Skip to content

Yoga FAIL

January 15, 2011

I’m sure you have heard, but our horoscopes actually have not changed at all! It was false info! I’m not really into horoscopes, but it would be weird to suddenly not be a Virgo anymore, know what I mean?

Horoscopes are fun to read and oddly enough, they’re almost always true!

I’m a Virgo and here are some facts I found about me that are true:

“Virgos should not eat too many raw foods; vegetables should be lightly steamed for better assimilation.” <— I always eat my veggies steamed!

“Virgo is health conscious and makes an effort to stay physically fit, becoming a picky eater, if not a food-faddist. Many adapt to routine exercise or other activities.” <— totally me.

“Virgo tends to suffer from potassium deficiency. Foods like celery, tomatoes, apples and bananas are beneficial.” <— It’s  good I eat PLENTY of bananas!

“Virgos have the tendency to fail through perfectionism.” <— Um, yeah. Totally me.

“They always seek to perfect whatever skills they may have, primarily for the sake of doing a thing well.” <— If I’m not doing it well, I might not be doing it at all! Once again, this is totally me!

(source)

Weird, huh?

Anyways, today for breakfast I had another delicious bowl of oatmeal with apples this time, though!

I used my microwave method again but this time I stirred in a little applesauce, nutmeg, ginger and topped with apples and 1/2 another Earnest Eats granola plank!

I microwaved 1/2 of this Maple Almond Crunch plank for 10 seconds and then it crumbled so nicely! These things smell heavenly, right when you rip open the package you get a whiff of deliciousness.

The maple flavor was spot on and it was bursting with good stuff: almonds, peanuts, dried cranberries, walnuts…it was heavenly! I love the crunchy of the granola contrasting with the smooth creamy oats! I rarely ever have apples with oatmeal, I gotta say, I prefer blueberries!

Today my mom and I went to the gym for a yoga class (first one!). We opened the door to the class and it had already started, the room was packed, even though we were on time. Nobody looked up to welcome us and everyone had a yoga mat and was already started. We hadn’t brought a yoga mat, so….yeah. We were feeling kind of awkward and decided to not do it, come back another time. Haha, lame, I know.

So then we did some killer leg and ab strengthening workouts on the machines.

Then we went shopping at Sam’s Club and got loads of free samples as lunch! Most exciting purchase? A big tub of PLAIN Chobani yogurt, so excited!

Then we came home, me and my dad went on a 9 mile bike ride (butt hurts!) then I did 120 sit-ups with Tyler (12 y.o brother). They were KILLER! Then I did some stretching, blog stalking reading, recipe finding and played some Super Mario Bros. on the Wii. Best game ever!

Now I need to shower and get ready for church tomorrow.

Hope you all had a fabulous Saturday and I hope you have a peaceful Sabbath.

39 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2011 7:04 pm

    If it I had been you, I totally would have left too. Talk about an awkward experience! That’s great that you and your mom did a ton of other exercises though. Hope you have a great rest of your Saturday too!

  2. January 15, 2011 7:05 pm

    All this horoscope change stuff is really strange. Like when they said Pluto wasn’t a planet anymore… weird…

  3. January 15, 2011 7:22 pm

    Oh man I would have totally left too!! I’ve yet to go to an official yoga class, and I’m ok with that I guess. Maybe one day ill actually go!

  4. January 15, 2011 7:41 pm

    9 mile bike ride! Thats awesome, I really love bike riding, I cant wait for winter to be gone so I can ride a bike again!

    Hope you have a goodnight girl! xoxo

    • January 16, 2011 10:21 pm

      Bike riding is becoming my favorite way to exercise! To me it’s so much more fun than running!

  5. Ayla permalink
    January 15, 2011 7:53 pm

    I love reading horoscopes! When I heard that I was going to be a Taurus instead of a Gemini I instantly declared that I was never changing my sign! Thankfully I don’t have to. 😀

    Hopefully your next yoga class turns out better! I definitely would have left too.

  6. January 15, 2011 8:18 pm

    That was so weird about the horoscopes. I didn’t really pay much attention to it…either way I was still going to my a Sagittarius! I think it’s so cool that your parents are active and you do stuff together. In my family, a exercise is going to the mailbox! And although I’ve led a healthy and moderately active lifestyle for a while now, they still don’t really get it!

    Your Earnest Bar sounds super yummy! Way to kick up a bowl of oats! Love apples and oats with some added crunch!

  7. January 15, 2011 9:04 pm

    Everyone was freaking out on facebook about the horoscope but I thought I had read they really didn’t change.

    Earnest bars are yummy yummy in my tummy.

  8. January 15, 2011 10:07 pm

    I refuse to think that my sign can change. There is no way you can change the zodiac!
    Too bad about the yoga, better luck next time

  9. runyogarepeat permalink
    January 15, 2011 10:47 pm

    That’s disappointing that it had already started! My yoga studio tells beginners to come 15 minutes early, and the teacher will show you where the mats and blocks are and get you ready.

    • January 16, 2011 10:24 pm

      Yeah, I’m thinking next time we’ll go earlier! If I can drag my mom back, she did NOT want to go at all!

  10. January 15, 2011 10:53 pm

    Haha, I have absolutely no idea what my horoscope says about me.

    Dang girl, you had quite the active day! That’s awesome, good for you. 🙂 So sorry about your yoga experience. I’ve never done yoga before, and I imagine I would do the same thing as you and your mom, haha.

