Skip to content

Turn Up The Volume (Oats)

February 1, 2011

It’s February! I love a new month. It’s sort of a crazy thing about me.

The goals I made for 2011 in general were very broad, so I’m going to make monthly, short term goals instead that will help me keep my head on straight!

February Goals:

1) Drink 6 glasses of water every day. I never drink enough water. It’s not that I don’t like water, I just always forget to drink it! Haha.

2) Be active for at least 30 minutes every day. This could be bike riding, elliptical, a workout video, yoga, anything! My problem is, if I miss a workout in the morning, I tend to stay completely sedentary for the rest of the day.

3) Eat one. As you know, I loooove baking. I always bake stuff, then eat about 3+ servings which is waaaay too much. Then I restrict my eating the next day, then I binge. It’s a horrible horrible cycle, but I’m going to beat it this month! When I bake, I will only eat one. They will still be there tomorrow!

4) Start doing yoga. This is something I’ve wanted to do for a long time. I just put Jillian Michael’s Yoga Meltdown in our Netflix, so I’ll be getting it in a few days! Can’t wait to get started. I’ll probably experiment with lots of yoga DVDs from Netflix and see what I like.

So, these are my goals for this month!

***

My mom has announced to me that she wants to go on the “Kayla Diet”. Everything I eat, she will eat now, too. She has weight to lose and has said that if I can help her lose 20 lbs. we’ll go celebrate with a day at the salon (!!) or maybe even a trip to Whole Foods!!!

To start the month off right with my mom’s new plan, we went to the gym and did a little hodge podge of things.

  • 15 minutes of ab work on the machines
  • 5 minutes on the StairMaster
  • and 20 minutes on the elliptical

Then we came home and had a sugar-free breakfast. (It is the first day of Sugar-Free week, did you remember?)

I prepped our oatmeal last night, using Kristi’s How-To.

This was probably the BIGGEST and most FILLING bowl of oatmeal I’ve ever had! This mug is absolutely humongous and look how well it held the oatsl!

I used instant oats, not oat bran like Kristi does. I stirred in frozen blueberries, topped with 1/2 a banana and 1/2 the Raw Almond Butter packet from Artisana each.

It was my first time having  Raw Almond Butter, it wasn’t bad, but I think roasted > raw!

The mixture of pumpkin, egg whites, chia and water made the oats super VOLUMIOUS! I loved it, even my mom who isn’t really into oatmeal loved it! She kept saying, “This is huge. I won’t be hungry for lunch!”. In fact it’s 2:10pm and we still aren’t hungry!

***

My mom was a bit concerned with the carb content of our breakfast. “I shouldn’t be eating carbs if I’m trying to lose weight” she said.

I informed her that in all the health, diet and nutrition info I’ve read, it’s never said to cut out carbs. When you cut out carbs, you will lose weight, but it is water weight and will come back when you start eating carbs again. You can’t avoid carbs your whole life!

I told her that we will be eating healthy carbs like oatmeal, whole grain bread, quinoa, whole wheat pasta and fruit. And that she shouldn’t worry about eating carbs, but worry about how much she is eating. Like everything, you have to eat carbs in moderation.

Am I right about this?

***

One more thing:

I have been on a bit of a break and haven’t signed up for any more online high school classes since I finished my last ones in December. But that has changed and I am now signed up and taking Biology and Algebra 2 online. It’s nice to be back to doing schoolwork. Kind of…

What are your plans for February?

29 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2011 2:38 pm

    How neat that your mom wants to go on the Kayla diet!
    You obviously make her proud and she wants to eat healthy like you!
    If you can eat just ONE, bless you! That’s self control, especially when the treats are so good.
    We are iced in today, snow coming, lots of it, I want spring!

    • February 1, 2011 2:58 pm

      Thank you! It definitely DOES take self control, but I can do it!! 🙂

  2. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    February 1, 2011 2:44 pm

    Fun! God luck to your mom on the “Kayla Diet!”

    I have the same problem as you-I will eat 6 of my little muffins, and then there won’t be any left tomorrow, and I won’t get enough veggies in that day! Ugh….

    You are totally right about the carb-thing. If you cut back on carbs, all you will do is crave carbs and feel less energetic. You NEED carbs for your body to work-but the right carbs from whole grains and fruits and veggies. Complimenting carbs, protein and fat will help you feel full.

    • February 1, 2011 3:01 pm

      Exactly, I think the media has just really messed up what people think of carbs! They’re energy!!

  3. February 1, 2011 2:47 pm

    February I Plan to workout for 45 mins a day instead of 30 its a small change but still worth it!

