Skip to content

I Want A Little Savory

March 10, 2011

My waffle iron was at it again this morning! I just couldn’t help mah self. We’ll call it my new waffle obsession.

After the chocolatey waffle yesterday, I thought a savory waffle would be fun!

Spinach & Cheese Buttermilk Waffle (for one)

1/3 cup milk

1/2 tsp. vinegar

3 Tbsp. white-whole wheat flour

3 Tbsp. oat bran or oat flour

heaping 1/2 tsp. baking powder

salt and pepper, to taste

2-3 Tbsp. finely shredded spinach leaves

2 Tbsp. shredded cheese (I used mozzarella and sharp cheddar)

1-2 Tbsp. chopped white onion

1-2 Tbsp. chopped tomato

Preheat waffle iron.

Combine milk and vinegar in small bowl; let sit 5 minutes until sour and curdled (this is now buttermilk).

Mix together dry ingredients. Pour in buttermilk. Gently stir and add the spinach, cheese, onion and tomato. Grease waffle iron. Immediately transfer batter to hot waffle iron. Enjoy!

And enjoy I did. πŸ™‚ I loved all the colors and flavors in this waffle!

I find it helpful to keep chopped onion, spinach, tomatoes and other veggies stored in little baggies in the fridge to make meal times easier and quicker.

Today, since I had all the ingredients for waffles out, I made waffle mixes! I just combined all the dry ingredients and added them to little baggies. Now, if I want a waffle, all I have to do is add milk, vanilla extract and other mix-ins!

While the waffle iron was still on this morning, I made this little buggerΒ aΒ chocolate waffle.

He loved it.

When you were little, who was your favorite Disney princess? Mine was Cinderella! I loved all the princesses but I think I loved Cinderella the most because we had the same hair color πŸ™‚

vitamins
Have a blog? Want to win a $100? Check out the Swanson Health Blog.

45 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2011 12:34 pm

    I’ve always wanted to try savory waffles but I could never find I recipe I liked. I like this recipes so I’ll try this soon!
    My favorite Disney Princess was Princess Jasmine

  2. March 10, 2011 12:50 pm

    omg, I think I love you! Why oh WHY have I never thought of mixing savory things into my waffle mix? I always do fruit (blueberries or bananas) or the occasional chocolate chips. You must be a freaking genius …..or maybe I’m just a little slow? Either way, I’m TOTALLY going to mix in some spinach, onion, & tomato to the VERY NEXT waffles I make – maybe this weekend???

  3. March 10, 2011 1:16 pm

    What a genius idea! Ive never even heard of savory waffles before! I bet it tasted amazing!

  4. March 10, 2011 1:29 pm

    I loved Cinderella too and Odette from Swan Princess πŸ™‚ love the savory waffle idea, I’ve never tried that before

  5. March 10, 2011 2:02 pm

    I loved Belle from Beauty and the Beast – because we both had brown hair! haha πŸ™‚

  6. March 10, 2011 2:13 pm

    I love your savory waffle! This is the second time today I’ve cursed myself for not having a waffle iron!

  7. March 10, 2011 2:27 pm

    My favorite princess was Belle from Beauty & the Beast! πŸ™‚

    I love the idea of a savory waffle–that would bomb topped with hummus!

  8. March 10, 2011 2:31 pm

    Savory waffle? Awesome idea!
    My favorite princesses were belle and jasmine. Belle because I’m most like her and Jasmine because I thought she was the toughest. =D

  9. March 10, 2011 2:38 pm

    My favorite Disney princess was Pocahontas! I know that a lot of people don’t consider her one of the princesses but whatever, she rocks. In fact, I was so enamored with her that I went through a super intense Pocahontas stage.. and even went to my first day of Kindergarten dressed as an Indian. πŸ™‚

  10. March 10, 2011 2:55 pm

    LOVE This savory waffle!!! very smart girlie!! mine was the little mermaid! shes a princess right? maybe not.. cnt remember!

  11. March 10, 2011 3:14 pm

    I have a waffle maker but never use it! I love the idea of mixing savory foods into waffle batter. YUM. πŸ˜€

  12. March 10, 2011 3:25 pm

    It’s been my dream since I was 5 to be Cinderella when I grow up.

    I’m still working on it. πŸ˜‰

    AND you’re so smart to bag up those little portions!

  13. March 10, 2011 3:35 pm

    I’ve never made a SAVORY waffle before!!! Yours sounds AMAZING! πŸ˜€ I love how you made little baggies of your Chocolate Waffles (I’m checking out that recipe right NOW! :))! So smart girl! πŸ˜€

    My favorite Disney Princesses are Belle, Aurora, Ariel, Cinderella, and Pocahontas! πŸ™‚

    LOVE YA!
    xoxo
    Kathleen

  14. March 10, 2011 3:53 pm

    Smart idea bagging up the waffle!
    Hm…Pocahontas! I’m not sure if she is considered to be a princess but I was obsessed. I always wanted to be her or a lost girl like wendy, haha. I loved adventures.

