Skip to content

New addiction

January 4, 2011

I have something to say.

Iusedtohatesweetpotatoes.

I know, I know. CRAZINESS

When my mom was on her health kick a few years ago, she’d make them and I would not eat them.

I thought they were disgusting and orange (how the heck are they orange?). Give me some white potatoes in mashed form please!!

I was one messed up child.

These days, I can’t get enough of sweet potatoes!

Give me that orangey goodness!

I made some the other day a la Kelsey’s method . They were absolutely so amazing and tasty and soft and crunchy all at the same time!!

I need to buy more Β sweet potatoes.

That is all.

37 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2011 7:02 pm

    I am eating a huge bowl right now of some of HEAB’s cocoa roasted sweet potatoes and my own peanut butter, vanilla, honey, maca, nutritional yeast coated ones to go on the blog tomorrow! πŸ™‚

  2. January 4, 2011 7:07 pm

    I have a total obsession with sweet potatoes too!! I have eaten sweet potato fries for dinner the past two nights πŸ™‚

  3. January 4, 2011 7:21 pm

    I LOVE SWEET POTATOES!!! I used to abhor them too(I know — crazy!). I wouldn’t touch them — and then I tasted them. I was sold. I LOVE THEM!! I go crazy for sweet potatoes! πŸ™‚

  4. January 4, 2011 7:23 pm

    Sweet potatoes are like some sort of addictive drug, I know! haha. Once you have one one day…it’s all you can think about! Well, for me anyway πŸ˜›
    I never remember having sweet potatoes growing up…they were just sort of something I started seeing on blogs and finally tried them for myself a year or two ago!

    • January 4, 2011 10:14 pm

      Exactly, I just couldn’t stop thinking about them after I ran out!

  5. January 4, 2011 7:33 pm

    I used to not be into sweet potatoes because I thought they were TOO sweet and I didn’t like mushy things. These days, there’s nothing I like better than a batch of krispy sweet potato fries. So good!

  6. January 4, 2011 8:00 pm

    I hate to say it, but I tried sweet potatoes and PB a few months ago and STILL didn’t like them. I thought PB was supposed to make everything taste good?! πŸ˜•

    • January 4, 2011 10:16 pm

      To me, they’re so much better roasted in the oven with spices! Have you tried them that way?

  7. January 4, 2011 8:12 pm

    Love sweet taters!!!

    They are good with Maple syrup and cinnamon!!!! Yum!!!

    • January 4, 2011 10:12 pm

      I’ve actually never had them with maple syrup and cinnamon, I prefer mine savory!! Which is odd, I guess, since they are SWEET potatoes!

  8. January 4, 2011 9:01 pm

    I just made pudding with sweet potato in honour of sugar-free week πŸ™‚ I’ll post the recipe tomorrow morning!

  9. January 4, 2011 9:21 pm

    There are so many healthy foods that I used to hate a couple years ago, but love now! One of them was sweet potatoes, which I find absolutely crazy now. Can’t beat a lazy dinner of sweet p fries and ketchup πŸ˜€

    • January 4, 2011 10:11 pm

      Isn’t it great? I never ever would have tried (or liked) sweet potatoes, hummus, green monsters, or oatmeal if it wasn’t for the blog world!!

  10. theflourishingfoodie permalink
    January 4, 2011 9:46 pm

    I actually don’t like sweet poatoes. I know this sounds like blasphemy to many in the food blog world, haha. Maybe, like you, I’ll come to like them one day. I hope so! I really want to like them, I just don’t :/

  11. January 4, 2011 9:54 pm

    Those look awesome! I love sweet potatoes with butter and brown sugar! LOL
    How do the spices make it taste? I
    m too afraid it will take away the sweetness! ya know?

    • January 4, 2011 10:10 pm

      I thought the spices added some “edge” to the sweetness and I really liked it! It’s worth a shot!

  12. January 4, 2011 11:32 pm

    Glad you saw the light πŸ™‚ I only tried them last year or so, but I am addicted!

  13. January 4, 2011 11:50 pm

    I still don’t like sweet potatoes… or any potatoes for that matter. What is wrong with me?! lol… maybe there is hope for me one day!

  14. January 5, 2011 12:31 am

    Kayla! I used to hate sweet potatoes too! You’re not the only one. I def. think they are an acquired taste.

  15. January 5, 2011 2:02 am

    i love sweet potatoes!! you can make them in pancakes, eat them baked, make chips,mix it in yogurt….. so much to do!

  16. January 5, 2011 3:03 am

    I heart sweet potatoes too! Though I didn’t like them until just a few years ago πŸ™‚ The things we convince ourselves as kids…

    If you want a spicy, delicious variation you should try them tossed in olive oil and sprinkled with salt, pepper, cumin & cayenne pepper. I also sometimes add a little brown sugar to the mix as well.

  17. January 5, 2011 4:32 am

    BOO! Hi Kayla! And whuuuuuut you hated sweet potatoes? I think I’ve loved sweet potatoes as long as I have LIVED. Man. Seriously. They sell roasted sweet potatoes on the side of the road in Taiwan and Shanghai, and sometimes they’re not good but most of the time… mushy, almost neon-orange sweet carbyness that I love. Hehehe.

  18. January 5, 2011 7:17 am

    I made sweet potato homefries last week for breakfast! They were sooo good!! Check em out – http://fashionfitnessfoodie.wordpress.com/2010/12/31/christmas-again/

  19. January 5, 2011 7:59 am

    GASP!! Blasphemous! Sweet potatoes come straight from Heaven! So glad you have got your head on straight now and have come over to the good side! Heehee!

  20. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    January 5, 2011 8:40 am

    AHHHHH!!!! I am so glad you go over that *hating* phase….I wouldn’t let you go through life without sweet potatoes πŸ˜‰

  21. January 5, 2011 11:17 am

    I tried sweet potatoes for the first time this year, and I can’t wait to experiment with different methods of cooking them. I had mine baked – but I think mashed and roasted would be so tasty as well. Here’s to trying new things and loving ’em! πŸ™‚

  22. January 5, 2011 12:27 pm

    oh i know! i feel you on the obsession with sweet taters! they’re so versatile, but i can’t seem to get myself past eating them sweet with cinnamon & splenda or with sweeet maple almond butter. i know they’d be good savory, too, but ughhh i can’t pass up a sweet tater SWEET mash ❀ xo.

  23. January 5, 2011 1:11 pm

    Sweet potatos are so goooood!

  24. January 5, 2011 3:08 pm

    I LOVE sweet potatoes! Thank goodness (for you) that you found the light hehe!

  25. January 6, 2011 6:47 pm

    Sweet potatoes = amazing.
    ’nuff said πŸ˜‰

Trackbacks

  1. Vanilla-Cinnamon Roasted Sweet Potatoes « Little Miss Healthify

Leave a Reply

