Skip to content

Vanilla-Cinnamon Roasted Sweet Potatoes

January 25, 2011

Hey hey! Thanks for all the awesome comments on my first product review!

***

Remember my sweet potato addiction? Well, even though I haven’t been posting about it, it’s still in full force!

Even though I love them savory, this is my new favorite “sweet” way to enjoy sweet potatoes!

I kinda just threw this all together one night and it came out so delightful I had to do it again, but I measured out this time so I could share the recipe with you guys!

Vanilla Cinnamon Roasted Sweet Potatoes

1 medium-small sweet potato, sliced into chunks

1 tsp. vanilla extract

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1/3 tsp. ground ginger

1/3 tsp. ground nutmeg

tiny dash of salt

Preheat oven to 375Β°F.

Combine all ingredients in a bowl and mix well, coating the sweet potato chunks with the spices and vanilla.

Transfer to a lightly greased, glass 8×8 pan. Bake for 60-75 minutes. I usually do the longer, I love them a little crispy!

***

Today for breakfast I had blueberry oats only this time with banana soft serve on top.

I think the key to perfect banana soft serve is using a frozen-solid banana. The longer it’s been in the freezer, the better.

Also, it helps if you have have a high speed blender (I love you Vitamix!) that can hurry and blend the banana, and get the job done before the banana starts to melt!

Recently, I had banana soft serve with a Gnu Foods Chocolate Brownie bar crumbled on top.

It was delicious and amazing. And it wasn’t filled with high fructose corn syrup or lots of weird ingredients!

I can’t say the same for this:

It’s funny because right after I had my banana soft serve sundae (with out him knowing), he came to the kitchen, got a banana and some chocolate syrup and went to town!

Do you like banana soft serve? How do you enjoy it?

 

38 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2011 8:19 pm

    Amazing! I just had sweet tater fries, but now I want to make these too!! Oh gosh they sound so good! And I love the soft serve topped oats! I wish I could do that in the morning, but I dont want to wake my hubby!

  2. January 25, 2011 8:28 pm

    I just bought sweet potatoes. I really think I may have to whip these guys out they looks fabulous!

  3. January 25, 2011 8:42 pm

    I love vanilla soft serve with tons of toppings on it. I’ve never had banana soft serve but I’m sure it’s really delicious! πŸ™‚

  4. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    January 25, 2011 9:08 pm

    LOVE banana soft serve!!! I always add a scoop of pb and cacao nibs-perfect treat!

    Your little bro is so cute, btw! I just posted a photo of mine, too πŸ˜‰

  5. January 25, 2011 9:25 pm

    This may be the best idea for sweet potatoes ever! I am so doing this when I make my next sweet potato

  6. January 25, 2011 9:32 pm

    I actually have trouble when the banana is too frozen… But I think my blender is just not as powerful as it should be πŸ˜‰ I end up witha chunk of banana that I can’t quite coax to stay in the blades long enough to get all mashed up! I do love banana soft serve though. Or just eating frozen bananas. Don’t judge πŸ˜‰

    Those sweet potatoes look divine, by the way!

  7. January 25, 2011 9:39 pm

    Haha! Same thing happens with my brother and I! My favorite banana soft-serve is chocolate peanut butter and strawberry banana. YUM! πŸ™‚

  8. January 25, 2011 10:44 pm

    You can bet I will be making these ASAP!

  9. January 25, 2011 10:46 pm

    I love sweet potatoes! I just had one for dinner in fact! πŸ™‚
    Banana soft serve is my favorite! I love it with nut butter. πŸ™‚

  10. January 26, 2011 12:05 am

    Love me some banana soft serve! I love to make it with peanut butter and/or cacao powder or both!! πŸ˜€

  11. January 26, 2011 12:41 am

    I love banana Soft serve! What’s your recipe?!

  12. January 26, 2011 2:47 am

    Your oatmeal looks great! I can’t believe I’ve never thought of topping mine with banana soft serve. I’ll have to try it soon though (that and those sweet potatoes of course).

  13. January 26, 2011 3:29 am

    yum! great idea to put it on oatmeal !!! i tried it once. but it wasn’t too good 😦 did not look as your as urs does thats for sure!

  14. January 26, 2011 7:59 am

    I have never made banana softserve, love how you put it on oats! How yummy!! The hot and cold delish!

    Hope you have a great day!!!! xoxo

  15. January 26, 2011 8:15 am

    I am so obsessed with banana soft serve and have been feeling deprived since I’m house sitting and haven’t been able to make any!! I’m so jealous πŸ™‚

  16. January 26, 2011 8:19 am

    I must try those sweet potatoes! I could eat at least one sweet potato a day if I had the budget for it πŸ™‚
    I love banana soft serve with oatmeal or with a teaspoon of cocoa powder added to it!

