Skip to content

Almond butter in the Vitamix!

December 8, 2010

I know it’s a little late to talk about, but I had an awesome weekend! I went to my church’s youth activity…ICE SKATING! It’s such a graceful, concentrated, skilled, and balanced activity and it’s so much fun! I’m really good at it, too. All my friends kept slipping and falling on the ice and I didn’t fall once! The skates were VERY uncomfortable though, I have bruises on my feet from the poor-fitting shoes. That’s what you get for renting shoes at a indoor ice rink!

Fast forward to yesterday:

I made ALMOND BUTTER! The first time I made almond butter was probably 6 months ago and it did not turn out good at all. It wouldn’t “butterize” so I just had big dry clumps of ground almonds that weren’t spreadable at all.

Mistake #1: I put about 4 cups of almonds into the Vitamix, the poor Vita couldn’t take it!

Mistake #2: I didn’t let the almonds cool after roasting, so the Vita got super hot and stopped working. (But it worked again after resting for a few minutes)

Mistake #3: The almonds I used were very, very old. They had been sitting in our pantry for many months before I decided to make almond butter out of them and I think they were bad.

But yesterday, I made amazing almond butter. No mistakes here!

I bet you’re dying to know how I did it, so…I’ll tell you.

12-Minute Almond Butter In A Vitamix

Yield: 1/2 cup almond butter; 8 Tbsp.

  • 1 cup raw, unsalted almonds
  • sea salt, if desired
  1. Spread almonds on a cookie sheet and roast in 300Β°F oven for 35 minutes.
  2. Let them cool completely.Β (Important!)
  3. Transfer almonds into the Vitamix. Put the lid on the Vita and blend the almonds at speed: 3
  4. Stop Vitamix every so often, scrape the sides and blend again. Once it “butterizes” (becomes creamy and spreadable, usually at the 5-7 minutes mark) add a few dashes of salt, if desired.
  5. After 12 minutes of blending and scraping you’ll have smooth, creamy almond butter! If you want it more runny, keep blending and increase speed to 6 until smooth.
  6. Keep almond butter refrigerated in a tupperware container.

Some points:

  • I don’t know if you really have to store the butter in the fridge, but I think it’s best to.
  • Roasting the almonds really brings out the flavor, don’t skip the roasting!
  • Also, making almond butter is simple: Basically, you keep blending and blending and scraping the sides, blending and blending until it comes together!

I have never bought almond butter at the store, so I don’t know how it compares, but it really does taste good! I kind of need to buy almond butter at the store now, so I can see if mine is better!

Fast forward to today:

As I fall asleep every night, I occupy myself by planning my workout and breakfast for the next day…is that weird?

Haha, well last night I dreamed up this:

Turbo Jam Cardio Party: Mix 3

This was my first time doing the Cardio Party and it was not an easy workout! Holy cow, Chalene kicks your butt! Wearing the hand weights really upped the intensity, too!

here I am, modeling my hand weights and my tennis shoes! Oh yeahh

For the last week and a half, I’ve been doing a Turbo Jam DVD every morning…I’m so proud of myself πŸ™‚

After my sweat sesh I made myself this excellent breakfast that I had already dreamed up last night:

1/2 cup oats, 1 cup water cooked in microwave for 2 min., stir in 1/2 mashed banana; topped with 1/3 c. frozen bluebs, rest of banana, 1 tbsp. homemade AB and cinnamon!

It was my first time eating my almond butter with something (besides just licking the spoon!) and it was delicious with these oats! I need to buy more almonds to make more BUTTER!

Oh and also, it was my first time microwaving my oats! Even though I buy instant oats, I always cook them over the stove! But microwaving was faster, easier and tasted better, so I’ll be microwaving from now on!

I’d love to know:

Have you ever made almond butter at home?

Do you cook your oats stove-top or microwave?

24 Comments leave one →
  1. December 8, 2010 1:42 pm

    Haha, that is awesome about ice skating. We went for youth conference this year. It took me a while to get the hang of it, but I didn’t fall either! πŸ™‚

    I love almond butter in the Vita! I have made it a few times but my results aren’t always awesome. I didn’t know it was important to let the almonds cool, so thank you for that tip. I will try that from now on! The next one I want to make is one by Ashley @ The Edible Perspective. She has a pumpkin spice one that looks so good.

