Skip to content

Breakfast Like A King

April 7, 2011

I loved the Life’s Handbook list that Julie posted the other day. One of my favorite lines was this:

“Eat breakfast like a king, lunch like a prince and dinner like a beggar.”

I always aim to eat HUGE calorie-dense breakfasts, medium-ish lunches and small dinners.

I definitely ate breakfast fit for a king today!

I made Fitnessista’s Perfect Protein Pancakes … in waffle form.

I decreased the amount of protein powder to one scoop, used 2 TBSP white-whole wheat flour and threw in some carob chips, for a Cookie Dough Waffle!

It looks pretty amazing, right?

I usedΒ EAS 100% Vanilla Whey protein powder, we buy it at Sam’s Club. The texture is always a bit weird when I use it in baking, but I figured it would be worth a shot.

Well, sadly, the waffle was pretty dry and not that yummy, I blame it on the protein powder.

To remedy, I poured some milk on top for moisture, some frozen banana slices and frozen blueberries for flavor and of course SunButter.

That did the trick! The once dry waffle turned into a tasty, sweet paradise!

I would definitely make this again, only I need to find a way to make the waffle not so dry!

Later, it was time for “lunch like a prince”.

I broke out an old favorite. If you’re anything like me, you’re obsessed with all things chickpea! Well, I bet you’ll love this as much as me, then. I love falafel! It’s quite a name for such a simple, delicious recipe!! Basically, falafel is chickpeas, spices, onion all processed together, formed into patties and pan-fried.

Like my mother, I rarely measure anything in the kitchen, but here are rough estimates on what I did today for my falafel patties.

– 1/2 can chickpeas, drained

– 1/4 onion, chopped

– handful of oat bran (to help the mixture stay together)

– garlic powder, cumin, lemon juice, nutritional yeast

All blended together in the amazing Vitamix! Form into patties, dip in olive oil and cook in skillet, medium heat until golden-browned.

Amazing on salad.

Today’s salad consisted of roasted yams (olive oil, salt, pepper; 425ΒΊF for 25 minutes), organic romaine, salsa and the delicious falafel patties! Yes, I ate the whole batch. I’m a hungry girl!

After lunch, we planted an avocado tree! Dude. DUUUUUDE, I am so excited!

The sister missionaries came over and wanted to help! So glad they came, we had to dig a super deep hole and it was no easy task!

Can’t wait to get some avocadoes off this baby! Our neighbor said that it got effected by the freeze we had over the winter, so it’s been suffering, but he said if we take good care of it, next year we will have avocadoes galore! Yippee!

The best thing is….we have even more trees to plant!

Our neighbor sells fruit trees and we offered to mow his lawn all summer while he is gone and he offered to GIVE us some of the trees!! AHH, so exciting! So we picked them up today, he gave us a fig tree, tangerine, avocado, two key limes, a berry bush and maybe a few more, I can’t remember them all! So exciting!!!

Well, it’s almost time for “dinner like a beggar”, I’ll probably have a protein smoothie, maybe oatmeal…we’ll see. A sandwich or soup if I’m feeling it. I am sooo not a dinner person, I have the hardest time thinking of what to eat for dinner. That’s never a problem for me with breakfast!

Do you have any fruit trees?

36 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2011 6:48 pm

    Your falafels sounds AMAZING!!!! I love how easy and simple your recipes are! They are the best! πŸ˜€

    I am SO jealous of your avocado tree!!! We have a Pomegranite Tree, two Apple Trees, and a Fig Tree. I’m one happy girl! πŸ˜€

    • April 7, 2011 7:06 pm

      Thanks Kathleen, I love your recipes, too!

      So jealous of the apple and pomegranate!

  2. April 7, 2011 7:05 pm

    Sorry the waffle didn’t turn out!! I hate when that happens 😦 I made falafel the other day as well and totally agree that its amazing in a salad!

  3. April 7, 2011 7:05 pm

    I live for eating nice and big breakfasts. Seriously it is the best meal of the day ever.

    I didn’t even know avocados grew on trees. Does that make me a weirdo?

  4. April 7, 2011 7:42 pm

    Oh I would love to have an avocado tree! Great idea! I love huge breakfasts too πŸ™‚

  5. April 7, 2011 7:45 pm

    That salad looks amazing!
    I wish we had a yard so I could plant fruit trees….. 😦

  6. April 7, 2011 7:54 pm

    I can live off breakfast lol If oats had more protein I’d probably eat it for all my meals but I need some sort of variety in my life. Yummy waffle, it looks humongous!! πŸ˜€

  7. April 7, 2011 7:57 pm

    Ok 2 things:
    1- your waffle looks delicious as always!
    2- Those falafel patties look really good. I’ve never made my own healthy falafels before!

    I really need a waffle maker. It’s like the 1 thing I don’t have in my kitchen! lol

    My dad grows so many different fruits. Figs, apples, peaches, cherries & grapes. You should see what vegetables he grows! πŸ™‚

  8. healthcraved permalink
    April 7, 2011 8:04 pm

    Wow! I am completely jealous of your eats today. Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day, and I’m obsessed with falafel. Love your blog!

