Skip to content

Overnight Steel-Cut Oats

December 10, 2010

Thank goodness I’m all done with my Geometry final exam, it was a whopping 71 questions! My head is swimming with angle measurements of polygons, surface area formulas and scale factors. I have a headache.

I hate Geometry. I really, really do. And it’s not that I’m bad at it, I just don’t like doing it.

Now that I’m done with Geometry, Algebra 2 begins! Oh the thrill. But not until January…thank goodness!

***

Breakfast for me is almost always sweet, especially the last few weeks. Chocolate oats, pumpkin oats, fruit yogurt, blueberry waffles….except for today.

I had Heather’s savory steel-cut oats.

I felt like I was committing a crime or breaking some unwritten rule as I stirred spinach and garlic into the oats as they cooked.

As I sat down to take a bite, I almost didn’t want to eat it. I mean, spinach in oatmeal? What made me do this?

But I took the first bite and it was surprisingly good! The steel-cut oats have a nice chew to them, so it was a lot like eating rice, only not. It was a nice change!

I think the only reason people don’t eat more steel-cut oats is because they take 20 minutes or more to cook stove-top versus 5 minutes for regular oats.

But not if you do them overnight! I love steel-cut oats, they have such a nice nutty flavor and I love the slight chew of them! A few weeks ago I tried steel-cut oats in a crock-pot overnight, but this worked so much better!

Overnight Steel-Cut Oats

1/4 cup steel-cut oats

1/2 cup water

Right before you go to bed, add the oats and water to a small pan over the stove. Letting the oats soak in the water overnight. When you wake up in the morning, cook the oats on medium-high until creamy (about 6 minutes), adding desired mix-ins and toppings.

This morning in my steel-cut oats, I stirred in a small handful of spinach and some garlic and removed from the heat when the spinach was wilted. Then I topped the oats with a fried egg, crumbled feta cheese and some pepper!

For a pre-exam snack I had this beautiful thing:

Almond butter and 1/2 banana on a Flat-Out; after the photo I added a teeny bit of honey and cinnamon

Meanwhile, my head is still spinning from just completing 71 math problems. I need a nap.

Actually, I’m going to go bake.

25 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2010 5:53 pm

    I hated geometry too! 71 questions that is just ridiculous! Your oats look AMAZING!

  2. December 10, 2010 5:55 pm

    Way to be daring with your savory breakfast! Seeing it makes me want to make it again for a savory lunch now 🙂

    I’ve never tried overnight steel cut oats, but I will soon! What a great way to save cooking tiem.

  3. December 10, 2010 6:02 pm

    I honestly disliked geometry much more than I did algebra..but calculus even more than that lmho. I’m SO glad I knocked out all my math classes by freshman year of college. 😛

    Those oats look great. Steel cut are definitely yummy..but I always seem to have issues getting the texture just right. Cooking them overnight really helps!

    • December 10, 2010 10:28 pm

      I am not looking forward to taking Calculus, that’s for sure!

  4. December 10, 2010 6:49 pm

    I really want to try savory oatmeal, but I never remember to make it! I’m hoping that I will remember tomorrow morning. It looks soooo good!

  5. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    December 10, 2010 7:07 pm

    I really like savory oatmeal!

    That looks like a good pre-exam snack 🙂 I will have to bring something tomorrow for the ACT!! Eeek! I have taken the ACT before, so I know it will be tiring and long. like 5 hrs long…ugh….dreading it!

    • December 10, 2010 10:23 pm

      Oh man, I have to take the ACT in February! I do NOT like that test at all! It’s so looong! Good luck!

  6. December 10, 2010 8:01 pm

    I feel you, girl! I had a calculus exam today, 3 hours of math questions!!! Oh my god, the things the school puts us through 😛

  7. December 10, 2010 8:11 pm

    I’m a math major and the math that is my least favorite is geometry. 71 questions is a touch too much.

    I have never had overnite oats but really want to give them a try sometime.

  8. carascravings permalink
    December 10, 2010 8:18 pm

    I am a steel cut oats fan!
    I soak them overnight so I cooking
    time is quite minimal in the morning.

  9. December 11, 2010 1:35 am

    ahah baking is always the solution! I LOVE flat out wraps too!

  10. December 11, 2010 9:38 am

    I know EXACTLY what you mean about long tests!! yuck! =D
    Can’t wait to see what you bake! =D

  11. December 11, 2010 10:58 am

    I’ve always been a little hesitant to do savory oats, although I know that it would most likely be good!

    Congrats on finishing with geometry!

  12. December 11, 2010 11:18 am

    Eww math and me are NOT friends. It has and probably always be my WORST subject!! Its funny too because my mom is an accountant lol I guess I didnt get her love of numbers! I am doing baking this weekend too. I must say, it is probably one of my favorite things about the weekends 🙂

  13. theflourishingfoodie permalink
    December 12, 2010 1:04 am

    I love making overnight steel-cut oats, I usually do mine in the crock-pot. I really need to try savory oats, it sounds so good!

  14. December 12, 2010 2:33 am

    Savory oats are always very intriguing. I think I’d be too afraid to try, even though yours do look tasty. I think it’s the texture!

  15. December 12, 2010 5:49 am

    Good choice. Baking trumps geometry and naps.

    My parents eat oatmeal with kimchi!!

  16. December 12, 2010 5:46 pm

    I had savory oats once. A year ago, if that tells you anything 🙂 They weren’t bad, necessarily…just not right! haha

    • December 12, 2010 7:19 pm

      They are a bit odd! I definitely prefer oats with banana and nut butter! 😉

  17. runyogarepeat permalink
    December 12, 2010 10:23 pm

    I’ve never tried steel cut oats or savory oats. This looks really good though!

  18. December 31, 2010 11:05 am

    I’ve never tried steel cut oats — do you prefer them over old-fashioned?

    I love your decision in the end, by the way!! 😉

    • December 31, 2010 1:17 pm

      No, I still like old-fashioned better! But steel-cut is a nice way to mix things up every so often!

Trackbacks

  1. Recipes! « Little Miss Healthify

Leave a Reply

