Skip to content

Chia Doggy Treats

February 16, 2011

Are people stupid about their pets?

Well, I know I am.

I begged and cried and begged for a dog my whole life. Finally, about 3 years ago my parents gave in and let me get Chipper.

I was overjoyed! He is not the most well-behaved dog, but he’s a sweetie and I love him so much! He adds so much laughter to my life!

Sometimes I make treats for him and thought I would share the recipe I came up with!

They’re made mostly with a little peanut butter andΒ Cheerios. Two of Chipper’s favorite things.

And they’re easy because they’re no-bake.

And I added chia seeds. I don’t really know why.

Chia Doggy Treats

Add to a food processor and process until doughy:

1/3 cup Cheerios

1/3 cup dry oats

2 Tbsp. milk

Transfer dough to a small bowl and stir in:

2 tsp. peanut butter

optional: 2 tsp. chia seeds*

Form into balls, depending on how big your dog is. Chipper is a little poodle/maltese mix, so I make the balls pretty tiny.

Store the balls in a small plastic baggie, seal it well, and keep in the refrigerator for 2 days. After 2-3 days, I bet they’ll go bad.

*I put chia seeds in them on a whim! I basically just wanted to let Chipper in on all the benefits of chia seeds, haha. But you don’t have to add them.

This recipe makes a ball of dough a little smaller than my palm.

It’s the perfect amount for Chipper, but he’s pretty small! If you have more than one dog, or a big dog you will probably want to double/triple the recipe!

I spoil my dog.

Don’t you?

P.S Check out Ashlei’s giveaway!

43 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2011 1:57 pm

    Chipper is tooo too cute!!i have a sheltie.. he would LOVE these treats- so cute!

  2. February 16, 2011 2:12 pm

    Opie is the same way πŸ™‚ she’s naughty but I adore her. She loves carrots as a treat, but I bet shed love these too!!

    • February 16, 2011 2:44 pm

      Chipper loves carrots, too! It’s the funniest thing to hear him crunch away on them!

  3. Ashlei permalink
    February 16, 2011 2:26 pm

    Thanks for linking to my giveaway! πŸ™‚

  4. February 16, 2011 3:38 pm

    Aww Chipper is adorable! Oreo would love these treats… he’s addicted to peanut butter!

  5. February 16, 2011 5:37 pm

    Aw, your dog is so adorable!! I wish I had one. That’s the first thing I’m doing when I move out!

    • February 16, 2011 7:30 pm

      Lol that’s the same thing I told my bf! I want a puppy πŸ˜€

  6. February 16, 2011 6:45 pm

    You could freeze any leftovers!! That’s what I do when I make treats for my pups and then just take out what they need for a couple days at a time!

  7. February 16, 2011 6:55 pm

    Yes, I am WAY stupid over my cat. I love that you make treats for your dog, he’s a lucky little pup!

  8. February 16, 2011 7:32 pm

    Awe thats adorable. My dogs are fatties like me and would eat all of the treats within milaseconds.

  9. Ayla permalink
    February 16, 2011 8:00 pm

    I definitely spoil my dog! My whole family spoils her. It’s hard not to because she’s so freaking adorable.

    Chipper is a cutie too! I love dogs. πŸ™‚

  10. runyogarepeat permalink
    February 16, 2011 8:05 pm

    Aw so cute! Gotta give your dog good nutrition too. I miss my dog so much when I’m at school, I can’t wait to get my own puppy!

  11. February 16, 2011 8:10 pm

    That’s seriously adorable. I would do anything for my dogs at home. I’m moving to SF next week and I’m probably going to spend way more for a not-as-nice apartment because I just want one where I can have a at. So yeah, I’m a pet person too πŸ™‚

  12. February 16, 2011 8:38 pm

    I’m pretty sure I’d end up eating these myself. πŸ˜›

    • February 17, 2011 10:48 am

      They are pretty tasty πŸ™‚ I’ve certainly had a few!

  13. February 16, 2011 9:09 pm

    Aw, he is so cute! I wish I had a dog. I would definitely spoil him/her with treats like that. πŸ™‚

  14. February 16, 2011 9:11 pm

    Hmm, I may have to consider making these for our hotel dog! You’re dog is so adorable; just a little fluff ball. πŸ™‚

  15. February 16, 2011 10:30 pm

    Your dog is so cute!! I always spoil mine too!
    My pup loves sweet potatoes as much as I do so I always share with her πŸ™‚

  16. February 16, 2011 10:40 pm

    He is too sweet! I love his sweet little face!

