Skip to content

Dreaming of Creamy

April 11, 2011

Well, hey there!

Check out the creamy smooth texture of this green monster!

The secret? It’s all in the frozen avocado!

Thanks to Polly for the fabulous recipe!

– 1/2 frozen avocado (cut and slice then freeze)

– handful of spinach

– 1 frozen banana, in chunks

– 1 1/2 cups unswtnd. almond milk

– handful of ice

Blend blend away! I hope you have a VitaMix for this one!

Then top with unsweetened carob chips 🙂

Mm, so dreamy and creamy and HUGE.

I let my friend, Marissa and my mom try it.

To be blunt, they both hated it! I guess the avocado was a bit too much for them, they usually like my green monsters!

I am actually not a huge fan of avocado myself, the smell kind of makes me sick sometimes! So I was a bit wary to try this smoothie, but I’m so glad I did! A new favorite, most definitely!

40 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2011 12:58 pm

    So glad you liked the green monster!!!! I bet the avocado gave it such an awesome texture!!!! 😀

  2. April 11, 2011 1:07 pm

    Avocado in a smoothie? I have to try that! Especially since it does look like it made it super creamy. 🙂

  3. April 11, 2011 1:29 pm

    Yum! I have put an avocado in my smoothie before, too. Yeah, it’s not always my favorite. It makes the smoothie kind of earthy and a little weird… but the texture is amazing!

  4. April 11, 2011 1:35 pm

    I never thought of adding an avocado to my smoothies! You got me curious now. 🙂

  5. healthcraved permalink
    April 11, 2011 1:36 pm

    looks delicious! I’ve never tried carob chips before..better than dark chocolate?

    • April 11, 2011 4:50 pm

      Better than dark chocolate because there’s no sugar and still tastes great, not too bitter!

      You should try carob, just don’t think of it as a sub for chocolate, because it does not taste like chocolate AT ALL, it does taste delicious, though!

  6. April 11, 2011 3:00 pm

    Love that you used avocado!!! I’m sure I would have devoured it, but I am an avocado freak haha!

  7. April 11, 2011 3:05 pm

    Wow! I totally need to try that!! Does it make it taste better?

  8. April 11, 2011 4:16 pm

    AHH so creamy!! umm the chocolate chips add to it!

  9. April 11, 2011 4:16 pm

    AHH so creamy!! oo the choc chips make it even better!

  10. April 11, 2011 4:37 pm

    Those pictures are seriously fabulous. Can you come prepare my green monsters because they are certainly very hideous and monster like. Wonder why I never post my snacks? Not for good reasons…

  11. April 11, 2011 5:06 pm

    Frozen avocado?! That is a first! lol

    • April 11, 2011 6:01 pm

      I know, really! And I was pretty hesitant at first, but TRY IT, it’s soo great!

  12. April 11, 2011 6:30 pm

    yea the avocado taste gets to me in smoothies and in mouse…idk how everyone enjoys it…maybe something is wrong with my tastebuds lol

  13. April 11, 2011 7:30 pm

    I love putting avocado in my smoothies too! It gives such a creamy texture! But I defiitely need to put a banana in there too to mellow out the taste.

  14. April 11, 2011 7:42 pm

    YUM!!! I love this! I’ve never added a avocado to my smoothies. I’ve heard that you can use avocado in place of bananas in smoothies to make them creamy and such. Was the flavor of the avocado very prominant, or was it mellow?

    • April 12, 2011 9:53 am

      With the banana it was fine, not too prominent. I wouldn’t make it without the banana, though!

  15. April 11, 2011 7:50 pm

    Perfect!! Love when they’re thick like that!

  16. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! permalink
    April 11, 2011 8:38 pm

    I LOVE putting avocado in green monsters! It makes them sooo thick and creamy! Not to mention a good dose of healthy fats!

  17. April 11, 2011 8:45 pm

    I have to try this! I love making green monsters as creamy as possible 🙂

  18. April 11, 2011 8:54 pm

    avocado in smoothie is so divine! 😀 great choice Kayla.

  19. April 11, 2011 9:51 pm

    That looks delicious.

  20. April 11, 2011 10:30 pm

    I love avocado, but I’ve never tried it in a smoothie! I like to blend it up with peanut flour or berries or cocoa powder or a combination of any of these for a fluffy delicious mousse.

  21. April 11, 2011 11:27 pm

    I keep telling myself to try an avocado smoothie. I must do it sometime!

  22. April 11, 2011 11:54 pm

    I’m really picky about avocado, but I love anything blended with a smoothie!

  23. April 12, 2011 12:18 am

    Mmm! I LOVE adding frozen avocado to my smoothies! The creaminess definitely can’t be beat!

  24. April 12, 2011 2:48 am

    Deliciously green!

  25. The Teenage Taste permalink
    April 12, 2011 7:14 am

    That Green Monster looks fabulous! Sorry to hear your Mom and friend didn’t like it though. I bet it was uber-filling due to all the healthy fats from the avocado. YUM!

  26. April 12, 2011 8:40 am

    Wow I never thought of adding avocado! I love avocado so I bet I would love this!

  27. April 12, 2011 10:18 am

    I’ve never thought to add avocado to my smoothies! I totally need to try these 😀 oh and with chocolate chips too 😉

  28. April 12, 2011 12:39 pm

    INTERESTING. I’ve honestly never thought to add avocado to a smoothie since I usually like them super sweet. And frozen? hmmm.

  29. April 12, 2011 12:44 pm

    this sounds seriously GREAT to me! I love that your mom and friend both hated it though (more likely to appeal to “sophisticated” tastes like us!) haha How long does it take to blend up a smoothie/banana softserve in your vitamix? I don’t have one yet but we’re looking into it since my beloved cuisnart broke, and I’d love to hear your opinion! THANKS!

    • April 12, 2011 1:27 pm

      The Vitamix is super fast! Usually it only takes a minute or two for frozen banana soft serve! It depends though also. If I add spinach I always put it FIRST so that the spinach can get all chopped up on the blades, that makes it quicker!

  30. April 12, 2011 2:54 pm

    Hey girl! I like your new header! 🙂
    To answer your question, I roast my beets by just wrapping them in tinfoil and putting them in the oven at 375F. I’m not sure if there’s a better way, but it works for me haha.

  31. April 12, 2011 4:41 pm

    Oh wow, this looks interesting..would like to try it!! It looks a bit like melted mint choc chip ice cream!

  32. April 12, 2011 8:03 pm

    I love avocado in smoothies, makes them so much creamier 🙂

  33. April 12, 2011 9:22 pm

    Ahhhh that looks SO good!!! I love putting avocado in my smoothies 🙂

    And I love how you topped it with carob chips. Carob makes everything better! 😀

  34. April 13, 2011 6:06 pm

    That looks so creamy and dreamy! My mom wasn’t a bit fan of my last green smoothie with kale… But either was I. Spinach is always safe!

  35. April 14, 2011 6:08 pm

    That does look super creamy! I’m not sure how much I’d like the addition of avocado, but it might still be worth a try. 🙂

  36. April 14, 2011 6:26 pm

    I heart avocados. And stellar green smoothies. And the color green. 😉

Leave a Reply

