Skip to content

Not-So-Wordless Wednesday

January 12, 2011

I was going to make this post a Wordless Wednesday post, but I have so much I want to say, so it’s not! Haha!

Breakfast: slice of homemade bread, toasted. 1/2 spread with greek yogurt (a lower in fat, healthier cream cheese) and cherry preserves and the other 1/2 with the very last bit of pumpkin spiced almond butter. With a tangelo (tangerine/grapefruit hybrid) on the side

I’ve never even heard of tangelos! When we first got them I thought it was a tangerine/orange hybrid! Looked it up online and I was wrong! It’s tangerine/grapefruit!

I’m not a big fan of grapefruit, the weird aftertaste bothers me. But these tangelos are so juicy and have a perfect tartness, love them!

Rawr.

I managed to take this candid shot of Chipper mid-growl with his cute little paw!

He was begging me for a walk or maybe a piece of toast!

We went on a walk around the block. We cut our walk short because it was so cold! I was wearing gym shorts and it was probably 45°F, too cold for this Florida girl!

It was a weights day today! For the last 2 weeks, every other day, I’ve been doing strength training exercises that I found on About.com. Haha, great source, right? It was the only website that I could find pictures, so I printed all the exercises out and I’ve been doing them with heavy weights. Heavy for me is 8 pounds!

I find that I love doing strength training a LOT more than I like cardio and running. Not that I don’t like cardio, but I feel so strong and it’s really fulfilling to do a bunch of strength training for me!

I also cleaned the kitchen today. Unloaded the dishwasher, loaded then unloaded again.

Don’t you love it when your brothers leave their soggy Cheerios on the counter?

The rest of my day was spent poring over this lovely book.

Yup, that’s my ACT study guide. Oh the joy.

Lunch: One bowl meal. I just threw together some long-forgotten frozen veggies that have been sitting in the freezer for who-knows-how-long and cooked them up with an egg and some egg whites. Seasoned with salt and pepper and eaten with some salsa! So simple and easy, but so yummy!

I made Heather’s Protein Ice-Cream as a little treat today. Can you tell…I didn’t use xanthan or guar gum? My parents don’t see it as a necessity, so I bet we won’t be buying it anytime soon!

Haha, it still tasted delicious!

A very HEAB inspired meal, don’t you think?

Lastly, I’ve picked out the color that I’ll be painting my room! I’m so excited!

Isn’t it gorgeous? I want my room to be calm and peaceful and I know that color is going to do the trick along with my new comforter that I got for Christmas! Hopefully we will start painting this weekend!

I’d love to know:

What’s your favorite hybrid fruit? I really love pluots (plum/apricot) and tangelos!

What color is your bedroom? Mine right now has one wall pink, the rest white. I got it done when we first moved here (I was 11) and I’m absolutely sick of it! Time for a change, even though I love pink!

Thanks for all your comments about Sugar-Free week the other day!

Gah! It’s 11:22pm, I need to get to bed! Thanks for reading, see ya tomorrow!

25 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2011 11:33 pm

    I never knew a tangelo was half grapefruit – always thought it was half orange. Interesting – love those things.

    Your one bowl lunch and protein ice-cream made me happy, and tell your parents the gums are completely necessary. 🙂

    Your bedroom is going to look beautiful. Mine is a really neutral color – kind of taupe I guess. I like to add a splash of color with a couple of framed prints.

    Enjoy the rest of your evening and thanks for the shout out.
    P.S. Pumpkin spiced almond butter? I want!

    • January 13, 2011 12:15 pm

      🙂 Thanks for the sweet comment!

      I tried cocoa roasted sweet potatoes last night, too! They were AMAZING!

  2. January 12, 2011 11:43 pm

    I once had a Grapple (apple/grape) the taste was something new to enjoy but I’m not sure how much I liked it
    My room is just a white color…I have plans to paint it lavender or violet hopefully soon

    • January 13, 2011 12:16 pm

      Apple/grape, that sounds like such a strange combo! Haha, I’m wondering how that even worked!

      Lavender is such a lovely color!

  3. January 12, 2011 11:48 pm

    Just had raspberry preserves today. I’ve never tried cherry preserves though. Sounds and looks yum! Love the photo of your dog too…perfect candid shot. I love your lunch idea. Not complicated, but still looks so satisfying. My bedroom is a light blue/green on the walls and a pale yellow on the ceiling. I love it!

