Skip to content

About me.

November 30, 2010

Hello! I am “Little Miss Healthify”! Haha, at least that’s what my family calls me!

I love to take unhealthy things like pizza, cake, dessert, pie and make them healthy!

I want to be a nutritionist/dietitianΒ when I grow up and teach people how to eat right and change their lives. Food is fuel and a lot of people don’t see it that way. If we’re feed our bodies junk, then we’re going to feel like and even look like junk. And NOBODY wants that!

Now let’s get personal:

I am 15 years old.

I live in sunny Florida where it’s almost always HOT!

I have four little brothers.

I am homeschooled.

I love baking, cooking and experimenting in the kitchen! My brother once told me “All you ever do is make food.”

Which is absolutely true! But at least it’s healthy food!! πŸ™‚

My favorite thing to do is go food shopping! (I know, I’m odd.) I am mesmerized by grocery stores and could spend all day just browsing the health food and produce aisles!

The only “health food” store near me is a Nutrition S’Mart. It’s a great store with lots of health food and organic produce. But we almost never go there because 1) it’s expensive, 2) it’s across town and 3) it’s expensive!! The Β only suff I buy there is the nuts and oats in bulk and sometimes nut butter and unsweetened shredded coconut.

We live about 2 minutes from a Sam’s Club and a Walmart so we do all of our shopping at those places. Β Walmart actually doesn’t have too bad of a variety of “healthy foods” and I love the big bags of frozen fruit, cottage cheese and Chobani greek yogurts at Sam’s Club!

I love finding other teens just like me who are trying to live healthier, and that’s why I blog! I love reading all of your blogs, you all inspire me, and I try to comment as much as I can!

Please email me anytime: littlemisshealthify@gmail.com

48 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2010 7:00 pm

    I love the nickname – reminds me of something my mom would call me – little miss healthify! I think it’s important for people to realize that their favorite foods don’t have to be unhealthy – pretty mcuh anything can be made healthier without sacrificing flavor! I’m excited to follow your blog πŸ™‚

    • November 30, 2010 7:31 pm

      Thank-you! I adore your blog, your photography is stunning!

  2. November 30, 2010 7:05 pm

    Yayy, Kayla I love this About Me. We have so much in common it’s insane, lol. I’m totally like you: my favorite place is in the kitchen, experimenting, and I could spend hours just looking at everything in a health food store. I do most of my shopping at HEB (it’s a local grocery store; it’s fairly health conscious but it mostly caters to the average person’s diet) and Sun Harvest. Sometimes big health food stores are just way too expensive, lol.

    • November 30, 2010 7:32 pm

      We absolutely do have a TON in common! It makes me feel so much better to know there’s people like me out there. πŸ˜‰

  3. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    December 1, 2010 12:00 pm

    HEY!!! I Am just like you, and I live in FLORIDA!!!

    • December 1, 2010 4:00 pm

      No way!! That’s awesome! A fellow Floridian! πŸ˜€

  4. December 1, 2010 6:38 pm

    Hey girl! I love your blog and definitely will be reading πŸ™‚

  5. December 1, 2010 9:25 pm

    Wow, Kayla!
    We’re SO much alike! I’m even a bit scared, haha.
    I’m also 15, and I live in a really warm/hot place (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil… It’s like summer all year long!). I have 3 “real” sisters/brother and 3 more “step” sisters (from my Mom’s and Dad’s second marriage).And I simply LOVE cooking healthy food (although I’m only a beginner).
    The only thing that we do NOT have in common (and I’m actually happy that’s something we don’t share) is the fact that I’m recovering from an eating disorder.
    But I’ve gained some weight over the last few months, and I already feel so much better and healthier! I can’t wait to start baking/cooking on my own!
    Conratulations on the great blog, love!
    Brazilian XOXO’s,
    G.

    • December 1, 2010 11:12 pm

      Wow, that’s amazing! Good luck on recovering, you sound like you’re doing great! Thanks for the sweet comment! I am a Fro-Yo lover, too!!

