Skip to content

Peanut Butter Cookies: Healthified

January 13, 2011

Sugar-Free Cookies.

It’s one of those oxymorons, isn’t it? Two words that really shouldn’t go together but do.

Like, jumbo shrimp. Or pretty ugly. And burning cold.

You should know that ever since I made those Sugar-Free Apricot Cookies I have been a bit obsessed with thinking of more sugar-free cookies.

Wouldn’t it be something, if I could make 3 Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies sugar-free? And by sugar-free, I mean just using natural sweeteners, like bananas and applesauce.

So of course I had to try. Let the experimenting begin!

Here’s what went down:

Peanut Butter Cookies: Healthified

– 1 cup creamy natural peanut butter (I use Smucker’s)

– 1 large banana, pureed in the food processor; should make 1/2 cup puree

– 1/2 cup unsweetened (<– duh) applesauce

– 1 egg (all my vegans: a chia or flax “egg” would probably work, it’s worth a try)

– 1 tsp. vanilla extract

– 3/4 cup oats, blended in a food processor to make oat flour

– 1/3 tsp. sea salt

In a medium mixing bowl, combine together the peanut butter, banana puree and applesauce; mix well. Stir in the egg and vanilla. Fold in your oat flour and sea salt.

Cover the cookie dough with foil and freeze for 1hr 30min. (DO NOT SKIP THE FREEZING PART)

Preheat the oven to 350°F. Roll the dough into balls. I used a scoop that made the balls 1 1/2 Tbsp., which is a perfect size. With a lightly floured or oiled fork, make the criscross indents on the cookies and bake for 8 minutes.

The cookies will not brown (since they’re not made with butter), but still take them out after 8-10 minutes. They almost have the consistency of a raw peanut butter cookie…almost.

These cookies are NOT the sweet, sugary, peanut butter cookies that we are all used to. They have a very mild, subtle sweetness and an excellent nutty flavor. I love them, even though they are not your typical cookie.

My brother, Nathan, is my ultimate food tester. Being very picky, he is not afraid to tell me exactly what he thinks of my food.  I have had him wince, make ugly faces and immediately run to the garbage can to spit out some of my healthy food concoctions.

So I was a little hesitant to have him try these. Before he had one I told him it was a healthier cookie and was sugar-free.

His reaction: “It’s not bad.”

Then he nodded, smiled and he continued to eat it.

That’s coming from one of the pickiest kids on the planet.

I’m sure a lot of people would much rather make their favorite peanut butter cookies with sugar and butter, than fiddle with this recipe, and that’s fine. But this is just a healthier option for those of us who are watching our sugar intake.

I’m so surprised that they actually turned out! If you make them, I’d love to hear how you like them!

36 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2011 3:40 pm

    I’m impressed!! They sound wonderful 🙂

  2. January 13, 2011 3:45 pm

    These sound like my kind of cookie 🙂 I’m all out of peanut butter atm, but I see these in my future 😛

  3. January 13, 2011 3:49 pm

    They look AND sound wonderful! I think I’ll give ’em a try!

  4. January 13, 2011 4:03 pm

    These look so yummy! You totally make sugar free treats work.

  5. January 13, 2011 4:21 pm

    Um what a great idea. I love peanut butter and I’m always looking to make healthy peanut butter recipes. You sreiously come up with the greatest recipes.

  6. January 13, 2011 5:11 pm

    Yeah! I love SF cookies!! My favorite!!! I love how you are on a SF roll!!! 🙂

  7. January 13, 2011 5:24 pm

    This looks absolutely deeeelish. I love peanut butter cookies and I’ve actually been craving them for a few days now. I think these are perfect for satisfying it… ;D

  8. January 13, 2011 6:14 pm

    These are totally right up my alley. I dont care about the sweetness factor. ANYThING with peanut butter is awesome in my book!

  9. January 13, 2011 6:19 pm

    I saw the banana in this and automatically loved the recipe!

    • January 13, 2011 8:20 pm

      🙂 The banana adds a perfect amount of subtle sweetness, yum!

  10. January 13, 2011 6:28 pm

    I’ve been wanting to try this myself ever since my sister made the real-deal sugar and all, 3 ingredient PB cookies Tuesday night! Thanks for the SF recipe! Guilt no morre!
    JK…everything ( including sugar ) in moderation for me! But I like healthy sugar better!

  11. January 13, 2011 6:47 pm

    I would have loved to try these! Cookies don’t always need to be super sweet! 🙂

  12. January 13, 2011 8:22 pm

    Wishing I had a banana right now…

  13. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    January 13, 2011 8:34 pm

    AHHHHH!!! I love you!!! ANother sugar-free recipe 🙂 YAY!!!!! I will love this and make this!

    So why does it have to freeze for that long? I don’t think I can wait!

    • January 14, 2011 2:03 pm

      Haha, I was so thinking of you when I made them!

      The dough needs to freeze because the pb/banana/applesauce is really runny/wet and is impossible to shape into balls!

  14. January 13, 2011 8:39 pm

    I have all of these ingredients, and I definitely want to try them. I’m all about ‘healthified’ cookies 😀 Making this this weekend!!

  15. January 13, 2011 9:01 pm

    I kind of adore that you gave them fork marks, lady!

    This is definitely the kind of cookie that I’d love to take a whack at – unsweetened applesauce is key. I had sweetened once and honestly, it was such a horror show.

  16. January 13, 2011 10:11 pm

    These look I will try them sometime. I like peanut butter but I have yet to find a peanut butter cookie I really enjoy. Are they more of a crunchy or soft peanut butter cookie?
    My brother is definately my harshest critic too.

    • January 14, 2011 2:05 pm

      They’re soft. They don’t crunch up because they’re not made with butter! If you’re looking for a sweet peanut butter cookie, this is not the recipe you’re looking for! They are more nutty than sweet.

  17. January 14, 2011 3:26 am

    these sound so good!!! seriously going to make these 😀

  18. Cara Craves... permalink
    January 14, 2011 3:38 am

    The recipe looks great!
    Nice work!

  19. January 14, 2011 8:25 am

    I love the flourless pb cookies. These look like such an excellent version of them! Looks delicious.

  20. January 14, 2011 8:42 am

    These look really really yummy! I usually have all those ingredients on hand anyway in the pantry!

  21. January 14, 2011 12:26 pm

    Awesome! I’ve wanted to make the 3 ingredient PB cookies, but really didn’t want to use all that sugar. I was thinking about cutting the sugar in half to see what happens. I definitely like the sound of these though! I LOVE healthy cookies, especially those with great textures (oats, dried fruit, nuts).

    So cool that your picky little bro liked these! They must be good! It’s so hard to get kids to eat low-sugar/sugar free treats and actually like them!

  22. January 14, 2011 11:25 pm

    HOLY YUM. I’m about to run into the kitchen and make these NOW.
    bye 😉
    haha

  23. January 15, 2011 11:05 pm

    These look so tasty!! I really want to make them. I love that they are free of added sugar. I love the vegan sub, too. Thanks for thinking of us. 🙂

    • January 18, 2011 12:37 pm

      Of course! I always think of the lovely vegans! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Recipes! « Little Miss Healthify
  2. For The Love Of FOOD « Little Miss Healthify
  3. Violet, you’re turning violet! « Little Miss Healthify
  4. Pizzerts, Peppers, and Portobellos | kissmybroccoli

Leave a Reply

