Skip to content

Microwave Protein Breakfast Cake

December 31, 2010

One of my favorite breakfasts over Winter Break has been a Microwave Protein Cake. I’ve basically come up with my own recipe for them after adapting from lots of other recipes. It tastes so good, and I don’t even add sweetener!

Microwave Protein Breakfast Cake

Mix together in glass microwave-safe bowl:

2 Tbsp. oats

1/2 t. baking powder

Then add:

6 Tbsp. liquid egg whites (2 egg whites)

1/4 cup canned pumpkin

1 Tbsp. cacao nibs OR cocoa powder

1/4 – 1/2 scoop chocolate protein powder

dash of vanilla extract

Mix until combined and flatten down. Microwave for 2:30. Flip over onto plate, smother with favorite nut butter!

*I used nibs, if you use cocoa powder your cake will be dark, like a chocolate cake!

I smothered this cake with my own White Chocolate Wonderful. Haha! I mixed peanut butter with melted white chocolate chips!

This cake is good for weekends or when you have time to pull out all the ingredients and then put them all back away! It’s very filling and is super healthy! You can always add sweetener if you need to!

I’d love to know:

What’s your favorite breakfast when you have a lot of time on your hands?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. runyogarepeat permalink
    December 31, 2010 1:50 pm

    I’m always too hungry in the morning to get creative, so I have oats or an egg sandwich most of them time. This breakfast cake is so creative though. I love the name for your pb – White Chocolate Wonderful!

  2. December 31, 2010 2:12 pm

    YUM!! I have a recipe for one of these too, but I love that this one has oats!! When I have time to make breakfast I love making myself some pancakes with fresh juice 🙂

  3. December 31, 2010 3:06 pm

    now this is what i call the perfect solution to cold mornings when you just want something that feels indulgent!! WCW pb is just epic 🙂

  4. December 31, 2010 5:07 pm

    I want to get some protein powder! Until I saw it on blogs, I never would have even thought to cook with it.

  5. January 1, 2011 7:13 am

    oh my gosh i eat breakfast cakes like these a lot too! i love pumpkin and chocolate!

  6. January 1, 2011 10:16 am

    When I have a lot of time I like pancakes. Otherwise I’m a pretty simple 10 minute or less breakfast girl!

  7. January 1, 2011 10:07 pm

    Mmmm that looks so good! And quite easy too 😀
    I’m going to have to try that out.

    And when I have a lot of time on my hands, I definitely like making pancakes!!! Yum ♥

  8. January 3, 2011 7:15 pm

    I made this! For breakfast this morning and I believe you have introduced me to my new favorite thing. So freaking good!

    • January 3, 2011 8:12 pm

      Haylee! I’m so glad you liked it, aren’t they the best?

  9. July 18, 2013 2:03 pm

    I just like the helpful information you supply on your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your weblog and take a look at once more here frequently. I’m moderately certain I will be told lots of new stuff proper here!
    Best of luck for the next!

Trackbacks

  1. Chocolate Cake for Breakfast | Jax House

Leave a Reply