  17. January 26, 2011 8:22 am

    Mmmmmmmm sweet p’s. I love them in any form, and vanilla-cinnamon roasted sounds amazing πŸ™‚

    And yes, banana soft serve = the best, especially with some granola.

  18. January 26, 2011 8:44 am

    Yummy sweet potatoes! What do you think? Better than HEAB’s cocoa dusted?

    I’ve only tried banana soft serve once, but sadly since I am without a beautiful Vitamix, mine was more like banana SOFT serve and I could almost drink it! I’ll have to try it again sometime…maybe adding some xanthan gum to thicken it up.

    • January 26, 2011 4:24 pm

      I’d say these are tied with the cocoa roasted, I love them both!

  19. January 26, 2011 9:14 am

    Kayla, these look fantastic! I looove roasted sweet potatoes, oh my gosh. Thanks for the recipe. πŸ™‚

    Banana soft serve is like heaven, I swear. I really like adding peanut butter and cocoa powder to mine. Too funny about your brother and the banana/chocolate syrup! What a coincidence.

  20. January 26, 2011 9:41 am

    THANK YOU THANK YOU for your sweet comment! I appreciate every word!
    LOVE your blog…how can I follow you? I’m registered with blogger and there’s no place that I can follow you!!:,(
    http://greensk8r-fireandice.blogspot.com
    πŸ˜€

    • January 26, 2011 9:59 am

      You should probably get a Google Reader (reader.google.com) and then that will make it easy for you to follow all your favorite blogs!

  21. Gill (snaxandthecity) permalink
    January 26, 2011 9:48 am

    Haha that’s cute – boys will be boys!

    I love banana soft serve but never have it because my tiny little food processor can’t take it 😦

  22. January 26, 2011 1:30 pm

    love love love banana soft serve with almond butter and cacao nibs

  23. January 26, 2011 4:57 pm

    I’ve never had banana soft serve, but I’m hoping to try it soon! I just bought bananas! πŸ˜‰

  24. runyogarepeat permalink
    January 26, 2011 5:21 pm

    These sweet potatoes look awesome! I love my banana soft serve with chocolate peanut butter blended together.

  25. January 26, 2011 6:35 pm

    Hi! I just discovered your blog and I really like it! It s funny, I named my blog “little miss pharmacist” LOL..I am a student in pharmacy from montreal, and I love healthy living like u do!
    Nways, can I add you on my blogroll? it would be great if you could do the same, if ever you wish to…
    have a nice day!

  26. January 26, 2011 7:31 pm

    I love the idea of adding vanilla

  27. littlehealthjunkie permalink
    January 26, 2011 7:40 pm

    I’ve never had vanilla in sweet potatoes; it sounds absolutely amazing!!! I absolutely adore your blog! I’m a teenager too and just started my own healthy living blog…come check it out and let me know what you think:) After reading your about me and 4 things post I realize you seem SO much like me! Can’t wait to read more and connect with all the younger bloggies especially!!

  28. January 26, 2011 7:58 pm

    I LOVE banana soft serve! I like it plain but I’ve made it into a “milkshake” before, sooo good.

  29. January 26, 2011 9:48 pm

    Aww, your brother is adorable! He reminds me of my sister when I’m eating some veggies with noodles and she’ll walk in with some chinese takeout πŸ˜›

  30. January 26, 2011 10:17 pm

    Those sweet potatoes sound awesome! Vanilla and cinnamon are definitely two of my favorite flavors. (:

  31. January 26, 2011 10:21 pm

    Sweet! I have a huge sweet potato just sitting around waiting to be cooked, and now I know what I’m gonna do with it. πŸ™‚

  32. valgal123 permalink
    January 26, 2011 10:41 pm

    I love my sweet potatoes as well! I see a lot of female bloggers out there that love them just as much as us.
    I used to eat the banana soft serve, but then I like got sick of it and can’t stand it now. Though I enjoy taking fresh mango when in season, freezing it and using that instead of banana.

  33. January 27, 2011 2:29 pm

    Those sweet potatoes sound amazing. I love roasted SPs the the little extra kick would be awesome. πŸ™‚ And I seriously wish I had a vitamix so I could try softserve or making my own nut butter and what not..but Magic Bullets just can’t handle it.

  34. January 27, 2011 10:58 pm

    Those are some super yummy looking oats! And great idea with the vanilla potatoes. I usually add cinnamon and splenda but never tried vanilla πŸ™‚

  35. January 28, 2011 10:09 am

    I like to add frozen cubes of light soymilk to my banana ice cream! (And yes, frozen banana is mandatory!) The soymilk adds SO much volume.

Trackbacks

  1. Recipes! « Little Miss Healthify

Leave a Reply