  6. December 3, 2010 4:32 pm

    love your blog! your so young and omg i can’t believe you have 4 brothers! wow! haha.
    i hope you enjoy my blog as well πŸ™‚
    jenna

  7. December 3, 2010 4:53 pm

    I must say – you don’t look or sound 15! I think it’s awesome that you are so interested in nutrition and cooking; I was totally fat and awkward when I was a teenager. You are going to do great things! btw, cottage cheese and chobani are two of my top things to buy at sam’s club too!

  8. December 6, 2010 12:59 am

    I’m always cooking too πŸ™‚ Whenever I go to work and don’t bring something in everyone starts asking, “Where’s the food?!” And grocery stores are my heaven. Can’t wait to read your blog!

  9. December 7, 2010 3:09 pm

    You are adorable and I’m so glad you found my blog. Girl I cannot wait to keep reading onto yours.

    I love swiss miss diet. A must have. πŸ™‚

    • December 7, 2010 3:57 pm

      Thank-you! And yes, Swiss Miss diet is amazing!!

  10. runyogarepeat permalink
    December 7, 2010 4:56 pm

    The name of your blog is so cute! It’s totally okay to love food shopping! I love it too much, and my boyfriend always gets annoyed with me browsing and looking at all the food, even when I only buy a few things.

  11. software permalink
    December 7, 2010 9:05 pm

    hello! nice the meet you

  12. December 8, 2010 12:52 pm

    It seems like we have a lot in common! I wish people would realise that health food can in fact taste better then processed junk!!

    Whitney

  13. December 11, 2010 1:18 am

    Hey Kayla!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! Yours looks awesome and I’m so going to continue reading πŸ™‚ All of your oatmeal creations look AMAZE!! I can’t believe you have four little brothers! How do you manage? Haha.

    xxx

    • December 30, 2010 7:41 pm

      Haha, thanks!
      My brothers drive me up a wall most of the time, but it’s fun! I used to feel so left out when they wouldn’t let me play with them, I’d cry for a sister!

  14. Little Bookworm permalink
    December 11, 2010 9:35 am

    Thank you for the comment on my blog! Yours looks great. πŸ™‚

  15. December 16, 2010 2:32 pm

    Just found your blog!
    Your meals look awesome – looking forward to reading more!!!

  16. December 26, 2010 11:09 pm

    The kitchen is my favorite place too! I love trying out new recipes and ‘healthifying’ stuff. I love your blog!!

  17. scriptorobscura permalink
    January 1, 2011 2:32 pm

    You have a great blog!

    Happy new year!

  18. January 1, 2011 9:40 pm

    Glad I found your blog! It’s nice to find others around my age πŸ™‚ Food shopping is also my favorite thing to do! I am so jealous you live in Florida!

  19. January 3, 2011 6:53 pm

    Hello Little Miss Healthify! What a great thing to be called! We need more people like you out there, for our tummies and for the planet! Keep it up friend, I’ll definitely be following!

  20. lauravirginia permalink
    January 8, 2011 10:49 am

    Hi Kayla!

    I just stumbled upon your blog and I think it is so great. I really admire your passion for health and nutrition, especially at your age! I became passionate about health and nutrition only a few years ago, but I wish I had been that way in high school!

    p.s. Your dog is so cute! What kind is he?

    • January 8, 2011 9:23 pm

      Thank you!

      My dog is a maltese poodle mix, or a Maltipoo!

  21. January 19, 2011 3:49 pm

    I love being a dietitian! I hope you follow your passion as you get older!

  22. January 21, 2011 2:36 am

    Love your blog and I think it’s so cool you’re already so interesting in health and healthy food at this young age. At age 15 all I did was eat fast food and be lazy, mohahah. I turned around though ;). I’ll definitely be back for more!

