Skip to content

I Can Do Hard Things

April 14, 2011

Chipper was making a fuss at 6:30 this morning, so I hopped out of bed and took him outside.

Being homeschooled, I wake up whenever I want and 6:30 is really early for me! But since I was up, I couldn’t go back to sleep. I went to the bathroom and then debated whether I should work out or not. I knew if I didn’t then, I never would. So I fought my desire to go back to sleep and laced on my running shoes before I could talk myself back out of it.

I can do hard things.

I did Week 4 of the Couch To 5k Running plan, which is about 2 miles of jogging and walking intervals. It was hard. I was sweating and huffing, but never gave up.

I can do hard things.

I am sick of telling myself that I’m not a runner. Nobody is born with special abilities to run, you have to work hard for it. Running isn’t easy but I’m going to make myself a runner, I’ve always wanted to be a runner. I’m sick of the excuses I make up for myself and I’m tired of putting it off.

My friends and I have actually been planning on doing a 5k together. I’d like to jog the whole thing and that’s not possible at the moment, so I’m going to keep training.

I can do hard things.

I ran along this beautiful path by our house. The grass was really wet today, so of course towards the end of my run my shoes were all gloppy and wet. Wonderful.

I came home and did some strength training (arms), some lunges, squats, pushups.

Man, when you miss a few days of working out, it is really hard to get back into it, your body has to relearn everything!

I can do hard things.

Breakfast was green oatbranPolly’s amazing recipe.

With frozen blueberries and tahini. Amazing combo right there!

My mom doesn’t understand tahini. “On oatmeal? Isn’t it like some Chinese condiment?”

Umm, no?

Tahini is quickly becoming one of my favorite nut butters! It contrasts so well with the sweetness of fruit.

My brothers’ brought home their spring school pictures.

Since when are school pictures full-body like that? Mine were never like that! Any one else find this hilarious?

I really needed some protein for lunch today. I knew we had some canned tuna, but I was lacking inspiration on what to do with it.

Until I spotted the container of hummus in the fridge!

I drained the tuna then sopped all the liquid out with a paper towel, then mixed the tuna with a ginormous dallop of hummus.

Spread on toasted whole wheat bread with spinach. Surprisingly very delicious and satisfying! I love the roasted red pepper hummus at Sam’s Club. It’s the store brand, so I was skeptical, but it’s amazing. It’s double whipped, super creamy and soo tasty.

My friend (and fellow health nut) has her Sweet 16 today. It’s a surprise, though! (Don’t worry, I’m too embarassed to tell her about my blog, so she’s not reading.) I got her 2 Larabars (blueberry and pb cookie) and an iTunes gift card.

Should be lots of fun!

Q. Have you ever run a 5k?

Q. Do you consider yourself a runner?

37 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2011 6:47 pm

    Of course you can do hard things girl!! With enough determination (which it definitely sounds like you have!), you can do ANYTHING!! I can already tell that you’re going to get a long way in life 😀

    One of my friends had a birthday today too! And my sweet sixteen is in eight days… I guess it’s the time for birthdays! 🙂

  2. April 14, 2011 6:51 pm

    I’d love to be a runner one day, but right now, I still definitely need practice and training!!!! 😀
    That tuna salad sounds amazing!!! I love hummus but no one else in my family likes it, so I never make it….might have to change that though….hmmm hahaha

  3. April 14, 2011 6:58 pm

    You go girl! You sure can do hard things!
    I do consider myself a runner. I run 3 – 5 times a week. I’ve never run a race.. but am signed up to run a 10k in 2 weeks! I’m excited to race! Keep up your hard work!

  4. April 14, 2011 7:43 pm

    i do consider myself a runner. i have done cross country since 7th grade but i ran before that! now i run 5ks and half marathons! i love it, but it requires incredibly hard work! i give you major props for training– keep going girl, and yes, you CAN do hard things! you’re amazing and strong!

    xoxo
    Alexandra

  5. April 14, 2011 7:48 pm

    i do consider myself a runner because i join the sun run every year (which is 10k) and run every now and then 😛

    i do not consider myself a runner because it does me a while to get me out the door and start pounding on the sidewalk with my nikes

  6. April 14, 2011 7:55 pm

    Your dog is the cutest thing ever! I just want to squeeze him.
    Props on going running this morning.
    Hummus and tuna, yum! I’m definitely going to try that sometime.
    I have ran a 5k before but I definitely don’t consider myself a runner. I totally admire them though, running is tough! I too can do hard things though 🙂 I must keep reminding myself that.