    • January 13, 2011 12:17 pm

      It was my first time having cherry preserves (it’s the Polaner brand), and it’s absolutely delicious!

      I’ve never heard of a painted ceiling, how cool!

  4. January 13, 2011 12:14 am

    Your new room color matches your blog!! 🙂

    • January 13, 2011 12:17 pm

      Oh yeah! Haha, I didn’t even really notice that!!

  5. January 13, 2011 12:53 am

    My bedroom is sky blue! I love it! Then again i kinda wish my room was orange! I mean how many people have an orange room??

    I’ll totally trade you! I HATE strength training and LOVE cardio. Darn back. Darn back. I can’t do much cardio because It jars out of place and I get massive headaches. I swear if I jump… I’m screwed. LOL

  6. January 13, 2011 2:11 am

    ahah that wall paint color is the same as your background on your blog!! your smoothie looks GREAT!!! overflowing with goodness 😀

    • January 13, 2011 12:18 pm

      Haha, I got a little carried away and it overflowed…oops!

  7. January 13, 2011 7:41 am

    Love HEABS protein ice cream-she has me addicted, and I use both gums:)
    Your pup is so stinkin cute-it looks like its saying RARRRR haha-love it!

  8. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    January 13, 2011 7:43 am

    Holy Guacamole I have so much to say/relate to on this post…this may be a long comment, idk, just a heads up…

    I HAVE a tangelo tree!!! I just moved into a new house las year, and I have one!!! Too many tangelos to eat, so I’ve been making tangelo juice 🙂 🙂

    Your doggy is so cute 🙂

    I love weight training so much!!! I want to do it again today, but I really shouldn’t…Only every other day…

    I’ve taken the ACT three times, and honestly, I never study really. I go over a few terms and equations for math, but not really full, blown-out study.

    • January 13, 2011 12:19 pm

      I’m soooo jealous of your tangelo tree! Those things are GOOD!

      The study guide is kind of helpful. It has sample questions and 3 practice tests I can take. It is definitely helping me to know what to expect! This will be my second time taking it.

  9. January 13, 2011 8:08 am

    Good to know that a tangelo is half grapefruit, I never wanted to try them before but now they appeal to me more 🙂 And your room will look amazing! Thats a really pretty colour!

  10. January 13, 2011 9:24 am

    Haha, it’s funny ’cause the color you picked for your bedroom looks just like the background color of your blog. It’s a super pretty color! 🙂

    Your doggie is so cute!

    Our bedroom is a beige color that most of the house is painted in. However, we have chocolate brown squares painted on the wall that we put pictures up inside (I know that sounds weird, but trust me – it looks super cool). My kitchen is close to the color you are painting your room and it’s one of my favorite rooms in the house! 🙂

    • January 13, 2011 12:21 pm

      That does sound cool, I am planning to get some cute frames and hang inspiring quotes up on my walls!

  11. January 13, 2011 11:36 am

    I’ve never had one of those hybrid fruits, but I feel like I must! Do you get them from a special source or just at your grocery store?

    • January 13, 2011 12:21 pm

      We just get them at the local grocery store! You really should try them, they’re great!

  12. January 13, 2011 3:29 pm

    My room is a light lavendar. I love the color you picked out! It’s going to look great! 🙂

    I’ve never tried a tangelo–was it hard to find at your grocery store?

    • January 13, 2011 3:50 pm

      I love lavender!

      Tangelos should be right next to the other citrus!

  13. January 13, 2011 8:02 pm

    I love that color – it’s almost the same color as your blog wallpaper! 😉

  14. January 14, 2011 12:38 pm

    I love tangelos! I never knew what the hybrid cross was though. I just tried a pummelo for the first time a couple of months ago and it makes total sense now…to me it tasted just like a grapefruit with about 1/2 the intensity.

    Love your new bedroom color! Your room is going to be perfectly relaxing! Mine is just a boring cream color…as is the rest of the house except for one room. I decided to paint for the first time last year and painted my spare bedroom a really pretty light blue. I really like it and I enjoyed painting. If I wasn’t trying to sell it now, I would totally paint every room in the house!

  15. January 17, 2011 1:10 am

    I need to try that greek yogurt/fruit spread combo since I love cream cheese with jam so much! It looks like cheesecake mmm

Leave a Reply