  9. April 7, 2011 8:09 pm

    I hate when protein powder ruins things! I had to throw out my smoothie today because my protein powder made it taste gross! I was JUST telling myself today that I have to eat larger breakfasts and smaller dinners! I accomplished that today πŸ™‚

  10. April 7, 2011 8:31 pm

    I want an avocado tree! That’s so cool! We used to have apple trees because our house was built on an old apple orchard, but we had to cut them down because there were apples EVERYWHERE during the spring.

    • April 7, 2011 8:34 pm

      Ahh, apple abundance! haha, too bad you had to cut them down!

  11. April 7, 2011 8:54 pm

    Breakfast is the best meal of the day. (:

  12. April 7, 2011 9:17 pm

    That avocado tree is so awesome! It’s going to be so fun for you to pick/use them once they’ve grown. Yay! πŸ™‚

    Megan

  13. April 7, 2011 10:52 pm

    Ugh I would kill to have time in the morning to make a big breakfast like that! No matter how early I set my alarm, I am always in a rush to get out the door….

  14. April 7, 2011 11:03 pm

    I’ve always wanted to try falafel and, after seeing how delicious yours looks, I think I definitely have too. πŸ™‚ Breakfast is hands down my favorite meal of the day and, like you, I’m not huge on dinner. I’m completely jealous of your avocado tree. Sadly, we have no fruit trees. 😦

  15. April 7, 2011 11:44 pm

    My boy-friend has a huuuuugeee grapefruit tree in his backyard πŸ™‚ It literally takes up half the yard haha. I also have a lemon tree/bush at my bay house that grows amazing lemons! I want to make my own garden on the side of my house actually.

  16. April 8, 2011 1:11 am

    Too bad about the waffle; it does look delicious!!

    My aunt and uncle have a lemon tree in their backyard. I would love to have a fig tree! Those would go bare so quickly. πŸ˜‰

  17. April 8, 2011 5:16 am

    Mmm your lunch & breakfast looks so tasty!! And your avocado tree looks so cute! I think any fruit trees would die in my back garden, just not the weather for it 😦

  18. April 8, 2011 7:14 am

    SO JEALOUS of your avo tree!!!!!! i def eat breakfast is the most filling, lunch and dinner are always quite smiliar and then snacks!

  19. April 8, 2011 7:59 am

    My breakfasts are always the biggest meals of the day! If not, I’m hungry alll day and cannot be satisfied πŸ˜‰

    i’m so jealous of your fruit trees!!

  20. April 8, 2011 9:37 am

    That’s great advice, I only wish my body agreed! In the morning, I am not super hungry so my meal is relatively small. Lunch is about a “princely” amount, but dinner is when I go nuts. Not good!

  21. April 8, 2011 11:51 am

    no i dont have one but ive always wanted one! whats better than free fruit in abundance right outside your door?!

  22. April 8, 2011 12:07 pm

    I definitely don’t eat dinner like a beggar. It’s by far my biggest meal of the day. I understand people say not to eat a lot at night, but it works for me. Otherwise I’m miserable all night feeling hungry.

    That’s exciting about the avocado tree!! Those are going to taste SO good!

  23. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! permalink
    April 8, 2011 2:40 pm

    I love falafel! I wish the area where I live was warm enough to grow fruit…I would have hundreds of fruit trees in my yard if I could! Especially apple, orange, and cherry trees! That would be amazing! That avocado tree is gonna be so awesome when you start getting avocados from it!

  24. April 8, 2011 5:45 pm

    no i don’t but I’d love to have a fruit tree and veggie garden someday! that’s awesome Kayla πŸ™‚

  25. The Teenage Taste permalink
    April 8, 2011 6:18 pm

    That breakfast looks delicious! Sorry to hear that the protein waffles were a little less than stellar though.
    That is so cool that you planted an avocado tree – I didn’t even know they grew on trees! My dad and I plant a veggie garden every year with tomatoes, cucumbers, zucchinis, and bell peppers. I love it!
    Have a great weekend Kayla! πŸ˜€

  26. April 8, 2011 8:55 pm

    I love big breakfasts too! And big lunches… and big dinners. Haha! πŸ˜›

    Sooo jealous of your avocado tree! That will be so exciting when it starts producing fruit. I wish it were possible to have a banana tree in this climate. That would be AMAZING!

  27. April 9, 2011 1:36 am

    I love big breakfasts- they are a crucial part of my day πŸ™‚

    We used to have an avocado tree, but now we have a little lemon tree that grows Meyer lemons πŸ™‚

  28. April 9, 2011 2:32 pm

    An avocado tree?!? SO COOL!! I would love to have one of those! We don’t have any fruit trees at our house but my boyfriend has apples and pear!

  29. April 10, 2011 12:32 pm

    Those falafels look soooo simple and delicious, girl!! πŸ˜€

    That’s so exciting about the avocado tree!! We have an apple tree, a pear tree, and a plum tree and someday I will have an avocado tree too (but that won’t be for about another 50 years or so πŸ˜‰ )

    ❀

  30. April 11, 2011 10:33 am

    Hi Kayla,
    I continue to savor your lovely posts. Of course since I blog for SunButter I just must comment on this beautiful breakfast (and last week’s fig and SunButter oat bran is on my to-make list for breakfast this week. My mom always used carob so that made me smile!). Take care and keep up the wonderful posts. You’re an inspiration!

Leave a Reply

