Skip to content

What I Did At Golden Corral

March 24, 2011

Hey, so sorry that I’ve been missing the last week! I guess things have just gotten a little hectic!

I’ve also been working on my Photography Blog that I made strictly for my photos and photo editing ventures only. Β If that’s something you’re interested in, please check it out: Kayla’s Photo Diary

Not to be worried, I will still be posting regularly on my food blog, you Β know how much I love food blogging!

***

Last week, our church’s youth had temple trip! We drove all the way up to Orlando to see the temple.

(source)

Such a beautiful place.

Afterwards, me and all my favorite friends and youth leaders, went out to eat at a not-so-beautiful place.

(source)

The truth is, about 2 years ago, Golden Corral was my favorite restaurant OF ALL TIME. I am not even joking.

I lived for their macaroni and cheese and self serve ice cream with all the glorious Β toppings!

I loved stuffing myself silly and didn’t even care about eating a balanced, healthful diet.

Yesterday, as me and my best friends picked up our plates, ready to go browse the buffet, I just hoped they had a decent salad bar and some healthful options.

I was actually pleasantly surprised! The salad bar was amazing, I whipped up an embarassingly HUGE salad with spinach, romaine, onions, peppers, tomatoes, olives, beets and a delicious dressing. I felt kind of dumb eating the salad while my friends were chowing on fried chicken, mashed potatoes, fried shrimp, rolls, steak, spaghettti, pizza and icecream galore.

I honestly went into the buffet with an open mind. If I wanted some fried chicken, macaroni and cheese or a dessert or what-have-you…I was going to let myself have one. Why deprive?

But I didn’t even want any of the junk food. Just looking at it all made me feel a little sick. I felt amazing after eating my HUGE salad. So I just went back up and got some grapes and cantaloupe and drank my whole glass of water.

My friends ate lots of junk food and as we were leaving all mentioned how full and sick they felt. But I felt full but refreshed as I was leaving!

I’m not trying to say that I eat healthy all the time, or that eating only salad and fruit is the best way to live and eat healthy (because it’s not, I rarely eat just a salad and fruit for a meal).

But I am saying that it’s important to figure out what makes you feel good. If you feel sick and full and bloated after eating too much unhealthy food, why do you do that to yourself? I know that eating lots of vegetables fills me up and is very good for me, so I like eating vegetables. I told my friends that I like healthy food and I like the way it makes me feel, and if I didn’t….I would go get some of the options they were eating! You have to be happy with the way you are treating your body and the way you are fueling yourself.

Okay, this is getting very wordy! So I’ll leave it at that!

Hope you guys are having a great week!

Do you find the healthy options at buffets?

Do you like healthy food better than junk food and does that persuade you to eat healthier?

45 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2011 2:58 pm

    Eww nothing you said they eat even sounds remotely good!! I’m all about breadsticks so if they had those I would be all over it but I don’t do fried at all!! I would have so done the salad bar with you, as well as maybe a small thing of ice cream πŸ˜‰

  2. March 24, 2011 3:19 pm

    I so agree about eating what makes you feel good!

    That temple is beautiful too!

  3. March 24, 2011 3:20 pm

    The Orlando temple has to be on of my favorites. So gorgeous!
    You know I don’t think I’ve even ever been to a buffet! Oh just kidding, I went to a japanese one once. All you can eat sushi.. score! πŸ˜‰
    I really like your photo blog Kayla, I’m definitely going to follow it.

  4. March 24, 2011 3:22 pm

    I love eating healthy… cause I feel GOOD from it, and I feel like I can eat more of it! πŸ˜‰

  5. March 24, 2011 3:25 pm

    I’m always the salad eater while everyone else chows down burgers, fries, and foods loaded with grease and salt. It honestly doesn’t make me feel good to eat that and my body isn’t use to it anymore. I’ve trained myself to eat healthy haha πŸ˜€

  6. March 24, 2011 3:54 pm

    It’s so amazing that you stuck to your usual healthy eating habits even when everyone else was eating junk food! The fact that they felt sick while you felt great afterward just goes to show how much of an impact what we eat has on how we feel! πŸ™‚

  7. March 24, 2011 4:24 pm

    We are so alike; sometimes people comment about my eating habits and they think I deprive myself because i don’t pig out on crap all day long. They will say “you have such good will power.” But really I ALWAYS eating what I WANT. And what I want just happens to be nutritious healthy foods. No deprivation here!!!

    • March 24, 2011 10:09 pm

      Yeah, I didn’t feel like I HAD to eat a salad, I WANTED that salad! And I always eat what I love, it’s just healthy!! πŸ™‚

  8. March 24, 2011 4:24 pm

    Yay you’re back!! I don’t know if I could have said no to some of the food there, but that’s so great that you stuck to your healthy eating ways!

