Skip to content

Pumpkin Gingerbread: HEALTHIFIED

December 3, 2010

I finally got baking yesterday! I’ve been itching to make something seasonal and full of flavor and here it is:

Pumpkin Gingerbread

adapted from Miss OhSheGlows

  • 1 cup canned pumpkin
  • 3 T. pure maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1/3 cup canola oil
  • 1/4 cup molasses
  • Flax egg (stir together 1 T. ground flax + 3 T. water, let sit until thick)
  • 1 2/3 cup flour*
  • 1 1/4 t. baking soda
  • 1 t. baking powder
  • 1 t. cinnamon, 1/2 t. nutmeg, 1/2 t. ginger
  • 1 t. sea salt
  • 1/2 cup roughly chopped walnuts
  1. Preheat oven to 350° F.
  2. Combine pumpkin, maple syrup, honey, oil, molasses and the flax egg in a large mixing bowl, stirring well.
  3. In another mixing bowl combine: flour, baking soda, baking powder, spices, and salt. Slowly add this mixture to the wet mixture. Stir in the walnuts.
  4. Pour the thick batter into a greased loaf pan, smooth out and bake for 50 minutes or until inserted toothpick comes out clean. Cool 5 minutes then transfer to cooling rack. Let cool completely before slicing.

*I did unbleached all-purpose flour, but you could probably do anything! White whole-wheat, whole wheat pastry…etc.

Roughly chop your walnuts!

Add the dry to the wet and mix, mix, mix! (...But don't over mix!)

Don't forget to do a little taste test!

Lick the bowl clean, that's what I say!

This bread is DEE-LISH! Moist, soft and fluffy! I had about 5 slices (haha, I spoiled my dinner…) and then my family came home and gobbled it down in about 3 seconds flat.

The original recipe from OhSheGlows called for 3/4 cup sugar, but I just did 1/2 cup honey and it came out swell!

This bread is really healthy, too! Great source of Vitamin A and no trans or saturated fat! One slice has just 230 calories! Super filling, great for a snack!

I’d love to know:

What are you baking? I’m looking for more recipes, have any good ones to share?

27 Comments leave one →
  1. December 4, 2010 10:23 pm

    Heyy, I just came across your blog. So far I love it! Hooray for healthy teens 😀 I’m adding you to my blogroll, can’t wait to read more 🙂

  2. December 5, 2010 3:03 am

    this loooks tasty! and so moist..
    YUM!

  3. December 5, 2010 8:55 am

    Mmmmmmm…I love sweet bread! 🙂

  4. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    December 5, 2010 9:05 am

    I LOVE gingerbread! So spicy and delicious! When I was little, my mom used to work for a magazine. For a Christmas edition, they asked me to pose with some gingerbread cookies…they were the most beautiful cookies you’ve could ever see! They let me keep it….I ate it….it was the worst tasting gingerbread ever! It was so darn hard!

  5. December 5, 2010 11:44 am

    I love gingerbread, but I really only think to make it during the holiday season!

    I’ve been on a big cookie baking streak lately… No real problems there. Today, though, I think I’m going to make some fudgey brownies for work.

    • December 5, 2010 9:09 pm

      I know, for some reason it just never crosses my mind to make any baked goods with pumpkin or molasses until the holidays!

  6. theflourishingfoodie permalink
    December 5, 2010 12:25 pm

    Yum! I love pumpkin bread!

  7. December 6, 2010 1:27 am

    I’m in love with pumpkin anything so I’m sure this recipe would be so tasty!

  8. December 6, 2010 2:54 am

    Pumpkin gingerbread, I’ve got to make this!!
    Looks yummy, and pretty simple to make too

  9. December 6, 2010 9:49 am

    I trust OhSheGlows recipes implicitly so I know this must have been amazing! I love your honey substitution. Healthy and delicious!

  10. December 7, 2010 12:58 pm

    YUM! That looks fantastic! I love both gingerbread and pumpkin so putting them together seems like a genius idea. I’ve bee baking TONS of cookies lately 🙂

    • December 7, 2010 4:23 pm

      Gingerbread and pumpkin should get married…!

  11. December 7, 2010 1:12 pm

    Just found your blog and I absolutely love it. I made some wheat bread last night and I can’t get enough of making mama pea’s dough balls!

    • December 7, 2010 4:21 pm

      Great idea! I totally forgot about those dough balls, I’m printing out the recipe right now so I can make them!

  12. December 7, 2010 1:16 pm

    I need to start baking some mint chocolate goodies!

    • December 7, 2010 4:18 pm

      Same here! I’ve got mint extract AND Andes mint chocolate chips that need to be put to good use!

  13. December 7, 2010 1:31 pm

    That looks yummy!!!!!!!!! I might have to go out and buy some pumpkin along with my peppermint extract, now.

    • December 7, 2010 4:20 pm

      I stock up on pumpkin big time! I have about 6 cans right now! 🙂

  14. December 7, 2010 1:51 pm

    Thanks so much for stopping by my blog. I hope to continue to see you around. 🙂 It’s always fun connecting with other bloggers.

    And I’m making some pumpkin gingerbread for a holiday party next weekend. I can’t wait to try it out. In fact, I think it’s Angela’s recipe I have saved for it.

  15. December 7, 2010 1:56 pm

    I’d starred that recipe from Angela awhile ago but I forgot about it! Thanks for the reminder; it looks delicious!

  16. healthyhelper permalink
    December 7, 2010 2:18 pm

    wow this sounds great! i am a teen health blogger too….and my name is KAILA too! just spelled a little differently. cant wait to read more!

  17. December 7, 2010 7:43 pm

    That bread looks fantastic! I actually just made a gingerbread pound cake that I’ll be posting about probably on Thursday! Thanks for your sweet comments on the blog =) Both of those cookie recipes are seriously awesome and Erica taste-tested the sunflower bread and loved it too =) I will be putting up a lot of baking recipes this month! Tis the season!

  18. crazylittlethingneela permalink
    December 8, 2010 6:29 am

    thank you for stopping by my blog!
    oh I love gingerbread and this recipe looks delish! thank you for sharing

  19. December 26, 2010 11:06 pm

    This looks delicious!!! Pumpkin bread is the best!

Trackbacks

  1. Recipes! « Little Miss Healthify

Leave a Reply

