Skip to content

Make Your Own Nibs

December 15, 2010

Alex inspired me to try 100% dark chocolate, I mean it’s healthy because there’s no added sugar and it’s chocolate, so why not?

At the store this weekend I picked up some unsweetened Baker’s Chocolate squares.

What better way to have chocolate than with some oatmeal!

I cooked 1/3 cup oats in 1/3 cup water in the microwave then stirred in 1/3 cup of this amazingness:

Sadly, you couldn’t even taste the chocolate almond milk, what a waste! But it did add a nice brown color to the oats:

For the “nibs” I blended two squares of unsweetened chocolate in the Vitamix (yes, I’m crazy) and had my own cacao nibs to sprinkle on my oatmeal!

Break the chocolate square in half, before blending. This is just one square, I put in two.

Then stored the rest in a baggie for later…

The 100% dark chocolate was definitely a change! I’m a sugar lover and I have a huge sweet tooth, but I actually did enjoy the dark chocolate! It was extremely bitter, of course, but if you really think about that real chocolate flavor it’s easier to enjoy!

I just kept thinking about how this is real chocolate without all the crud that usually goes into chocolate making it unhealthy.

I’ve told myself that from now on I’m Β going to eat dark chocolate instead of milk chocolate, it’s healthier and tastes better! And you can eat dark chocolate without all the guilt because there’s no sugar or anything and it’s chock full of antioxidants!

I’ll definitely be eating my homemade cacao nibs with banana soft serve and oatmeal! They really are delicious! You should try making your own nibs, but just make sure to do it when nobody else is home, they will knock your block off because of all the sound the Vita makes!

I’d love to know:

What do you think of my homemade cacao nibs?

Have you ever tried 100% dark chocolate?

16 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2010 10:58 am

    Love the cocoa nibs idea! πŸ™‚ The first time I tried dark chocolate, I actually spat it out… But now I absolutely LOVE dark chocolate, I’m never going back to milk chocolate! The darker and more intense, the better, for me πŸ™‚ yumm

  2. December 15, 2010 11:07 am

    I love dark chocolate cocoa powder. Aram hates it and won’t eat it unless it’s ultra sweet but something about that dark bitter taste-I love. I often add it to PB2 which is amazing.

  3. December 15, 2010 11:09 am

    What a brilliant idea! I need a Vita Mix soooo bad! πŸ™‚

  4. December 15, 2010 11:29 am

    wow! I ‘vee never even heard of nor seen 100%! the highest I saw was 99% and I was impressed with that! I totally dig the dark and bitter chocolate and I always have some on my oats every morning.. in the form of a fudgie!- but i love these little nibs- such a unique texture!

  5. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    December 15, 2010 11:44 am

    YAY!!! I am so glad you tried it πŸ™‚

    How creative-homemade cacao nibs! Cool!

  6. Ayla permalink
    December 15, 2010 2:20 pm

    I think your homemade cacao nibs are a great idea!! I’ve never thought about doing that but I think I’ll try it out using my food processor. I don’t have a Vita-mix (I wish!), just some crappy blender that would probably explode if I tried to put chocolate squares in it.

    • December 16, 2010 12:39 pm

      Haha, I was kinda worried that my Vita wouldn’t be able to handle it, but it did!

  7. December 15, 2010 5:59 pm

    I’m jealous! I wish I had a Vita Mix, but I’m sure the nibs would work in my Magic Bullet too. Chocolate in oatmeal is amazing! Enjoy! πŸ™‚

  8. December 15, 2010 11:49 pm

    Love your cocoa nibs! And you’re right, oats are much better with chocolate. πŸ˜‰

    By the way, you won the giveaway on my blog! Could you please email me your shipping info? πŸ™‚

  9. December 16, 2010 12:29 am

    Totally love the nibs!! I love dark chocolate so much, and I actually find because it is so rich and delicious that I need LESS to satisfy that chocolate craving. Less craving AND antioxidants? Heck yes!!

  10. December 16, 2010 12:36 am

    You are genius! I hadn’t thought of using cacao nibs in oatmeal, I’m definitely going to try that tomorrow. I bought a bag of them a couple of weeks ago and have been at a loss of what to use them for but now I know what I’m going to try! Thanks πŸ™‚

  11. December 19, 2010 11:14 pm

    oh my goodness adding chocolate milk to oats is the best, and then mixing in PB, dried fruit, and nuts. Holey yum πŸ™‚

  12. January 6, 2011 6:40 pm

    I love 100% dark chocolate!
    at first I couldn’t stand the taste but after two more tries I’ve grown to love it πŸ™‚

Trackbacks

  1. A Mysterious Note On The Fridge « Little Miss Healthify
  2. Microwave Protein Breakfast Cake « Little Miss Healthify
  3. Funniest Search Terms « Little Miss Healthify

Leave a Reply

