Skip to content

Hot Cocoa Oats

December 2, 2010

It’s a beautiful day here in Florida! And guess what? It’s finally getting chilly out!

For me, anything below 70Β° is “bring out the winter jackets” and “it’s freezing outside” weather! So it being 55Β° right now, is a big deal! Especially since it’s the first time it’s been this cold since probably last year!

Even though I really don’t like the cold, I love the cozy warm feelings it brings while you snuggle up inside the house, trying to stay warm. I’ve been staying warm with my comfy pj’s:

I felt it was appropriate to bring out the soft snowflake pants and the purple fuzzy socks!

And to heighten the mood, for breakfast, I had a nice big mug of Hot Cocoa Oats!

In a snowman mug! πŸ˜‰ ...topped with the last of my cashew butter!

Made on the stove with:

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/8 t. vanilla extract (next time I think I’ll do mint!)

And the not-so secret ingredient:

Swiss Miss Diet Hot Cocoa! I love this stuff and it tastes great! Definitely a holiday must-have!

Mmm, these oats were perfect! Hot, filling and delicious!

I love these poinsettias my mom and dad bought the other day! They’re so cheerful and bright! They really scream the holidays!

It’s December 2nd and we STILL haven’t got out our tree, lights, stockings or nativity set! Hopefully we’ll do it this weekend!

I’d love to hear:

What’s the weather like in your neck of the woods? I’m jealous if you’re in the snow! I haven’t seen snow in years!

Have you put up your Christmas tree yet? Real or fake? We’ve never had a real one, but I really want to! But I don’t think it’s happening this year!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2010 5:49 pm

    I actually laughed out loud at your “I haven’t seen snow in years” and at the fact that 70F is “freezing” to you! πŸ˜€ Seriously, come and live in England!
    The cocoa oats look GOOD! That is a very good idea…!

  2. juliakatz1996 permalink
    December 2, 2010 10:20 pm

    Not snow yet, just cold, cold, cold EVERYTHING! Love the blog, it’s my first time being here and I like it!

  3. December 3, 2010 2:17 am

    No snow in Cali for me! Loving your blog, can’t wait to make those oats!

  4. December 3, 2010 4:12 pm

    OMG! Diet Hot Cocoa is the bomb! You can’t even taste the difference! πŸ™‚

  5. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    December 3, 2010 6:41 pm

    I know!!! It is absolutely freezing!!!!!!

    I go with the fake trees just because they are so much easier and cheaper over the long run πŸ˜‰

    • December 3, 2010 8:05 pm

      We actually have a really lame tree. Haha, it take about 30 seconds to put up, I call it the “Instant Cone” because it’s really just a cone shape that can be flattened for easy storage. Haha, it’s really dumb.

  6. December 3, 2010 9:33 pm

    I just had chocolate oats for dessert, good call. πŸ™‚

  7. December 3, 2010 11:30 pm

    yum your oats look delish! Glad you found my site, and I found yours πŸ™‚

  8. December 4, 2010 2:32 pm

    Brilliant idea to add the cocoa mix to the oatmeal! Sometimes I just add some raw cocoa and sweeten it… but this is even easier!

  9. December 26, 2010 11:18 pm

    That is such a great idea! Hot chocolate oats — I must try it! You are such an inspiration!

Trackbacks

  1. Recipes! « Little Miss Healthify

Leave a Reply

