Skip to content

Protein Packed Smoothie and Hummus Egg Salad

December 14, 2010

For breakfast today I had a wonderfully filling smoothie that I managed to chug down even though it was freezing outside!

Protein Packed Pumpkin Pie Smoothie

from SELF magazine

  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 cup plain nonfat yogurt
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin
  • 1 banana
  • cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger to taste
  • 5 ice cubes
  • 1/4 t. vanilla extract *
  • dash of salt *

* optional, wasn’t in recipe from SELF, but I added it to add more flavor!

Blend all together until thick, creamy and smooth! Like a milkshake!

This smoothie has 18+ grams of protein and it is super filling and yummy!

***

I’m pretty sure I have a hummus addiction! The stuff is just too good! I can’t wait til I can find some tahini (sesame seed butter/paste) and make some of my own in the Vitamix, but until then I’ll settle with Sabra’s hummus!

So today I made an egg salad sandwich for lunch. Which is funny because my mom used to make egg salad all the time and I wouldn’t eat it, I thought it smelled bad. But now I love it! Of course, my mom’s egg salad was full of mayo, but my recipe is pretty healthy and I think it tastes better!

Hummus Egg Salad Sandwich

makes 1 serving

Combine in a bowl:

  • 1 hard-boiled egg + 1 hard-boiled egg white, chopped
  • 1 Tbsp. plain nonfat yogurt
  • 1 (heaping) Tbsp. spinach and artichoke hummus
  • a little dash of Hot Sweet mustard

Spread on 100% whole wheat bread with some tomato and spinach and you’ve got a perfect little sandwich!

Seriously, this is so good!

19 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2010 2:57 pm

    I looooove making egg salad with hummus. And I love pumpkin pie smoothies super big time too! 🙂

  2. December 14, 2010 2:59 pm

    Ooh at first I thought it had mayo but then realized you subbed greek yogurt into it. What a great idea!

    PS: I’m just letting you know I added you to my blog roll. 🙂

    • December 14, 2010 3:40 pm

      That’s so sweet of you!! You know what, I need to figure out mine now and I’ll put you on mine!! 😉

  3. December 14, 2010 3:13 pm

    OMG. A PUMPKIN smoothie!? I never would have thought… I have to make that now, thanks for the idea!!! Yep, smoothies rock! 😉

  4. December 14, 2010 3:38 pm

    You can’t find tahini but you have a vitamix!? You can totally make your own!!! Actually, when I made hummus in my vitamix, I just threw in a handful of sesame seeds and they got totally blended in! If you don’t want your hummus to be too blended, you can blend the sesame seeds first into a paste and then add the chickpeas. Good luck 🙂

  5. December 14, 2010 3:48 pm

    that looks so good! I havent had an egg salad in AGES!

  6. December 14, 2010 4:34 pm

    SOOOOO totally making that smoothie tonight. Im thinking maybe my hubby will split it with me for dessert. Or maybe I will drink it all by myself and tell him to make his own. HA! I love the hummus/egg salad combo! I often use hummus instead of mayo when I make my tuna salad!

  7. December 14, 2010 5:09 pm

    ive tried hummus and eggs together for an egg salad and omg was it DELICIOUS!!! its amazing what a punch it adds!! ❤

  8. December 14, 2010 5:13 pm

    Oooh, that smoothie looks delish! I think Self has some pretty awesome recipes.

  9. December 14, 2010 5:29 pm

    I keep wanting to make a pumpkin smoothie but I can never bring myself to do it when it’s so darn chilly in the mornings. And all day. Just looking out at the snow makes me cold haha.
    I never used to like egg salad either when I was little but now I definitely don’t mind a nice egg salad sam every now and again.

  10. December 14, 2010 5:45 pm

    I have never tried making egg salad with hummus. I will have to try this. The smoothie also is a nice recipe.

  11. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    December 14, 2010 6:26 pm

    I’ve been wanting to try making deviled eggs with hummus! Or chicken salad! Just haven’t gotten around to it yet…

  12. December 15, 2010 11:39 pm

    OH girl i love that egg salad recipe there! sounds AWESOME!! and the smoothie too!

  13. December 24, 2010 11:30 am

    Thank you for 5ice.

  14. January 13, 2011 9:13 pm

    Yummy! I can’t wait to try your egg salad sandwich! Or your smoothie!

  15. September 7, 2012 6:24 pm

    I am a new Vitamix owner. I did a search for an egg salad sandwich recipe and came across your blog. I *love* anything pumpkin & was excited to make the protein packed pumpkin smoothie. I just finished it. Very good, although not as thick as yours, most likely because I used low fat vanilla yogurt, rice milk, and more ice cubes.

Trackbacks

  1. Recipes! « Little Miss Healthify
  2. Snow Day! | FoodFitnessFun
  3. Funniest Search Terms « Little Miss Healthify

Leave a Reply

