Skip to content

Fiber Love

January 29, 2011

Hello dears! I have a terrific product review today!

Gnu Foods was so kind and sent me 2 bars of each of their 7 flavors!

What’s so special about the bars? Well, each bar has almost 50% of the reccomended percent daily value for fiber!

Fiber helps us feel fuller longer and is linked to preventing diseases and relieving constipation.

I love that they are made with wholesome, natural ingredients.

Just check out the ingredients of the Banana Walnut Bar…

Ingredients

Gnu High Fiber Blend™ (whole rolled oats, organic whole wheat flour, wheat bran, organic kamut, psyllium, flax, millet), chicory root inulin, fruit juices, rice dextrins, apples, canola oil, walnuts, rice, plums, bananas, wheat protein isolate, natural flavors, baking powder.

Awesome, right? No added sugar, no crazy chemicals or additives….LOVE!

The Banana Walnut bar tasted just like banana bread and was definitely one of my favorites!

Up next: Chocolate Brownie.

This one was sweet and chocolatey without being overly sweet, I looooved it! So much healthier than a real brownie, just check out the stats:

If you notice it has 2 types of fiber: Soluble (which lowers cholesterol and regulates blood sugar) and Insoluble (which helps remove toxic waste from body) .

It’s important to incorporate both kinds of fiber into your diet. If you’re eating lots of fruit and vegetables (with the skin!!), nuts, seeds, oatmeal and flax seed then you’re on the right track!

My other favorite bar: Cinnamon Raisin.

It tastes just like a oatmeal raisin cookie and guess what? It’s sugar free!

In fact the only Gnu Foods bars that aren’t sugar free are the Espresso Chip and Chocolate Brownie flavors! (Because of the cane juice in the chocolate chips.)

The rest would be perfect for sugar-free week, which starts this Tuesday!

I especially loved the Peanut Butter bar!

Look at all the nutty, seedy goodness!

It was not a sweet bar, but it definitely hit the spot! A nice peanutty taste that I loved!

The last 2 flavors: Lemon Ginger,

and Orange Cranberry

were not all too great. The flavors were iffy and kinda tasted chemical-y….know what I mean?

The Orange Cranberry tasted like orange extract with no cranberry flavor and the Lemon Ginger had such a powerful ginger taste with no lemony sweetness that it really just wasn’t working! Ahh well.

I did like all the other flavors! They were chewy, had lots of texture and were great, healthful snacks!

Thank you again Gnu Foods, for letting me sample and review your products!

Don’t forget, it’s time to start getting ready for Sugar-Free Week! It starts on Tuesday, February 1st!

What’s your favorite way to eat fiber?

32 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2011 6:15 pm

    Mmm those sound amazing! And the stats are incredible like you said! That chocolate brownie sounds divine!

  2. January 29, 2011 6:20 pm

    I’ve seen the cinnamon raisin bar at TJ Maxx before, but I didn’t get them because I was a little nervous about eating a bar with that much fiber. Maybe this is TMI, but did they make you feel bloated or gassy? I used to eat the Fiber One bars, but they started upsetting my stomach so I had to quit buying them.

    • January 31, 2011 10:25 am

      Hmm, I never thought to be concerned about getting too much fiber! I didn’t feel bloated or gassy, though!

  3. January 29, 2011 6:26 pm

    Oh, yum! These bars look tasty! I try to get my fiber from pears, apples and beans.

  4. January 29, 2011 6:42 pm

    Just curious how do u got the company to send you these to try? Where Can I buy these? My favorite way to eat fiber is in a hearty cereal or in a cinnamon raisin bagel!

    • January 31, 2011 10:26 am

      I just emailed the company and asked! You can find these bars at Whole Foods, TJ Maxx and other health food stores.

  5. January 29, 2011 6:46 pm

    Those bars look really good! Especially the chocolate brownie flavor. It’s surprising that most of them are sugar free, although that’s definitely not a bad thing.

  6. January 29, 2011 7:59 pm

    These look delicious! I love how there is only one Chocolate Brownie Bar in the picture. 🙂 Must have been good! 😉 I’m going to get my hands on some of these.

    • January 31, 2011 10:27 am

      Haha! My brother actually stole the other Chocolate Brownie one from my “secret stash”!

  7. January 29, 2011 8:10 pm

    Those sound awesome! The lemon ginger one sounds interesting.

  8. January 29, 2011 9:14 pm

    Those stats are good! I like the flavors, too. Very unique!

  9. January 29, 2011 9:25 pm

    Interesting! I’ve never tried or seen those before—I’m not a fan of many bars—the ones that taste good are usually higher in sugar!
    Thanks for the honest review 🙂

    I’m totally geared up for sugar free week!

  10. January 29, 2011 9:28 pm

    Actually my favorite two are the lemon and orange ones. I’m jealous, I swear I buy out the store whenever they stock them.

  11. January 29, 2011 10:16 pm

    Ahhhh those look so good! I would love to try the Banana Bread and Peanut Butter ones- they look delish!

    Hope you’ve been doing well!!

  12. January 29, 2011 10:23 pm

    These bars look awesome. The nutrition stats are very appealing to me

  13. January 30, 2011 2:01 am

    i LOVE gnu bars!! the banana, chocolate brownie and oatmeal raisin are the best!

  14. January 30, 2011 7:40 am

    Those look delicious!!! I’m definitely looking for those next time I’m at the store! 🙂
    My favorite way to get fiber is oatmeal – no surprise 😉

  15. January 30, 2011 10:50 am

    What a coincidence! I’m expecting a package from Gnu Foods too! 😉
    Glad you liked them! Now I’m even more excited for my package to come!

  16. January 30, 2011 2:27 pm

    I tried those bars a while back and really liked them. Very wholesome!

  17. Gill (snaxandthecity) permalink
    January 30, 2011 5:53 pm

    i’m so envious, i have eyed up Gnu bars from across the Atlantic for a long time now!

    Can you tell us more about this SF week? i want to do it!!

    • Gill (snaxandthecity) permalink
      January 30, 2011 5:55 pm

      wait – i just remembered you have an entire tab on it! ignore me 🙂

  18. January 30, 2011 6:27 pm

    I’ve had the cinnamon raisin one, it was really good! I am glad you did a review on all of these, I’ll have to give some more a shot!

  19. January 30, 2011 6:53 pm

    I LOVE that there is so much fiber in each of these! I’ve only had the brownie flavor, but I loved it!

  20. January 31, 2011 1:23 am

    Those look fantastic! I hate it when I find out that one of my favorite “health” bars has tons of sugar in it, so these are perfect 😀 I’m going to have to order that sampler pack…

  21. January 31, 2011 9:21 am

    Yum! I’ve never seen those before, they look good!

    Whitney

  22. January 31, 2011 11:14 am

    Ooh I love these bars! The banana are my favorite 🙂

  23. January 31, 2011 2:53 pm

    in LOVE with gnu bars! ilovecinnamonraisin and bananawalnut best…oh yeah..then there’s the brownie one.. 😀

    xo.

  24. January 31, 2011 3:04 pm

    chocolate brownie and the peanut butter look like they would be salivatingly addictive! i think these bars are the neatest, so much different from a lot of the other brands on the market currently, give that there is SO MUCH HEALTHY FIBRE packed into each one!! ❤

  25. January 31, 2011 11:58 pm

    I have gotten the banana flavor at Marshalls and they are awesome!

  26. February 1, 2011 2:40 am

    I’m a huge fan of gnu bars, apparently nobody likes the orange and cranberry ones but me though 😛

    I def preferred the banana one though, I will say that 😉


    n

Leave a Reply

