Skip to content

You Know You Love It

March 29, 2011

Okay, so I’m like DYING to try peanut flour! But there aren’t any Trader Joe’s in Florida and I’m too cheap to order online.

Soooooo….

For the time being, my homemade peanut flour meal will have to do!

I blended roasted peanuts until fine but still a little chunky. If I had blended any longer, I would have had the beginnings of peanut butter!

Peanut flour is made from pressing the oil out of the peanuts then pulsing them. So my peanut meal is more oily and chunkier than peanut flour. But, really, how different could they be?

So I made Carrie’s Inside-Out Peanut Butter Cup Cake.

Sadly, it was extremely moist, even after baking for 10 minutes longer than called for.  I’m guessing from the peanut meal.

And I used a little stevia, but I wished I had used some honey to sweeten it up, I’m starting to not love stevia that much. It was a very weird-sweet flavor.

So the cake wasn’t that great, it’s entirely my fault (not yours, Carrie!), but that didn’t keep me from eating the whole thing! haha

And this morning for breakfast I could not get a peanut butter dark chocolate waffle off my mind. So this happened.

Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Waffle For One

2 T. whole wheat flour

2 T. + 1 t. oatbran, oats or flour

1/2 t. + 1/8 t. baking powder

1/8 t. salt

2 T. cocoa powder

2 T. peanut meal

1/3 cup water

a little stevia

and ta-da!

A delicious dark chocolate peanut butter waffle, topped with frozen banana slices and sprinkled with more peanut meal.

The cold sweetness of the frozen bananas is just pure delightful on top of the warm waffle! I’ve also been putting frozen banana slices on warm oatmeal! I got that idea from Julie.

The above oatmeal was just 1/2 cup oats, 1/2 cup skim milk, 1 T. chia seeds and 1 T. cocoa powder soaked overnight. No sweetener needed, because in the morning I topped with frozen banana slices, sooooo gooood.

(source)


I made up some curried tuna salad from The Nutrition Diva’s Book that I was sent to review.

I’ve been trying to use up all the collard greens I bought a while ago. They’re going bad in the fridge and I’ve only used them twice!

My collard green wraps turned out quite nicely, if I do say so myself! The only problem was the curried tuna wasn’t all that great. Me and my mom both weren’t really fans of it, kinda weird tasting. But I am hopeful for some of the other recipes in the book!

On the side there are the most delicious Sweet Potato Chips I’ve ever tasted from Food Should Taste Good.

I couldn’t think of anything else to do with my peanut meal,

so I whirred up some fabulous homemade peanut butter with the rest of my peanut meal, peanuts and a little handful of almonds. And I got some delicious, drippy peanut butter….yumm.

The other day I could not get the cinnamon-raisin combo out of my head, so I had to make some oatmeal!

Delicious raisins in every bite…Me and mom both agreed that this was the best oatmeal I’ve ever made. And the butter on top was a great addition, I’m not scared of butter any more!

One of my favorite snacks right now is cottage cheese and frozen blueberries.

Such an amazing combo.

Another favorite snack lately are these Perfect Foods Bars I was sent to review.

This is the Almond Butter flavor. Tastes like cookie dough, not even kidding! And trust me, I know cookie dough.

Basically, the Perfect Foods Bars are made with a base of peanut or almond butter and honey mixed with a bunch of super whole food powders including spinach, orange, lemon, tomato, red bell pepper, apple, cherry, celery and lots more! It’s amazing because you can’t even taste them!

I eat 4 times a day and 300+ calories every time I eat. The bars are a perfect 4 o’ clock snack for me clocking in at about 300 calories, 18g protein, fat and lots of vitamins and nutrients to tide me over until dinner.

I was really wary to try this SoyJoy bar.

It really didn’t appeal to me. I mean, a bar made with mostly ground whole soybeans? It sounded kinda gross.

But I was wrong. Totally totally wrong. It tasted amazing, just like banana bread! And it wasn’t hard or stiff, like I thought it would be! Loved it! And it’s made with these whole foods: ground whole soybeans, raisins, dried banana, butter, sugar, egg, dried pineapple, dried coconut

I’m so glad I ended up trying it!

Please note, that I don’t take photos of everything I eat, only the fun stuff! And what you see on my blog isn’t necessarily all my diet consists of, I promise I don’t eat chocolate waffles and bars all day!

What’s your favorite snack? How many times a day do you eat?

 

25 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2011 12:27 pm

    I LOVE frozen banana slices on warm oatmeal or a warm english muffin. 🙂 yyuuuuumm!

  2. March 29, 2011 12:29 pm

    ah im sorry it didnt turn out!! definitely the oil in the peanut meal would have made it too too moist! but thanks for trying!! and i seriously love your attempt at peanut flour- you are creative!! ahh im dying to try perfect food bars! wish they were sold in the UK
    my fav snack is deffos banana with pb!

  3. runyogarepeat permalink
    March 29, 2011 12:34 pm

    That waffle looks incredible, and cinnamon raisin oatmeal is one of my favorite combos!
    I eat 4-5 times a day, if I have a hard/long workout, I’ll eat more often. My favorite snack is raisins & nuts!