  4. February 1, 2011 2:49 pm

    You’re definitely right to encourage her to eat *good* carbs. I think it’s so cool that your mom is using you as an inspiration for her diet, good luck on that spa trip 😉

  5. February 1, 2011 2:53 pm

    That is so great that your mom wants to get healthy and lose weight. Good luck to her! You are right that quantity is more important than anything. As long as you are eating good carbs (like whole grains and fruit) instead of the processed stuff, then you are fine. And even the processed stuff is okay every once in a while. Everything in moderation!

  6. February 1, 2011 3:17 pm

    Great goals Kayla!

    I think it’s awesome that you are helping your Mom lose weight! I hope everything goes well for her.

    Oh and I tried raw almond butter the other day too. Roasted is so much better in my opinion.

    Have a great day! 😀

    • February 1, 2011 3:18 pm

      PS – I’ve been sugar-free and sweetener-free all day today and it was easy-peasy! YAY! 🙂

      • February 1, 2011 4:17 pm

        Yay! It’s so much easier than you would think, isn’t it?

  7. February 1, 2011 3:18 pm

    I’m trying to work on drinking more water too! Like you, I love water, I just forget!

    Your oats look fabulous! My dad often joins me in the “Alex diet.” It feels great when parents want to eat like us!

    I’m hoping my February will consist of a lot of volunteering, baking, and riding my horsey! 🙂

  8. February 1, 2011 3:42 pm

    Yes I completely agree. Everything in moderation. Your goals look really good this month! You will rock them girl!

  9. February 1, 2011 4:04 pm

    This is awesome that you are helping your mom! Me and my mom both want to lose like 5 pounds!

  10. February 1, 2011 4:22 pm

    Wow those oats look amazing! yumm 🙂 And you’re right about consuming carbs. Although your body doesn’t need them they are way too fun to eat and give you some energy. Losing weight is just a matter of eating fewer calories than your maintenance can handle. It’s nonsense to deprive yourself of any food group. Eat what you want but the amount you need.

  11. February 1, 2011 4:23 pm

    Those goals are totally the same as mine, especially the water and yoga one! Im totally doing a post on water today. I never get enough!

  12. February 1, 2011 5:06 pm

    That’s so cool that you’re helping your mom! Good luck to her 🙂

  13. February 1, 2011 5:11 pm

    My parents say the same thing! Of course, I’m not at home so they can’t follow my diet, but whenever we go out or what not they’ll order what I order because “they know it’s healthy” and they’ll ask my opinion on stuff all the time. Good luck to your mom losing the weight- she can do it for sure with your help! And as for the carbs thing, it works for different people. High protein/low carb works for a lot of people..but it honestly made me gain weight, not just muscle, but actual inches. I’m much happier (and thinner) on a normal diet, which is 60-65% carbs, 30% protein, and 15% fat. Also, the brain needs carbs. That whole “low blood sugar” feeling comes from your body not having enough carbs to convery into glucose for metabolism.

  14. February 1, 2011 5:37 pm

    I love the eat ‘one’ approach – I could certainly do with that approach!

  15. oatsandspice permalink
    February 1, 2011 6:28 pm

    That is so cute your mom is going to eat everything you do – that is something my mom would do to 🙂 Gotta love it!

    http://oatsandspice.wordpress.com

  16. February 1, 2011 6:44 pm

    All these goals sound great to me! I definitely want to be active for 30 minutes every day too!

  17. February 1, 2011 7:11 pm

    aww yay! I’m so glad you borh enjoyed the oat method!! I can’t make them any other now because I’m so used to enjoying my huuuge bowls. Haha. 🙂 thanks for the shoutout girlie!

  18. February 1, 2011 7:20 pm

    You are absolutely right about not cutting out carbs!!! If you want, you can show your mom the post I did about carbs if you like.

    Great goals girl!! 🙂

  19. February 1, 2011 8:37 pm

    That is so awesome that your mom is inspired by your eats to give your way of eating a try! I love it 🙂

  20. runyogarepeat permalink
    February 1, 2011 10:37 pm

    That’s awesome you inspired your mom to eat healthy! I’m so excited you’re trying yoga. There’s good videos on yogatoday.com where you can get a free video each week, free 20 min yoga workouts on yogadownload.com, or you can download some audio & video podcasts on itunes. Those are my favorite places to yoga! I also saw this challenge with yoga videos: http://21daychallenge.yogajournal.com/

  21. Michelle permalink
    February 2, 2011 1:02 am

    This made me laugh, cause my family always says that when I come home from school the “Michelle” diet isn’t half bad! They actually enjoy the food I cook, but never seem to learn how to prepare and eat like me when I’m gone.

  22. February 2, 2011 2:58 am

    Kayla! you are awesome!!!! look at you teaching your mom such great things!!!… exactly!! we need carbs.. just COMPLEX carbs.. not simple carbs!!.. its all about calories in vs calories out for weight loss purposes

Leave a Reply

