

And our second winner is….*drumroll*

The sweet and amazing Mandi from Eat Me Healthy! I haven’t made the PBJ cookies yet, but they’re on my list!!

Congratulations ladies! Check your inboxes for an email from me!

***

Well, it’s 11pm…time for this chick to get to bed, need to be awake for church tomorrow! First of all though, I just want to say I am so excited for the month of MAY! WHOO HOO!

I am going to go the whole month eating sugar-free! Yes, remember when I used to do Sugar Free Weeks, well I need to get back on that and sugar is so bad for me and I really need to break my habit of eating it, so I figure a month without it will help me realize that I really CAN survive without it! (wow, super long run on sentence…)

Janetha has been going sugar-free the last few days and she said something that really stuck out to me. She mentioned that on any given day, we should only be eating 50 or less grams of sugar, and she counted and on a day that she went sugar-free she ate like 17 grams (or something like that…), so I can only imagine how many grams of sugar I eat on a day where I DON’T go sugar-free! Of course, the 17 grams were all from natural sources, but still, sugar is sugar, and I want to make sure I’m only eating natural sugars from fruit!

May is a special month for my Mom. It’s her birthday AND Mother’s Day in May, so I need to think of something SUPER special to do for my AMAZING momma.

One more thing before I go (promise!):

Allie is going to work for Matt and Kath in their Great Harvest Bakery in Charlottesville, VA!!!

So exciting, right?! How fun would it be to work in a bakery, I would be in PURE BLISS! I love Allie and Kath, and love reading their blogs, so I am so excited for the bakery and all the new opportunities it will bring them and wish them the best!

Okay, I’m super tired, sorry for the lame post lacking in food, but I really wanted to share the WINNERS! See y’all later!

Have you ever wanted to work in a bakery?

How concerned are you about your sugar intake?

Just out of curiosity (thinking about doing a post about it) how important is eating organic to you? Do you eat 50% organic? Less, more? Are there certain foods you buy organic? Why?

26 Comments leave one →
  1. May 1, 2011 12:01 am

    Congrats to the winners!
    Working in a bakery is one of my dreams! Allie is so lucky to work with Kath! That is amazing

    I am a little concerned about my sugar intake. I have a sweet tooth so I bet I eat a lot of sugar. A few weeks ago I decided to have a sugar free day and was surprised that I was able to do it. I’d like to do another soon

  2. May 1, 2011 4:01 am

    yes! i actually became cooncerened after I read about all ur info on SF week!.. now I try to get most from natural sugars!! a few added is fine.. but most of my eats are natural!

  3. May 1, 2011 4:11 am

    I’m not too concerned about my sugar intake. I eat a ton of fruit daily so I’m sure it’s probably really high! I have heard that you can eat too much fructose, but I just try to listen to my tummy. And I have always thought it would be fun to work in a bakery! Definitely a healthy, vegan one though or else I would eat way too much junk!

  4. May 1, 2011 6:44 am

    I try to get my sugars naturally … from fruits. I use natural sweeteners.. like stevia and truvia – but I am no where near perfect.. but am okay with it!

  5. oatsandspice permalink
    May 1, 2011 7:21 am

    Congrats to the wi nners 🙂

  6. May 1, 2011 8:04 am

    Congrats to the winners!!! 😀
    I definitely need to decrease my sugar intake!!!! Its amazing how many things have sugar in them that we wouldn’t really even think about!

  7. May 1, 2011 8:10 am

    honestly, I think a little sugar can never kill you. I’d much rather eat sugar (especially in the form of agave nectar, honey or sug. in the raw) then trans or saturated animal fats! I personally like a little sweet taste on the things I eat and so that’s what works for me, but great for you for going headstrong trying to eliminate excess sugars!

  8. May 1, 2011 8:33 am

    I watch my sugar intake, but I still eat sweets here and there (but I try to make sure it’s at least natural sugar). I love doing things like going sugar free for a week! I love the challenge 🙂 Maybe starting today I will go sugar free for a week? We’ll see how it goes 😉 Good for you for giving it a go!! 😀

    Working in a bakery would be like my dream job!! 🙂

  9. May 1, 2011 8:34 am

    Can’t wait to read about your sugar-free month! Brave woman right thur. 🙂

    Whitney

  10. May 1, 2011 8:58 am

    I don’t eat white sugar/brown sugar/evaporated cane juice just because they give me intense headaches and sometimes migranes. It’s been that way my whole life but it wasn’t until I started my blog that I cut them all out!

    Anyways good on sugar free month! I know you got this.

    As far as organic goes. I try to eat organic as much as possible. Money is tight in my house so I usually stick with the dirty dozen as for sure to be bought organic. I also ALWAYS buy organic soy proudcts as well. (all conventional soy products contain GMO’s.