  9. March 24, 2011 4:31 pm

    Buffets are my favorite place to eat, by far. People always say to stay away from them if you’re watching your calories and what not, but I honestly see nothing wrong with them. sure, it’s really easy to overdo it..but just use the same cues as always and put dowqn the fork when you’re full! Also, there’s usually a ton of healthy options (and a salad bar) so that’s really not a huge struggle.

    The main reason I love them is because you get exactly what you want, how much you want of it, and for pretty cheap. Can’t beat that for a college kid. πŸ˜‰

    • March 24, 2011 10:17 pm

      Yeah, I’d say they’re not bad at all, just some people do NOT know how to stop eating and eat waaaay too much.

  10. March 24, 2011 4:54 pm

    I don’t usually deprive myself and have things in moderation sometimes. But when it comes down to it, I always feel like I got my $s worth when I eat healthier options b/c I don’t get tummy aches and whatnot!

  11. The Teenage Taste permalink
    March 24, 2011 4:55 pm

    I have to admit, I (still) love Golden Corral regardless of all the fat laden foods they serve. I only go there once or twice a year so I figure when I go it’s okay to indulge in moderation. I think their mac-n-cheese and steak is the bomb! πŸ˜›

  12. March 24, 2011 5:11 pm

    AMEN sista! im with you! i dont even crav junk food- it makes me gag to be honest!! salad bar ALL the way

    • March 24, 2011 10:15 pm

      I’m so glad I’m not the only one! πŸ™‚

  13. March 24, 2011 5:14 pm

    Um seriously Golden Carrol is one of my favorite places because I love their salad bar. I like buffets a lot because I choose the amount and what exactly I want. Being an athlete I legit eat every 5 seconds and so much.

    • March 24, 2011 10:15 pm

      I love how you can choose the amount, too! I hate when you go to a restaurant and they give you either a teeny-tiny portion or a ULTRA HUGE portion! Buffets are great cause you can make your own plate!

  14. March 24, 2011 5:22 pm

    I agree. It what makes you feel good! while you are eating AND after you eat πŸ™‚
    I have no desire to eat junk; it makes me feel like bleeehh.

  15. March 24, 2011 5:22 pm

    Golden Corral is my family’s favorite buffet!!! πŸ˜€ I do the same you did! A BIG ‘ole salad and a plate of fruit! It is DELISH!!! πŸ˜€

    xoxox
    Kathleen

  16. March 24, 2011 5:41 pm

    I just ate at Souper Salad today for lunch and its slightly similar to golden corral except for its based on soups and salads instead of other buffet items. Of course, they still have soft serve, pizza, and mac & cheese but they have a lot of great healthy items and I left today feeling good (I kept on going back for the grapes and cantaloupe..SO fresh and juicy!!) Unlike you, though, I did go for a little soft serve πŸ˜›

    • March 24, 2011 10:13 pm

      Oh yeah, I think I’ve been there! They have great options! I got grapes and cantaloupe at Golden Corral, too! So delish.

  17. March 24, 2011 5:57 pm

    My cousin in in the golden corral commercial, though I’ve never heard of the place!
    I usually just hit up the salad bar at buffets, if it’s available. I definitely prefer healthy food because it usually tastes better and makes me feel amazing!

  18. March 24, 2011 7:43 pm

    Aww! I love this girl! AMEN to eating what makes YOU feel good! and I don’t know anyone who feels that hott after stuffing themselves with that stuff. I really think its all about balance. Like mac n cheese with a salad.

    not mac n cheese with pizza. ya hear? Thats my perspective! Evrerything is okay in moderatin but most of all if that stuff makes you feel like poopy…then don’t eat it! : )

  19. runyogarepeat permalink
    March 24, 2011 9:59 pm

    I fully agree with you! I have the philosophy of if I wanna indulge when I go out to eat, I will, but it’s always at real restaurants, not fast food. Glad you were able to find a salad! I hate feeling full & gross from fried foods, so I avoid it. Salads make me feel SO good, and I truly like eating them. I think it does take some getting used to when switching to a healthy diet though.

    • March 24, 2011 10:10 pm

      It does take getting used to. Just a few years ago eating a big salad for a meal would NOT have worked for me.

  20. March 24, 2011 11:12 pm

    Buffets are so overwhelming! But I know what you mean, sometimes I just crave healthy food. On a bad day, I could probably go nuts on the junk!

  21. Lauren permalink
    March 25, 2011 12:29 am

    OMG! I used to LOVE Golden Corral. They breakfast buffet was the bomb-dot-com!

