Skip to content

Oh My Cocoa Goodness

March 9, 2011

Remember those heavenly salmon patties I made yesterday?

Well, they’re excellent crumbled onto a delicious, crunchy salad. i’mjustsayin’

<insert school work here>

‘Twas a busy day for me today! Lots of Algebra 2 to be done.

Around 4pm I was feeling snacky.

An answer to my prayers!

Chocolatey granola drowned in served with ice-cold milk?….there’s nothing better. Oh wait. Yes there is.

Chocolatey granola and ice-cold milk microwaved for 15 seconds. The chocolate chips get all gooey and warm. It’s like a big oven-fresh chocolate chip cookie, in granola form. Oh yes. Now that’s how you eat Love Grown Granola.

For dinner my mama made chili. If there’s one food that our family is famous for, it’s our chili. We’ve won First Place ribbons at church Chili Cook-Offs for our fabulous chili.

The glory of it all is, there’s no exact recipe. It’s not written down. We just get it right everytime. And I don’t know how.

***

it’s time for….

Hey, Look What I Found On My Camera!

Evan’s Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Dessert Hummus

Or as I like to call it: Flourless Cookie Dough. I actually made this a few weeks ago. Instead of maple syrup, I used stevia.

Yes it’s as good as it looks. Yes it’s made with chickpeas and peanut butter and chocolate (hey, all my favorite foods!). Yes Evan is a genius. Yes I ate this all in one day. Yes you should go make some.

Meanwhile, I’m going to go watch 17 Kids And Counting on Netflix. I loooovee that show.

Does your family have a secret recipe? Our chili!!

What’s your favorite way to eat chickpeas? Definitely cookie dough hummus!

Have a nice night dears!

44 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2011 6:36 pm

    Haha I totally posted about that hummus on my blog like a month ago! Such good stuff;)

    That cereal sounds DELICIOUS warmed in the micro. I love doing that with chocolate frosted mini wheats too-SO OOO good!

  2. runyogarepeat permalink
    March 9, 2011 6:42 pm

    I made that hummus this week and am so in love with it! I used honey, and it turned out fabulous. I’m pretty sure I would devour that cocoa goodness bag in a day.

    • March 9, 2011 6:46 pm

      Yes, I’m afraid it’s quite possible! But I want it to laaaaast, so there’s more motivation for me to not eat it all! 🙂

  3. March 9, 2011 6:58 pm

    My aunt makes a delicious Quebec pork pie called tortiere. The best ingredient is cloves. 😉

    I’ve only had hummus from chick peas. But that dessert version looks amazing!

  4. March 9, 2011 7:08 pm

    I love my family’s chili recipe too! I can’t say ours has won any awards though. 😉 I bet yours is amazing!

    It’s scary how much that hummus actually looks like cookie dough. I want to try it!

  5. March 9, 2011 7:10 pm

    Mmmm everything looks delicious!! I have a recipe for dessert hummus on my blog as well, that when I make seriously lasts about 2 days. I need to be careful when I make that stuff!!

  6. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    March 9, 2011 7:14 pm

    I LOVE Cookie dough hummus!!! Seriously I love it without any sweeteners at all 🙂 🙂

  7. oatsandspice permalink
    March 9, 2011 7:23 pm

    I have been drying to try that dessert hummus – I am glad to hear it is SO good!

  8. March 9, 2011 7:26 pm

    I think some of that granola’s being sent here, too! I can’t wait to give it a try..it definitely sounds awesome!

  9. Jessica permalink
    March 9, 2011 7:57 pm

    The granola looks soooo good. But warm milk creeps me out a bit, so maybe I’ll microwave the granola then put the ice cold milk on- kinda like a warm brownie sundae!

    • March 9, 2011 7:58 pm

      It actually didn’t get that warm since it was only 15 seconds, just enough for the chips to melt, but I know what ya mean!

  10. March 9, 2011 7:59 pm

    I spy with my little eye…MATH! WIN!

    Anywho-I’ve always wanted to try dessert hummus. It sounds so delicious and I’m already obsessed with normal hummus hehe. Is there such thing as normal hummus?

    • March 9, 2011 8:41 pm

      Haha, yep! Math galore! How’s my handwriting? 😉

      I love dessert hummus, but it can just never replace traditional!

  11. March 9, 2011 8:08 pm

    Omg that chocolate granola looks delicious! I need to find that asap. How are the calories?

  12. March 9, 2011 8:12 pm

    oh my goodness that granola looks so amazing and I want some NOW! It looks like a big bowl of love with chocolate. warm cereal = so amazingly delicious and comforting! my family’s secret recipe is calico beans! they’re amazing!

  13. March 9, 2011 8:30 pm

    Dessert hummus?! Oh my goodness I have to make that! 🙂

  14. March 9, 2011 9:26 pm

    That granola looks delicious and so does the hummus!
    My current favorite was is to eat chickpeas whole in a salad

  15. March 9, 2011 9:53 pm

    Oh man, I have to admit, I don’t miss Algebra, haha!

