Skip to content

Whole Foods High

March 31, 2011

Guess who just got back from Whole Foods?

Yep, MEE!

I’ve been dying to go ever since I started food blogging. My mom was headed to Orlando today to visit the temple and she wanted me to come along. So she dropped me off at Whole Foods for 2 1/2 hours while she visited the temple just 15 minutes away!

*sarcasm*Β How did on Earth did I occupy myself in Whole Foods for 2 1/2 HOURS? *sarcasm*

I only brought $60 with me into the store so that I wouldn’t be tempted to spend more. It worked! πŸ˜‰

Here’s the haul:

2 pink lady apples (I have never seen them anywhere else, so I HAD to get some!) and unsweetened carob chips

1 can regular coconut milk and 1 light coconut milk

bulk bins: oat bran, millet (never had it before!) and dried figs (also never tried!)

Nutritional yeast!

unsweetened almond milk,Β Whole Food’s 365 brand

tahini!

SunButter!

2 Clif Bars! I love Clif bars, never tried these flavors! They were on sale, BONUS!

85% dark chocolate (never tried this percentage!)

LARABARS!! 2 Blueberry Muffin,2 Peanut Butter and Jelly and 2 Key Lime Pie! I have never tried any of these flavors, so excited!

I now can understand why the nickname for that store is Whole Paycheck! Everything is so expensive! This trip and buying all this stuff was a HUGE deal for me. I NEVER buy bars, fun nut butters, new grains, dark chocolate or almond milk but I’ve been saving my money and I have been WANTING this stuff for ages now. So it was about time πŸ™‚

My overallΒ consensusΒ of Whole Foods is that I love that store. I basically know that store like the back of my hand since I was there for 2 1/2 hours!

Everything is very natural, lots of organic products, freshly made baked goods, such a great place. I want to work there someday πŸ™‚

Here’s a close-up on the carob chips.

I had to try a few, since I’ve never tried carob. Verdict? Loved it! It’s different from unsweetened chocolate, it’s a bit sweeter but still bitter. I could eat unsweetened carob by the handful, but unsweetened chocolate is way too bitter for me!

I was going to get the carob powder, but chips are much more fun! These unsweetened carob chips will be amazing on oatmeal!

Is it weird that I really had no idea what figs looked like?

The only times that I’ve ever eaten figs was in Fig Newton form.

I love how they look in the inside.

And they taste just like Fig Newtons! Love it! These are going to be a great snack!

Now, I wonder what fresh figs are like?

Well, I’m off to watch Tangled! Have a great night!

Do you like Fig Newtons? What do you think of carob?

52 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2011 6:37 pm

    Yay! SO glad you got some good stuff girl!!!! Whole Foods = Heaven!!!!

    xoxo ❀

  2. March 31, 2011 6:45 pm

    I knew you’d love it! AND it looks like you got a ton of great stuff! The blueberry muffin larabar is to die for! πŸ™‚

  3. March 31, 2011 6:56 pm

    Whole Foods is like a playground for me. I still haven’t tried carob since I’ve heard a lot of mixed reviews on it. Glad you liked it! πŸ˜€

  4. March 31, 2011 7:10 pm

    Ohh! How fun for you! I LOVE hanging out in Whole Foods, there SO much to look at. I love your haul!

  5. March 31, 2011 7:18 pm

    I LOVe fig newtons! hahaha Our neighbor had a fig tree in their backyard….I actually didn’t like the fresh figs all that much. But then again, my sister loves them but doesn’t like fig newtons. Weird huh?
    Glad you had fun in Whole Foods!

  6. March 31, 2011 7:32 pm

    You did a really good job putting your $60 to good use! I would’ve bought most of the same things. I LOVE figs, especially fresh ones in Italy! If you ever come across fresh figs, you must try them!!

  7. March 31, 2011 7:39 pm

    You got some great items! I’ve tried almost everything you’ve gotten. Haven’t tried carob chips yet! I buy the pink lady apples at WF every week! They’re my favorite!

    • Fill Me Up! permalink
      April 6, 2011 4:30 pm

      As much as I love Whole Foods, Trader Joe’s has Pink Lady Apples every week too! 59 cents a pop πŸ™‚ best apple ever

  8. March 31, 2011 7:41 pm

    LOVE Whole Foods! I love just walking around and trying all of the samples. I don’t go very often either, so when I do go it’s so awesome.

    It truly is “Whole Paycheck.” If I worked there, I’d never have any money! πŸ™‚

    I’ve never tried carob chips! They look good – I’m always looking for new oatmeal toppings to try. πŸ˜‰

    Megan

  9. March 31, 2011 7:45 pm

    There is nothing there that doesn’t look amazing. I want to eat it all up. NOMMM.