    Your oats look sooo good. Those earnest bars sound yummy!

    • January 16, 2011 10:24 pm

      An active day like that is pretty rare for me! Haha, but I’m trying to make it more frequent!

  11. January 16, 2011 12:49 am

    Yeah, I’m a Taurus for life, no matter what!! 🙂

  12. January 16, 2011 1:16 am

    haha, i would have left too! I mean you can’t really do yoga on the floor!
    They can’t change who we already our!! 😉 haha. ( thats supposed to be taken seriously, I am trying to make it seem like i actually care bout my horoscope…but I don’t ) lol

  13. January 16, 2011 3:18 am

    oo girl where did you find out that stuff about your horoscope!?? i wnat to know what mine says!

  14. January 16, 2011 9:11 am

    Hahaha! It’s good to know I’m not the only one who loads up on the free samples. 😉
    When I was little my Mom would do her shopping at Sams Club right after school and she’d give me the samples for snacks!

    • January 16, 2011 10:26 pm

      I remember when I was little my grandpa would get a cart just for me and zoom me all over Sam’s getting the free samples while my mom shopped!

  15. January 16, 2011 2:03 pm

    You found plain chobani at Sams?!?! Mine only carries sweetened greek yogurts…sooo not fair! Maybe I should complain to the manager? 😉

    I am going to check my horoscope right now. Thanks for the link!

  16. January 16, 2011 4:33 pm

    I am a Sagittarius and there are so many qualities of sag that describe me perfectly. Even cooler: when I was a new born my mom took me too an astrologer to have my charts read, my mom has a recording of the whole thing and the woman basically described me now exactly and I was literally weeks old at the time.

    You should definitely go back and try yoga again. I do yoga every friday night at my gym and I love it. don’t worry if no one looks up and greets you I often don’t when someone comes into class a little late because I am trying to really focus on myself and let the outside world just fade away. Yoga is so much better in a class I totally recommend it!

    • January 16, 2011 10:26 pm

      That is crazy! I’m starting to think that this whole horoscope thing isn’t just a bunch of hocus pocus!

  17. January 16, 2011 4:33 pm

    How fun, I’m totally going to check my astrological health analysis and see if it’s accurate!

  18. January 16, 2011 6:10 pm

    Love your blog and thoughts; yoga is not for me at all!

  19. January 16, 2011 7:34 pm

    Yeah I only occasionally read my horoscope just for laughs… But I think the general idea of libra (aka being a scale and being indecisive and weighing things in my mind FAR too much) has always fit pretty decently with me, so I was a little sad to give it up. I’m glad I no longer have to! 😉

    I also really like those granola planks, but I am incapable of sticking to just half of one. I think I’m just bad at eating only half of anything though 😛

    • January 16, 2011 10:27 pm

      It definitely took some self control to only eat half! 🙂

  20. January 16, 2011 7:51 pm

    I’m actually pretty interesting in horoscopes but usually read them at the end of the day..to see if they came true or not lol. Sorry the yoga class didn’t turn out. Better luck next time! 🙂

  21. January 16, 2011 8:20 pm

    I’ve been so confused with all the horoscope changing talk thats going on! Mmmm, your oatmeal looks delish!

  22. January 17, 2011 7:02 am

    Oh try yoga again! I so wish I could do it more often, but I am just too darn busy 😦

  23. January 17, 2011 10:55 am

    I’m a Virgo too! I don’t believe in it but a lot of the things you mentioned fit me to a T 🙂

  24. Ashley permalink
    January 17, 2011 12:36 pm

    Those Earnest bars are really good, I also like the ones made by Kind. To bad about the Yoga class! Yoga is so great for the mind, body, and soul. I used to go to classes all the time, but now my job does not allow it all that much so my practice is from home.

    If you are looking for some good mats and also some good stretches there is a great new product that puts them together. You have to check out the TrainerMat’s, they have all sorts of products, but the yoga one is great for taking to class or taking class home.

    http://www.selftrainermat.com

  25. January 17, 2011 12:38 pm

    That same exact thing happened to me at my first yoga class on saturday I was late but snuck in anyways and didnt have a mat. But I stuck out the 75 min class!

  26. January 17, 2011 2:35 pm

    don’t worry, i read that the new horoscope change only applies to those born from 2009 onwards- so we’re safe! phew! ur still Virgo (my brother is a virgo and has such a fun and loving personality- virgos are amazing people!)

  27. January 17, 2011 5:39 pm

    Maybe you’ll have better luck with yoga next time! Or you could even get a yoga dvd. 🙂

  28. January 18, 2011 12:11 am

    Haha I would’ve left Yoga as well – They usually give us mats though! I am glad our signs hadn’t changed…It wouldnt have made sense! I am a virgo too 🙂

  29. January 18, 2011 1:45 pm

    I don’t really believe in all that astrology/horoscope stuff, but it’s funny how even though I don’t really “buy into” it, I’m still kinda revolting against having my sign change! I’ve been a capricorn for 27 years, scientists can’t just change it now!!

  30. January 19, 2011 5:40 pm

    Virgo power woowoo! I think the Virgo description fits me 100%, it’s crazy! Oh, and Virgos HATE unbalanced and unplanned things, haha that’s soo me.

    Whitney

    • January 19, 2011 7:20 pm

      Yay Virgos! That totally fits me, too! Crazy!

Leave a Reply

