Skip to content

Pumpkin-Maple-Cinnamon Oatmeal For Two

February 2, 2011

I’ve been eating breakfast at 11am lately, so it’s more like brunch! Kind of a weird habit, it’s mostly because I don’t finish my workout until 10:30!

Well, today I had to get a little creative with breakfast since we are out of bananas, spinach AND yogurt.

I had a half-empty (half-full?) can of pumpkin sitting in the fridge so I thought pumpkin oatmeal sounded fantastic!

I have done TONS of oatmeal experimentations and usually they don’t come out so wonderful. My common problems are the oats are too runny or don’t have great taste.

But I think I’m finally mastering the art of oatmeal making (yes, it’s an art) because my pumpkin oats were fabulous!

I have learned that I love cooking my oats on low temperatures for a looong time. I feel like it just turns out better that way, the flavors have a longer time to meld together and the oats stay a little chewy.

PUMPKIN-MAPLE-CINNAMON OATMEAL FOR TWO

– 2/3 cup oats

– 1 cup water

– 1 cup milk

– 1 Tbsp. cinnamon

– 1/3 t. ground ginger, 1/3 t. nutmeg

– 1/2 t. vanilla extract

– 1/3 t. maple extract

– 1/2 cup canned pumpkin puree

– 1 Tbsp. chia seeds (optional)

Add the oats, liquid, spices and extract to a small pot and turn the heat to a medium-low setting. Whisk the mixture together and let them cook for 15-20 minutes until the mixture is thick and the oats are done. Towards the end of the cooking, whisk in the pumpkin and chia seeds. Serves 2.

I was thinking maple syrup would be excellent on top, but it’s Sugar-Free Week Day 2, so I refrained!

We garnished ours with shredded coconut, chopped walnuts and cashew butter from Artisana. I love the cashew butter, the only ingredients are organic cashews and it is wonderfully creamy and delicious. Much better than my homemade cashew butter!

I always ask you guys a question, so let’s switch it up. How about you ask me a question! Here’s your chance to ask me, silly or serious…whatever you want!

41 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2011 1:15 pm

    What’s your dream job

  2. Gill (snaxandthecity) permalink
    February 2, 2011 1:31 pm

    Woah, amazing looking oatmeal there! I also cook mine for aaaagggess – it makes all the difference!

    Hmmm a question – what country do you wish you could visit?

  3. Alexandra permalink
    February 2, 2011 1:41 pm

    that oatmeal looks delicious!!!

    Question:

    have you ever been to/wanted to go to a public school? and what do you think you’ll want to study in college?

  4. February 2, 2011 1:47 pm

    brunch is the best meal, in my opinion. This recipe just confirms that, yum.
    πŸ˜‰

  5. February 2, 2011 1:59 pm

    oats look beautiful and presented so well!
    hmm..
    what is your dream job?!?!?

  6. February 2, 2011 2:30 pm

    This looks good! I love pumpkin in my oats!!!!

    Hmmmmmmm question, how is your mom loving the working out and eating plan?! xoxo

  7. February 2, 2011 2:41 pm

    Looks delicious!! I’m so impatient when I cook that I always boil my oatmeal to death! Haha, it still tastes good though!

    Do you like horses? (Big surprise that I asked that question πŸ˜‰ )

  8. February 2, 2011 2:46 pm

    what’s your favorite workout?! πŸ™‚

    i love pumpkin in oatmeal! it really makes it volumnous!

  9. February 2, 2011 3:00 pm

    Mmm! I love the presentation here, it looks super cute and super yummy πŸ™‚
    I agree on the longer cook time – when I can be bothered, which is rarely, I like to cook steel cut oats.

  10. February 2, 2011 3:24 pm

    Yummy!

    Hmm… question… how about, all time favorite movie?

  11. February 2, 2011 4:20 pm

    What is your earliest memory? πŸ™‚

  12. February 2, 2011 4:27 pm

    whoaaaaaaaaa how about where did you get the cutest pumpkin bowl in the world! πŸ˜‰ n

  13. February 2, 2011 5:33 pm

    Those oats look awesome!!!!!!!!

