Skip to content

What Have I Been Up To?

February 15, 2011

It feels like ages since I last blogged….

but it’s only been 6 days!!

So what have I been up to?

I took the dreaded ACT test. I’m just glad it’s over and I have another year to prepare for the next one.

In other news…

I made hummus! It’s still not better than store bought though, I think I still need to work on the recipe.

I made bread over the weekend! I used a recipe that Kelsey raved about. To be honest, I still like my old recipe <—click for recipe.

This recipe took a lot longer and my whole family likes my other recipe better and it’s quicker, too! It wasn’t bad, though.

But what bread isn’t good smeared with Artisana’sย Cacao Bliss and topped with honey and coconut? ๐Ÿ˜‰

I made energy/protein bars! I kind of based them off of Kristi’s Brownie Protein Bars except I didn’t follow the recipe at all. I just threw a bunch of stuff together and then froze them.

My brothers and mom loved them, it was a great cold treat and a great energy boost! But sadly, I couldn’t recreate them, I have NO idea exactly what measurements I used to make them ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Okay, well I gotta go, but I’ll be back tomorrow! Thanks for reading guys!

What’s your favorite kitchen experience?

26 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2011 6:29 pm

    I took the ACT’s too. I’m hoping that I do well enough that I don’t have to take them again, because I know I have to take the SAT’s multiple times.

    The protein bars look like a great snack! Next time make sure you write down what you did, because I’ve always wanted to make them.

  2. February 15, 2011 6:40 pm

    Those protein bars look REALLY good ๐Ÿ˜€ I wish you had the recipe for them :p

  3. February 15, 2011 6:49 pm

    Now that the ACT test is over, you probably feel like a weight is off your chest. I remember studying for it, dreading it, and finally getting the results. I hope you did well!

  4. February 15, 2011 6:49 pm

    I bet you rocked the ACTs! I’ve never made hummus before, but it sounds like fun! I love baking cookies in the kitchen. That’s prob my fave experience.

  5. February 15, 2011 7:07 pm

    Gah I hate those tests!! Good luck!! I love making granola bars at home. I too have forgotten what I put in them before though. I hate that because they always end up really good too!!

  6. February 15, 2011 7:14 pm

    Girl, I hope you did well on the ACTS. I hated them more then the SATS. Now you can breath! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. February 15, 2011 7:16 pm

    Seems like you’ve been up to quite a lot!!!
    I love all those goodies you’ve been making, and hope you did well on ur ACT!!!

  8. February 15, 2011 7:28 pm

    Hope you did well on the ACTs – it’s always a relief when I big test is over – no more worrying about it and studying! I took the SATs just for fun in the 7th grade and actually thought they weren’t that bad. Of course, I didn’t have all the pressure since it didn’t count. I’m such a nerd. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    How was the Vegan Challenge?

    • February 15, 2011 10:16 pm

      I wonder what the difference between the ACT and SAT is? The college I want to attend takes ACT scores, so that’s why I’m taking the ACT.

  9. February 15, 2011 7:35 pm

    I hated studying for the ACT, hope you did well! And I love making sushi in the kitchen, so much fun ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. February 15, 2011 7:50 pm

    I’m preparing to take the SAT right now. Do you feel that you did well on the ACT???

    Today I made some Bread for a neighbor of ours. The smell of fresh bread has engulfed my house (which bytheway, I am not sad about in the least ;)). Hehe, I’m going to go make some more for us :D. Freshly Baked Bread is the BEST!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

  11. February 15, 2011 7:55 pm

    I remember that blasted ACT… I bet you did great!!

  12. February 15, 2011 8:11 pm

    thanks for checking out my recipe girlie! I’m glad your family liked them too! I could sooo help you out with hummus…I’m going to post a dessert hummus later this week that I have been LOVING!!!

    • February 15, 2011 10:19 pm

      I have been hearing so much about this dessert hummus going around, I’ve even printed a few recipes that I want to try! I can’t wait to see yours, too!