    You’re not weird, don’t worry. I always think about my workout and breakfast the day/night before. I like to have my plan all laid out for when I get home from seminary! πŸ˜€

    • December 8, 2010 3:41 pm

      I was actually going to make the pumpkin spice one, but once I had already roasted the almonds I saw that I was out of maple syrup, so I made regular instead!!

  2. December 8, 2010 2:17 pm

    i cook mine stovetop! so much creamier and thicker! and NO i have not made my own nut butter- i dont have a vitamix.. i only have a blender 😦

  3. December 8, 2010 2:34 pm

    I cook my oats at work in the microwave becuase it’s easier, but I DO tend to be fancier and cook them stove top at home (plus my microwave DIED a few weeks ago) and actually prefer them this way now, slow cooked just makes them so much better!

  4. December 8, 2010 3:17 pm

    I microwave my oats. I only have oatmeal if I’m in a rush so microwaving saves time and energy hehe.

    I made pumpkin butter but never almond. I really want to try and make it though.

    • December 8, 2010 3:43 pm

      Ooh, pumpkin butter! I was planning on making some, but never got around to it! I should soon!

  5. December 8, 2010 4:24 pm

    I’ve made almond butter in my vitamix before but while it wasn’t a total disaster, it wasnt very spreadable… Hahaa, thanks for the tips! I’ll have to try again πŸ™‚ Fresh nut butter is way better than store bought, trust me πŸ™‚

    • December 8, 2010 11:51 pm

      Just make sure you don’t do too many almonds at once and just keep scraping and blending, it should turn out!

  6. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    December 8, 2010 5:13 pm

    I want a vitamix so badly!!! My poor little blender can’t make nutbutters 😦

  7. December 8, 2010 7:09 pm

    Hey girl! I just made pb in my vita but I haven’t tried almond butter yet! That’s DEFINITELY my next project. In fact, I’m so inspired I think ill make it tonight! Thanks for all the tips!

  8. December 8, 2010 8:46 pm

    I love making my own nut butters! I actually just made my own mixed nut butter tonight:)

  9. December 9, 2010 2:09 am

    My favorite nut butter combination I ever made was pecans, walnuts, and coconut with cinnamon…. TO. DIE. FOR.

    • December 9, 2010 4:02 pm

      Ooh, that does sound good! One time I did pecans, walnuts and a little honey, delicious!

  10. December 9, 2010 2:12 am

    Woo! Good for you making your own almond butter, I give you credit. I’ve always wanted to just haven’t had the patience. But that’s awesome! I’ve had that problem too with things being too hot and using the blender too soon…scary!

  11. December 9, 2010 9:57 am

    I’ve made cashew butter before, but never almond butter. I’ll have to give this a try! The only problem is that I don’t have a nice blender (and DEFINITELY not a VitaMix. Sigh.) so mine is a little bit more tricky…

  12. December 9, 2010 3:20 pm

    I’ve never made my own nut butter, but I really should!
    I do make my own refried beans though, just mashing some pintos or whirling them in the blender with salsa. It feels good to be more resourceful, eh?

    Always stovetop. Always!

    • December 9, 2010 4:02 pm

      Oh cool! We just buy dehydrated refried beans, and then soak them in water!

  13. runyogarepeat permalink
    December 9, 2010 5:02 pm

    I always do stovetop cause I’m a morning person and don’t want to wake my roomie up my using the loud microwave at 7 am. They’re so creamy with a banana cooked in..and almond butter!

  14. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
    December 11, 2010 5:07 pm

    I made a nut butter last week with pistachios, macadamias, and coconut water. Wowie!

  15. sarah permalink
    January 13, 2011 5:50 pm

    I tried this tonight. I think I overroasted my almonds a bit…the oven was preheated and it is gas…my butter definitely looks darker than yours. I am not a huge fan of almond butter because of how much it sticks to the roof of your mouth…but I had a REALLY good idea. Next time I do it I am going to first, try roasting at 275 to make sure I don’t over roast and secondly instead of adding salt I am going to try adding xylitol (healthy natural sugar alternative) and organic cocoa powder…a healthier version of nutella I am hoping. I’ll let you know how it comes out.

    • January 13, 2011 8:12 pm

      Hmm, you might have over roasted them. Keep an eye on them next time. You’ll know they’re done roasting when they become fragrant and hot to the touch.

      I bet adding cocoa and sweetener would be delicious! Can’t wait to hear how it goes, good luck!

Trackbacks

  1. Recipes! « Little Miss Healthify

Leave a Reply

