Skip to content

Cinnamon-Raisin Pancakes

April 21, 2011

Hey darlings!

Sorry I fell off the face of the planet blog the last few days.

My camera takes AA batteries, it needed more and we were totally out of batteries! So, the last few days of eats have been undocumented (sadly!), but that’s okay.

My mom picked up batteries last night, so today I’ve been snapping photos left and right!

Let’s start with my pre-workout snack!

The other 1/2 of Peanut Butter & Jelly Larabar. Definitely a favorite!

[ Insert weight lifting – arms and lower body workout here! ]

Post-workout I was all sweaty and shaky! I needed some protein!

The photo was not pretty, so picture a green monster protein shake! Nothing different than usual.

Just two hours later my stomach was growling again. It was odd, because I always go 3-4 hours before having lunch!

But you know what? I have been really working out hard lately. Yesterday I did a really hard run, and then an evening bike ride (4 miles – fast) and today I did some intense strength training. And tomorrow I’m doing an even harder run!

My body needs lots of fuel to build and maintain all the muscle I’m (hopefully!) gaining, so I just went with the hunger pangs and had pancakes!

Confession: I’ve had these everyday for the last three days and I’m not even tired of them yet. That just proves how delicious they are!

I came up with the recipe on a whim. We were out of whole wheat flour but I really really wanted pancakes. Bad. 

So these are made with oat flour, which gives them a delicious nutty flavor, I kind of like these better than whole wheat pancakes! Plus, the cinnamon-raisin combo simply can’t be beat! I can’t believe I used to hate raisins, I’m so glad I’ve seen the light.

Cinnamon-Raisin Pancakes

vegan, gluten-free and sugar-free!

Ingredients (serves 1)

  • 1/2 cup oat flour (grind rolled oats in Vitamix until fine)
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp.  vital wheat gluten (can omit; adds fluffiness that oat flour lacks)
  • 1/2 Tbsp. cinnamon
  • dash nutmeg
  • dash of salt
  • 1/4 cup SunMaid raisins
  • 1/2 cup + 1 Tbsp. unsweetened almond milk

Instructions

  • Start by warming up your pancake griddle/pan/skillet.
  • Mix the dry ingredients (oat flour, cinnamon, nutmeg, baking powder, vital wheat gluten and salt) together in a small mixing bowl.
  • Next, add raisins to the dry mixture, making sure they don’t clump together and are coated.
  • Measure out your almond milk and stir it into the dry ingredients.
  • Stir batter gently just until thoroughly mixed.
  • Drop about 1/4 cup batter onto a nonstick or greased pan/griddle/skillet and spread into a circle shape. Repeat with rest of batter. Flip pancakes after bubbles disappear and then cook on other side for additional 1-3 minutes.
  • Stack and serve. They’re delicious hot!
I topped my pancakes with a banana and coconut butter mixture (mash banana with fork, stir in spoonful of coconut butter). It was thick like frosting and super tasty!

Wouldn’t these pancakes be amazing with  Cinnamon Raisin Swirl or Mighty Maple peanut butter?!

You’d be stupid to not make these. Basically.

Do you like raisins? Have you always? I do now, but when I was little I really hated them!

50 Comments leave one →
  1. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    April 21, 2011 8:28 pm

    I LOVE oat flour pancakes! I have actually made something really similar to this before-they are soooo yummy!

  2. The Teenage Taste permalink
    April 21, 2011 8:54 pm

    Those pancakes look fabulous! Cinnamon raisin is one of my favorite pancake flavors. I love the presentation!

  3. April 21, 2011 9:02 pm

    PB&J Larabars! Yum those are my absolute favorite. Your pancakes look sooo good. I love raisins all though I’m like you, I used to not like them. I used to think they weren’t sweet enough! How crazy is that? Now I almost find them TOO sweets. haha, it’s funny how your taste buds change.