  11. May 1, 2011 9:28 am

    EEEEEEEEEEEEP! I literally squealed when I read this post. Thank you soooooo much girl!! I have been dying to do some more cooking and this will definitely help. YOU ROCK MY LIFE :)!

    when it comes to sugar, I try to avoid processed sugars to a degree (basically I try to limit myself to one processed snack per day) but as far as natural sugars in fruits and veggies, I don’t give a hoot. They’re metabolized differently than refined sugars 🙂

  12. May 1, 2011 11:56 am

    I’m actually really concerned about my sugar eating because I’m prediabetic. I have to watch it extremely close or I become rather sick.

  13. May 1, 2011 12:29 pm

    Congrats to Jenny and Mandi!

    I would LOVE to work in a bakery! I love baking goodies for people!

    I usually keep my sugar-intake to a minimum with only a little added sugar since I eat a lot of natural sugar found in fruits, but I think with all the Easter candy lying around, I’ve been caught up in the “Oh, I’ll just have a little bit of this or a handful of that!” because I’ve been craving sweets like crazy lately. The more I eat, the more I seem to crave! Definitely going to get a handle on that this week!

    I probably purchase around 80-90% organic. I honestly think that organic produce lasts longer AND has a much better taste compared to conventional choices, but it does get a little pricey. I try to just focus on the Dirty Dozen…really no sense in spending the extra money on organic avocado and bananas when you should be more concerned with the foods that you consume as a whole (skin and all) like berries and apples.

  14. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    May 1, 2011 1:14 pm

    Yay!!!! a whole month of sugar free 🙂 🙂 🙂 Not only will it make me happy, but it will make your boy happy, too 😉

  15. May 1, 2011 1:32 pm

    I’ve wanted to work in a bakery before but all the ones over here are only open in the morning so my class schedule gets in the way. I have heard, though, that if you love baking..you shouldn’t work in a bakery because you see it sooo much that you’ll never want to do it again!! That’d depend person to person though.

  16. The Teenage Taste permalink
    May 1, 2011 2:18 pm

    You’re actually the one who got me concerned about my sugar-intake after doing a few SF weeks. While I don’t think I’m ready for an entire month of SF (yet!) I do want to start watching my sugar intake again. I’ve been overdoing it a lot lately. 😕
    Have a great day, Kayla!

  17. May 1, 2011 7:23 pm

    I actually really watch my sugar intake (added sugar that is). I try to eat as little added sugar as possible. 🙂

    And with Organic — I try to eat as much organic as possible. But if we just can’t buy it, I’m not going to allow that to keep me from getting the vitamins and minerals I need. 🙂 How about you?

    That is so exciting about Allie!! I am so excited for her! I have always wanted to work in a bakery (ESPECIALLY Great Harvest!).

  18. May 1, 2011 8:08 pm

    How are you going to monitor your sugar intake? I’m curious and I would like to try this (after track season ends, it’s too risky to do now!) and see how it works out! I know I eat a lot of excess sugar.
    I’m so jealous that Allie gets to work at GH because that means she gets all the secret recipes! I love that bakery!

  19. May 1, 2011 8:46 pm

    Congrats to the ever so lovely PB & Jenny 🙂

  20. May 1, 2011 9:25 pm

    I think it would be cool to work in a bakery, but I probably wouldn’t be able to deal with the early hours. To bake enough and sell at a farmers market? Yep, I think I could do that. 🙂

    Congrats to the winners!

  21. May 1, 2011 9:38 pm

    Woohoo congrats to the winners 😀

  22. May 2, 2011 5:42 pm

    I try to eat under 50 grams, under 40 grams on a good day. I don’t like artificial sweeteners and I’ve found that depriving myself of sugar makes me go nuts on it! But yes, I’m definitely concerned about my sugar intake!

  23. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! permalink
    May 2, 2011 6:22 pm

    The only added sugar I eat is usually agave nectar from my favorite greek yogurt….Siggi’s! Sometimes I add natural sweeteners but besides that my sugar intake basically comes from fruit! I have heard people say that even sugar from fruit should be cut down on….but I am not so sure if I believe that and besides I love fruit tooo much to ever give it up!

    I was so excited for Allie too! It’s gonna be so fun working in Cville!

  24. May 2, 2011 6:35 pm

    I would love to work in a bakery! It is still my goal one day to open my own cupcake shop 🙂

  25. May 3, 2011 5:21 pm

    Ahh, that’s so exciting! I can’t believe I won. Thanks so much, I can’t wait to try out some of those recipes. 🙂
    And wow! A whole month of going sugar free? That’s amazing. I can’t wait to here all about it. I’ve never really been too concerned with my sugar intake but I really should start paying a little more attention. Maybe I’ll try going a week sugar free. 😀

    • May 3, 2011 5:32 pm

      You should definitely try it! You’ll be surprised at how much sugar you are eating!

Leave a Reply

