Skip to content

Violet, you’re turning violet!

January 14, 2011

Hello hello!

Thanks for all your sweet comments about my Peanut Butter cookies, it sounds like a lot of you were excited to make them and I hope you do! I’ve begun to think that “cookie” is not the right word to describe them since they are more nutty than sweet, but they look like cookies, so I guess it fits!

Violet, you're turning violet!

Today my oatmeal reminded me of this scene in the old Willy Wonka movie, when Violet turns into a giant blueberry! I think the old Willy Wonka movie is so much better than the new-ish one. Thoughts?

Anyway, my oatmeal today was filled with blueberries!

Lately I’ve been loving on microwave oats. I know lots of you are all for stove top, but I think microwave is so much faster and (to me) just as good! (And I don’t have to dirty a pan, score!)

I love mixing frozen blueberries into oats, it makes them purple, or in this case, violet!

Violet Blueberry Oats

Microwave for 1min 30sec:

– 1/3 cup instant oats

– 2/3 cup water

Stir in:

– a little milk, plain yogurt or water

– some vanilla extract

– cinnamon

– and a big ole’ handful of frozen blueberries

Top with 1/2 an Earnest Eats Blueberry Vanilla Crackle granola plank.

The finished product:

Would you believe me if I said this is the best bowl of oats EVERR?? The granola plank totally makes this bowl of oats go from awesome to CRAZY GOOD!

Along with my oats I had a Mini Monster. Sometimes I want a Green Monster, just not as a whole meal! Those things can be really big!

Mini Monsters to the rescue!

This one had:

– 1/2 banana

– 1/2 cup original almond breeze

– 1 handful spinach

– cocoa powder

– peanut butter

My mom found Original Almond Breeze on sale and bought some! I loooove almond milk so much better than cow’s milk so it’s such a special treat! I drank about 3 cups (or more) of it today….! Haha, oops!

What’s your favorite classic movie?

33 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2011 8:35 pm

    Old WW> New WW!

    Your oat bar topping looks awesome!

    Hmm classic…probably little mermaid. πŸ™‚

    • January 15, 2011 2:02 pm

      I’ve always had a special place in my heart for The Little Mermaid. That and Cinderella πŸ™‚

  2. January 14, 2011 8:46 pm

    I almost bought that plank the other day… I’ll have to go back and grab it!

  3. January 14, 2011 8:54 pm

    Love old movies! As far as classics, I really like Some Like It Hot and It’s A Wonderful Life. πŸ™‚

  4. January 14, 2011 8:57 pm

    I love Willy Wonka. Those blueberry oats look awesome.

  5. January 14, 2011 9:04 pm

    Hahahahahha – gotta LOVE the Chocolate Factory!
    Johny Deep looks amazing on the remake, doesn’t he?
    πŸ˜€

  6. January 14, 2011 9:35 pm

    Violet! You’re turning violet, Violet!! haha I love that movie. πŸ™‚ The original’s so so much better than the new one.

    The oats look so delicious!! I love how frozen blueberries turn the oats blue. πŸ˜›

  7. January 14, 2011 10:17 pm

    I like both of the movies. You can’t beat a classic but you can’t beat Jonny Depp either!
    I love almond milk too!! I could drink that stuff all day
    As for my favorite classic movie I have to go with Chitty Chitty Bang Bang

    • January 15, 2011 12:09 am

      Oh yes, Chitty Chitty Bang Bang, love that one!

  8. January 14, 2011 11:58 pm

    I love Willy Wonka!!

    I much rather prefer Almond milk over cow milk any day! because (1)cow’s milk gives me a stomach ache, (2) Almond milk doesn’t, and (3) it tastes a whole lot better!

    • January 15, 2011 2:00 pm

      I love the taste of almond milk, it’s so creamy and nutty! Love it!

  9. January 15, 2011 1:50 am

    The new Willy Wonka doesn’t compare to the original πŸ™‚

  10. January 15, 2011 1:53 am

    I’m with you, I love mini-monsters that I can have with my meal. My meal just isn’t complete unless I have something to chew!

    I haven’t seen the remake of the Willy Wonka movie, but I love the classic! I’m with Kat, Chitty Chitty Bang Bang is awesome!

  11. January 15, 2011 3:41 am

    oo gosh charlie and the choc factory is actually my FAVORITE!!! love your oats.. blueberry feast!

  12. January 15, 2011 3:44 am

    Love your blog!

    Those oats look amazing…. and my favourite classic movie? The Little Mermaid, or Willy Wonka.

    Amy x

  13. January 15, 2011 8:02 am

    I used to put frozen berries in my oats all the time and forgot how good it is!! Thanks for reminding me πŸ™‚ I also love the old willy wonka so much more! Happy Saturday Kayla πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  14. January 15, 2011 10:15 am

    I love willy wonka! I also like mary poppins and the sound of music. I’m a sucker for musicals haha.
    I want your oatmeal!

    • January 15, 2011 1:56 pm

      Musicals are great! I have The Sound Of Music on video, love it!

  15. January 15, 2011 11:27 am

    Love when my foods turn unexpected colors-gives them character-ha!

  16. January 15, 2011 12:05 pm

    Yes! Someone else is one a blueberry kick besides me! I just made my first blueberry smoothie the other day and ahve had one every day since! πŸ™‚ I need to mix together a mini green monster soon! your’s looks so good, P.S. so glad I came across you blog I’m linking it to my site πŸ™‚

    • January 15, 2011 1:59 pm

      I have been having blueberry oatmeal all the time lately! Love blueberries! I love blueberries make smoothies really thick! Thanks for stopping by!

  17. theflourishingfoodie permalink
    January 15, 2011 12:47 pm

    Holy Yum! I love blueberries, but for some reason I’ve never put them in oatmeal. That definitely needs to change! The crunchy-ness of the granola plank on tops sounds like it would make for an amazing texture. And yes the old Willy Wonka is way better than the new one!

    • January 15, 2011 2:00 pm

      You definitely need to try bluebs in oatmeal, it’s almost the only fruit I really love in oats!

  18. January 15, 2011 3:06 pm

    I add blueberries to my oatmeal all the time! Although half the time I think I do it just because the color looks pretty. πŸ˜‰

  19. January 15, 2011 4:19 pm

    Blueberry oats look great!
    My favorite classic movie is probably….hmmm, it’s a toss- up between Pollyanna and Mary Poppins…but I do like a lot of others too!

  20. January 15, 2011 10:54 pm

    These look delicious! I used to love that movie, too. I did a theater production of it once, and it was a blast. I was Veruca Salt–best role ever. πŸ™‚

  21. January 16, 2011 8:22 pm

    I used to love that movie!!! πŸ™‚ those blueberry oats look AWESOME too girl!

Trackbacks

  1. Recipes! « Little Miss Healthify
  2. Yoga FAIL « Little Miss Healthify
  3. Funniest Search Terms « Little Miss Healthify

Leave a Reply