  7. April 14, 2011 7:58 pm

    I love running and I truly believe everyone can consider themselves a runner. It doesn’t matter your speed/pace/ect you make it through the miles then you are a runner.

  8. April 14, 2011 8:12 pm

    I guess i’m not a “runner” per say, but I can run! hehe. Slowly easing into it you know? haha that is funny! they’re making school pictures fancier and fancier each year

  9. healthcraved permalink
    April 14, 2011 8:13 pm

    I don’t consider myself a runner, but for swim practice every coach I ever had always made us run. My mantra was always “You are mighty. You can do it.” I started out as one of the slowest runner and now there are only 2 girls faster than me! You really can do hard things!

    P.S. your dog is PRECIOUS!!!

  10. runyogarepeat permalink
    April 14, 2011 8:29 pm

    Your dog is SO cute! If you’ve been running (even with walk breaks), you’re still a runner! Keep up the training, you will get to a 5k. Your attitude is so great already – positivity & determination goes a long way. I’ve been a runner since I was about 13, but it’s still hard work.

  11. April 14, 2011 9:44 pm

    Of course you can do it!
    I have run several 5k’s for cross country. Despite my injury right now, I consider myself a runner. (: And you should too.

  12. April 14, 2011 9:53 pm

    When I started running, it was so hard. But now it’s so much fun. And I know you’ll get there!

    I’ve run a few 5k’s, half marathons and one marathon. I like doing the shorter distances the most. 🙂

  13. April 14, 2011 10:03 pm

    bahaha! My school pictures were NEVER like that either girl!

    I really want chipper. Hand him over! 🙂

    GREAT JOB! You CAN do it!

  14. April 14, 2011 10:41 pm

    I can’t believe you think 6:30 is early! I wake up earlier than that even on weekends. But I’m a major morning person..

    I consider myself a runner and I just barely started. Your out there running, even if you take walk breaks, you are a runner. Embrace it! 🙂

    Your photographs are getting really good!

    • April 15, 2011 1:26 pm

      I know, it’s horrible. But I am such a night owl, not a morning person AT ALL. 🙂

      And thank you!

  15. April 14, 2011 10:46 pm

    I wish I could call 6:30 early! I get up at 6 and it’s rough. 7 would be perfect. Just an extra hour would make all the difference. Even a half an hour would be nice!
    I’m so proud of you for getting out there! I started out as a walk/runner and I have come so far, so I know you will too! Keep at it! I’ve seriously done too many 5k’s to count… racing is so much fun. I’m always so excited for beginner runners because the experience is so great!

    • April 15, 2011 1:34 pm

      Thank you Tara! You are such an inspiration, I definitely feel very motivated now!

  16. April 14, 2011 11:57 pm

    You can totally hard things… through Christ who strengthens you. 🙂

    What a good mama you are to take care of Chipper that early! I would’ve told my dog to be quiet and go back to bed… only on a weekend though. During the week I wake up at 5:30 for early morning seminary, so I’m up with them anyway.

    I am so proud of you for tackling running! I admire you a lot for that, because I certainly don’t consider myself a runner. I don’t enjoy it that much, so I dance and do bodyrock.tv workouts. 🙂 I am trying though… I try to run part of the time when I take my dogs on walks, and each time I can run farther and farther. It’s cool. I passed by a beautiful wild honeysuckle tree cluster on my walk today!

    Never tried fruit + tahini. I’m not the biggest fan of tahini to be honest. 🙂

    • April 15, 2011 1:40 pm

      Thank you Kelsey!

      I do NOT miss early morning Seminary. Ours was at 5:15! We do ours at night now, it’s very nice 🙂

  17. April 15, 2011 12:24 am

    You CAN do hard things! My sister did the Couch to 5k and really struggled at times, but she finished and ran a 5k without stopping last summer 🙂 It was a huge accomplishment. She had never run before, so to go from barely being able to run down the block to running 3 miles was so great to watch! You can do it 🙂

    • April 15, 2011 1:32 pm

      That is awesome, thank you for sharing, that is so motivational!

  18. April 15, 2011 12:49 am

    I just recently got into running as well! When I first started running I could barely run a lap around my neighborhood (exactly a mile). No, I COULDN’T run a lap. I’d get to a corner and walk a few minutes repeatedly. Now though I’m doing my first 5k next month and my fastest time yet is 27min! If I can do it you can do it as well for sure 🙂 You just have to pull out that motivation and tell yourself how bad you want it. Running has become one of my favorite hobbies now actually!
    & to think where I started off at 6 months ago…wow!