  4. applesnoats permalink
    April 21, 2011 9:03 pm

    these look unbelievably good right now!i have the strongest sweet tooth at ALL meals so these would be a great dinner..or breakfast..or lunch hehe:)

  5. April 21, 2011 9:10 pm

    Glad you are listening to your body and giving it the fuel it needs.. even though it is different from normal.. And who wouldn’t want to eat those scrumptious pancakes every day!

  6. April 21, 2011 9:15 pm

    YUM! I never thought of putting raisins in a pancake, what a great idea! I think I’m having this for breakfast tomorrow!

  7. April 21, 2011 9:16 pm

    These look amazing! I really should try more gluten free recipes.

  8. April 21, 2011 9:17 pm

    welcome back 🙂
    to me, the best part about working out is the raging appetite i get from it! I just loooove eating 😀

  9. April 21, 2011 9:22 pm

    I saw the title of this and I knew I would already be in heaven. Those looks divine and I WILL be trying them soon.

  10. runyogarepeat permalink
    April 21, 2011 9:37 pm

    Ooo PB & J larabar sounds good! I’ve always loved raisins, and my obsession has just growth with age. I was a weird kid that got excited over those little raisin boxes in my lunch haha.

  11. April 21, 2011 10:08 pm

    Oh gracious, those pancakes look so good! Cinnamon raisin… such a good call!

  12. April 21, 2011 10:36 pm

    Those pancakes look delicious. I love raisins and always have

  13. April 21, 2011 10:46 pm

    They sounds delicious!! And don’t feel bad, I have the same breakfast over and over again for months and never get sick of it. 😛

    I used to love raisins as a kid but don’t really care for them now unless they’re in something.

  14. April 21, 2011 10:59 pm

    Omg those pancakes look so fluffy!! Oat flour definitely doesn’t add that kind of texture to pancakes. It looks delish 😀

  15. April 21, 2011 11:02 pm

    Those look fabulous, I’ve always been partial to cinnamon and raisins!

  16. April 21, 2011 11:12 pm

    These look fantastic! I know what I’m having for breakfast this weekend 😀

  17. April 21, 2011 11:36 pm

    Those pancakes look amazing! Those just might be making an appearance in tomorrows breakfast. 😀 I was the same way when I first started running and working out more too- my appetite seemed HUGE. Of course I still have a big appetite but now that’s just the norm. 😉 It’s good your listening to your body though. You need the fuel for all that hard work you’ve been doing!

  18. April 22, 2011 12:03 am

    Cinnamon raisin is such a delicious combo! I didn’t always like raisins though! But with the cinnamon, they’re heavenly! Your pancakes look so good and fluffy!! I’ve missed ya!

  19. April 22, 2011 12:25 am

    I just bookmarked and I totally plan on making these one morning!

    I used to not like raisins too but they are growing on me. 🙂

  20. April 22, 2011 1:24 am

    I love raisins! I add a handful to almost everything. A lot of times I add it after I take a picture because I add it to so many of my meals!

  21. April 22, 2011 7:17 am

    I loooove raisins!!! 😀 These pancakes look yummy! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

  22. April 22, 2011 12:05 pm

    Kayla, you’ve done it again!!!! 😀 I HAVE TO MAKE THESE!!!! 😀 BOOKMARKED! I can’t believe how many pancakes are in ONE serving! That is awesome! 😀

    YAY for listening to your body! 😀

  23. April 22, 2011 12:06 pm

    Oh yah, and YES, I LOVE RAISINS! 😀

  24. April 22, 2011 2:58 pm

    Glad your back!

    I love raisins and always have! Growing up I loved having them in my cereal in the morning.

    P.S. I purchased a waffle make a couple days ago so now I can make all those wonderful waffles you make! 🙂 I’m hoping to make some this weekend. Can’t wait!

    • April 24, 2011 10:03 pm

      YAY! Definitely can’t wait to see the waffles you make!

