Skip to content

Figgy Oat Bran

April 6, 2011

Good morning πŸ˜‰

Everyone over here is sick.

Except me.

Vomiting, diarrhea, stomach aches, headeaches, fever…we think it’s the flu.

I’m always the LAST one in my family to get sick, so I bet it’s coming for me next!

I’m not letting it get me down though.

Today I went to the gym and did 40 minutes of strength training then took Chipper on a walk.

Then I got to work in the kitchen.

1/2 cup oat bran cooked in 1 1/2 cups water. Topped with chopped dried figs and SunButter.

Oh yeah, I went there.

You’re going to want to try this….and eat it everyday for the rest of your life.

IΒ recommendΒ going to the store right now and picking up someΒ SunButter and dried figs! You can thank me later πŸ˜‰

I never thought another nut butter would come along to compete with my love for peanut butter, but this SunButter now holds a special place in my heart.

Another delicious way to eat oat bran?

Topped with tahini and my favorite,Β carob chips. I can’t quite handle the bitterness of unsweetened chocolate, but I do love unsweetened carob! And the slight sweetness of the carob paired with the bitter tahini?

ADDICTED.

I’ve had this breakfast about 2 days in a row already. Thank you Heather!

Katie is having a Bake Sale to raise money for Japan. Isn’t she lovely? Have you bid on anything yet?

The bid for Fitnessista’s raw macaroons is $325 already, CRAZY!

Crazy awesome, I mean!

36 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2011 9:33 am

    I have never had figs but those pictures are tempting me to rethink my decision!!! It looks delicious!

  2. April 6, 2011 9:44 am

    So sorry to hear everyone is sick!! I hope they get better soon and that you DONT get it!!

  3. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    April 6, 2011 9:46 am

    My brother was sick yesterday, too! Keep up the vitamin C intake so you don’t get it πŸ™‚

  4. April 6, 2011 10:01 am

    I love oat bran! I tried it for the first time a few months ago and I’ve been hooked since then!
    I hope you don’t end up getting sick too!

  5. April 6, 2011 10:02 am

    I think YOU are lovely. And your oat bran too ;)!!!
    And oh wait, the carob chips soaking in a sea of nut butter. Don’t you wanna be a carob chip right now?

  6. April 6, 2011 10:05 am

    Ooh I’ve never tried sun butter or figs! I need to! πŸ™‚

    Ahh, hope the rest of your family feels better! And hope you don’t get sick!!

    Megan

  7. April 6, 2011 10:06 am

    You’re welcome. πŸ™‚

    Sunbutter also holds a special place in my heart – and I loved your drizzle over the figs. So picturesque and pretty.

  8. April 6, 2011 10:31 am

    Both of those breakfasts look deelicious!!!
    Hope your family starts feeling better soon! πŸ˜€

  9. April 6, 2011 10:38 am

    oohhh that tahini combo is MAJOR drool worthy!!!!!!!

  10. April 6, 2011 12:17 pm

    I haven’t tried sunflower butter yet. I’ll have to pick that up next. πŸ™‚

    I love figs in oatmeal! I never thought of having it with tahini. I guess it’s a mix of sweet and savory?

  11. April 6, 2011 1:03 pm

    That looks so awesome girl! Not gonna lie figs kinda scare me!
    I’ll get over it thought one I have this combo!! How is tahini? I’m so afraid to try it once I uhh…was at that store and the jar cap happened to totally come off πŸ˜‰ I caught a wiff of it and did not like it! BUT i made sure to put the cap back on since it , uh fell off ya know πŸ˜‰

    • April 6, 2011 2:13 pm

      Ah, no! Figs are great! Yes, tahini is bitter and is not good on it’s own but with veggies and on oatmeal with chocolate, carob or banana, it’s amazing! Sweet + savory!

  12. April 6, 2011 1:57 pm

    Yummy breakfast! I hope you don’t get sick!!

  13. April 6, 2011 2:09 pm

    Awwwe hope everyone starts to feel better soon! Hope you’re having fun playing nurse, though. πŸ™‚

  14. April 6, 2011 2:10 pm

    I’m sorry that your family doesn’t feel well! I’m the same. I usually get it last too!

    LOVE Carob Chips! Yea, I love the slight sweetness Carob has naturally! It is the perfect amount! πŸ™‚

    I wonder if you can make your own sunflower seed butter…… πŸ™‚

    • April 6, 2011 2:12 pm

      You absolutely could! I would, but my Vitamix isn’t has efficient as it used to be (we’ve had it for 8+ years!!!) so making nut butter is harder/more time consuming for me!

  15. April 6, 2011 2:16 pm

    I’ve seen sunbutter before but never bother to buy it. I think I’m too much of a pb junkie. It looks really creamy though, definitely have me intrigued. Hope you don’t get sick!

  16. April 6, 2011 2:25 pm

    Oh noooo. sending healthy vibes on over there!

    and I stilll need to try sunbutter. wah.

  17. April 6, 2011 4:46 pm

    I was just at Whole Foods today and totally forgot to look for figs! Those oats look amazing! Hope the sickness doesn’t catch up to you πŸ™‚

  18. April 6, 2011 4:59 pm

    Oh my goodness, that looks delicious! I think I need some sun butter, asap. πŸ™‚ Fingers crossed that you don’t get the flu though! I’m usually one to get sick in my family too.

  19. April 6, 2011 5:17 pm

    I am sending healthyness your way girrrl. That oat bran seriously looks delicious and you make it look so pretty.

  20. The Teenage Taste permalink
    April 6, 2011 8:13 pm

    Getting sick is terrible. Hope everyone gets well soon! πŸ˜€

  21. April 6, 2011 8:50 pm

    I have a packet of Sunbutter that I have yet to try.

  22. April 6, 2011 9:28 pm

    I love sunbutter! I have the trader joes brand though. I don’t know if they taste very different, but I absolutely adore it. I still have yet to buy tahini, but I really want to try it. I wonder what it would be like on a banana…

    • April 7, 2011 11:52 am

      I think it would be divine on a banana, in fact I think I’ll try that!

  23. April 6, 2011 9:35 pm

    I’m obsessed with dried figs! They’re like candy! πŸ˜€
    I hope you manage to say sick-free!

  24. April 6, 2011 11:08 pm

    Ooh! I’ve always wanted to try “real” figs. I think I’ll grab some at Whole Foods. I LOVE sunflower seed butter so that combo looks divine! And I never would have thought of tahini and chocolate chips for breakfast but that pic made me want some! I’ll have to try it πŸ™‚ I love giving new things a try

  25. April 6, 2011 11:47 pm

    I hope everyone gets better soon!
    Hmmm I really need to try sunbutter

  26. April 7, 2011 3:39 am

    I hope you manage to not get sick!!
    The dried figs on oatmeal look so great…

  27. April 7, 2011 8:03 am

    Ahh sorry everybody is getting sick! I hope you’re all well soon!
    As for the food, that fig oatbran looks DELISH. I can imagine it would be awesome with some graham cracker crumbs on top!? I love the look of the tahini combo too!

  28. April 7, 2011 8:43 am

    Aw, I’m sorry that everyone in your house is sick. It sounds miserable 😦 I hope they all get healthy soon and that you never catch it

  29. April 7, 2011 11:49 am

    Oh no! I hope you stay well!!

  30. czechvegan permalink
    April 24, 2011 2:56 am

    Oh, how is it possible I have never tried eating my oatbran with figgs? I love oat bran, I love figgs…I must catch up on this tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