    The granola looks great and so does the hummus. Which surprises me since I’m not really a hummus kinda girl. In fact… it looks awfully tempting. I’m thinking I might be brave enough to try it at some point soon…..

  16. March 9, 2011 10:14 pm

    I wish we had a secret recipe! Especially for chili, that’s like the king of homecooked deliciousness. I really want to try the dessert hummus, but I always forget to buy chickpeas! I seriously need to change that ASAP!

  17. March 9, 2011 10:16 pm

    haha thats awesome you guys have no recipe for the chili and yet it comes out perfect every time! looks amazing!

  18. healthyhelper permalink
    March 9, 2011 10:27 pm

    Haha that show is so funny! I don’t know how they deal with 17 (I think its 19 now?) kids!
    That humus looks amazing…gotta try that!

  19. March 9, 2011 10:28 pm

    omg i’m def trying this! You always have the best recipes!! I didn’t have time to make your cookies again tonight because I was at work late but I promise I will….maybe after I try this one tho! haha

  20. March 9, 2011 10:40 pm

    I still need to try this dessert hummus! Looks like you had an awesome day 🙂

    Our family “secret” recipe is to my moms cheesecake…its honestly amazing. And her meat pie (she doesnt actually even have a recipe written she said it just needs to be learned and passed on…) ps meat pie sounds very gross but we have it at christmas. Its pretty much pork, turkey, hamburger some other stuff all in a flaky buttery crust (obvs very unhealthy) but pretty tasty for a once a year tradition!

  21. March 9, 2011 10:54 pm

    Cookie dough hummus? I love hummus and I love cookie dough…I am very intrigued! I will have to give it a try! 🙂

  22. March 9, 2011 11:16 pm

    I made Evan’s dessert hummus a couple weeks ago! YES, it is REALLY THAT GOOD! I loveeeed it with pretzels. You should try it with maple syrup next time, its a really good addition!

  23. March 10, 2011 12:03 am

    Just looking at your math notes makes me remember how much I DON’T miss taking math. Shudder..
    I’ve never thought about microwaving granola, that sounds delish! I’ll definitely have to try that sometime.
    Woah, woah, woah. You mean cookie dough that you can eat/won’t give you salmonella/is semi-healthy!?? Kayla I freaking love you. I definitely am going to making that once I get some chickpeas.

  24. March 10, 2011 1:20 am

    Why have I not made that hummus?!

  25. Christine Peh permalink
    March 10, 2011 2:47 am

    Oh my.. cookie dough hummus! Who would have thought?! 😀
    Great idea! Must try that out one of these days.

  26. March 10, 2011 6:24 am

    I need that hummus in my life! =D

  27. March 10, 2011 6:51 am

    i love that first picture. That salad just looks outstanding. come be my meal preparer!

  28. March 10, 2011 7:45 am

    I love chocolate granola!! And that “cookie dough”????? I MUST make that!!

    Good luck with your Algebra 2!! That was my favorite class last year! 😀

  29. March 10, 2011 8:03 am

    Cookie dough hummus!!! That looks so so good! The chocolate oats look like a yummy snack! I need to try that. Good luck with all your schoolwork!

  30. March 10, 2011 8:18 am

    i LOVED algebra II it was my fav course in high schoool!!! probs cuz my teacher was awesome! we dnt have any secret recipes– thats no fun!!.. chickpeas in hummus for sure!

  31. March 10, 2011 9:04 am

    Chocolate granola?! That’s doing it right. 🙂 Good idea to microwave it.

    I tried Evan’s snickerdoodle hummus recently and ate it all with a spoon. I’ll have to try the peanut butter chocolate chip one.

  32. March 10, 2011 11:01 am

    That dessert hummus looks heavenly! Looks like you and your fam definitely have a knack for good food 🙂

  33. March 10, 2011 11:35 am

    Cookie dough hummus?! That looks like perfection 🙂 And I love 17 Kids and Counting! That family just boggles my mind!

  34. March 10, 2011 12:51 pm

    My family has secret recipes for BBQ sauce, cole slaw, potato salad, beans, and dry meat rubs… my parents owned a damn good BBQ restaurant back in the day! 🙂

    • March 11, 2011 9:22 am

      That’s awesome, I bet everyone loves it when they cook!

  35. March 11, 2011 12:19 am

    I love Algebra II!!! It was one of my favorite courses! 😀

    I have been wanting to try some dessert hummus so much!!! Your’s looks divine! 😀

    xoxo
    Kathleen

  36. March 12, 2011 8:37 am

    Oh my goodness, why have I never thought to heat up granola and milk? Sounds absolutely dreamy!

    Favorite way to eat chickpeas: DEFINITELY in dessert hummus!

    It’s not really a “secret” recipe, but my mom makes some killer enchiladas and then we also have a creamy chicken recipe handed down from my great grandmother that is served over crumbled cornbread!

  37. April 12, 2011 12:40 pm

    I JUST finished my cocoa goodness LGF granola. it was such a sad, sad day. 😦

Trackbacks

  1. Fridays = New Recipes! « This Italian Family

Leave a Reply

