Skip to content

The Earnest Truth

January 24, 2011

Hello everybody! Sorry I was non-existent over the weekend!

I am so excited because today is my first product review!

First off, I have made homemade granola quite a few times. However, it always makes a huge batch and I end up eating the whole batch in 2 days or less. Eeks. That’s a lot of granola. Seriously, I need portion control when it comes to tasty things like granola.

Luckily, Earnest Eats specializes in granola and granola bars!

Their products are made with pure, simple, un-messed-with whole foods that taste delicious! I love that!

They were super generous and sent me a sample of EACH of their products!

(This is my first product review and I will always review with 100% honesty!)

Their Granola Planks are like the best invention ever. You heat it in the microwave for 8 seconds and then crumble the warm, crunchy granola onto whatever you please!

Blueberry Vanilla Crackle plank on oatmeal

Maple Almond Crunch plank on oatmeal

Pomegranate Walnut Crisp plank on a smoothie

Blueberry Vanilla Crackle plank on a parfait

I loved all the flavors. Each flavor was bursting with oats, almonds, dried fruit, peanuts and puffed crisps. I could tell that these had not been sitting around for months and months, they were so fresh! Also, I love how there’s no weird ingredients. All the ingredients were things I could find in my home!

The one teeny-tiny problem I had with these planks (if you can call it a problem) is that one plank has 2 servings, so you have to exercise some self control to not eat the whole thing, since they are not low in calories or sugar!

Overall, the granola planks are fantastic! They are a perfect addition to a filling breakfast or a healthy snack.

Next up: Earnest Eats bars!

Yes, they have bars, too!

The bars are made with my favorite ingredient: almond butter! How cool is that?! The almond butter in each of the bars holds it together and adds great texture and flavor!

They have bars in 4 flavors.

– Choco Peanut Butter

This was my second favorite bar. It was sweet and tasted just like a peanut butter cookie! It was so heavenly after being warmed up in the microwave for a few seconds, too! Like it was fresh from the oven! Perfect sweet snack! And the choco pb flavors are spot on!

– Apple Ginger

Ahh, this one tasted like a slice of apple pie! Heavenly. Loved it, the flavors come together so nicely in this bar. I’m sure it LOADS healthier than any other apple pie!

– Cran Lemon Zest

This was my ABSOLUTE FAVORITE! I actually thought it would be my least favorite but it was the best of all of them! The flavors of cranberry and lemon came together perfectly and it’s hard to describe but this bar was just amazing! Just enough sweetness without being overly sweet. I wish I had another one so I could taste it again! Ahh, nothing beat this one. It was perfect in every way. Cranberry and lemon is one of those combos that is neglected too often, thanks for bringing it back Earnest Eats!

– Almond Trail Mix

I really hate to give this bar a negative review after so many positives, but this bar was gross. It tasted WAAAY too much like almond extract and was not sweet at all. I couldn’t even finish it, yuck.

Overall, I loved the bars and they were the perfect snack for that time after lunch, but before dinner! I love the healthy ingredients and the flavors were all great and tasted amazing! (Except for the one exception!) They should make a pumpkin maple bar, ahhh, that would be heavenly!

The next time you see Earnest Eats products in the store, I really reccomend the Cran Lemon Zest Bar, it. is. the. BEST! Ahh, I love it so much. Be sure to pick one up!

Thanks again to Earnest Eats for allowing me to try and review your products!

Hope you all have a great night!

Oh, and I’d love to know:

Which of their bars or planks looks the most appetizing to you?

22 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2011 8:23 pm

    Omg these all sound so incredible! So jealous you got to sample them 🙂 I want the choc peanut butter. That says it all right there!

  2. January 24, 2011 8:30 pm

    I’ve been wanting to try these since I saw them on your blog a while ago! I think all of them sound amazing 🙂

  3. theflourishingfoodie permalink
    January 24, 2011 9:16 pm

    Those all sounds to good!! I love the idea of the granola plank! Do they sell Ernest eats at Whole Foods or where? The blueberry vanilla sounds awesome to me!

  4. January 24, 2011 9:19 pm

    All these flavors sound fantastic, especially the Apple Ginger bar! Yum! Great review 🙂

  5. January 24, 2011 9:21 pm

    I can’t even decide which sound better! They both sound delicious! Lucky you for getting to sample them all! 🙂

  6. January 24, 2011 9:21 pm

    I would have to go with the chocolate peanut butter bar…shocking, i know.

  7. January 24, 2011 9:40 pm

    I will keep an eye out for these. You make them sound so good!

  8. January 24, 2011 9:42 pm

    Choco peanut butter is my style whats the nutritional value for a bar?

    • January 24, 2011 10:09 pm

      The bars have 210 calories, the rest of the info is on their site!

  9. January 24, 2011 10:01 pm

    Those sound delicious! 🙂 I have my eye on the Pomegranate Walnut crisp. 😀

  10. January 24, 2011 10:32 pm

    oh neat! thats really cool how you used it for a smoothie topping!! thats a clever way to add crisp/crunch to a smoothie 🙂 choco peanut butter and maple almond crunch sound irresistibly yummy.
    i agree about the serving suggestions. i picked up a bar once called a chakra bar which i posted way way back on one of my hiking trips. i ate the whole bar as a snack and then realized later that it said (2 servings) so the whole bar was 500 calories. now, i was hiking so it didnt matter, but a 500 calorie snack is more like a meal haha. but jsut like these, one would easily think they are single servings huh!

    xoxo ❤

  11. January 24, 2011 10:43 pm

    Gotta love when a product is made with ingredients you have in your kitchen! 🙂

  12. January 25, 2011 1:06 am

    That’s funny, I’ve been scared of the lemon cran version! I’ll have to give it a go 🙂

  13. January 25, 2011 2:03 am

    I think I would definitely go for the apple ginger bar. Although the choco peanut butter would be a close second. I’ll keep an eye out for those though- they sound great!

  14. January 25, 2011 3:07 am

    oo ernest looks awesome!1 i think i would love the choco pb one best:D

  15. January 25, 2011 7:22 am

    Those look great-love that you can crumble them up!

  16. January 25, 2011 7:26 am

    I’m going to have to go with the choco peanut butter bar – anything with chocolate and peanut butter wins my heart! 🙂 Although they all look delicious!

  17. January 25, 2011 8:25 am

    The cran lemonzest or the PB choc sounded the best to me! I’ve never seen these in the store but if I do, I will give them a shot! Lucky you to get samples!

  18. January 25, 2011 8:37 am

    I’ve seen a few of the Earnest Eats Planks in TJ Maxx and I’ve thought about trying them, but I was a little disappointed that one plank is two servings! I know I would probably have a hard time only eating half…especially with the way you’re describing them!

    That PB/Choc one looks so yummy! And cranberry and lemon? Interesting! They always pair cranberries with orange, but I’ve never seen one with lemon!

    Yay! for your first product review! It was great! Love all your feedback…maybe I’ll go run by TJ Maxx on the way home from work!

  19. January 25, 2011 10:29 am

    Looking at all that granola made me so hungry. The blueberry vanilla crackle sounds really yummy.

  20. January 25, 2011 6:22 pm

    They all look good but I’d choose the chocolate pb 🙂

    Whitney

  21. January 26, 2011 9:26 am

    These sound awesome! I will have to keep my eyes peeled for their bars. Initially I would’ve thought the same thing as you about the cranberry lemon… now I’m thinking that I really want to try that one!

Leave a Reply