  25. April 22, 2011 3:25 pm

    Sometimes my appetite seems out of control too, especially after lifting weights!

    These pancakes look so so so good! I love raisins too, especially in my oatmeal. 😀

  26. April 22, 2011 4:58 pm

    these look amazing!!!!!!!!!!! i do love raisins!! so flavorful and cute!

  27. April 22, 2011 5:33 pm

    They look INCREDIBLE! I love pancakes; had them today, actually!
    I’m definitely going to try this recipe next!

  28. theflourishingfoodie permalink
    April 22, 2011 5:54 pm

    The pancakes look really tasty 🙂 I love making things with oat flour. Raisins are okay, I don’t love or hate them.

  29. April 22, 2011 9:58 pm

    omg. girl you rock in the kitchen!! I love the “frosting” idea, too. I’m going to try that for sure!!

  30. April 23, 2011 12:54 am

    These look amazing! I love raisins- so much that I devoured my Costco bag and am now out! I will definitely make these though 🙂

  31. April 23, 2011 10:20 am

    Oh Kayla! These look fabulous! I love the combo of cinnamon and raisins…Cinnamon Raisin Swirl PB is one of my absolute faves! I’ve always been a fan of raisins!

  32. April 23, 2011 5:31 pm

    Your pancake mountain looks delightful!!! 🙂

  33. April 23, 2011 9:41 pm

    I’m EXACTLY like you on the raisins! And I completely know what you mean about always being hungry! Since I’ve started weight training, I’m almost only starving! It feels strange, but I just go with it 🙂

  34. April 23, 2011 9:43 pm

    And your pancakes look absolutely fabulous!!! 😀 You did a great job on the pictures!!

  35. April 24, 2011 3:35 pm

    One more thing…. I just passed a blog award onto you 😀

  36. April 24, 2011 5:03 pm

    Oh wow your pancakes look so good! Ive always loved raisins, when i was little my mam used to buy me little boxes of them to snack on,s o cute!

  37. April 25, 2011 1:09 am

    I’m not OBSESSED with raisins but they’re okay. I do like them in cookies, and actually in cereal, but I don’t usually eat htem by themselves. But that cinn-raisin swirl pb is like ridiculously addictive and i totally pick out the raisins to eat them first 😉

    your pancakes look AMAZING. yes yes yes fuel yourself up girl, your body asks for what it needs 🙂


    n

  38. April 25, 2011 2:55 am

    I’ve always like raisins yes! Never went crazy gaga over them but always like them 🙂 this looks delicious great recipe Kayla! hope you had a beautiful day

  39. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! permalink
    April 25, 2011 7:40 am

    Oat flour is delicious! And cinnamon raisin is one of my fave combos! Can’t wait to try these…I love making different kinds of pancakes!

  40. May 23, 2011 3:34 pm

    OMG! How did I miss this recipe the first time around on your fabulous blog!?! I am totally making these ASAP-I’ve been on such a huge pancake kick lately (which no one knows ever since I broke my camera!) but cinnamon raisin is TOTALLY up my alley;)!

    • May 24, 2011 10:54 am

      It totally stinks that your camera broke! I would DIE if mine did!

  41. November 12, 2011 12:48 pm

    good pancake recipe 😀 they can be made without the wheat gluten,personally I added less ‘milk’ b/c the 9 T is just too much but otherwise hoorah 😀 😛

  42. Carlie permalink
    May 7, 2012 7:44 pm

    I use the same amount of oat flour, milk, baking powder, and salt, but instead of raisins I have used blueberries with bananas, apple chunks with pecans, and tomorrow I’m gonna try banana with almond butter! 🙂 so delicious!!

Trackbacks

  1. More Cakes « Little Miss Healthify
  2. LINK LOVE! « katshealthcorner
  3. Cinnamon Raisin Stacks of Goodness | kissmybroccoli
  4. Nature’s Candy « Little Miss Healthify
  5. somethings missing

Leave a Reply