    I am crazy about my bird. I know it sounds weird, but birds totally have a personality- mine is a little sass!

  17. February 16, 2011 10:50 pm

    I would totally eat those treats. They actually sound good.

    Chipper reminds me of the American Girl Doll dog, I think its name is Coco? So cute!

    • February 17, 2011 10:47 am

      Haha, you’re right!! He totally does!! I used to love American Girl!! πŸ™‚

  18. February 16, 2011 10:56 pm

    Such a great idea girl! If I had a dog I’d be making these RIGHT NOW!!! πŸ˜€

  19. February 16, 2011 11:57 pm

    oh myy, Chipper is adorable!! I did the same thing to get my dog haha. I can’t wait to try this recipe for my pup! Thanks!!

  20. February 17, 2011 1:48 am

    Delicious treats and recipe! I expect nothing less from you and your awesome recipe posts! your doggie is a cutie

  21. February 17, 2011 1:55 am

    WHAT a cutie! I have a really good easy dog treat recipe that’s basically just pb, flour and milk that I always make for my dogs… and my mom usually eats half of them πŸ˜›

    ❀
    n

  22. February 17, 2011 7:51 am

    your dog is absolutely precious! looks like a little bear!

  23. February 17, 2011 9:58 am

    Oh my gosh, your dog is adorable! I spoil my dog too

  24. February 17, 2011 2:38 pm

    CUTE!

    when chloe gets old enough to expand her snacking horizons (which better happen quickly, because she’s pretty jealous of her snackin’ mama), I’m going to experiment with some home made treaties. πŸ™‚

    and chipper is just presh!

  25. February 17, 2011 3:16 pm

    Aw, I love that your made your dog some treats!! So cute! πŸ™‚

  26. February 17, 2011 4:03 pm

    Yum!! Ty (my dog!) would love these! I make him peanut butter dog treats sometimes too:) Your dog is super cute ahh!! He looks a lot like mine (<3 little white fluff ball dogs!) So jealous of your 75 degree weather!!

  27. February 17, 2011 7:23 pm

    Hehe~funny thing is, I WOULD love to try these! Sounds good πŸ˜› He’s so cute!! i love his name! reminds me of a dog I used to hang out with when I was 2 lol

  28. theflourishingfoodie permalink
    February 17, 2011 10:01 pm

    Chipper is so cute! I love that you put chia seeds in his treats πŸ™‚

  29. February 18, 2011 12:29 am

    Your dog is too cute and so are you for making dog treats with chia seeds. Dogs need to say healthy too, right?

  30. February 18, 2011 6:00 am

    Chipper is ADORABLE!! I have a miniature schnauzer called Buddy, and he’d LOVE those!! I love how you’ve ‘healified’ your dog’s food!! πŸ˜€

  31. February 18, 2011 7:19 am

    I don’t spoil my dogs at all; what are you talking about?!?! πŸ˜‰ (In reality, my dogs are some of the most spoiled dogs ever!)

    I love making dog treats for my dogs!! I really need to post my recipes some time! Dogs deserve healthy food just as much as we do! I want to try your doggy treat recipes sometime (actually, my dogs want to try your recipe πŸ˜‰ )

    Chipper is SO CUTE!!!!

  32. February 18, 2011 9:10 am

    IF I had a dog, I’d probably spoil it, because I tend to be that way. Guess it’s a good thing I’m not a dog person, then… πŸ˜‰

    Chipper is cute, though! πŸ™‚

    ❀ ❀

  33. February 18, 2011 11:12 am

    I have been wanting a dog for a while… I’m sure when I move in with my boyfriend we will get one and I will spoil him!
    Your dog is so healthy with it’s chia seeds πŸ˜‰

  34. February 18, 2011 11:43 am

    thats awesome! My pups will love these!

  35. February 20, 2011 8:37 am

    he is precious like a little doll

  36. February 20, 2011 8:33 pm

    Ah! He is SO cute! I’ve never tried making treats for my dog before, but it looks fun so I might have to try it out!

  37. Kaila @ healthyhelperblog! permalink
    February 23, 2011 2:19 pm

    your dog is so adorable! i have a quick question… what do you do to increase your readership? i am trying to expand my blog and it’s seems like you have a lot of followers so I was just wondering! πŸ™‚ thanks!

Leave a Reply