  4. March 29, 2011 12:34 pm

    Gosh girl! Your waffle looks delicious! 😀 I love waffles! ESPECIALLY one with both Peanut Butter AND Chocolate! 😀

    I eat about 5-6 times a day. 🙂

    xoxox
    Kathleen

  5. March 29, 2011 12:38 pm

    So could I use that recipe and make pancakes instead of a waffle? I don’t have a waffle maker but the recipe sounds delish!! As does everything else you made, as always 🙂

    • March 29, 2011 1:01 pm

      Yes, you could! I actually adapted my waffle recipe from a pancake recipe, so go for it!!

  6. March 29, 2011 12:49 pm

    I don’t really count how many times a day I eat, which is so unusual for me. I used to eat 4-6 times a day religiously. It got too stressful, so now I just eat when I’m hungry. It still probably comes out to around 4 or 5 times.

    I’m sooo sorry about the peanut flour thing! Yeah, the extra oil would’ve definitely messed it up. I wonder how on earth you press oil out of peanuts?

    Delicious nut butter and waffles!!

    • March 29, 2011 1:01 pm

      Yeah, I don’t know how they press oil out of peanuts, but I’m guessing they just do it in big factories with machines..? 🙂

  7. March 29, 2011 1:10 pm

    I eat at least four times a day. I love eating smaller meals throughout the day. I don’t get people that skip meals!

  8. March 29, 2011 1:21 pm

    I eat about 6 times a day….some of my favorite snacks are yogurt, granola bars, dry cereal, half sandwiches, etc.
    I want to try peanut flour, too, but they don’t even sell it in Brazil….:(

  9. March 29, 2011 1:25 pm

    I usually eat 5 times a day! I have yet to try frozen bananas! I only make smoothies with them so i’ll have to try them other ways soon!

    My favorite snack is a slice of whole wheat bread with some peanut\almond butter!

  10. March 29, 2011 1:29 pm

    Um how many times a day do I not eat? I am seriously always eating ha. My favorite snack at the moment are smoothies but I’m sure it will change by next week. No but really.

  11. March 29, 2011 1:30 pm

    You have a fabulous blog…. I love your ideas and the healthy way of cooking!!
    Especially the “wicked good” choco-peanut waffles:)

  12. March 29, 2011 1:44 pm

    I hate how we don’t have any Trader Joes here! 😦 I guess I’ll have to start making my own pb flour too ;D

  13. March 29, 2011 1:55 pm

    The waffles look amazing girl! Yummy!!

    Im sorry you can’t get peanut flour there, yeah I ordered online, i was desperate! ha!

    Hope all is well!!! xoxo ❤

  14. March 29, 2011 2:20 pm

    I’ve been wanting to try peanut flour for the longest time, too! But TJs was the only place I knew to have it..and there’s not one of those remotely close by, so oh well. Those waffles sound awesome, though!! So decadent tasting for a breakfast but yet still healthy- my kind of meal! 😉

    My favorite snack is and always has been cereal. Dry, with milk, in pudding..anyway!

  15. March 29, 2011 4:14 pm

    I’m digging those meals and recipes you posted. I have to try them out. You make them look so easy to create. Maybe they are and I’m just lazy.

    I love Soyjoy’s! I got a bunch for free after a race one time.

  16. March 29, 2011 6:38 pm

    The peanut butter cake still looks really delicious to me!! I love snacking, and I tried that Soy Joy too! You sent it to me 🙂 I thought it was like banana bread too!

  17. March 29, 2011 7:03 pm

    OMG girl!! So first, I was just about to try making peanut flour EXACTLY like you did because I so want some!! Second, I bought those sweet potato chips for the first time this weekend and LOVED them. Third, I just bought some Soy Joys and can’t wait to try them!
    I guess great minds think alike!! 😀
    And I so want to try your waffle! I mean, you just can’t go wrong with peanut butter and chocolate 😉

  18. Jessica permalink
    March 29, 2011 7:58 pm

    Ahhhh! Perfect Food Bars- My favorite bars in the world! Unfortunately, I found them and grew to love them on the West Coast and then moved out East where I can’t get my hands on them. They are by far my favorite bar, especially the lite one with cranberries and PB. So jealous!

  19. March 29, 2011 10:26 pm

    I eat a lot. Usually 4-5 small meals. I like a nice sized breakfast, lunch, and dinner but I also included protein smoothies and wholesome snacks on a good day.

    Whitney

  20. March 30, 2011 7:27 am

    Oh wow this all looks so good, I love oatmeal (porridge we call it in the UK) so much, I love the look of the one you made, raisins in it are always a major yum factor! I love to snack on fromage frais, and apples & fruit of any sort & normally eat about 4 times a day depending on what I’m doing.

  21. March 30, 2011 1:34 pm

    I’m pretty sure I eat like 10 times a day! I’m always snacking!! 🙂

  22. March 30, 2011 9:13 pm

    The SoyJoy bars are a little weird for me. They taste almost like a muffin which can be tasty just not what I look for in a bar (I’m more for nuts and crunchy stuff!)

    I love putting frozen bananas in my oatmeal because they just melt right in! Never a need for sweeteners and it makes the oatmeal so fluffy

  23. April 5, 2011 11:14 am

    Collard wraps are the bestest! 🙂

Leave a Reply