  13. February 15, 2011 8:15 pm

    Ah the ACT… gotta love it. It’s like a rite of passage almost, haha! I actually took it my sophomore year of high school and didn’t sweat it ’cause I knew I had plenty more chances to take it again. At least that’s what I thought.

    After my sophomore year my parents looked at my ACT score and my grades and decided that I didn’t reaaally need two more years of high school. So I did my jr/sr years combined. It was a ridiculous amount of work, but I survived. Anyway, I did get the chance to take the ACT once more just before I graduated high school (at 16, mind you) and I only scored one point higher than the first time I took it. Mostly because I test much better when relaxed (like the first time) than I do when stressed (the second time). Thankfully I scored well enough to secure college scholarships and that was what was important to me. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Anyway, regardless how you do, don’t let your score define you. I remember in high school how some of my friends would brag about their 30+ scores and make other friends who scored much lower feel badly about themselves. It’s just a test. And a standardized one at that. The ACT has a lot more to do with how well you take standardized tests than it has to do with how smart you are. If you can’t tell, I’m pretty highly opposed to standardized testing, haha! I studied a lot about this in one of my classes in college. It’s all stuck with me (obviously). Haha!

    Ookay, so it’s time to end this ridiculously long comment. Sorry about that, haha!

    • February 15, 2011 10:18 pm

      I took it last year (freshman) and I took it again this year for my sophomore year of high school and I’m going to take it again probably two more times until I get a really good score that I’m happy about! I think it’s so cool that you got such a good score the first time you did it! And that you got college scholarships, that is awesome.

      I am such a sloooow test taker. I work well under pressure though.

  14. oatsandspice permalink
    February 15, 2011 8:31 pm

    YUMMM – the protein bars look delishhh! I WANTTT them ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. February 15, 2011 8:52 pm

    I feel like hummus is always hit or miss! Sometimes I nail it and sometimes it doesn’t compare to store bought ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Same with guacamole! Sometimes it turns out great! sometimes… meh ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  16. February 15, 2011 8:57 pm

    I don’t have to take the ACT or SAT but I am in a similar position with blogging as I have some important tests this week.
    Hmmm I’m not sure what my favourite kitchen experience has been. I enjoy each time I bake because I find it fun and relaxing!

  17. February 15, 2011 10:28 pm

    I’ve thought about making hummus before, but never actually given it a try (although I’ll have to soon!). I hope you did well on your ACTs. ๐Ÿ™‚ I never had to take them, but I did take the SAT. Long tests like that are never fun.

  18. February 15, 2011 10:34 pm

    I made a spiced hummus from Cara’s Cravings. It was sooo good!

    The energy bars look like Lara Bars! ๐Ÿ™‚

  19. February 15, 2011 11:09 pm

    Ohhh the ACT, what fond memories (not). You can do it though! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I love most kitchen experiences… and just throwing things in a bowl and crossing my fingers and having it turn out brilliantly is always fun! ๐Ÿ™‚

  20. February 16, 2011 1:37 am

    I make my own hummus all the time and LOVE it! I use a lot of garlic, lemon and cumin. I found a recipe on http://www.kissmyspatula.com that is great and used it as a guide when I was getting started. Now I just throw it all in the food processor and go =P If you are looking for a good protein bar recipe I wrote a post a while back that you might like http://livlovelaugh.wordpress.com/2010/05/06/on-the-go-protein-bars/ I like your blog and your spirit of healthy eating!
    ~another healthy-eating teen =)

  21. February 16, 2011 7:34 am

    I hope you did well on the ACT!!! I did the best on the ACT – but I hated it all…!

  22. February 16, 2011 11:27 pm

    Congrats on taking the ACT! I’m sure you did great!

    I actually have a lot of favorite kitchen experiences, but one of the top ones was the first time I made a blog recipe for banana avocado muffins! It was a new baking adventure and I thought it was totally crazy using avocado in baked goods! Not anymore, those muffins officially converted me into an avocado lover!

    • February 17, 2011 11:24 am

      I once made avocado banana bread and it was surprisingly very delicious!

Leave a Reply