    • April 15, 2011 1:32 pm

      Wow, that is amazing! Thanks for sharing your story, now I feel like I can do it, too!

  19. April 15, 2011 12:56 am

    Keep a positive attitude, and you can definitely do anything girl! I’ve never ran in a race before, but I’ve done a personal 5K on the treadmill. Personally, I agree with you that running is something you have to work for. But the best part is that once you start getting into it, it becomes so much fun. You get to compete against yourself! 🙂

  20. April 15, 2011 6:47 am

    or course you can!!!!!!! you are an amazing and ambitious girl!! you can do anything you set your mind too! i def consider myself more of a runner than i used to.. and yes ive done a 5k!! you can do it too!!!!

  21. The Teenage Taste permalink
    April 15, 2011 6:57 am

    You can do hard things, Kayla! 2 miles is pretty darn good for not being a runner! I remember this time last year I was “training” for Cross Country (which I actually had confused with Track. Imagine my surprise on the first day when we started walking towards the woods and away from the track!) and would run 1 mile in about 12 minutes. That is, if I chose to run the whole thing. I would usually walk most of it. Now I run 6 miles a day/5 days a week. It’s amazing what your body does when you fuel and condition it properly!

    5Ks are the best! I’ve run a lot and my favorite part is watching the other people. My first 5K time was 33 minutes and now my PR is 25:10. When I was at the race I PRed at, I was neck-and-neck with this 70ish year old woman the whole time. She sprinted the last 0.2 miles and ended up beating me! I was amazed! I sure hope I’ll be running like that when I’m 70!

    Good luck with the C25K training! I’m actually thinking of doing that in the summer with my little brother and cousin. 😀

    • April 15, 2011 1:31 pm

      Oh Erika, you are my inspiration! 6 miles a day!! Seriously, thank you so much. I know I can do this, now!

      I love how that old lady beat you, that is AMAZING. I want to be a running when I’m that old, too! 🙂

  22. April 15, 2011 9:08 am

    I did a lot of 5ks growing up, but not since I’ve gotten back into running. No worries because I’ve got one next weekend!

    Of course you are a runner! If your out there running, no matter how far/how fast you go you are a runner:)

  23. April 15, 2011 11:14 am

    its definitely a case of “think liek a runner, be a runner” its already in you and the best part is seeing how you can persevere when you feel you dont want to. keep that spirit up and watch how transformative it can be. running is an amazing way to show you your own strength and independence- and allows you to really become proud of that! ❤

  24. April 15, 2011 11:23 am

    Chipper is adorable! I’m not a runner but my boyfriend has done a couple of 5k’s and he never use to run. You can definitely do it 😀

  25. April 15, 2011 11:49 am

    Even though I’d consider myself a runner, I still find running hard sometimes! I have no idea how people can effortlessly run 5K and make it look so easy. 2 miles is awesome girl! You can definitely do a 5K! 😀

    I’ve never done a real race, but I’ve done a 5K Terry Fox run and I usually run 5K a few times a week. For some reason I’ve always been too scared to sign up for a real race. 😛

  26. April 15, 2011 2:31 pm

    The first 5K I had run, I was totally unprepared. I hadn’t even been able to run 1/4 mile without stopping for a walking break! So I told myself the run would just be for fun and that’d I’d walk most of it…but evended up running the entire thing! And even placing! The atmosphere gets you so pumped up that all you want to do is run. 🙂

  27. April 15, 2011 4:12 pm

    Chipper’s sweet little face always brightens my day!! 🙂

  28. April 17, 2011 9:05 pm

    You can do it!!! 😀 You are such an inspiration!!! 😀

  29. April 19, 2011 3:50 pm

    Running will definitely get easier the more you go at it!! I know my first year running track I was honestly AWFUL, but I kept at it and I’ve been running varsity ever since! I know you’ll do amazing in your race 🙂 And tahini on oats is the best combo ever! haha I seriously love love love it!

  30. April 23, 2011 10:26 am

    Oh my goodness! That has got to be the cutest pic of your pup that I’ve seen! Aww, how could you deny that little puppy face!

    I don’t consider myself a runner. I like it, but I’m more about the intensity than I am the distance. I’d LIKE to be a long distance runner, but I just know that my knees weren’t made for it…pretty sad that I have bad knees and I’m only 26!

    I actually had to look it up to remind myself what 5K translates into mileage. I’m surprised to say that I ALMOST ran one the other day when I was venting at the gym…3 miles! It felt good, but I’m not sure that I could’ve done much more! I was beat!

Trackbacks

  1. Not A Green One « Little Miss Healthify

Leave a Reply

