Skip to content

Easter Reflections

April 25, 2011

A delicious, cold treat for a hot Spring day!

Frozen banana slices with 1 Tbsp. peanut butter.

Today is the first day of Spring Break for us. I don’t exactly get a Spring Break since I am behind in my online classes.

Oh well.

We have a pool and my brothers are swimming in it. Apparently the water is really warm! Gross. I want to go swimming in cool, refreshing water!

I hope you all had a splendid Easter. Now that Easter is over, and all the candy is probably eaten, I wish to shed some light on the real reason we have Easter.

I feel like Easter is one of the most precious and Holy holidays, but isn’t treated that way.

Instead Easter is always cluttered with absolute nonsense. Easter baskets filled to the brim with brightly colored candy, chocolate bunnies and plastic eggs and gifts.

There’s nothing wrong with those traditions, but they are petty compared to Christ’s sacrifice for us.

I know a lot of people do incorporate Christ’s atonement and resurrection into the holiday, and I am glad.

I want you to know that I know that Christ atoned and died for us. I know that He was resurrected and that He lives again.

I’ve always been very visual and so I love this short video produced by my church – An Easter Declaration.

What does Easter mean to you?  What are your Easter traditions?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. April 25, 2011 2:36 pm

    Easter is my favorite religious holiday. It means a lot to my family, and we always go to church at midnight. Love that service! I hope you had a blessed Easter, girl!

  2. applesnoats permalink
    April 25, 2011 3:05 pm

    such a powerful video!thanks for reminding us all what Easter is about!

  3. theflourishingfoodie permalink
    April 25, 2011 3:15 pm

    Great post! I agree that it is so important to remember the reason for the season. It’s so easy to get caught up in the secular world of bunnies and candy and not focus on the incredible sacrifice Christ made for all of us. Usually, my family goes to Church not only on Easter Sunday but on the Thursday and Friday too where we commemorate the Last Super and Christ journey to the cross.

  4. April 25, 2011 3:23 pm

    Wow we sound like one in the same, last week was my Spring Break and I spent the entire week doing online classes. Ugh, so I know how crappy that is! It’s the best feeling when it’s all over with though, you just have to get through it. 🙂
    You have a pool? What the heck, not far at all!
    That video didn’t work for me for some reason, but Easter is a really holy holiday for me as well. I love that it’s always held on a Sunday because that way we always get to attend church and talk more about Christ on the actual day of Easter. I also enjoy the fun stuff as well, including my family coming over and opening easter baskets and doing easter egg hunts with them. I love Easter. 🙂

  5. April 25, 2011 3:57 pm

    I love this post!! 😀 Easter is such a special holiday to me! He Is RISEN! 😀

  6. April 25, 2011 4:01 pm

    Ooh, I couldn’t disagree more; I love swimming in super warm water! Easter to me, means spending time with you family and sharing a meaningful day with your loved ones. Obviously, it’s a very religious holiday, and we treat it like that (to an extent) but I guess we focus more on loving and family then we do actual Jesus Christ. Thanks for the pleasant reminder!

  7. April 25, 2011 4:10 pm

    What a lovely video. Happy Easter 🙂

  8. April 25, 2011 4:30 pm

    Lovely video-I agree with Jenny!

    Frozen nanners and pb are my favorite girl!

  9. Ginger&Rice permalink
    April 25, 2011 5:07 pm

    I freeze bananas ALL the time. I love putting them in my oats!
    We really don’t do a whole lot on Easter, but we make it a family day.

  10. April 25, 2011 5:20 pm

    YES! I totally agree! This holiday has turned from being a celebration of God welcoming us into his kingdom to somehow a magical rabbit that delivers candy to children. How did that happen? Haha.
    I’m really enjoying your blog!

  11. April 25, 2011 5:22 pm

    This is a beautiful post, Kayla. I love it! I totally agree with you.. Easter is so commercialized. That video is wonderful, and I’m extremely visual too. Haha.

  12. April 25, 2011 6:48 pm

    Thanks for the beautiful post! Easter .. along with every other holiday – have turned into ways for companies to make money. You brought everyone back down to what is real.

    PS… loving your frozen nana snackage!

  13. April 27, 2011 2:00 pm

    AMEN! You are so right, girl! Thanks for sharing this. 🙂

  14. April 30, 2011 9:15 pm

    So true! I hate that the reason for the season of Easter is as lost as it is for Christmas! Since when did the corporate world own religious holidays too?!

    Great post and a great way to remind people what the day is really about!

Leave a Reply