  10. March 31, 2011 7:58 pm

    It definitely looks like you put your $60 to good use. πŸ™‚ I’ve actually never been to Whole Foods before so I’m pretty jealous of your trip. And, although I don’t get them much anymore, I absolutely love the chocolate almond fudge clif bar flavor- it’s by far my favorite. Hope you like it too!

  11. March 31, 2011 8:12 pm

    Yay glad you had fun! I’ve only been to whole foods once and I had a ball πŸ˜‰

    You will love millet, it’s so good!!

    Good job for $60! My mom always have to give me budgets so I don’t go overboard hah.

  12. March 31, 2011 8:24 pm

    Figs are the best thing EVER! My papa had a fig tree and I would eat like 3 a day in the summer. So so good!! I never see fresh in the market though and it makes me so sad!

  13. runyogarepeat permalink
    March 31, 2011 8:35 pm

    I love everything you got, especially those Clif Bars – the flavors sound SO good! Enjoy Tangled, it is so cute!

  14. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    March 31, 2011 8:36 pm

    I LOVE WHOLE FOODS!! And I have been on a carob kick lately….just had pumpkin carob pancakes for lunch πŸ™‚

  15. March 31, 2011 9:13 pm

    2 1/2 hours! Haha πŸ™‚ I totally could have spent that much time in there too! You got so much stuff for $60! Great shopping! I’m a big fan of Fig Newtons!! They’re so yummy!

  16. March 31, 2011 9:25 pm

    I’ so jelous! I wish there Whole Foods was in Canada! I would spend many hours there too
    You bought some really tasty things. I love figs! By the way the Chocolate Almond Fudge Clif Bar and Key Lime Pie Larabar are both some of my favorites. They are so good.
    I’ve never had carob before. I want to try it

  17. March 31, 2011 9:52 pm

    LOL I can easily spend 2.5 hours in WF too. πŸ˜€ Looks like you got a great haul! I haven’t had Fig Newtons in ages, but I’m obsessed with dried figs!

  18. March 31, 2011 10:00 pm

    I love fig newtons! I got figs from the bulk bins recently too, but I guess I got a different kind because they’re white and kind of remind me of tea?
    I love sunbutter and key lime pie larabars! I’m not a fan of carob though.

    • April 1, 2011 9:33 am

      Yeah! I saw the white ones, I think they were called Turkish figs? I got the Black Mission figs.

  19. March 31, 2011 10:10 pm

    Kayla, you are so lucky!!!! Love WHOLE Foods!!! πŸ˜‰

    Carob Chips are one of my favorite!!!! πŸ˜€

  20. March 31, 2011 10:54 pm

    Carob is so delicious! I love that it doesn’t need added sugar to be absolutely delicious. And I lovelovelove figs, but I haven’t actually had them whole! I’ll need to pick some up soon πŸ™‚

  21. March 31, 2011 11:29 pm

    You’ve never tried the PB&J Larabars before? Ahh I’m obsessed with those things. You are in for a delicious surprise. πŸ™‚
    I’m excited to see how you used the carob chips. I got a bag of those a couple of weeks ago and have yet to use them because I can’t decide what to use them for! Do you just use them as a replacement for chocolate chips?
    Enjoy Tangled! That movie is the best.

  22. April 1, 2011 12:30 am

    I LOVE fig newtons! I made my own once last year- they were amazing!

  23. The Teenage Taste permalink
    April 1, 2011 7:14 am

    So glad you were able to get to Whole Foods and get all the goodies you wanted. I still have to try Nutritional Yeast. What does it taste like?
    Have a great weekend, Kayla! πŸ˜€

  24. April 1, 2011 9:00 am

    Looks like you had fun there! So weird you should buy some millet, i was just looking to buy some of that today! And pink lady apples theyre my favourite, we have them everywhere in the UK! Yum! Do you get many other green & blacks organic chocolate in the US? I love the look of the cliff bars!

  25. April 1, 2011 10:37 am

    AHH LOVE YOUR HAUL!! wow my figs are not that dark!!

    • April 1, 2011 7:56 pm

      Yeah, I think there are Turkish figs which are creamy in color and then Black mission, which is what I got!

  26. Athena permalink
    April 1, 2011 11:06 am

    I love Fig Newtons! They’re always a treat for us since my mum only buys them when we go on family vacations. We wouldn’t even have crossed the Canadian/American border before I was dying for fig newtons. So yummy.