  15. March 10, 2011 4:01 pm

    I am pretty sure Jasmine or belle were my fav. I was obsessed with all of them though…oh those beautiful/flawless girls!

  16. March 10, 2011 4:38 pm

    That’s like what I did with my oatmeal bags! Glad you’re using the idea too:) I’ve never had a savory waffle, but it sounds fab!

  17. March 10, 2011 5:13 pm

    The savory waffle and the waffle bags are great ideas! I want to try that- no excuse not to have a great breakfast every day πŸ™‚

  18. March 10, 2011 5:21 pm

    A spinach and cheese waffle?! great great great idea!!! πŸ™‚

  19. March 10, 2011 5:40 pm

    I love spinach and cheese waffle. Oh my goodness by far one of my favorites!

  20. March 10, 2011 5:45 pm

    That’s so awesome! I’ve never seen a savory waffle before. Very creative. πŸ™‚

  21. March 10, 2011 5:59 pm

    What a neat idea! You could get really creative with savory waffles. Maybe you could make a sandwich out of them! I’d like to try that!! The waffle iron is probably my favorite kitchen appliance, but I don’t use it enough. Sometimes I make paninis with it though!

    • March 10, 2011 7:36 pm

      OH MY GOSH! That is a wonderful idea, I never even thought of that! I’ve always wanted a panini maker, but I never realized I could use the waffle iron!! THANK YOU

  22. March 10, 2011 6:24 pm

    That sounds so good! I’ll have to hunt down my mom’s waffle iron and try it, minus the cheese…

    My favorite princess was always Belle. I watched Beauty and the Beast so many times that I wrecked the vhs…

  23. healthyhelper permalink
    March 10, 2011 6:42 pm

    Wow I never thought of this lol! What a great idea! I have made savory pancakes before….but never waffles…..I’ll have to try this ASAP!

  24. healthyhelper permalink
    March 10, 2011 6:43 pm

    PS I love the new header! How did you make it?!?!?!?!

  25. March 10, 2011 7:41 pm

    I hearted Ariel =) and Belle! ❀

    your waffle looks sooooo good!!!!! i like savory over sweet =)

  26. March 10, 2011 7:50 pm

    That savoury waffle looks super!! My favourite princess was the little mermaid πŸ™‚ It’s kind of a cool coincidence that my middle name is Ariel πŸ˜€

  27. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    March 10, 2011 8:15 pm

    OooOOoo I like this idea!!

    My fav was sleeping beauty πŸ™‚

  28. March 10, 2011 9:33 pm

    LOVE YOUR HEADER!!!! IT’S AWESOME!!! waffle looks awesome..never considered one this way!! i liked cinderella too!!! i was in love with her big, poofy dress!!

  29. March 10, 2011 9:59 pm

    What a good idea!

    Definitely Belle! πŸ˜€

  30. March 10, 2011 10:58 pm

    I love making savory waffles! I just love waffles period. πŸ™‚

  31. March 10, 2011 11:17 pm

    I really need to get a waffle iron! This savory waffle sounds incredible…I love the spinach and cheese. πŸ™‚

  32. March 10, 2011 11:32 pm

    I am seriously in love with your pre-bagged waffle mixes!! Pure genius! πŸ˜€

  33. March 11, 2011 6:18 am

    Those look delicious!!! what a great idea to premake the mixes!!
    I am so excited for your blog. I’m probably going to be addicted. You are totally going to help me eat healthier! πŸ™‚

  34. March 11, 2011 8:03 am

    This is an amazing idea!!! All my favorite things in a waffle!! I just wish I had a waffle maker haha!

  35. March 12, 2011 8:32 am

    Oh girl, that waffle looks amazing! I’ve never had a savory waffle before, but I am totally drooling right now! Did you top it with anything or eat it plain?

    After you chocolate one the other day, you are SERIOUSLY making me want to buy a waffle iron!

    • March 12, 2011 1:53 pm

      I got my waffle iron for really cheap, you should try to find one at the thrift store, that’s what I did!! πŸ™‚

  36. March 12, 2011 8:33 am

    My favorite princess was Belle because when I was younger, I ALWAYS had my nose in a book! I would have killed for that library!

  37. March 12, 2011 8:55 pm

    Um. . .yeah. . .you rock! I totally have to try this!!!!

  38. March 13, 2011 8:26 am

    I love the new header and layout!!! xoxo

  39. March 14, 2011 10:08 pm

    Ive never heard of savory waffles before! Im digging it πŸ™‚

    My favorite Disney princess has always been Ariel.

  40. March 15, 2011 2:08 am

    i was a belle girl all the way… def identified with the book-nerd part and the whoel brunette thing didn’t hurt either πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

