Skip to content

The Rain Came

January 6, 2011

If the rain comes they run and hide their heads. They might as well be dead. –The Beatles

This morning when I woke up I was very surprised to see how cloudy and gloomy it was! This time yesterday, the sun was brightly shining!

Even though it was a less-than sunny, beautiful day, Chipper and I still went on our morning walk.

Mistake #1

As we walked, I realized it was pretty chilly, yesterday it was warm! About 3 minutes into the walk it started to lightly sprinkle.

Ahh, it’ll pass. This is Florida, the sun will be out soon.

About 10 minutes into our walk the clouds started swirling and turned dark gray, in a very scary way. I was at a point where I could take a short cut home, but I decided to just keep going our normal route, certain that the rain would pass us.

Mistake #2

The light sprinkling got harder and harder and pretty soon buckets of rain were falling, hard and cold. Chipper was tugging on his leash. He wanted to turn around, he hates the rain. But we had to keep going, the closest way home was forward!

At this point, I was freezing, drenched to the bone, the rain was falling really hard now with no signs of letting up. I was slopping around in my now soaked tennis shoes. Trying to see through the ever constant pour of the rain as me and Chipper tried to go as quickly as we could. Suddenly I saw a flash of lightning and heard the roar of thunder.

Wonderful. Just wonderful.

The wind was really picking up now and Chipper didn’t want to walk any further. So I scooped him up and started running! I ran through the fierce cold winds, through the freezing sheets of rain, dodging the puddles. Hoping nobody in their nice warm homes could see me, I’m sure I looked ridiculous.

After a minute or so of running my knee gave out and I had to walk again. But I was walking the fastest I ever had, I needed to get out of this rain! My ears were in pain from the fierce cold and poor Chipper was shivering in my arms.

At this point I started to panic, we probably had another 10 minutes until we got home.

Then I realized, there was nothing really to worry about. As long as I didn’t get electrocuted!! So I just kept speed walking.

I’ve never felt so drenched, cold or wet.

Finally we made it home. Such a relief!

I immediately wrapped Chipper in a towel. Then, naturally I took a picture of myself.

Charming. Sorry for the bad quality. I had just spent 10 minutes running around in the freezing cold rain, people.

Here’s what we were dealing with:

Crazy.

I then proceeded to take a nice warm shower. Ahh, I’ve never loved the comfort of hot water more than I did then.

I was battling a headache so I decided to take it easy.

Made some breakfast comfort food

Banana French toast.

And watched The Biggest Loser premiere on Hulu.

I laughed when Bob was on top of the truck the contestants were pushing.

In the future: I’ll always check the weather before I go on a walk!

I’d love to know:

Has anything like this ever happened to you?

24 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2011 2:43 pm

    I also laughed at that part with Bob on top of the truck! This is the first season of TBL that I ever watch but I found it oddly entertaining! And as a bonus, the next day at the gym, I kept thinking to myself “If those 400 pound people can workout for 5 hours… I can pull through my 90 minutes”

  2. January 6, 2011 2:44 pm

    You rock for running your cute puppy home in the rain!

  3. January 6, 2011 4:08 pm

    You poor thing!! My puppy would be PISSED if I did that to her lol I hope you guys dont get sick now! I have never been caught in the rain THAT bad. Little sprinkles yes but not crazy downpoor!

  4. January 6, 2011 4:18 pm

    rainy mornings are never fun to wake up to 😦 sorry about the puppy, but on the bright side banana french toast is a great cure all haha

  5. January 6, 2011 4:45 pm

    I absolutely love that picture of Chipper all bundled up in a towel. I’m so glad you guys are all nice and warm now — and your stomach is full from a delish looking breakfast, may I add. I usually try to complete my workouts if it’s not too heavy of a rain (& if it’s not thunderstorming, because I always feel like I will be the one person who gets struck by lightning). If I’m at home, though, I always tell my mom where I’m going so she can come pick me up if it gets really bad.

  6. January 6, 2011 5:28 pm

    Yes!! All the time. The weather here is just as bipolar as it is in FL. I’ve literally ran through a 10-foot wall of straight rain only to come out to sunshine on the other side. It’s kind of fun once you get back to the warmth, though. And your puppy looks so comfy in his towel. 🙂

    • January 7, 2011 10:06 am

      It’s crazy how the weather changes so suddenly!

  7. January 6, 2011 6:40 pm

    haha your pup is so cute!
    I had hail like crazy one time on a walk and my parents had to come pick me up!

  8. January 6, 2011 8:00 pm

    It was really gloomy in Chicago all day too. So sorry to hear about the storming all over you 😦 On the plus side, at least it makes for a fun story! And I love the pic of your dog in the towel! The only story I have kind of like that happened when I was in high school, before cell phones. I was walking with a friend when I got stung by a bee!! I had to limp the entire mile home!!

  9. January 6, 2011 8:15 pm

    Your french toast looks SO GOOD!!! Is it just banana, blueberries, peanut butter, and wheat germ (or something)topping it?

    • January 7, 2011 10:10 am

      I soaked the bread in 1/3 mashed banana, egg whites, cinnamon, nutmeg, and vanilla. Then cooked it on the skillet and topped with the rest of the banana, frozen blueberries, pb, flax meal and more cinnamon!

  10. January 6, 2011 9:00 pm

    Haha AWW that picture of your doggy is adorable ♥ And omg yes- that same thing happened to me over the summer, but I was out riding my bike. It started POURING rain- to the point where I fell off my bike and scraped my face pretty badly 😦 I still have a scar ! :O

    The french toast look amazing btw!!!
    xx

  11. January 6, 2011 9:09 pm

    So sorry about your soggy rain accident!! That looks like it was quite intense, although I’m secretly wishing we’d had that kind of weather here today. 😛 I LOVE rainy days, especially when they happen before school starts, so I can just chill. Your french toast looks awesome!

    • January 7, 2011 10:12 am

      I love rainy days, too! So relaxing, I just didn’t think it would start pouring on me, haha!

  12. January 6, 2011 9:54 pm

    Taking a hot shower after being freezing cold has to be one of the greatest feelings ever! I don’t really have any experiences with rainstorms but I do with SNOWstorms. Just this Monday actually I was forced to walked the mile home from school in 10 degree weather, while it was snowing and I didn’t have a coat!! Just my shirt and jeans. BRR.
    That banana french toast looks di-vine!

    • January 7, 2011 10:12 am

      Oh man, 10 degrees without a coat, that’s freezing!

  13. January 7, 2011 12:56 am

    Yes! I was backpacking in the Uinta Mountain range and a huge Thunderstorm/Hail storm came! Soaked to the bone. Unfortunately there were no warm showers in the tent. I can laugh about it now, maybe not in the moment. Which I bet is the same with you.

  14. January 7, 2011 3:12 am

    ahah i got stuck in the rain with my dog yesterday!! it was no fun… ahh i wish i could get the newest Biggest Loser over here!

  15. January 7, 2011 1:02 pm

    I started a run when it was bright and sunny and five miles in it started pouring out of nowhere. I was 5 miles away from my house and had to run back and was wet and soggy.

  16. January 8, 2011 8:18 am

    That has happened to me quite a few times. Once my dad and I went on a bike ride through the park. Just when we were about 8 miles from the house we had to turn around and ride the 8 miles back in the rain. I was SOAKED! 😛

Leave a Reply