    Buffets in general kind of gross me out now, though. It doesn’t seem right that all the food can sit for “x” amount of time and not wilt, spoil, etc.

    And healthy food=tasty food!!!

  22. March 25, 2011 12:46 am

    As a binge eater, I try to stay away from buffets. I could never have self-control! You prove that it’s possible to leave a buffet not in a food coma πŸ™‚

  23. March 25, 2011 12:58 am

    I’m usually one to bee-line for the salad bar too and pile up. I’ll peruse the rest of the buffet though to see if they have any soups or healthier options too. Sometimes I’ll get a slice of pizza…or 3 πŸ˜›

  24. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    March 25, 2011 10:55 am

    Haha…I’ve only been their once-and I was shocked!!! So much foood…….But I love sweet tomatoes-have you been there?

    • March 25, 2011 1:00 pm

      Yes! I love Sweet Tomatoes. We actually alternate between those two buffets every temple trip we go on, so next is Sweet Tomatoes. They have an amazing salad bar!!

  25. March 25, 2011 4:18 pm

    I practically lived for the golden corral macaroni when I was a little girl…now I really dislike most of their food. Bummer because buffets are the bomb!

  26. theflourishingfoodie permalink
    March 25, 2011 9:46 pm

    Great for you for eating healthfully at Golden Corral. I definitely feel better when I eat more nutritious foods too so that kind of motivates me to eat healthfully. While junk food may taste good what’s the point if I feel crummy later? Of course, some time I eat total junk food and enjoy it! I have to remind myself that I need not feel guilty.

  27. March 26, 2011 10:09 am

    I can totally relate to how you felt there. When i was on vacation i ate like crap. I came back and felt weighed down, heavy and GROSS. I started breaking out, looking bloated and was unhappy! Once I got back on track my skin started to clear, my body wasn’t puffy and I was happier πŸ™‚ Good advice because I am going to a brunch buffet tomorrow and needed some reassurance it was OK not to have a slab of bacon on my plate xoxo

  28. March 26, 2011 6:48 pm

    LOVE your outlook on eating what makes you feel good! I couldn’t agree more. πŸ˜€ I hate it when people think I’m depriving myself just because I’m eating a salad and fruit.

  29. March 26, 2011 6:52 pm

    This post reminded me so much of me!! Golden Corral definitely use to be my favorite place on earth, but now my inner health nut shies away from it. When I go to not so healthy restaurants, I usually go in with the same mind set as you – I’ll eat what I want! But the salad bar usually ends up becoming my best friend too! πŸ™‚

    And yes, I do find healthy food better than junk food… junk food just makes me feel so awful and doesn’t taste fresh like healthy food does! πŸ˜€

  30. March 26, 2011 8:18 pm

    go you!! yeah I really love buffets a lot of the time BECAUSE they allow me to make huge salads. Good for you for listening to your body and getting what you wanted. Salad bars are perfect though, I love them.
    there have been times that I’ve just wanted healthier food and I realize that I don’t like non healthy food and that’s okay!

  31. March 27, 2011 11:10 pm

    hahaha I love toothpaste for dinner!!!! πŸ™‚

  32. March 28, 2011 6:16 am

    Completely agree with what you are saying! I find it annoying when people say that you are depriving yourself of what you “really want” but the truth is if you just like healthy food then it makes it so much easier to eat it, I LOVE fruit, salad, veggies etc, and genuinely don’t like unhealthy foods so it makes it easy for me not to eat them. My only vice is a bit chocolate, but I hate anythnig like pizza, cheese, chips etc. Yak.

  33. March 28, 2011 11:35 pm

    I love to seeeee the temple…. πŸ™‚ so beautiful. Yours is amazing! I’m somewhat biased towards the one we have here in San Antonio, though. It’s only 20 mins away!

    Way to go at Golden Corral. Buffets can be hard, but I usually do the same thing as you. My grandpa took us to Chuck-A-Rama in Utah (have you been there?) and I filled up on veggies. It was great. πŸ™‚

    • March 29, 2011 10:27 am

      You are so lucky that it’s only 20 minutes away! We are actually getting another temple here in Florida, they are going to start building soon. But it’s still going to be 2-3 hours away from me! I will be smack dab in the middle of them both!

      Haha, oh yes, I have definitely been to Chuck-A-Rama! My grandpa takes us there every time we visit Utah. He has a thing for buffets πŸ™‚

  34. February 15, 2012 9:43 am

    On present cards 24, 1848, john m. Marshall discovered platinum within the u. S. lake, on the property involving his workplace steve a. Sutter. Precisely what used is often a account involving outlaws as well as wealth.spilleautomater

Leave a Reply