  23. January 22, 2011 11:35 am

    Wow – we’re so much alike! I’m 15, I’m home schooled (this is the first school year that I’m also doing a little public school), my parents give me the same nick name, my brother tells me EXACTLY the same thing, I love turning traditional foods healthy, and food shopping is also my favorite thing! I think the only difference is that I don’t live in Florida, and I only have one brother. I really look forward to reading more of your blog! Yay for healthy teen bloggers! πŸ™‚

    • January 24, 2011 10:30 pm

      Wow, that’s awesome! I love finding other teens just like me! We are so much alike!

  24. January 25, 2011 9:09 pm

    Hi, Kayla! I love your blog!! I just found it and it’s AMAZING! Yours caught my eye immediately because we are just about the same age πŸ™‚
    How can I follow your blog? I would love to be able to!
    Follow my blog if you’d like!
    http://greensk8r-fireandice.blogspot.com
    πŸ˜€

    • January 26, 2011 9:27 am

      Thanks so much! I just checked out your blog, love it!

  25. January 27, 2011 10:56 pm

    Hiii just found your blog! I’m from Miami too so seems like we have lots in common. Good luck on your RD dreams, it’s something that I’ve been thinking about as well πŸ™‚

  26. February 1, 2011 8:03 pm

    I love seeing young people into REAL food and healthy eating! That’s so awesome you have your goals set out for you. You go girl! I love going grocery shopping, too… I never go unless I have a good hour to spend in the store, at least!

  27. February 2, 2011 4:57 pm

    Hey pretty girl! πŸ™‚ Thanks so much for commenting on my blog – your words were so kind! I admire you for being so concerned about health at a young age. When I was a teen, I was so unhealthy and definitely did not get the right servings of fruits and vegetables each day – but I did get a lot of sugar! You are truly an inspiration!

  28. Alyson permalink
    February 8, 2011 3:47 pm

    I really love the goal of being a nutritionist/dietician! I have the same goal and am going to begin studying it in college! (I’m at year one in college now.)
    It’s definitely something I’m super passionate about too! Recently, I’ve been trying to steer clear of processed foods and sugars. It’s definitely a challenge, but I’m not too keen on super sweet things anyway, so in the end I’m not bothered by it! πŸ˜‰ I can’t wait to read more about your blog! So great that you’re so young and interested in living healthily!

  29. February 9, 2011 4:42 am

    Oh MY GOD!!! MY FAVOURITE THING TO DO IS FOOD SHOPPING TOO hence “My favorite thing to do is go food shopping! (I know, I’m odd.) I am mesmerized by grocery stores and could spend all day just browsing the health food and produce aisles” 100% applies to me too! WOW!

    besides baking though. I have 2 favourite things. Check out my site!

    http://ibakewhoeats.wordpress.com/

  30. February 11, 2011 11:18 am

    I share your love of food shopping– it seriously takes me 2 hours to get through my favorite one because I stop to browse EVERYthing! πŸ™‚

  31. February 21, 2011 10:23 pm

    heyyy! nice blog!
    its nice to found your blog! πŸ˜€ nice to meet you! πŸ˜€
    cheers for healthy eating! πŸ˜€

  32. March 2, 2011 4:36 pm

    OHMYGAWSH you’re in Florida?? I’ve been reading about other blogger meet-ups and I’ve been so Jealouss! I’m 19, I’m in Gainesville and I’m going to UF. I’m from Naples, that’s where my parents live. Maybe when we’ve gotten to know each other we can meet up!

    Thank you for commenting on my blog! I’ve been reading through some of your posts and I love your view on life. I wish I had starting eating healthy at 15… I didn’t give up red meat until I was 16 1/2 but I still ate processed junk ALL the time.

  33. March 2, 2011 9:43 pm

    Hey Kayla! Thanks for commenting on my blog today – I’m super impressed you’re 15 and experiment with healthy food in the kitchen! I wish I had that knowledge when I was 15, but at least I have (some) of it now! And I too LOVE food shopping. My wallet does not, however. Looking forward to following along πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