    Fresh figs are a must try! My mother told me that, when she was living in Greece when she was younger, she used to pick fresh figs straight from the tree and eat them. Therefore, my mum only buys the fresh imported figs, and they are sooooooooooooooooooooooooooo good. We don’t have a Whole Foods here, so I am duly jealous! I just go to my local IGA; they have a fantastic 3 aisle section dedicated to healthy foods.

    Carob is on my “to try” list!

  27. April 1, 2011 1:28 pm

    gosh. i don’t think i could be more jealous that you live close enough to shop at a whole foods. you WF & Tj’s peeps make me GREEN with envy allll the time!

    xo.

    • April 1, 2011 7:51 pm

      I’m actually 2 hours away from the WF and there’s not Tj’s here, so I feel your pain, girl!

  28. April 1, 2011 3:42 pm

    It’s actually very possible to spend reasonable amounts of money shopping at Whole Foods – it’s usually the specialty items that end up costing more. When Clif bars goes on sale I usually buy 30-40 of them, I could eat one a day really!

  29. April 1, 2011 3:56 pm

    pink lady apples are the best! they’re always crunchy and thats why i like them so much! dont u just hate it when u bit into an apple and its all soft?! ew gross!

    • April 1, 2011 7:44 pm

      Oh yes, I HATE that! I only love crunchy apples!

  30. April 2, 2011 2:29 am

    AHHH! I am so happy for you! That’s crazy though! You are so deprived! hehe. I go to my natural food store every single week! Its like my whole foods cuz it has all that stuff! So much good stuff!

    I love carob and nooch!! Have fun! AND make sure to show us how you put those to use! and give me an update on how good the pb and j lara bar is!

  31. April 2, 2011 11:12 am

    I’m so jealous!

    and ILOVE fig newtons, so I’d love to taste some yummy dried figs. mmmm!

  32. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! permalink
    April 2, 2011 12:55 pm

    You got so many of my fave foods there! Pink lady apples are my favorite type of apple ever…so crispy and sweet! Blueberry muffin and PB and J are two of my fave larabar flavors and dried figs are my favorite dried fruit lol! We must have similar tastes πŸ™‚

  33. April 2, 2011 7:34 pm

    Coconut milk is great! I have made everything from Ice Cream to Stir Fry with it. 85% Chocolate is my favorite! That’s a great brand too.What is Whole Foods like?? I don’t have one in my city- it sounds great!!

  34. April 5, 2011 10:48 am

    I make a trip to Whole Foods at least once a week. They have such great produce and the beer selection is awesome!

  35. April 5, 2011 11:41 am

    Ahh! Looks like you had so much fun in Whole Foods. You’re right about how incredibly expensive it is. But there are so many great finds. I haven’t tried carob chips, but I need to since they don’t have caffeine in them. Glad you enjoyed it! πŸ™‚

  36. April 5, 2011 12:36 pm

    fresh figs are delish πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ and i LOVE tangled. i ahve seen it twice and am hoping to watch it again tonight haha πŸ™‚

  37. Vanessa permalink
    April 5, 2011 3:50 pm

    Wow! I sooo wish there was a Whole Foods near me. You got such great stuff! I would spend so much money though. I know this may b a weird question, you said you went there while your Mom was@ the temple. Is that your church? I’m a Baptist Christian and never heard of temple. Sorry. Enjoy eating that yummy food! Love your blog a lot!!

    • April 6, 2011 10:42 am

      I belong to The Church Of Jesus Christ Of Latter-Day Saints. We have temples all over the world. Our temple is different, more sacred, than our church building. This is a link to the church website, it talks more about the temples if you’re interested! http://lds.org/study/topics/temples?lang=eng

  38. April 5, 2011 5:00 pm

    I just tried carob last week and loved it! As for figs/fig newtons..not so much. I remember in kindergarten someone brought in fig newtons for snack time. I was so sad we weren’t having “real” cookies, so I faked sick and went home…evil child lol

  39. April 5, 2011 10:03 pm

    WF is one of my fav places to be! ahhh esp over at the hot bar! ❀ even their cheesecake is crack-like =)

    good call on the budget! smarty pants! I use the same nutritional yeast! =)

  40. April 7, 2011 8:40 pm

    I love everything about this post!! I am SO stoked you finally got to go to WF, and I can feel your excitement in your purchases! πŸ˜€

  41. May 3, 2013 12:13 pm

    Debbie, you’ll get the identical nutritional advantages from the seeds when they may be ground into your NutriBlast. Flax seeds has to be broken down in order to suit your needs to absorb the valuable omega-3 fatty acids.

Trackbacks

  1. Nature’s Candy « Little Miss Healthify
  2. Just Do It « Little Miss Healthify

Leave a Reply