  14. February 2, 2011 5:52 pm

    Woow that looks great! Yummy! Pumpkin and maple is SUCH a great combo!! πŸ˜€

    Okay, erm fun one: What are your 5 Desert Island Essentials? You pick 5 things that you can have with you when stranded on a desert island. What are they? πŸ™‚

  15. February 2, 2011 6:40 pm

    Kayla, I just love your recipes! Makes me want to stock up on oatmaeal, fruit and healthy stuff and do a workout. Well, maybe not that last one…

  16. February 2, 2011 7:00 pm

    Oatmeal making is most Definitely an art; no one could disagree! I’m obsessed with Chia Seeds in oats now..omg it’s so good and they get such good volume! I also LOVE pumpkin oats, and I’ve made it almost the exact same way as your recipe calls for:) At first when I read your post, I forgot you were homeschooled so I was thinking, how do you eat at 11 and workout at 10:30!? But then, you don’t have to go to school…so lucky sometimes!

  17. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    February 2, 2011 7:18 pm

    WHOA! That looks like a pumpkin pie from heaaaaaven πŸ™‚

    I haven’t been eating bfast until late either….I don’t get hungry in the morning anymore, and I get done with my morning workout around….10?

    • February 2, 2011 10:06 pm

      Same here! It’s weird because I always used to be starving when I first woke up, now I’m not! At least not until I’ve worked out!

  18. February 2, 2011 7:56 pm

    That looks SO SO good! I have some pumpkin I need to use up too but I havent been feeling well so I’ve been lazy…

    How are you liking Sugar Free week so far? I’m thinking of doing a month!

  19. February 2, 2011 8:20 pm

    Your oats look incredible!!! You are so artistic! I love it!

    What is your favorite fruit? nut? veggie?

  20. February 2, 2011 8:31 pm

    Mmm, I absolutely love pumpkin oatmeal, and yours looks delicious! I always cook my oats for a long time at a low temperature too- it makes all the difference. πŸ™‚

  21. February 2, 2011 8:42 pm

    I need to try cooking my oatmeal at a low temp. I usually do it hot and fast
    My question is… what do you do to make yourself happy when you are sad?

  22. February 2, 2011 8:54 pm

    I agree that it is an art, congrats!!! I am rarely successful at oatmeal creations lol!

  23. February 2, 2011 10:27 pm

    That oatmeal does look amazing!! I’m so used to making them in the microwave; I’ll have to try baking and stove top.

    Where do you hope to see yourself in 5 years??

  24. runyogarepeat permalink
    February 2, 2011 10:27 pm

    Are your friends or family interested in health and nutrition as well?

  25. February 2, 2011 11:39 pm

    Oh my gosh, those oats look incredible!! I need to find me some maple extract pronto!

    My question: When did you become so interested in healthy eating and who was your inspiration?

    I admire your knowledge and motivation at such a young age! Wish I knew then what I know now!

  26. February 2, 2011 11:43 pm

    Perfect combo for two πŸ™‚

    What is your favorite thing to do on a day off?

  27. February 3, 2011 12:02 am

    I just ran to my kitchen and make pumpkin yogurt because of this pumpkin post You made me realize what I was craving all day LOL

  28. February 3, 2011 12:52 am

    Looks so delicious! I’ve never tried cashew butter before!

  29. February 3, 2011 7:19 am

    Those oats look delicious! So fancy! πŸ™‚

  30. February 3, 2011 1:32 pm

    If you could only eat one thing the rest of your life, what would it be?

  31. February 3, 2011 3:01 pm

    I love that little dish you use! so cute and fancy :D. the oats sound great, I have definitely done my experiencing as well and some do NOT turn out good πŸ˜‰

  32. February 3, 2011 5:54 pm

    I always cook my oats in more water for much longer, too. It makes them so much more voluminous as well!

  33. February 3, 2011 6:19 pm

    My pumpkin oats always turn out bad 😦

    However, the picture of your oats just may inspire me too try it once more!

    Whitney

  34. February 3, 2011 6:59 pm

    good luck on your sugar free week! i did one similar a while back and man…you realize EVERYTHING has it! no wonder we’re so addicted.

    my question is: team edward or team jacob?

  35. February 4, 2011 10:11 am

    Omgggg how delicious!! *Adds to recipe list*

  36. February 4, 2011 3:24 pm

    Heyy don’t give up on the cafe dream Kayla! I think you’d be a great owner with your sweeet smile πŸ™‚ And it’s great that someday you may wanna go on missions. The best thing ever.

  37. February 5, 2011 1:51 pm

    cashew butter is so delightfully creamy and buttery and delicious! I love it! πŸ™‚

    these oats look soooo good! i love pumpkin.

Trackbacks

  1. Recipes! « Little Miss Healthify

Leave a Reply

