Skip to content

Really?

May 31, 2011

I feel like I always say this on the last day of the month.

But… is it really May 31st?! Seriously?

This month was a blur. I don’t even remember anything that happened.

Okay, that’s a lie.

But this month did go by extremely too quickly. sigh.

At least tomorrow is June 1st! I always correlate June 1st as the beginning of summer, even though that’s not technically the case.

Whatevs.

I hope at least some of you are joining me on Alex’s 10 Day Sugar Free Challenge!

I technically already eat sugar-free except for the occasional honey, agave nectar and the sugar that is found in the bread we buy. Oh and the protein powder I use.

So my goals for the 10 day Sugar Free Challenge are:

- hold off on the protein powder and instead eat  beans, legumes, fish and eggs for protein. I am going to still probably eat protein powder, just because I like it and it IS an important source of protein for me! Plus, I need it for my smoothies!

- hold off on the bread (even though I make homemade bread, we also buy from the store and it has added sugar) and instead eat oatmeal and other whole grains. But mostly oatmeal ;)

- continue to check labels for foods with added sugars. you’d be surprised at the sugar that hides in the food we eat!

I know going sugar-free is not a good idea for people who are trying and need to gain weight or those who don’t want to deprive themselves, but it’s never a bad idea to check the amount of sugar you are eating and read those nutrition labels!

I hope to post a lot of my daily eats the next 10 days so everyone can see how tasty eating sugar-free can be!

25 Comments leave one →
  1. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    May 31, 2011 5:16 pm

    I know! It has gone fast!

    And SOOOoooOOOo pumped for the sugar-free challenge :) :) :)

  2. May 31, 2011 5:42 pm

    Enjoy the sugar-free challenge!

  3. May 31, 2011 5:44 pm

    I wish I had known about this earlier!! I totally would’ve done the challenge, but I’m so unprepared. Maybe I’ll do my own sugar detox this summer.

  4. May 31, 2011 6:08 pm

    The whole month flew by! I think it’s great that you’re going to do a sugar free challenge :)

  5. May 31, 2011 6:28 pm

    looking forward to updates on the sugar-free challenge! :D

  6. May 31, 2011 6:29 pm

    wooo!! cnt wait to hear bout it!!

  7. May 31, 2011 6:53 pm

    Good for you, Kayla! I can’t wait to see all the delish sugar-free eats! While I am not doing the entire 10 days again, I will be doing 2 or 3. I can’t wait! :-D

  8. May 31, 2011 7:03 pm

    Can’t wait to hear about the challenge! I’m way to wimpy for that, hehe.

  9. May 31, 2011 7:04 pm

    can’t wait to hear about the challenge! ;)

  10. May 31, 2011 7:11 pm

    more power to ya, girl! I don’t know if I could ever go sugar free!!

    what about natural sugars found in fruit? Girl, I don’t know if I can let you give up bananas!

  11. May 31, 2011 7:24 pm

    I can’t wait to hear about how this goes for you! I’m doing it too!

  12. May 31, 2011 7:47 pm

    Good luck! I can’t wait to hear about how it goes :)

  13. May 31, 2011 8:02 pm

    can’t wait to see how it goes! i’m looking forward to seeing your eats!

  14. May 31, 2011 8:28 pm

    I’m doing the challenge too – I took Alex’s suggestion and made your oat flour muffins tonight so I’m good to go in the morning :)

  15. May 31, 2011 8:48 pm

    I have no problem believing that tomorrow is May 31 but for some reason I have problems with it already being June! Hope the sugar free challenge goes well for you. I have been looking out for hidden sweeteners too, especially corn syrup! Seriously that stuff is scary, its everywhere

  16. theflourishingfoodie permalink
    May 31, 2011 11:24 pm

    This month went by crazy fast, can’t believe tomorrow it June! Good luck on the sugar free challenge! I’m planning to do it too, at least part of the time. I’m going to be on retreat starting next Thursday, so idk if I’ll be able to keep it up there. I’ll do my best!

  17. June 1, 2011 12:14 am

    I can’t believe summer is almost here! I’m looking forward to what June will bring. :-)

  18. June 1, 2011 9:20 am

    LOL, I do the exact same thing! June doesn’t seem like a spring month, so I consider it summer. Nevermind the technical date is late June ;)

  19. June 1, 2011 10:32 am

    Good luck with your sugar free challenge! Andf I seriously can’t believe it’s already June either! I think I blinked and then May was over.

  20. June 1, 2011 2:59 pm

    I know, May totally zoomed by!! Good luck with the challenge! :)

  21. June 1, 2011 6:11 pm

    I’m doing the sugar-free challenge too! I think your eats look positively fabulous, Kayla! May went by too fast, it’s already June 1rst?! Only 3 more weeks of school :)

  22. April 17, 2013 4:02 am

    You could definitely see your skills within the work you write.
    The sector hopes for even more passionate writers like you who aren’t afraid to mention how they believe. All the time go after your heart.

  23. May 3, 2013 1:11 am

    You are so interesting! I do not think I have read through anything like that before.
    So nice to find someone with unique thoughts on this subject.
    Seriously.. many thanks for starting this up. This web site is
    one thing that is required on the internet, someone with a little originality!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers