Skip to content

Not A Green One

April 15, 2011

Thank you all for your thoughts on running, yesterday! All your motivational stories and wisdom boosted my confidence and made me feel so happy. As ridiculous as it sounds, I am so grateful to have you all in my life. I feel like we are all best friends!

Today was a rest day for Couch To 5k running, so I did an old cardio VHS my mom has. It’s Tony Horton’s Power 90 Sweat Cardio 3-4. It’s an amazing workout, never fails me.

I felt so old fashioned as I put it in, since it’s a video not DVD. My how times have changed.

I was dripping with sweat when the work out was over.

The word smoothie grosses me out lately, don’t ask.  Breakfast was a smoothie shake.

[2 handfuls organic baby spinach; 1 sliced banana, frozen; 1 scoop EAS 100% Whey Chocolate Protein Powder; cocoa powder (I didn’t measure. Maybe 1-2 tsp.?); 1 cup unsweetened almond milk; 5 ice cubes]

Probably one of the most delicious green monsters I’ve ever had. And it was huge. Yes, I drank it all.

Branden wanted a fruit smoothie after he saw me drinking mine. But he said he didn’t want a green one! 🙂

I tend to fall into food ruts. So it’s no surprise that lunch was a complete replica of yesterday’s tuna sandwich.

Yum. Tuna + hummus + spinach on toasty bread. What more do you need in life?

I have horrible acne. You wouldn’t know it by looking at pictures of me, I always cover up with make up. But I realize that when I eat better, my skin clears.

I’ve been avoiding dairy I think it’s really bad for my skin. The only thing I miss is Greek yogurt! I hate cow’s milk, I can’t even drink it straight, so that’s not a problem. But I have found a new love for unsweetened almond milk. I love the taste of it!

I also need to be better at eating 100% sugar free. I used to do really good, but lately I’ve been slacking and only eating maybe 65% sugar free. Sugar flares up my acne real bad.

I also want to see if gluten is causing me problems. It’s just hard for me to give up bread! 🙂

Tomorrow I’m doing week 4 of Couch To 5k with three of my friends. We’ve been getting together every Saturday morning for the last few weeks to run.

Right after we do that, there’s a youth basketball tournament at the church that I am very excited about! I love basketball!

Q. Do you find certain foods are better/worse for your skin than others?

Q. What sports do you play with your friends?

44 Comments leave one →
  1. The Teenage Taste permalink
    April 15, 2011 3:08 pm

    Haha! Glad I’m not the only ones who still uses VHS tapes from time to time. Sometimes I do my Mom’s “8 Minute Abs” videos and they are soooo old fashioned, but they work!
    Thankfully, I’ve been blessed with pretty good skin. However, I still get acne flare ups from time-to-time and I’ve noticed sugar has a lot to do with it. I went sugar-free for an entire week a couple weeks ago and noticed a huge difference. Thanks for informing me about the dangers of sugar – you inspired me to do the full week this time! 🙂

  2. April 15, 2011 3:15 pm

    VHS work out videos totally rock! I have quite a few.. but unfortunately.. I no longer have a VHS playing in my home! I’ve got a few that I’ve been itching to do.. but apparently my technology is too modern! haha

  3. theflourishingfoodie permalink
    April 15, 2011 3:46 pm

    That’s awesome that you worked out with a VHS!!
    I have terrible problems with acne as well. I’ve been trying to figure out what I can adjust in my diet to help clear things up. I’ve been thinking about going gluten too not only for the sake of my skin but also because I have a lot of headaches that I think may be caused my gluten. I’m having trouble getting started going to gluten free. I love bread and gluten containing foods way too much!!

    • April 15, 2011 4:20 pm

      Same here! And I know there are lots of gluten free bread options, but they’re more expensive plus my family doesn’t want or need to go gluten free so they’re not going to shell out the extra money for me to have gluten free products. I think I’m just going to start eating LESS gluten. Like, a serving or less a day.

  4. April 15, 2011 4:15 pm

    Yummy-sounding green monster! Yeah, dairy always gives me pimples too. It’s no fun, and I really miss Greek yogurt. Good luck with the gluten- and sugar-free thing! Yay for church basketball games! Ours were in February and March, but we did volleyball instead.

  5. April 15, 2011 4:19 pm

    That green monster sounds yummy!!! 😀
    Hope you figure out whats causing the acne….I’m trying to limit my gluten intake as well, but for other reasons…

  6. April 15, 2011 4:19 pm

    Dairy made my skin yucky! But I no longer miss it thank goodness. I’ve always had pretty soft skin though.

    Good luck with basketball!

  7. April 15, 2011 4:37 pm

    I have bad acne too. I have cut down my dairy a lot, and have really grown to love Vanilla Almond Milk too! Have you tried Laury’s Oatmeal mask? It worked really well for me. I have also been putting Extra Virgin Olive Oil and Honey on my face too (about 10 minutes each). I haven’t been doing it too often, but I think if I did it more, I would really see a difference.

    • April 16, 2011 4:10 pm

      Oh, I remember you posting about the oatmeal mask! I think I’ll try it tonight! Thanks!

      You put olive oil and honey on your face? How much?

  8. April 15, 2011 4:38 pm

    go vegan!!! great for da skin!! i actually have never rly had skin problems.. so evn when i went vegan not much changed!! but i have heard dairy can do that– havent heard it with gluten though.. i think thats only if you have stomach pains!

    • April 16, 2011 4:15 pm

      I SHOULD go vegan! It’s just, all the food I would need to eat/buy would be expensive and I would* *have to pay for it, because my family isn’t going to buy me almond milk, tofu, avocado and all the vegan things I would need. 😦 Plus, I don’t think meat is my problem, just dairy!

  9. April 15, 2011 5:47 pm

    I still have my VHS player!! Haha! It used to take so long to rewind tapes!

  10. April 15, 2011 5:56 pm

    My friends and I often play ultimate frisbee or water polo which is fun. It’s more to play water polo in an outdoor pool versus indoor though.

  11. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    April 15, 2011 6:13 pm

    dairy, gluten, and sugar are all bad for the skin……I’ve never had skin problems before (thank goodness!) But I definitely think it is because I eat foods good for my skin 🙂 My skin always feels better after I eat good fats like pb, nuts, coconut, and avocado!

    And I am a HUGE tennis player 🙂

  12. April 15, 2011 8:00 pm

    My green smoothies are always HUGE too!! 🙂

    I don’t eat much dairy either – some Greek yogurt, some cheese… but not much. I’m not sure what is and isn’t good for skin, but I hope you find something works! 😀

  13. April 15, 2011 9:00 pm

    I reduced my dairy intake for lent, but I didn’t see improvements in my skin until I revamped my skincare regimen with my dermatologist and got a clarisonic cleanser. The one thing that I did notice is less dairy = less bloat = abs! I couldn’t totally give up my greek yogurt and cheese because I enjoy it too much.

  14. April 15, 2011 9:26 pm

    I don’t really know if a food itself helped with my skin but definitely drinking more water has. Tony Horton has been around a long time huh? I use the P90X series and he’s so corny. 😛

    I don’t really play too many sports. I like to hike with my husband or play softball for fun.

  15. April 15, 2011 9:34 pm

    Haha, I use to do this old Jane Fonda aerobics video of my moms. I was always really exhausted by the end though! I usually find that cheese makes me break out. Luckily I’ve never been a fan so avoiding it isn’t much of a problem. Oily foods also give me problems too (like pizza, Chinese, or fried foods). But ever since I started eating healthier my acne’s cleared up. 🙂
    p.s. I tried your avocado in a smoothie suggestion and it’s amazing! In fact, I’m actually sipping on a strawberry avocado smoothie right now. It’s so thick and creamy I could eat it with a spoon. 😀

    • April 16, 2011 4:11 pm

      Ooh, strawberry avocado! Great idea, I need to try that!

  16. April 15, 2011 9:36 pm

    I prefer almond milk over cow’s milk too. I used to get many pimples too! I find that nuts are really good for my skin as well as cleansing it daily with a light cleaner, moisturizing, and staying hydrated. I get flare ups when I have fried fatty foods

    • April 16, 2011 4:10 pm

      I have never realized a correlation between the healthy fats and my complexion, so I’m going to try and start paying better attention, see what I notice!

  17. April 15, 2011 10:10 pm

    I get in food ruts too. If something tastes good, I just want to eat it over and over again!

    Thankfully I’ve never had too many problems with my skin. But I notice it gets really dry if I’m not eating enough fish and healthy fats! 😀

  18. April 15, 2011 10:11 pm

    I love tuna and hummus. It’s the best together.

    My acne is the worst. I just try to eat healthy and wash my face immediately after I work out so it doesn’t get any worse.

  19. April 15, 2011 10:44 pm

    for me, foods dont have as much as an impact on my skin as stress or not getting enough sleep! i think getting enough healthy fats does WONDERS for my skin though!

  20. April 16, 2011 10:51 am

    Sugar and stuff generally doesnt bother my skin too much, there don’t really seem to be that many foods that irritate it.
    In response to your post about running keep going at it honestly! I never thought I was a runner and i pulled myself together and i can now run 15k! I never even used to be able to run 2 so keep at it!! 😀

  21. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! permalink
    April 16, 2011 4:36 pm

    Lately I have been getting some pretty bad skin issue too! But I think it might be hormone related rather than diet related because I am pretty much eating the way I always do. But I am considering leaving out certain foods each week just to see if they affect my skin.

    And btw, tuna with humus is one of my favorite combos! So good on crispy bread!

  22. April 16, 2011 7:24 pm

    I totally have a VHS pilates tape! I don’t think it works anymore though :/

  23. April 17, 2011 7:57 am

    I naturally have really good skin, but I do notice that if I don’t eat enough healthy fats for a few days in a row, my skin feels more dried out and sometimes gets dried spots. So healthy fats are super imporrant to my face! And your acne will clear up! Don’t worry about it! And I always make my lil bro smoothies after making myself one too:) what nice sisters we are… 🙂

  24. April 17, 2011 4:01 pm

    For me, the worst things for my skin are sugar and coffee (acidity). Ever person’s body reacts to different foods in different ways, so it took me a long time to figure out what the biggest triggers for my skin are.
    When I was a little younger (okay, a lot younger…) I loved playing sports with my friends. Basketball was my favorite for sure. I played growing up, throughout high school, and even in college. 🙂

  25. April 17, 2011 5:30 pm

    Mmm I love ‘basic’ green smoothies! Sometimes the simplest things are the best! And this has me craving one now 😀

  26. runyogarepeat permalink
    April 17, 2011 7:46 pm

    Old workout videos are the best! I found a kickboxing one at a yard sale for a quarter that I love doing occasionally – I spend the whole time laughing at the 90s workout clothes. Too much sugar & not enough veggies definitely messes with my skin. It’s a hint to me to clean up my diet when my skin gets that way.

  27. April 17, 2011 8:22 pm

    I think it’s so cool that you’re doing the couch to 5k program. I’ve never considered myself a runner, but you’re really inspiring me to look into it! I found that ever since going vegan, my skin has never been better. I don’t know what it is, but the dry and oily patches are now gone! I think having a healthy diet overall makes a difference. Plus it makes my body feel much more energetic, too. My friends and I do yoga together. Hehe, we’re cool :).

    Have a lovely day!

  28. healthcraved permalink
    April 18, 2011 8:31 am

    you know, I have never until this moment thought about mixing hummus with tuna to make tuna salad. and i’m so pumped about it now, because mayo makes me gag so I’m always that weird kid who passes up on the tuna, chicken, or egg salad anywhere. I think the tuna, hummus combo is now on my official list of things to try.

    • April 18, 2011 12:04 pm

      YOU WILL LOVE IT! 🙂 I have had a tuna/hummus sandwich everyday for the last 3 days, and now I’m all out of hummus! So delicious. I also did canned salmon, which was amazing.

  29. April 18, 2011 8:25 pm

    OMG I have a ton of my mom’s old VHS tapes still! haha love it! My boyfriend and I actually play hockey together….I’m from Minnesota, playing hockey is a given!

  30. April 19, 2011 12:35 am

    i always seem to get a couple pimples a week, which is pretty easy to cover up, but it’s annoying! not sure what the culprit is =/

  31. April 19, 2011 1:32 am

    I know times change like craaazyyy!! I’m pretty old school in sooo many ways though 😛 I’m not quite sure if any foods actually give me skin problems–perhaps I’m not as sensitive as you are. Hehe I have heard that fruits like Lychee are awesome for the skin though! 😀 Or maybe that’s just an Asian (or Korean) myth haha

    • April 19, 2011 1:35 am

      oh but you have to remember!! you’re still a teenager! so young! And that’s the prime time for acne~so don’t worry too much about it and just know it’ll get better not long from now~ 🙂

  32. April 19, 2011 11:15 am

    I’ve actually heard it’s a UNproven theory that your food affects your skin to a great extent. Interesting, no? I love playing field hockey with my friends. I still miss it!

    And mmm, I love the combo of tuna and spinach. 🙂

  33. April 19, 2011 10:30 pm

    Hmm… that’s interesting. I wonder if I’ve had any diet changes in the last year ’cause I’ve noticed some skin changes this past year. Definitely worth looking into, thanks for the idea!

    Your green shake/smoothie looks delish!

  34. April 20, 2011 9:32 am

    I don’t really find any food affects my skin in a negative way, but fresh food definitely makes it brighter – tuna and spinach are GREAT, so you’re on the road to glowy-ness 😉 I’ll have to try the hummus w/ tuna too!

  35. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! permalink
    April 20, 2011 11:26 pm

    Kayla, what website do you use to make your headers? They are always so cool!

    • April 21, 2011 10:05 am

      Thanks! I downloaded a free software onto my computer called Paint.net. I have been using it for the last 3 years, I love it and recommend it to everyone!

Trackbacks

  1. The Exclusive Insider’s Look Into My Life! Part #2 « katshealthcorner

Leave a Reply

